DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application papers filed on 12 December 2023 and 20 December 2023.
Claim(s) 21 are canceled.
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12 December 2023 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has/have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8, 11, 14-17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190030675 to Chen et al. (hereinafter “CHEN”) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9162337 to Ishibashi (hereinafter “ISHIBASHI”).
(A) Regarding Claim 1:
CHEN teaches:
A substrate polishing apparatus (Figs. 1, 3), comprising:
a platen (12) having a surface (14) configured to polish a semiconductor substrate through relative movement between the platen and the semiconductor substrate (para. 0001: semiconductor wafers…physical and chemical forces for the polishing of wafers, and para. 0016: through the mechanical polishing, the surface layer of wafer 24 is planarized);
a slurry supply (22) configured to supply slurry to the platen, wherein the slurry flows to a location between the semiconductor substrate and the platen (para. 0016: slurry 22 is dispensed between wafer 24 and polishing pad 14);
a substrate holder (16, Fig. 5) configured to grip and fix the semiconductor substrate to be in contact with the platen such that the platen contacts the surface of the semiconductor substrate to be polished (para. 0016: Polishing pad 14 is formed of a material that is hard enough to allow the abrasive particles in slurry 22 to mechanically polish the wafer, which is held in wafer holder 16);
a temperature controller having a thermal conductive body (20) that is configured to contact the surface of the platen to transfer heat between the thermal conductive body and the platen to control the temperature of the platen (para. 0024: Since disk 20 is in contact with the top surface of polishing pad 14, heat is conducted between disk 20 and polishing pad 14).
However, the difference between CHEN and the claimed invention is that CHEN does not explicitly teach a first cleaner having an ultrasonic transducer and at least one probe, the ultrasonic transducer configured to generate ultrasonic waves and the probe configured to transmit the ultrasonic waves to an outer surface of the thermal conductive body.
ISHIBASHI teaches:
A cleaning body (40d, Fig. 2) comprising a first cleaner having an ultrasonic transducer and at least one probe (54, Fig. 3, wherein structure of the cleaner unit 40d is similar to 40a), the ultrasonic transducer configured to generate ultrasonic waves and the probe configured to transmit the ultrasonic waves to an outer surface of a conditioning body (64) (col. 7, ll. 14-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pad conditioner of CHEN to include an ultrasonic transducer with at least one probe, as taught by ISHIBASHI, in order to generate and transmit ultrasonic waves to an outer surface of the conditioning disk and thereby achieve the predictable result of cleaning the conditioning disk (ISHIBASHI col. 7, ll. 14-23).
(B) Regarding Claim 2:
Modified CHEN further teaches:
a second cleaner having at least one cleaning nozzle (ISHIBASHI 52b, col. 5, 11. 25: jet orifice), the cleaning nozzle configured to spray a cleaning solution (ISHIBASHI col. 5, ll. 23-24: gas-dissolved pure water) to the outer surface of the thermal conductive body (CHEN 20, Fig, 1, 3 and ISHIBASHI 64, Fig. 5).
(C) Regarding Claim 5:
Modified CHEN further teaches:
the temperature controller includes, a first fluid transfer line (CHEN 36A, Fig. 1, 3, 8A, 8B) through which cooling fluid moves along a lower surface of the thermal conductive body (CHEN 20); and a second fluid transfer line (CHEN 36B) through which heating fluid moves along the lower surface of the thermal conductive body (CHEN para. 0024: heat-carrying media 40 may be used to heat or cool).
(D) Regarding Claim 6:
Modified CHEN further teaches:
each of the first and second fluid transfer lines (CHEN 36A, 36B, Figs. 1, 3) includes a meandering arrangement extending in a zigzag pattern (CHEN Fig. 8A), or a spiral arrangement (CHEN Fig. 8B).
(E) Regarding Claim 7:
Modified CHEN further teaches:
the thermal conductive body (CHEN 20, Fig. 1, 3) includes a circular shape (Fig. 8A-8B).
