Final Rejection
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Following a non-final action, applicant filed a response on 8/3/2026 in which the specification and drawings are amended, claims 1, 3, 7, 8, 10-12, 15, and 18 are amended, and claims 6 and 9 are cancelled. Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 10-19 are pending.
Specification
Many of the specification objections are corrected by the amendment. The following was not corrected:
In the abstract of the disclosure, “grading” should be “grating.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
Many (but not all) of the drawing objections are corrected are corrected by the amendment. In many cases this was done by correcting the specification.
The drawings are objected to as follows:
Reference symbols 62, 64, 66, 68 are in Fig. 28B but not the specification. Symbols 126 (Fig 18A), 134 (Fig. 16A-B, 17A-B, 18A-B, 19A-B, 20A-B, 21B, 22A-B), 144 (Fig. 16A), 147 (Fig. 12A), 149 (Fig. 12A), 151 (Fig. 17A-B, 18A-B)), are in the figures but not in the specification.
In Figs. 26 and 27, 305, 310, 315, and 320 all refer to multiple different things.
120 is supposed to be a spacer in Figs. 11A-B. It is not found there, instead it is found in Fig. 24 referring to something different.
In Fig. 32, 610 should be 618 to match the specification, [0229].
In Fig. 33, 630 should be 38 to match the specification, [0230].
[0231] uses reference symbols 642, 644, which are not in the figures.
Claim Objections
Many of the prior claim objections are corrected by amendment. The following was not corrected.
Claim 1 is objected to because “grading” is used in line 9, it should be “grating.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Claims 4 and 19 are drawn to the module of the independent claims, further comprising: an artificial intelligence (AI) engine configured to provide to learn from patterns or features from the module change information and provide learned information to a module setting or operation. Claim 5 further specifies algorithms the AI may use.
The test for enablement is whether a person skilled in the art could make or use the invention without undue experimentation, using the Wands factors to determine whether there is undue experimentation. In re Wands, 858 F.2d 731, 737 (Fed. Cir. 1988); MPEP 2164.01. The primary problem here is not the enablement of the individual parts—VCSELs are well known, and AI is well known. The specification talks a lot about how AI works. Paragraphs [0189] to [0241] discuss AI. The problem is that it is not shown how the individual parts can interact. All of this discussion is about AI in general, not how it interacts with a VCSEL transceiver module as in parent claim 1. None of this connects the VCSEL to the AI engine as the claims require. It is not apparent from the specification how an AI is used with the VCSEL. And even more particularly, it is not clear how the AI would be used with a VCSEL in a transceiver module.
As to the Wands factors, factor (A) the breadth of the claims weighs against enablement. The claims are not drawn to a specific application of AI with a VCSEL, it seems like any use of AI would be covered, particularly in light of the indefiniteness issue discussed herein. The full scope of the claim, including any use of AI, is not enabled
Factors (B) the nature of the invention, (C) the state of the prior art, (D) the level of one of ordinary skill appear to be neutral and do not weigh either way.
Factor (E) the level of predictability in the art weighs against enablement, because AI in general is a relatively new technology, with advances moving quickly, and therefore is not predictable. This is not some 100-year-old mechanical technology.
Factors (F) the amount of direction provided by the inventor, (G) the existence of working examples, and (H) the quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure weigh against enablement. Again, the specification does not actually tell us how AI is used with VCSELs. In many ways the last 50 or so paragraphs of the specification feel like a separate unrelated discussion that belongs in a different application.
In light of the Wands factors discussed above, the examiner finds that the claims would require undue experimentation to make or use the invention. Claims 4-5 and 19 are not enabled.
Claims 1-5, 7-8, and 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states that the active regions “can include” various features. This type of language is permissive and implies these features are optional, not a requirement, so it is not clear if the claim is actually intended to include any of the features after this. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation these features are indeed considered optional for the purpose of examination as that is what the claim language suggests, at least until applicant positively recites them into the claim. It is noted that Chang-Hasnain cited herein includes tunnel junctions, buried tunnel junctions, apertures, etc.
To be clear, this refers to in claim 1:
the one or more active regions can include a selected shape structure, one or more tunnel junctions (TJ), one or more apertures are provided with the selected shape structure, one or more buried tunnel junctions (BTJ) or oxide confine apertures, additional TJ's, planar structures and or additional BTJ's created during a regrowth process that is independent of a first growth process with a VCSEL output determined in response to a monitoring application of the VCSEL
The VCSEL having an HCG that is directly after these limitations is considered a positive requirement because it is part of the VCSEL, while this optional language is focused more on the active region.
It is also noted that “created during a regrowth process that is independent of a first growth process” is product-by-process language that will not get patentable weight if this language is amended to no longer be optional. See MPEP 2113. If applicant is correcting the claim, it should consider whether it wants to claim this in this way.
Claims 4 and 19 use the language “configured to provide to learn from patterns or features from the module change information.” The examiner cannot see what this is supposed to mean, clarification is required. To be clear, it is not seen what “configured to provide to learn” means, and it is also not clear what “from the module change information” means. The examiner cannot guess what is intended to be claimed here, so the “configured to” part is being ignored in this action, the examiner will examine the claim solely with an AI engine.
