DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kando (US 20080106354) in view of Oono (US 20180188214).
Regarding claim 1, Kando discloses an acoustic wave device, in figures 1 and 8, comprising:
a support substrate 51;
a piezoelectric layer 2 on the support substrate and including a first principal surface 2a and a second principal surface 2b opposing each other;
a first IDT electrode 3 on the first principal surface 2a of the piezoelectric layer 2, and
a second IDT electrode 4 on the second principal surface 2b of the piezoelectric layer 2; and
wherein the piezoelectric layer 2 includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 0 [0037: “LiNbO3”].
Kando does not disclose a dielectric film at least provided at one of a position between the first principal surface of the piezoelectric layer and the first IDT electrode and a position between the second principal surface of the piezoelectric layer and the second IDT electrode;
the dielectric film includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 0 and
at least one of a polarization direction, an element included in a material, and a composition of the material is different between the dielectric film and the piezoelectric layer.
Oono discloses a piezoelectric device, in figure 9, having a dielectric film 43 at least provided at one of a position between the first principal surface of the piezoelectric layer 44 and the first electrode 49 and a position between the second principal surface of the piezoelectric layer 44 and the second electrode 42;
at least one of a polarization direction, an element included in a material, and a composition of the material is different between the dielectric film and the piezoelectric layer [0042].
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a dielectric film at least provided at one of a position between the first principal surface of the piezoelectric layer and the first IDT electrode and a position between the second principal surface of the piezoelectric layer and the second IDT electrode; the dielectric film includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 0 and at least one of a polarization direction, an element included in a material, and a composition of the material is different between the dielectric film and the piezoelectric layer as disclosed by Oono in the device disclosed by Kando, for the purpose of improving versatility of the device.
Kando in view of Oono does not disclose the dielectric film includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 0.
However, it is well known in the art to use the dielectric film includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 01, for the purpose of improving SAW performance and its excellence chemical and mechanical reliability.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the dielectric film includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 0 in the device disclosed by Kando in view of Oono, for the purpose of improving SAW performance and its excellence chemical and mechanical reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Oono further discloses the dielectric film includes a first dielectric film 45 and a second dielectric film 43; and the first dielectric film 45 is between the first principal surface of the piezoelectric layer 44 and the first electrode 49, and the second dielectric film 43 is between the second principal surface and the second electrode 42. The reason for combining is same as above.
Regarding claim 3, Oono further discloses a polarization direction of at least one of the first dielectric film and the second dielectric film is opposite to a polarization direction of the piezoelectric layer [0073]. The reason for combining is same as above.
Regarding claim 7, Kando further discloses an intermediate layer 36/38 between the support substrate 51 and the piezoelectric layer 32.
Regarding claim 8, Kando further discloses the intermediate layer 36/38 includes a layer including silicon oxide [0074].
Regarding claim 9, Kando further discloses the piezoelectric layer includes a piezoelectric single crystal [0037].
Regarding claim 10, Kando futher disclose the intermediate layer 36/38 includes a first layer 38 on the support substrate, and a second layer 36 on the first layer.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Kando in view of Oono does not disclose the support substrate includes silicon, or a plane orientation of the silicon is (100).
However, it is well known in the art to have a piezoelectric device having the support substrate includes silicon, and the plane orientation of the silicon being (100)2, for the purpose of maximizing piezoelectric coefficients and lowering activation energy for crystal growth.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the support substrate includes silicon, and the plane orientation of the silicon being (100) in the device disclosed by Kando in view of Oono, for the purpose of maximizing piezoelectric coefficients and lowering activation energy for crystal growth.
Regarding claim 13, Kando in view of Oono does not disclose the first layer includes silicon nitride, and the second layer includes silicon oxide.
However, it is well known in the art to have a piezoelectric device having layers on support substrate with the first layer includes silicon nitride, and the second layer includes silicon oxide3.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the first layer includes silicon nitride, and the second layer includes silicon oxide in the device disclosed by Kando in view of Oono, for the purpose of effectively trapping acoustic energy in the device.
Regarding claim 14, Kando in view of Oono does not disclose the dielectric film includes lithium niobate.
However, it is well known in the art to use the dielectric film includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 04, for the purpose of improving SAW performance and its excellence chemical and mechanical reliability.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the dielectric film includes lithium niobate in the device disclosed by Kando in view of Oono, for the purpose of improving SAW performance and its excellence chemical and mechanical reliability.
Regarding claim 15, Kando in view of Oono further discloses a protective film 35 (Kando) on the dielectric film and covering the first IDT electrode 33a (Kando).
Regarding claim 16, Kando further discloses the protective film includes at least one of silicon oxide, silicon nitride, or silicon oxynitride [0074].
Regarding claim 17, Kando further discloses, in figure 7A, the first IDT electrode 33a/33b includes: a first busbar; a second busbar; a plurality of first electrode fingers; and a plurality of second electrode fingers; wherein one end of each of the plurality of first electrode fingers is connected to the first busbar; one end of each of the plurality of second electrode fingers is connected to the second busbar; and the plurality of first electrode fingers and the plurality of second electrode fingers are interdigitated with each other.