(F) Regarding Claim 8:
Modified CHEN further teaches:
the thermal conductive body (CHEN 20, Fig. 1, 3) rotates or sweeps on the platen (12).
(G) Regarding Claim 11:
CHEN teaches:
A substrate polishing apparatus (Figs. 1, 3), comprising:
a platen (12) having a surface (14) configured to polish a semiconductor substrate through relative movement between the platen and the semiconductor substrate (para. 0001: semiconductor wafers…physical and chemical forces for the polishing of wafers, and para. 0016: through the mechanical polishing, the surface layer of wafer 24 is planarized);
a slurry supply (22) configured to supply slurry between the semiconductor substrate and the platen (para. 0016: slurry 22 is dispensed between wafer 24 and polishing pad 14);
a substrate holder (16, Fig. 5) configured to grip and fix the semiconductor substrate to be in contact with the platen such that the platen contacts the surface of the semiconductor substrate to be polished (para. 0016: Polishing pad 14 is formed of a material that is hard enough to allow the abrasive particles in slurry 22 to mechanically polish the wafer, which is held in wafer holder 16);
a temperature controller in contact with the surface of the platen, the temperature controller having a thermal conductive body (20) that is configured to absorb or dissipate heat from the surface of the platen (para. 0024: Since disk 20 is in contact with the top surface of polishing pad 14, heat is conducted between disk 20 and polishing pad 14).
However, the difference between CHEN and the claimed invention is that CHEN does not explicitly teach a first cleaner having an ultrasonic transducer and at least one probe, the ultrasonic transducer configured to generate ultrasonic waves and the probe configured to transmit the ultrasonic waves to an outer surface of the thermal conductive body and a second cleaner having a plurality of cleaning nozzles that are configured to spray a cleaning solution on an outer surface of the thermal conductive body.
ISHIBASHI teaches:
A cleaning body (40d, Fig. 2) comprising:
a first cleaner having an ultrasonic transducer and at least one probe (54, Fig. 3, wherein structure of the cleaner unit 40d is similar to 40a), the ultrasonic transducer configured to generate ultrasonic waves and the probe configured to transmit the ultrasonic waves to an outer surface of a conditioning body (64) (col. 7, ll. 14-23) and,
a second cleaner having at least one cleaning nozzle (ISHIBASHI 52b, col. 5, 11. 25: jet orifice), the cleaning nozzle configured to spray a cleaning solution (ISHIBASHI col. 5, ll. 23-24: gas-dissolved pure water) to the outer surface of the conditioning body (ISHIBASHI 64, Fig. 5)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pad conditioner of CHEN to include a first cleaner and second cleaner, as taught by ISHIBASHI, in order to generate and transmit ultrasonic waves to a cleaning solution that is directed through a nozzle to an outer surface of the conditioning disk and thereby achieve the predictable result of cleaning the conditioning disk (ISHIBASHI col. 7, ll. 14-23).
(H) Regarding Claim 14:
Modified CHEN further teaches:
a first fluid transfer line (CHEN 36A, Fig. 1, 3, 8A, 8B) through which cooling fluid moves along a lower surface of the thermal conductive body (CHEN 20); and a second fluid transfer line (CHEN 36B) through which heating fluid moves along the lower surface of the thermal conductive body (CHEN para. 0024: heat-carrying media 40 may be used to heat or cool).
(I) Regarding Claim 15:
Modified CHEN further teaches:
each of the first and second fluid transfer lines (CHEN 36A, 36B, Figs. 1, 3) includes a meandering arrangement extending in a zigzag pattern (CHEN Fig. 8A), or a spiral arrangement (CHEN Fig. 8B).
(J) Regarding Claim 16:
Modified CHEN further teaches:
the thermal conductive body (CHEN 20, Fig. 1, 3) includes a circular shape (Fig. 8A-8B).
(K) Regarding Claim 17:
Modified CHEN further teaches:
the thermal conductive body (CHEN 20, Fig. 1, 3) rotates or sweeps on the platen (12).
