DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed on June 10, 2026.
Claim 9 is currently amended.
Claims 1-9 are pending and have been examined.
The Examiner notes that claims 5 and 6 are both categorized as “previously presented” in the current listing of claims, however, they should each be categorized as “original”.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the outstanding Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b):
Applicant’s arguments filed on June 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1-5 include the element of a “control operation unit”, which is being interpreted under 35 USC 112(f). The specification also includes excerpts discussing the “control operation unit”.
The Applicant argues that the “’control operation unit’ is supported in the specification to satisfy the written description requirement. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have known that the named inventors had possession of the claimed invention at least at the time the application was filed. The control operation unit 71 is disclosed in Fig. 1 as a processor of the operation terminal 17. Further, paragraphs [0051] and [0052] of the present application … describe that the operation control unit 71 is made of control devices such as a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM and has various processing units.” See page 4 of Remarks filed on June 10, 2026.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. The indefiniteness stems from the fact that the claims cite a “control operation unit” which is discussed multiple times in the specification. The specification also discloses an “operation control unit” which is associated with element number 71 and is illustrated in the figures. The indefiniteness lies in the uncertainty whether these two phrases are referring to the same element. The Examiner notes that the specification does not use any element number in association with the “control operation unit” in the specification.
Therefore, the outstanding 35 USC 112(b) rejections are maintained.
Regarding the outstanding 35 U.S.C. § 102 Rejections:
Applicant’s arguments filed on June 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Catron, et al. (Publication US 2021/0155093 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Catron”.) Claims 1, 8, and 9 are each independent claims.
Applicant argues that Catron does not anticipate the claim limitation, “displaying a horizontal control operation screen relating to horizontal control that controls a tilt of the work implement with respect to the machine body.” The Examiner disagrees. Further, the reasoning described in the Remarks is not the reasoning relied upon by the Examiner.
The Examiner takes the position that Catron does disclose the above listed limitation, which is disclosed in [0017].[0018], and illustrated in Fig. 2B. Specifically, referring to Fig. 2B, a horizontal control operation screen is shown [“user interface 104”, “display screen 116”] relating to horizontal control that controls a tilt [“133a” (tilting the planter up with respect to the machine body relative to a horizontal plane of the machine body), “133b” (tilting the planter down with respect to the machine body relative to a horizontal plane of the machine body)] of the work implement [“planter”] with respect to the machine body. The Examiner interprets the figures as disclosing the operation screen illustrating the control of the planter work implement tilting horizontally with respect to the machine body. Catron discloses in [0017] that, Fig. 2B shows “the control device 102 and user interface 104 can be collectively arranged within the operator cab 160 on a console 107 located to the right side of the operator seat 162. The control device 102 can comprise one or more control units 113, 115, 117 arranged to adjust a configuration of the implement 152 or other apparatus attached to the work vehicle 150 or other vehicle components or machine settings in response to an operator input. In some embodiments, the control units 113, 115, 117 can comprise lever controls that operate to move the implement 152 in one or more directions to a desired position. For example, each of the control units 113, 115, 117 can move the implement 152 between a first position and a second position in a corresponding direction of movement as indicated by arrows 133, … which can be displayed on the user interface 104.” Catron further discloses in [0018] that, “the display screen 116 can also display vehicle and/or implement or machine statuses such as … position states… .”
Therefore, the outstanding 35 USC 102 rejections are maintained.
Regarding the outstanding 35 U.S.C. § 103 Rejections:
Applicant’s arguments filed on June 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that, with respect to claim 4, “Sivinski does not fill the gap left by Catron. Therefore, claim 4 would not have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art over the cited prior art, Catron in view of Sivinski, for at least the same reason as claim 1.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with this argument. For the reasons listed above, the Examiner takes the position that Catron discloses each limitation of independent claim 1 from which claim 4 depends and the limitation, “wherein the control operation unit further includes a third operation element to which a function of the tilt angle of the work implement adjusted by the first operation element is assigned”, in claim 4. Further, the Examiner takes the position that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed in Catron to use the “function of resetting the work implement” as disclosed in Sivinski with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved control of the positioning of agricultural implements.
Therefore, the outstanding 35 USC 103 rejections are maintained.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A “control operation unit” in claims 1-5.
A “first operation element” in claim 2. The “first operation element” is disclosed in the originally filed specification in [0121], “the setting processing unit 714 performs settings related to horizontal control in accordance with a user operation on the control operation unit (first operation elements K531 and K532, etc., see FIG. 50) included at least in a UFO (horizontal control) operation screen Dp5 (see FIG. 50).”
A “second operation element” in claim 3. The “second operation element” is disclosed in the originally filed specification in [0257], “The UFO operation screen Dp5 (the UFO operation screen Dp51 relating to the horizontal control) is an example of the "horizontal control operation screen". The UFO operation screen Dp51 includes a control operation unit that accepts an operation of the user (operator). As illustrated in FIG. 50, the control operation unit includes first operation elements K531 and K532, a second operation element K54, a third operation element K55, and fourth operation elements K561 to K564. Further, the UFO operation screen Dp51 includes a tilt display object Ob5.”
A “third operation element” in claim 4. The “third operation element” is disclosed in the originally filed specification in [0257], “The UFO operation screen Dp5 (the UFO operation screen Dp51 relating to the horizontal control) is an example of the "horizontal control operation screen". The UFO operation screen Dp51 includes a control operation unit that accepts an operation of the user (operator). As illustrated in FIG. 50, the control operation unit includes first operation elements K531 and K532, a second operation element K54, a third operation element K55, and fourth operation elements K561 to K564. Further, the UFO operation screen Dp51 includes a tilt display object Ob5.”
