Status of Claims
This communication is a Final Office action in response to communications received on 11/14/2025. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, 17 and 20 have been amended. Therefore, claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1, 8 and 15 recite: “vector embeddings of the set of resumes and vector embeddings of the one or more mock candidates”. Applicants’ specification does not include “vector embeddings”, let alone “vector embeddings of the set of resumes and vector embeddings of the one or more mock candidates”.
The ‘written description’ requirement implements the principle that a patent must describe the technology that is sought to be patented; the requirement serves both to satisfy the inventor’s obligation to disclose the technologic knowledge upon which the patent is based, and to demonstrate that the patentee was in possession of the invention that is claimed." Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357, 76 USPQ2d 1078, 1084 (Fed. Cir. 2005). Further, the written description requirement promotes the progress of the useful arts by ensuring that patentees adequately describe their inventions in their patent specifications in exchange for the right to exclude others from practicing the invention for the duration of the patent’s term.
To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See, e.g., Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d at 1563, 19 USPQ2d at 1116. However, a showing of possession alone does not cure the lack of a written description. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 969-70, 63 USPQ2d 1609, 1617 (Fed. Cir. 2002). An applicant shows possession of the claimed invention by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations using such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, and formulas that fully set forth the claimed invention. Lockwood v. Amer. Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (Fed. Cir. 1997). The claimed invention as a whole may not be adequately described if the claims require an essential or critical feature which is not adequately described in the specification and which is not conventional in the art or known to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2163 | (A)). Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies of the parent claims and thus dependent claims are rejected on the same basis as indicated above for the respective parent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without a practical application and significantly more.
Step 1: Identifying Statutory Categories
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. § 101, it must be determined whether the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter (i.e., Step 1). In the instant case, claims 1-7 are directed to a method (i.e. a process). Claims 8-14 are directed to a system (i.e. a machine). Claims 15-20 are directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium (i.e. an article of manufacture). Thus, each of these claims fall within one of the four statutory categories. Nevertheless, the claims fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong One: Abstract Ideas
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea. Independent claim 1, analogous to independent claims 8 and 15 recite: A method comprising: identifying a job description comprising qualifications for an individual who would be suitable for filling a job position corresponding to the job description; receiving one or more mock candidates that satisfy at least a subset of the qualifications, wherein the mock candidates; identifying a set of resumes corresponding to candidates for the job position; generating a vector similarity score between vector embeddings of the set of resumes and vector embeddings of the one or more mock candidates; ranking the set of resumes based on their respective similarity score; and selecting, a subset of the resumes with a highest similarity score, corresponding to candidates to interview for the job position, based on the ranking of the set of resumes. The limitations as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls under at least the abstract groupings of:
Certain methods of organizing human activity (commercial or legal interactions (including advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations; (managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions)). As independent claims discuss identifying a job description comprising qualifications for an individual who would be suitable for filling a job; receiving one or more mock candidates that satisfy at least a subset of the qualifications, identifying a set of resumes corresponding to candidates for the job position; and selecting a subset of the resumes with a highest vector similarity score, corresponding to candidates to interview for the job position, based on the ranking of the set of resumes, which is a clear business relations and one of certain methods of organizing human activity.
Dependent claims add additional limitations, for example: (claims 2, 9 and 16) wherein the generating the one or more mock candidates comprises: identifying a set of diversity criteria for the one more candidates; and generating a prompt, the prompt including both the job description and the set of diversity criteria, wherein the one or more candidates satisfy the diversity criteria; (claims 3, 10 and 17) wherein the generating the vector similarity score comprises: identifying a set of diversity criteria for the one more candidates, wherein the vector similarity score of a first resume satisfying the diversity criteria is weighted more heavily than a second resume that does not satisfy the diversity criteria; (claims 4, 11 and 18) one or more mock candidates; and receiving the one or more mock candidates; (claims 6, 13 and 20) identifying availability for a hiring manager based on a calendar of the hiring manager; identifying contact information for the candidates corresponding to the subset of resumes with the highest vector similarity score; and sending electronic communications scheduling interviews between the candidates corresponding to the subset of resumes with the highest vector similarity score and the hiring manager (claims 7 and 14) wherein the identifying the job description comprises: identifying a new job opening posted; and retrieving the job description, but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations of certain methods of organizing human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components, the claims recite an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims merely describe how to generally “apply” the abstract idea. In particular, the claims only recite the additional elements – (claim 1) computer(s); pre-trained large language model (LLM), processor(s) (claims 5, 12 and 19) artificial intelligence or machine learning (claims 7 and 14) crawling a website (claim 8) memory, processor(s) (claim 15) a non-transitory computer-readable medium. These additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Simply implementing the abstract idea on generic computer components is not a practical application of the abstract idea, as it adds the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The limitations generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use (such as computing or machine learning, see MPEP 2106.05(h)). Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide generic computer implementation and do not impose a meaningful limit to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to discussion of integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amount to no more than mere instructions to apply an exception and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. Furthermore, claims 1-20 have been fully analyzed to determine whether there are additional elements recited that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The limitations fail to include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Thus, nothing in the claim adds significantly more to the abstract idea. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. The claims are ineligible. Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claim that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception itself, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Malley (US 2018/0157995A1), hereinafter “O’Malley”, over Ghosh et al. (US 2021/0150485 A1), hereinafter “Ghosh”, over Michaels (US 2020/0193382 A1), hereinafter “Michaels”.