(L) Regarding Claim 20:
CHEN teaches:
A substrate polishing apparatus (Figs. 1, 3), comprising:
a platen (12) having a surface (14) configured to polishing a semiconductor substrate through interaction between the platen and the semiconductor substrate (para. 0001: semiconductor wafers…physical and chemical forces for the polishing of wafers, and para. 0016: through the mechanical polishing, the surface layer of wafer 24 is planarized) using a slurry (22) that is supplied on the surface of the platen (para. 0016: slurry 22 is dispensed between wafer 24 and polishing pad 14);
a substrate holder (16, Fig. 5) configured to grip and fix the semiconductor substrate to be in contact with the platen such that the platen contacts the surface of the platen semiconductor substrate to be polished (para. 0016: Polishing pad 14 is formed of a material that is hard enough to allow the abrasive particles in slurry 22 to mechanically polish the wafer, which is held in wafer holder 16);
a temperature controller having a thermal conductive body (20) that is configured to in contact with the platen to transfer heat between the surface of the platen and the thermal conductivity body (para. 0024: Since disk 20 is in contact with the top surface of polishing pad 14, heat is conducted between disk 20 and polishing pad 14).
However, the difference between CHEN and the claimed invention is that CHEN does not explicitly teach a first cleaner having an ultrasonic transducer and at least one probe, the ultrasonic transducer configured to generate ultrasonic waves and the probe configured to transmit the ultrasonic waves to an outer surface of the thermal conductive body and a second cleaner having a plurality of cleaning nozzles that are configured to spray a cleaning solution on an outer surface of the thermal conductive body.
ISHIBASHI teaches:
A cleaning body (40d, Fig. 2) comprising:
a first cleaner having an ultrasonic transducer and at least one probe (54, Fig. 3, wherein structure of the cleaner unit 40d is similar to 40a), the ultrasonic transducer configured to generate ultrasonic waves and the probe configured to transmit the ultrasonic waves to an outer surface of a conditioning body (64) (col. 7, ll. 14-23) and,
a second cleaner having at least one cleaning nozzle (ISHIBASHI 52b, col. 5, 11. 25: jet orifice), the cleaning nozzle configured to spray a cleaning solution (ISHIBASHI col. 5, ll. 23-24: gas-dissolved pure water) to the outer surface of the conditioning body (ISHIBASHI 64, Fig. 5)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pad conditioner of CHEN to include a first cleaner and second cleaner, as taught by ISHIBASHI, in order to generate and transmit ultrasonic waves to a cleaning solution that is directed through a nozzle to an outer surface of the conditioning disk and thereby achieve the predictable result of cleaning the conditioning disk (ISHIBASHI col. 7, ll. 14-23).
Claim(s) 3, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified CHEN, as applied to claims 1, 11, respectively, above, and further in view of an engineering expedient as evidenced by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20030216112 to Gotze et al. (hereinafter “GOTZE”).
(A) Regarding Claim 3:
Modified CHEN teaches:
A cleaning nozzle (ISHIBASHI 52b, col. 5, 11. 25: jet orifice) has a predetermined angle from a direction perpendicular to the surface of the platen (CHEN 12, Figs. 1, 3 and ISHIBASHI Figs. 3, 5).
However, the difference between modified CHEN and the claimed invention is that modified CHEN does not explicitly teach the predetermined angle is within a range of 5 degrees to 70 degrees.
GOTZE teaches:
a cleaner having at least one cleaning nozzle (30, Fig. 1), the cleaning nozzle configured to spray a cleaning solution (30A) to the outer surface of a platen at an acute angle of less than 45 degrees (para. 0030).
Though CHEN does not explicitly state the angle is within the claimed range, CHEN identifies that the nozzle is directed to an outer surface of the conditioning body adjacent the outer surface of the platen for cleaning (ISHIBASHI col. 7, ll. 14-23). Furthermore, GOTZE teaches that changing the angle of a cleaning nozzle directed at the surface of the platen that contacts the conditioning body can have an effect on the amount of damage caused to the platen surface by the jet of cleaning solution and that an acute angle reduces the damage (GOTZE para. 0030). Therefore, the angle of the nozzle is considered a result-effective variable and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the predetermined angle as an acute angle within the claimed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)).
