DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. This action is responsive to the following communication: a non-provisional Application filed on December 12, 2023 and a Response to Election/Restriction filed on May 11, 2026. This application claims a foreign priority to JP2022-200121, filed on December 15, 2022. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 (see certified copy received on January 16, 2024), and thus the effective filing date of the instant claims is December 15, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The examiner acknowledges the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 22, 2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Status of the Claims
4. Claims 1-19 are pending in the case; Claims 1, 16, and 18 are independent claims. In the Claim Amendments accompanying the Response to Election/Restriction filed on May 11, 2026, Claims 8, 17, and 19 were amended (see § Election/Restriction, below). This action is made non-final.
Election/Restriction
5. In the Requirement for Restriction/Election mailed on March 17, 2026, a restriction was required between Group I (Claims 1-7, 13-16, and 18) and Group II (Claims 8-12, 17, and 19). In the Response to Election/Restriction filed on May 11, 2026, the applicant has amended previously independent Claims 8, 17, and 19 of Group II to make them dependent upon independent Claims 1, 16, and 18 of Group I, respectively. Since all of the pending claims now appear to be directed to a single invention, the restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation – 35 U.S.C. § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an operation unit for operating the work machine,” in Claim 1 (and similarly, in Claims 16 and 18).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-3, 13-16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahiro et al. (hereinafter Takahiro), JP 7170110 B2, published on November 11, 2022 (note that Examiner is relying upon a machine translation of Takahiro provided by the applicant in IDS filed on December 22, 2024).
With respect to independent Claim 1, Takahiro teaches an operation control method executing:
causing a work machine to execute a first action when an operation unit for operating the work machine is operated by a user in a state where a first display screen relating to automatic steering of the work machine is displayed on an operation terminal; and not causing the work machine to execute the first action when the operation unit is operated by a user in a state where a second display screen different from the first display screen is displayed on the operation terminal (see ¶¶ 0023, 0041, 0046, 0048, showing an automatic travel start icon that can be either colored (first display) or grayed out (second display) depending on the transition condition (i.e., state), where automatic travel mode is started when the colored icon is pressed, but it is not started if the grayed out icon is pressed).
It is noted that a display screen having a colored icon (i.e., icon 35c of Takahiro) is different from a screen having a grayed out icon. In addition, a skilled artisan would understand that the automatic travel mode is related to automatic steering, as recited in the claim.
With respect to dependent Claim 2, Takahiro teaches the operation control method according to claim 1, as discussed above, and further teaches wherein the operation unit is an operation unit that accepts an operation to start automatic steering of the work machine from a user, causes the work machine to execute automatic steering when the operation unit is operated by a user in a state where the first display screen is displayed on the operation terminal, and does not cause the work machine to execute automatic steering when the operation unit is operated by a user in a state where the second display screen is displayed on the operation terminal (see ¶¶ 0023, 0041, 0046, 0048).
With respect to dependent Claim 3, Takahiro teaches the operation control method according to claim 2, as discussed above, and further teaches wherein the work machine is caused to execute automatic steering if a predetermined condition for starting automatic steering is satisfied when the operation unit is operated by a user in a state where the first display screen is displayed on the operation terminal, and the work machine is not caused to execute automatic steering even if the predetermined condition is satisfied when the operation unit is operated by a user in a state where the second display screen is displayed on the operation terminal (see ¶¶ 0023, 0041, 0046, 0048).
With respect to dependent Claim 13, Takahiro teaches the operation control method according to claim 1, as discussed above, and further teaches wherein the first display screen includes an operation object that accepts a user operation relating to generation of a target route for the automatic steering, and a function assigned to the operation object is switched in accordance with at least one of a generation status of the target route and an operation status of the work machine (see ¶¶ 0041, 0045).
With respect to dependent Claim 14, Takahiro teaches the operation control method according to claim 13, as discussed above, and further teaches wherein a plurality of functions assignable to the operation object include at least a function of registration operation of a reference point serving as a reference of the target route and a function of deletion operation of the reference point (see Fig. 2).
With respect to dependent Claim 15, Takahiro teaches the operation control method according to claim 13, as discussed above, and further teaches wherein a display mode of the operation object changes in accordance with a function assigned to the operation object (see ¶¶ 0041, 0045; see also discussion of Claim 1, above).
With respect to Claims 16 and 18, these claims are directed to an operation control system and an operation control program, respectively, and they recite limitations that correspond to the limitations recited in Claim 1, thus they are rejected along the similar rationale as Claim 1, above.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 4-12, 17, and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/DINO KUJUNDZIC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658