Clams 4 and 19 are also rejected as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The addition of an AI engine is merely claimed as existing; it is not claimed how it is placed in the system when compared to other elements, where they go, what signal goes through it or is acted on, etc. There is no indication how it relates to the laser. Additionally, this is not clearly seen in the specification how exactly the engine relates to the other elements, where it will go, so applicant cannot add such details now without running afoul of the written description requirement. The examiner fails to see how this may be remedied other than cancelling the claims.
Clams 7-8 are rejected as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections. See MPEP § 2172.01. The acousto-optic switch and circulator are merely claimed as existing; it is not claimed how they are placed in the system when compared to other elements, where they go, what signal goes through them, etc. Additionally, these elements are not found in the specification, so applicant cannot add such details now without running afoul of the written description requirement. The examiner fails to see how this may be remedied other than cancelling the claims.
In claim 17, “the optical coupling device” lacks antecedent basis. It likely should depend on claim 12.
Claims 18 and 19 are indefinite and rejected because they depend on claim 6, which was cancelled. Note that these claims cannot merely be amended to depend on claim 1, or they would be identical to claims 3 and 4, respectively. But they are presumed to depend on claim 1 for application of art purposes because it cannot be guessed what else may have been applicant’s intention.
The remaining claims are also rejected as they depend on claim 1 and are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-8, and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0280269 (“Chang-Hasnain”) in view of US 2005/0063440 (“Deppe”), and further in view of US 2014/0247841 (“Seurin”), and further in view of Quintans et al., 5 Gb/s Optical Transceiver for MEMS Tunable HCG-VCSEL in 65 nm CMOS, 2020 International SoC Design Conference (“Quintans”).
Regarding claim 1, Chang-Hasnain discloses in Fig. 1 a tunable VCSEL laser (see abstract) with one or more active regions 24 having quantum wells and barriers ([0064]), the active regions surrounded by one or more p-n junctions (22/26 is a pn junction surrounding the active region), the one or more active regions can include [various optional features, see 112 rejection above, but note Chang-Hasnain at least includes a tunnel junction 28 and apertures formed by implant 46. Also note that almost anything can be called a “selected shape structure.”], the VCSEL having an HCG and a bottom DBR (see HCG 34 and bottom DBR 20 in Fig. 1); . . . and a DBR on one side of the junctions, and the HCG on the other side of the junction (again, see HCG 34 and bottom DBR 20 in Fig. 1, TJ 28 or p-n junctions 22/26 are between them).
Chang-Hasnain does not show “a mesa located within either a lower mirror layers or an upper mirror layers, the mesa having a lateral dimension that is less than a lateral dimension of the one or more lower mirror layers or the one or more upper mirror layers, the mesa configured such that the mesa has a cavity resonance, the tunable VCSEL laser having an optical confinement created with a step index and regrowth.” Deppe shows a VCSEL that includes a mesa within the upper or lower mirror layers (Fig. 1B mesa 150 in mirror 180, Fig. 2 mesa 250,260 in mirror 290; Fig. 7 shows similar in the lower mirror), the mesa having a lateral dimension less than that of the mirror layers as clear in Figs. 1-2. The mesa has a cavity resonance, the center where the mesa is located 160,270 is called a cavity region. [0040],[0059]. There is optical confinement between sections 160,270 and 170,280, where the mesa is and is not located. [0040], [0059]. As the mesa is a different material and the mirrors are grown after the mesa is grown, this can meet the broad recitation of “created with a step index and regrowth,” to the extent that this seeming process limitation may be given patentable weight. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include such a mesa in the reflector as it provides optical confinement, which is generally desirable in VCSELs, with less loss than other methods. [0005]-[0011], [0031]-[0034]. Furthermore, in the Fig. 2 embodiment the mesa provides both a current confinement region and an optical mode confinement region that closely match at the mesa, and making these regions match reduces scattering loss as taught by Deppe. [0060].
As to “wherein a shape of an output beam of the tunable VCSEL laser is determined by a geometric shape of the one or more BTJ apertures, apertures for additional TJ's, planar structures and additional BTJ's, with a transmission function of the HCG and is designed according to the desired optical transmission function of the application.” First, it is apparent that a person skilled in the laser art will design their output beam according to the desired transmission of their particular application. Additionally, any of these things will determine the shape of the output beam. For example, the TJ aperture will be where current is injected, and the shape of the current injection will impact the output beam.
Chang-Hasnain does not show “an opto-mechanical coupler coupled to the tunable VCSEL laser, the opto-mechanical coupler having a first end, a second end and a reflective surface, the first end configured so that one or more optical fibers are properly aligned with the reflective surface to transmit or receive optical signals.”
Suerin describes a VCSEL pump module where VCSELs are provided with their output coupled to an optical fiber to output a pump beam. [0015]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Chang-Hasnain’s VCSEL in a system like Seurin’s as Seurin shows us that VCSEL pumping is often useful. [0004]-[0021]. Chang-Hasnain’s laser provides a number of advantages at longer wavelengths [0008]-[0019], and sometimes longer wavelengths are needed for pumping depending on the gain medium. It is noted that Suerin also remains applicable even after modification with Quintans below, as the VCSEL output of Quintans is intended to be transmitted via optical fibers, same as Suerin, so the Fig. 7 embodiment showing how to couple VCSELs to a fiber is relevant. That is, combining with Quintans will require coupling to fibers, so using Suerin’s manner of coupling to fibers would be useful and obvious.