(B) Regarding Claim 12:
Modified CHEN teaches:
A cleaning nozzle (ISHIBASHI 52b, col. 5, 11. 25: jet orifice) has a predetermined angle from a direction perpendicular to the surface of the platen (CHEN 12, Figs. 1, 3 and ISHIBASHI Figs. 3, 5).
However, the difference between modified CHEN and the claimed invention is that modified CHEN does not explicitly teach the predetermined angle is within a range of 5 degrees to 70 degrees.
GOTZE teaches:
a cleaner having at least one cleaning nozzle (30, Fig. 1), the cleaning nozzle configured to spray a cleaning solution (30A) to the outer surface of a platen at an acute angle of less than 45 degrees (para. 0030).
Though CHEN does not explicitly state the angle is within the claimed range, CHEN identifies that the nozzle is directed to an outer surface of the conditioning body adjacent the outer surface of the platen for cleaning (ISHIBASHI col. 7, ll. 14-23). Furthermore, GOTZE teaches that changing the angle of a cleaning nozzle directed at the surface of the platen that contacts the conditioning body can have an effect on the amount of damage caused to the platen surface by the jet of cleaning solution and that an acute angle reduces the damage (GOTZE para. 0030). Therefore, the angle of the nozzle is considered a result-effective variable and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the predetermined angle as an acute angle within the claimed range, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II-A)).
Claim(s) 4, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified CHEN, as applied to claims 1, 11, respectively, above, and further in view of an engineering expedient.
(A) Regarding Claim 4:
Modified CHEN teaches:
A cleaning nozzle (ISHIBASHI 52b, col. 5, 11. 25: jet orifice) has a predetermined angle from a direction perpendicular to the surface of the platen (CHEN 12, Figs. 1, 3 and ISHIBASHI Figs. 3, 5).
However, the difference between modified CHEN and the claimed invention is that modified CHEN does not explicitly teach the second cleaner further includes a plurality of the cleaning nozzles arranged along the outer surface of the thermal conductive body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of cleaning nozzles along the outer surface of the thermal conductive body, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04(VI-B)). Please note that in the instant application, at paragraph 0066, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
(B) Regarding Claim 13:
Modified CHEN teaches:
A cleaning nozzle (ISHIBASHI 52b, col. 5, 11. 25: jet orifice) has a predetermined angle from a direction perpendicular to the surface of the platen (CHEN 12, Figs. 1, 3 and ISHIBASHI Figs. 3, 5).
However, the difference between modified CHEN and the claimed invention is that modified CHEN does not explicitly teach the second cleaner further includes a plurality of the cleaning nozzles arranged along the outer surface of the thermal conductive body.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of cleaning nozzles along the outer surface of the thermal conductive body, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04(VI-B)). Please note that in the instant application, at paragraph 0066, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Claim(s) 9-10, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified CHEN, as applied to claims 1, 11, respectively, above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 6488573 to Kobayashi (hereinafter “KOBAYASHI”).
(A) Regarding Claim 9:
Modified CHEN teaches:
A probe (ISHIBASHI, 54, Fig. 3) to transmit ultrasonic waves to the outer surface of a thermal conductive body (CHEN 20, Figs. 1, 3).
However, the difference between modified CHEN and the claimed invention is that modified CHEN does not explicitly teach the probe is provided in the thermal conductive body.
KOBAYASHI teaches:
A probe (92, Fig. 9) is provided in the conditioning body to transmit the ultrasonic waves to the outer surface of the body.
Thus, KOBAYASHI teaches placing the probe in the conditioning body is a known technique for improving the cleaning of the surface between the conditioning body and the platen (col. 21, ll. 46-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this known technique to the first cleaner having the probe of CHEN in order to direct the ultrasonic waves to the outer surface of the thermal conductive body and thereby achieve the predictable result of cleaning the platen surface (KOBAYASHI col. 21, ll. 46-51).