A “fourth operation element” in claim 5. The “fourth operation element” is disclosed in the originally filed specification in [0257], “The UFO operation screen Dp5 (the UFO operation screen Dp51 relating to the horizontal control) is an example of the "horizontal control operation screen". The UFO operation screen Dp51 includes a control operation unit that accepts an operation of the user (operator). As illustrated in FIG. 50, the control operation unit includes first operation elements K531 and K532, a second operation element K54, a third operation element K55, and fourth operation elements K561 to K564. Further, the UFO operation screen Dp51 includes a tilt display object Ob5.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In claim 1, claim limitation “control operation unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. There is no structure disclosed in the specification in connection with the “control operation unit”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Catron, et al. (Publication US 2021/0155093 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Catron”.)
As per claim 1 (representative of claims 8 and 9), Catron discloses an operation control method for a work machine including a machine body and a work implement attached to the machine body, the operation control method comprising:
displaying a horizontal control operation screen relating to horizontal control that controls a tilt of the work implement with respect to the machine body [see at least Catron Fig. 2B; [0017] "As shown in FIGS. 2B and 3, the control device 102 and user interface 104 can be collectively arranged within the operator cab 160 on a console 107 located to the right side of the operator seat 162. The control device 102 can comprise one or more control units 113, 115, 117 arranged to adjust a configuration of the implement 152 or other apparatus attached to the work vehicle 150 or other vehicle components or machine settings in response to an operator input. ... each of the control units 113, 115, 117 can move the implement 152 between a first position and a second position in a corresponding direction of movement as indicated by arrows 133, 135, 137, which can be displayed on the user interface 104. In other embodiments, the control units 113, 115, 117 can comprise a variety of controls such as push buttons (e.g., rocker switches), rotary dials, joystick controllers, or other suitable control devices to adjust a configuration of the implement 152. For example, the joystick controller can provide an increased range of motion that allows the implement 152 to be moved in several directions."]; and
performing setting related to the horizontal control in accordance with a user operation on a control operation unit included in the horizontal control operation screen [see at least Catron Fig. 2B; [0017] "...The control device 102 can comprise one or more control units 113, 115, 117 arranged to adjust a configuration of the implement 152 or other apparatus attached to the work vehicle 150 or other vehicle components or machine settings in response to an operator input. ...".]
As per claim 2, Catron, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Catron discloses … wherein the control operation unit includes a first operation element to which a function of adjusting a tilt angle of the work implement with respect to the machine body is assigned [see at least Catron Fig. 2B "133a, 133b"; [0017] "...For example, each of the control units 113, 115, 117 can move the implement 152 between a first position and a second position in a corresponding direction of movement as indicated by arrows 133, 135, 137, which can be displayed on the user interface 104. "]
As per claim 3, Catron, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Catron discloses … wherein the control operation unit further includes a second operation element to which a function of changing an amount of change in the tilt angle with respect to an operation of the first operation element is assigned [see at least Catron [0017] "...In other embodiments, the control units 113, 115, 117 can comprise a variety of controls such as push buttons (e.g., rocker switches), rotary dials, joystick controllers, or other suitable control devices to adjust a configuration of the implement 152. For example, the joystick controller can provide an increased range of motion that allows the implement 152 to be moved in several directions."]
As per claim 5, Catron, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Catron discloses … wherein the control operation unit further includes a fourth operation element to which a function of switching a control mode of the horizontal control is assigned [see at least Catron [0028] "...the user interface 104 can further comprise a mode selection button 420 (FIG. 5), which can include a toggle switch, that allows the operator to interchangeably switch control operations of the implement 152 between the user interface 104 and the control units 113, 115, 117.]
As per claim 6, Catron, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
Catron discloses … further comprising changing a tilt display object indicating a tilt angle of the work implement included in the horizontal control operation screen in conjunction with a change in the tile angle of the work implement with respect to the machine body [see at least Catron Fig. 2B "133a, 133b"].
As per claim 7, Catron, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 6.
Catron discloses … wherein the tilt display object is not in conjunction with a change in the tilt angle associated with switching of a control mode of the horizontal control [see at least Catron Fig. 2B "130a, 130b".]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Catron, in view of Sivinski (Publication US 2020/0053944 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Sivinski”.)
As per claim 4, Catron, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all of the limitations of claim 2.
Catron discloses … wherein the control operation unit further includes a third operation element to which a function of … the tilt angle of the work implement adjusted by the first operation element is assigned [see at least Catron Fig. 2B "133a, 133b"; [0017] "...For example, each of the control units 113, 115, 117 can move the implement 152 between a first position and a second position in a corresponding direction of movement as indicated by arrows 133, 135, 137, which can be displayed on the user interface 104. "]
Catron fails to disclose … function of resetting…the work implement ... . However, Sivinski teaches this limitation [see at least Sivinski Fig. 14 "73"; [0104] "To clear all settings back to zero, press the reset button 73."]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method as disclosed in Catron to use … function of resetting…the work implement ... as disclosed in Sivinski with a reasonable expectation of success for the benefit of improved control of the positioning of agricultural implements. [See at least Sivinski [0004].]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.L.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668