Regarding Claim 1, O’Malley teaches A method comprising: identifying a job description comprising qualifications for an individual who would be suitable for filling a job position corresponding to the job description; (Job Descriptions and job positions are taught throughout O’Malley, See at least para 0265, teaching job descriptions and para 0051 and Figure 17, teaches an example of potential Job Positions within a particular Job Category);
… that satisfy at least a subset of the qualifications, (O’Malley, Figure 4, teaches a subset of qualifications including software skills, experience, education);
identifying a set of resumes corresponding to candidates for the job position; (O’Malley, para 0008, teaches candidates submitting a resume(s));
generating, by one or more processors of a first computer, a ... similarity score between ... the set of resumes and …; (See at least O’Malley, para 0030, teaching computing devices; para 0026, teaches the computing environment including processors; para 0281, teaches scoring system applied to each Applicant, Candidate. Examiner notes different scoring systems are certainly within the ability of those having ordinary skill in the art); ranking, by the one or more processors, the set of resumes based on their respective ... similarity score; and (O’Malley, para 0077, FIG. 44 is an example screenshot of list of Applicants that have been ranked based on scores);
selecting, by the one or more processors, a subset of the resumes with a highest ... similarity score, corresponding to candidates to interview for the job position, based on the ranking of the set of resumes (O’Malley, para 0010, rank the Applicants according to pre-determined criteria (Examiner notes score), and automation tools to contact the Applicants and schedule appointments as necessary).
Yet, O’Malley does not appear to explicitly teach yet in the same field of endeavor Ghosh teaches receiving, from a language model (LM) running on a second computer, one or more mock candidates … wherein the mock candidates are generated by the LM and the LM is a publicly available pre-trained large language model (LLM); … the one or more mock candidates (See at least Ghosh, Figure 3 and para 0023, teaches multiple computers in a communications network; See at least Ghosh, para 0034, teaches various publicly accessible networked systems; See at least Ghosh, para 0029, teaching training machine learning model; See at least Ghosh, para 0016, the natural language input can automatically invoke one or procedures that search networked systems and extract from one or more of the networked systems data that provides a basis for generating the set of job requirements…the set of job requirements can be dynamically refined with additional natural language; para 0017-0019, using machine learning, a model can be trained to invoke a procedure in response to a single statement, as for example one identifying an individual (e.g., current or former employee) such as “we need a candidate like Ms. Smith, our company's current chief engineer.” The statement invokes procedures to gather data such as Ms. Smith's education, credentials, skills, work history, and any other relevant data ..using the data as a standard, a set of job requirements can be constructed such that a preferred candidate (Examiner is interpreting preferred candidate as mock candidate) would have the same or comparable education, credentials, skills, and work history; Further, Ghosh, para 0034, teaches define a preferred candidate (Examiner is interpreting a preferred candidate as a mock candidate) for constructing a set of job requirements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine O’Malley with receiving, from a language model (LM) running on a second computer, one or more mock candidates … wherein the mock candidates are generated by the LM and the LM is a publicly available pre-trained large language model (LLM); … the one or more mock candidates as taught by Ghosh with the motivation for determining job requirements and assessing a job candidate can include generating a set of job requirements and ranking a job candidate (Ghosh, Abstract).