One exemplary VCSEL pump module and manner of coupling to fibers is shown in Suerin Fig. 7, [0067] et seq., where there is a first end and a second end, the first end configured so that the fiber is properly aligned with the beams. This discussion at [0069] also notes that the coupling arrangements of Fig. 6 may be used, and at least Fig. 6c shows a reflective surface for coupling the beams into the fiber. [0065].
Chang-Hasnain does not disclose that it is a transceiver module and is configured to convert optical signals into electrical signals. It was well known in the art that HCG VCSELs may be used in a transceiver module with a photodiode coupled to the VCSEL, and a photodiode by definition will convert optical signals to electric signals. See Quintans Fig. 1. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Chang-Hasnain’s laser in a transceiver, as it has been shown that such VCSELs may have appropriate characteristics for use in optical communications
Regarding claim 2, as just stated a photodiode is coupled to a receives optical signals from the VCSEL.
Regarding claim 3, the primary references do not show a photonic integrated circuit as claimed. The examiner takes Official Notice that photonic integrated circuits having multiple different gratings were known in the art. Indeed, if this was not well known, it would not be enabled, as applicant did not describe this in the specification except to note in passing that a VCSEL may be coupled with a PIC. This taking of Official Notice was used in the last action, was not challenged, and therefore is now considered admitted prior art. MPEP 2144.03. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the combined device with a PIC having different gratings as these are often used in various applications such as communications systems. PICs allow for high speed communication and gratings filter and select particular wavelengths to be used in the system. Note Chang-Hasnain is tunable due to the HCG so is capable of meeting the functional language of sweeping across different wavelengths.
Regarding claims 7-8, Seurin also shows in Fig. 15, [0090] et seq., that a VCSEL pumped device may have an acousto-optic switch 1560 and circulator 1570 coupled to a port of the switch.
Regarding claim 10, Seurin’s VCSELs may be mounted to a heat sink, i.e. in thermal contact with a thermal mount. See Fig. 5, 513, [0060].
Regarding claim 11, Seurin’s VCSELs include optical components that collimate an optical beam emitted from the VCSEL. See Fig. 5, 517, [0060].
Regarding claims 12-13, Seurin Fig. 7, [0067] et seq., shows the VCSEL pump module may include an optical coupling device including alignment housing aligning the output beam with the output fiber.
Regarding claims 14-16, the optical components of Seurin are micro-lenses 517 that are aligned with the VCSELs at a predetermined distance to provide an output beam with a substantially uniform intensity. [0060].
Regarding claim 17, the optical coupling device in Seurin Fig. 7 includes a lens 716.
Regarding claim 18, this is obvious for the same reason as claim 3 above.
Claims 4-5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang-Hasnain, Deppe, Seurin, and Quintans as applied to claim 1, and further in view of US 2017/0270375 (“Grauer”).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, the primary references show the features of the parent claims, but do not further show an AI engine. Grauer teaches that an imaging system including a VCSEL ([0023]) may use an AI engine ([0063], [0042]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use an AI engine with the system because then the system may learn from previous sessions to enhance future performance, as taught by Grauer.
Regarding claim 5, Grauer also uses KNN. [0042].
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed with the response have been fully considered.
Applicant has corrected many of the specification, claim, and drawing objections from the prior action. Some are maintained above as they were not addressed.
Applicant did not address any of the 112 issues except for the cancellation of claim 6. Applicant stated the other rejections are overcome by the amendment to claim 1, but the examiner fails to see how this is the case. Those rejections are maintained as above.
As to the art rejections, applicant argued that Chang-Hasnain does not describe claim 1 as now amended, particularly the newly added limitations. The examiner agrees that applicant has amended around the Chang-Hasnain reference, but the examiner relies upon other references for these features as in the above rejections.
The Declaration of Christopher Chase filed with the response has been fully considered. Dr. Chase specifically argues that the device of Chang-Hasnain was not and could not be made, but does not explain this point further therefore there is nothing to discuss. Prior art is presumed to be operable, MPEP 2121 I., and there is no evidence in the record to determine that Chang-Hasnain is lacking or is not an enabling disclosure. In any event, Chang-Hasnain remains relevant prior art for all it teaches, and the examiner sees no reason that its teachings cannot be applicable to the obviousness rejections above. See MPEP 2121.01 II.
Dr. Chase also argues that Chang-Hasnain does not teach certain features of claim 1, but again the examiner relies upon other references for these features. Dr. Chase states in passing that the invention of claim 1 solves an unmet need. To the extent applicant is arguing for objective indicia of non-obviousness, a showing of long-felt need requires more evidence that has not been shown. See MPEP 716.04.
WO 2020/231714 also shows a mesa in a VCSEL mirror, as well as other claimed features like BTJs and an HCG.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES A MENEFEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828