(B) Regarding Claim 10:
Modified CHEN teaches:
A probe (ISHIBASHI, 54, Fig. 3) to transmit ultrasonic waves to the outer surface of a thermal conductive body (CHEN 20, Figs. 1, 3).
However, the difference between modified CHEN and the claimed invention is that modified CHEN does not explicitly teach the probe is provided on the thermal conductive body and the probe contacts the outer surface of the conductive body.
KOBAYASHI teaches:
A probe (92, Fig. 9) is provided on the conditioning body and contacts the outer surface of the conductive body at the outlet hole (86) to transmit the ultrasonic waves to the outer surface of the body.
Thus, KOBAYASHI teaches placing the probe on the conditioning body at a location in contact with the outer surface of the conditioning body is a known technique for improving the cleaning of the surface between the conditioning body and the platen (col. 21, ll. 46-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this known technique to the first cleaner having the probe of CHEN in order to direct the ultrasonic waves to the outer surface of the thermal conductive body and thereby achieve the predictable result of cleaning the platen surface (KOBAYASHI col. 21, ll. 46-51).
(C) Regarding Claim 18:
Modified CHEN teaches:
A probe (ISHIBASHI, 54, Fig. 3) to transmit ultrasonic waves to the outer surface of a thermal conductive body (CHEN 20, Figs. 1, 3).
However, the difference between modified CHEN and the claimed invention is that modified CHEN does not explicitly teach the probe is provided in the thermal conductive body.
KOBAYASHI teaches:
A probe (92, Fig. 9) is provided in the conditioning body to transmit the ultrasonic waves to the outer surface of the body.
Thus, KOBAYASHI teaches placing the probe in the conditioning body is a known technique for improving the cleaning of the surface between the conditioning body and the platen (col. 21, ll. 46-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this known technique to the first cleaner having the probe of CHEN in order to direct the ultrasonic waves to the outer surface of the thermal conductive body and thereby achieve the predictable result of cleaning the platen surface (KOBAYASHI col. 21, ll. 46-51).
(D) Regarding Claim 19:
Modified CHEN teaches:
A probe (ISHIBASHI, 54, Fig. 3) to transmit ultrasonic waves to the outer surface of a thermal conductive body (CHEN 20, Figs. 1, 3).
However, the difference between modified CHEN and the claimed invention is that modified CHEN does not explicitly teach the probe is provided on the thermal conductive body and the probe contacts the outer surface of the conductive body.
KOBAYASHI teaches:
A probe (92, Fig. 9) is provided on the conditioning body and contacts the outer surface of the conductive body at the outlet hole (86) to transmit the ultrasonic waves to the outer surface of the body.
Thus, KOBAYASHI teaches placing the probe on the conditioning body at a location in contact with the outer surface of the conditioning body is a known technique for improving the cleaning of the surface between the conditioning body and the platen (col. 21, ll. 46-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply this known technique to the first cleaner having the probe of CHEN in order to direct the ultrasonic waves to the outer surface of the thermal conductive body and thereby achieve the predictable result of cleaning the platen surface (KOBAYASHI col. 21, ll. 46-51).
Cited Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20210035812 to Kim et al., US 20200246935 to Oh et al. teach suppling a fluid medium to an inside of the platen to adjust a surface temperature of the platen. US 20200001427 to Soundararajan et la., US 20170239778 to Maruyama et al. teach temperature control system including a body configured to contact the polishing surface. US 6343977 to Peng et al. teaches a trapezoid body for cleaning the polishing surface includes ultrasonic wave transducers. US 6241587 to Drill et al., US 5895550 to Andreas, and US 5888124 to Lin et al. teach ultrasonic nozzle for cleaning the polishing surface.
Conclusion
KAYLA M. MCCAFFREY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/Kayla McCaffrey/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745