DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8, 10-11, 13-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the infrared sensor" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Specifically, it is unclear which or how many infrared sensors this is referencing as the claim previously recited an infrared sensor on each of the sanitaryware fixtures. The Examiner recommends language such as “each of the infrared sensors” or “at least one of the infrared sensors” depending on Applicant’s intention (or something similar) to overcome the rejection. Claims 2-8, 10-11, 13-15, and 19-20 will inherit this same issue since they depend from the rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-11, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20180038089 A1 (hereinafter Caldwell).
Regarding claim 1, Caldwell discloses a connected sanitaryware system, comprising
a plurality of sanitaryware fixtures (12);
an infrared sensor (14) located on a flush valve assembly of each of the sanitaryware fixtures (“infrared” par. 31); and
a controller (18) in electrical communication with the infrared sensor (par. 31);
wherein the controller is configured to communicate with a mobile computing device selected from a laptop computer, a mobile phone, or a tablet, directly and/or via a gateway (par. 30),
the controller is configured to collect data from the infrared sensor and to transmit the data to the mobile computing device (par. 33),
the mobile computing device comprises a dashboard having visual modules configured to monitor, display, and analyze the data (GUI is considered a dashboard; par. 30),
the dashboard allows a user to view settings of each of the plurality of sanitaryware fixtures (par. 30),
the dashboard allows the user to control the settings of each of the plurality of sanitaryware fixtures (par. 30), and
the settings include a user detection interval, a delay between detection and flush, a duration a flush valve is open during a flush, and a distance to which the infrared sensor measures (par. 25, 26, 27).
Regarding claim 2, Caldwell discloses wherein the sanitaryware fixtures (12) comprise a plurality of toilets or a plurality of urinals (par. 24).
Regarding claim 3, Caldwell discloses the settings include a duration a flush valve is open during a low volume flush or a high-volume flush measures (par. 27, 28).
Regarding claim 4, Caldwell discloses the controller is configured to communicate directly with the computing device (par. 30).
Regarding claim 5, Caldwell discloses a technician may initiate an action via the computing device (par. 30).
Regarding claim 6, Caldwell discloses wherein the settings include a frequency of a sanitaryware automatic rinse (“cleansing cycle” par. 33).
Regarding claim 7, Caldwell disclose wherein the data comprises a battery status (par. 29).
Regarding claim 8, Caldwell discloses wherein the data comprises a number of flushes over a time period (“number of times of operation” par. 36).
Regarding claim 10, Caldwell discloses wherein the data comprises a water consumption over a time period (“water flow volume usage” par. 29).
Regarding claim 11, Caldwell discloses wherein the computing device is configured to send instructions to the controller, and the controller is configured to initiate a sanitaryware action in response (par. 35, 36).
Regarding claim 13, Caldwell discloses wherein the data comprises a number of high volume flushes and a number of low volume flushes over a time period (par. 29).
Regarding claim 14, Caldwell discloses wherein the data comprises a number of second flushes over a time period (“number of times of operations” is considered to cover second flushes; par. 36).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caldwell in view of US Patent Application Publication 2009/0119142 (hereinafter Yenni).
Regarding claim 15, Caldwell fails to show wherein the data comprises an average number of flushes over a time period. Attention is turned to Yenni which shows the data comprises an average number of flushes over a time period (par. 125) for monitoring a sanitary system. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to collect data based on an average number of flushes over a time period to, for example, determine if the fixture needs servicing as evidenced by the teachings of Yenni.
Regarding claim 19, Caldwell fails to show the data comprises an average daily usage. Attention is turned to Yenni which shows a control and monitoring system for a bathroom that collects data for daily usage for toilet fixtures (par. 160). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to collect data on average daily usage to help a maintenance or cleaner know how often a fixture needs attention as evidenced by the teachings of Yenni.
Regarding claim 20, Caldwell fails to show the data comprises a last date and time of the computing device communication with the controller. Attention is turned to Yenni which shows creating data with date and time stamps to monitor the status of a fixture in a restroom (par. 145). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to use data based on a last date and time of the computing device communication with the controller to monitor the status of a fixture in a restroom as evidenced by the teachings of Yenni.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the pending claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JANIE M LOEPPKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754