Regarding claim 18, Kando further discloses, in figure 7B, the second IDT electrode 34a/34b includes: a first busbar; a second busbar; a plurality of first electrode fingers; and a plurality of second electrode fingers; wherein one end of each of the plurality of first electrode fingers is connected to the first busbar; one end of each of the plurality of second electrode fingers is connected to the second busbar; and the plurality of first electrode fingers and the plurality of second electrode fingers are interdigitated with each other.
Regarding claim 19, Kando further discloses a pair of reflectors 33c/33d on both sides of the first IDT electrode in an acoustic wave propagation direction.
Regarding claim 20, Kando further discloses a pair of reflectors 34c/34d on both sides of the second IDT electrode in an acoustic wave propagation direction.
Claim(s) 1-3, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagatomo (WO 2022/202917, machine translation) in view of Oono (US 20180188214).
Regarding claim 1, Nagatomo discloses an acoustic wave device, in figure 29, comprising:
a support substrate 3;
a piezoelectric layer 6 on the support substrate and including a first principal surface 6a and a second principal surface 6b opposing each other;
a first IDT electrode 7A on the first principal surface of the piezoelectric layer, and
a second IDT electrode 7B on the second principal surface of the piezoelectric layer; and
wherein the piezoelectric layer 6 includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 0 (page 5).
Nagatomo does not disclose a dielectric film at least provided at one of a position between the first principal surface of the piezoelectric layer and the first IDT electrode and a position between the second principal surface of the piezoelectric layer and the second IDT electrode;
the dielectric film includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 0 and
at least one of a polarization direction, an element included in a material, and a composition of the material is different between the dielectric film and the piezoelectric layer.
Oono discloses a piezoelectric device, in figure 9, having a dielectric film 43 at least provided at one of a position between the first principal surface of the piezoelectric layer 44 and the first electrode 49 and a position between the second principal surface of the piezoelectric layer 44 and the second electrode 42;
at least one of a polarization direction, an element included in a material, and a composition of the material is different between the dielectric film and the piezoelectric layer [0042].
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have a dielectric film at least provided at one of a position between the first principal surface of the piezoelectric layer and the first IDT electrode and a position between the second principal surface of the piezoelectric layer and the second IDT electrode; the dielectric film includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 0 and at least one of a polarization direction, an element included in a material, and a composition of the material is different between the dielectric film and the piezoelectric layer as disclosed by Oono in the device disclosed by Nagatomo, for the purpose of improving versatility of the device.
Nagatomo in view of Oono does not disclose the dielectric film includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 0.
However, it is well known in the art to use the dielectric film includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 05, for the purpose of improving SAW performance and its excellence chemical and mechanical reliability.
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the dielectric film includes one of Li, Ta, and O or Li, Nb, and 0 in the device disclosed by Nagatomo in view of Oono, for the purpose of improving SAW performance and its excellence chemical and mechanical reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Oono further discloses the dielectric film includes a first dielectric film 45 and a second dielectric film 43; and the first dielectric film 45 is between the first principal surface of the piezoelectric layer 44 and the first electrode 49, and the second dielectric film 43 is between the second principal surface and the second electrode 42. The reason for combining is same as above.
Regarding claim 3, Oono further discloses a polarization direction of at least one of the first dielectric film and the second dielectric film is opposite to a polarization direction of the piezoelectric layer [0073]. The reason for combining is same as above.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Nagatomo further disclose the support substrate 3 includes silicon, or a plane orientation of the silicon is (100) (page 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious an acoustic wave device having both of the polarization directions of the first dielectric film and the second dielectric film are opposite to the polarization direction of the piezoelectric layer, along with other claim limitations.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious an acoustic wave device having degree of dipole orientation of at least one of the first dielectric film and the second dielectric film is different from a degree of dipole orientation of the piezoelectric layer, along with other claim limitations. Claim 6 is objected to due to claim dependency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Taniguchi (WO 2022202916) and Bhattacharjee (US 20160182007) disclose an acoustic wave device having piezoelectric layer with first and second IDT electrodes on both sides.
Ouchi (US 20230318563), Nagamoto (US 20240048118), and Okunaga (US 20240171151) disclose an acoustic wave device having piezoelectric layer with first and second IDT electrodes on both sides.
/BUMSUK WON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872
1 At least Sepulveda (US 20210242606) and Klein (US 20210111082) disclose use of LiTaO and LiNbO as piezoelectric material.
2 At least Iwashita (US 20090322186) discloses silicon substrate with orientation of (100).
3 At least Daimon (US 20210399712) discloses layers with silicon nitride and silicon oxide.
4 At least Sepulveda (US 20210242606) and Klein (US 20210111082) disclose use of LiTaO and LiNbO as piezoelectric material.
5 At least Sepulveda (US 20210242606) and Klein (US 20210111082) disclose use of LiTaO and LiNbO as piezoelectric material.