DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: In Line 18, the parenthesis should be deleted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 14 and 16 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 14 and 16 have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dang (U.S. Patent No. 9,306,333). Regarding Claim 1, Dang discloses a connector element (700) for a connector system, the connector element comprising: four contact members (708) for making electric contact on a front side of the connector element; and a contact member carrier (702), wherein the contact member carrier comprises a circumferentially extending contact surface (inner surface of 704) having an axial extent; wherein the contact members extend in an axial direction on the circumferentially extending contact surface of the contact member carrier; wherein, on the circumferentially extending contact surface of the contact member carrier, the contact members have a free contact surface (728) which is accessible on the circumferentially extending contact surface of the contact member carrier; wherein each of the contact members has an insulation radius (702’s insulation between 704s), the insulation radius being, when measured in a view (Fig. 26) onto the front face, a minimum clearance (distance between 704s) between outer boundaries of a respective one of the contact members and a closest neighbouring one of the contact members to the respective one of the contact members; wherein the contact members are grouped into two groups (704s can be divided in pairs in opposite sides of 702) such that, for each of the contact members, the closest neighbouring one of the contact members, which defines the respective contact member's insulation radius, belongs to a different one of the two groups of the contact members from the respective one of the contact members.
Regarding Claim 2, Dang discloses the contact members being arranged on corners of a tetragon (704s can be divided in pairs in opposite sides of 702 forming a tetragon); the tetragon has at least two parallel sides; and the parallel sides of the tetragon extend at least between the contact members of each of the two groups of contact members.
Regarding Claim 3, Dang discloses the contact members extending axially through the contact member carrier and project on a back side of the contact member carrier with projecting sections (726 as shown in Fig. 26) of the contact members; the projecting sections of each of the two groups of contact members have common tangents; and the common tangent of the projecting sections of a first one of the two groups of contact members on a side facing the projecting sections of a second of the two groups of contact members is parallel to the common tangent of the projecting sections of the second group of contact members facing the projecting sections of the first one of the two groups of contact members, whereby a clear space (Fig. 26) is provided between the projecting sections of the first group of contact members and the projecting sections of the second group of contact members.
Regarding Claim 4, Dang discloses, on its back side, the connector element comprising at least one alignment structure (710), configured and adapted for receiving and aligning a printed circuit board (724); the at least one alignment structure comprises at least one axially extending support notch (712) formed in the at least one alignment structure, the at least one support notch configured to receive the printed circuit board when the printed circuit board is advanced into the support notch along the axial direction of the connector element while two faces of the printed circuit board extend in an axial direction of the connector element and in a radial direction of the connector element; the at least one support notch extends in an axially extending plane between the two groups of contact members; and a first one of the at least one support notch (712) extends radially to a greater extent than a further support notch on the radially opposite side of the connector element.
Regarding Claim 5, Dang discloses the first one of the at least one support notch extending radially entirely through one of the at least one alignment structure and an alignment structure wall (714) on a radially opposite side of the connector element is closed on a radially outer side.
Regarding Claim 6, Dang discloses the contact members extending axially through the contact member carrier and project on a back side of the contact member carrier with projecting soldering lugs (726).
Regarding Claim 7, Dang discloses the circumferentially extending contact surface of the contact member carrier being cylindrical (Fig. 26).
Regarding Claim 8, Dang discloses the contact member carrier comprising a peg (712); and the circumferentially extending contact surface of the contact member carrier is provided on the lateral surface of the peg.
Regarding Claim 9, Dang discloses the peg extending from a cylindrical section (908) of the connector element having a larger cross-sectional dimension than the peg; the cylindrical section comprises at least one circumferential groove (where 952 is located) on its outer diameter; and the circumferential groove is configured to receive an O-ring (952) therein.
Regarding Claim 10, Dang discloses the contact member carrier comprising a socket (back of 702), the socket having an axially extending wall (712) limiting the socket and forming the circumferentially extending contact surface.
Regarding Claim 11, Dang discloses a locking sleeve (720) being revolvably and axially mobile received on the connector element
Regarding Claim 12, Dang discloses an electronic device comprising: the connector element; and a printed circuit board (724), wherein the printed circuit board is received in the clear space between the projecting sections of the first group of contact members and the projecting sections of the second group of contact members and the projecting sections of the contact members are soldered directly to conductor paths of the printed circuit board.
Regarding Claim 13, Dang discloses a housing (716, 720) being provided which encases the printed circuit board and at least a part (Fig. 26) of the connector element; and an O-ring sealing (952) is provided between the connector element and the housing.
Regarding Claim 15, Dang discloses a signal transmission device comprising: the connector element; and a signal cable (178) having at least four wires, wherein at least one wire is connected to each of the soldering lugs, and a sealing sleeve (160) is placed over the cable in a sealing relationship and covering the back side of the contact member carrier and the soldering lugs and is configured to provide at least liquid-proof sealing of the inner space including the soldering lugs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses connectors, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having contact members and contact carriers.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833