Yet, O’Malley does not appear to explicitly teach yet in the same field of endeavor Michaels teaches vector ... vector embeddings of... vector embeddings of... (Michaels teaches vector embeddings throughout, see at least para 0048, vector embeddings... allows the system to increase its accuracy in determining the meaning and context of the resumes and job descriptions; Further, Michaels, para 0018, the system may utilize word embedding (WE) models and/or phrase embedding (PE) models to train its algorithm(s) and semantically evaluate the resumes and/or job descriptions for matches. As is known in the art, a word embedding may be a learned representation of text where words that may have the same or similar meaning may have a similar representation. Each word may be represented by a real-valued vector and the word embedding methods may use a corpus of text to learn the real-valued vector representations of a set of vocabulary; para 0019, The system may utilize pre-trained word embeddings and/or pre-trained phrase embeddings, may learn new word embeddings and/or new phrase embeddings for one or more vocabulary(s) of interest, or any combination thereof.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine O’Malley with vector ... vector embeddings of... vector embeddings of... as taught by Michaels with the motivation for semantically evaluating and matching resumes with job descriptions (Michaels, Abstract). The O’Malley invention now incorporating the Ghosh and Michaels invention, has all the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2, O’Malley, now incorporating Ghosh and Michaels, teaches The method of claim 1, …
identifying a set of diversity criteria for the one more candidates; and … and the set of diversity criteria (O’Malley, para 0053, FIG. 20 depicts an example of Education levels completed that could represent the entire set of criteria for a particular job position (Examiner notes, this is identical to Applicant’s own specification, para 0020, recites: “The diversity criteria may include any information that may aid in generating the mock candidates. In some embodiments, diversity criteria may specify… amount of schooling”).
Yet, O’Malley does not appear to explicitly teach yet in the same field of endeavor Ghosh teaches wherein the generating the one or more mock candidates comprises: … generating a prompt for the LM, the prompt including both the job description … wherein the one or more candidates satisfy the diversity criteria (See at least Ghosh, para 0016, the natural language input can automatically invoke one or procedures that search networked systems and extract from one or more of the networked systems data that provides a basis for generating the set of job requirements…the set of job requirements can be dynamically refined with additional natural language; para 0017-0019, using machine learning, a model can be trained to invoke a procedure in response to a single statement, as for example one identifying an individual (e.g., current or former employee) such as “we need a candidate like Ms. Smith, our company's current chief engineer.” The statement invokes procedures to gather data such as Ms. Smith's education, credentials, skills, work history, and any other relevant data ... using the data as a standard, a set of job requirements can be constructed such that a preferred candidate (Examiner is interpreting preferred candidate as mock candidate) would have the same or comparable education (Examiner notes diversity criteria), credentials, skills, and work history.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine O’Malley and Michaels with wherein the generating the one or more mock candidates comprises: … generating a prompt for the LM, the prompt including both the job description … wherein the one or more candidates satisfy the diversity criteria as taught by Ghosh with the motivation for determining job requirements and assessing a job candidate can include generating a set of job requirements and ranking a job candidate (Ghosh, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 3, O’Malley, now incorporating Ghosh and Michaels, teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the generating the ... similarity score comprises: identifying a set of diversity criteria for the one more candidates, wherein the ... similarity score of a first resume satisfying the diversity criteria is weighted more heavily than a second resume that does not satisfy the diversity criteria (O’Malley, para 0053, FIG. 20 depicts an example of Education levels completed that could represent the entire set of criteria for a particular job position (Examiner notes, this is identical to Applicant’s own specification, para 0020, recites: “The diversity criteria may include any information that may aid in generating the mock candidates. In some embodiments, diversity criteria may specify… amount of schooling”; O’Malley, para 0285, a “Criteria Ranking” function for ranking the criteria requirement for the job posting or select a “Criteria Weighting” for applying weighting to the criteria. Examiner notes for example Figure 44, the education score is weighted more heavily if selected; Further, O’Malley, para 0644, teaches including anti-discrimination ).
Yet, O’Malley does not appear to explicitly teach yet in the same field of endeavor Michaels teaches vector (Michaels teaches vector embeddings throughout, see at least para 0048, vector embeddings... allows the system to increase its accuracy in determining the meaning and context of the resumes and job descriptions; Further, Michaels, para 0018, the system may utilize word embedding (WE) models and/or phrase embedding (PE) models to train its algorithm(s) and semantically evaluate the resumes and/or job descriptions for matches. As is known in the art, a word embedding may be a learned representation of text where words that may have the same or similar meaning may have a similar representation. Each word may be represented by a real-valued vector and the word embedding methods may use a corpus of text to learn the real-valued vector representations of a set of vocabulary; para 0019, The system may utilize pre-trained word embeddings and/or pre-trained phrase embeddings, may learn new word embeddings and/or new phrase embeddings for one or more vocabulary(s) of interest, or any combination thereof.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine O’Malley and Ghosh with vector as taught by Michaels with the motivation for semantically evaluating and matching resumes with job descriptions (Michaels, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 4, O’Malley, now incorporating Ghosh and Michaels, teaches The method of claim 1.
Yet, O’Malley does not appear to explicitly teach yet in the same field of endeavor Ghosh teaches wherein the receiving comprises: generating a prompt to request the one or more mock candidates from the LM; and receiving the one or more mock candidates generated by the LM (See at least Ghosh, para 0016, the natural language input can automatically invoke one or procedures that search networked systems and extract from one or more of the networked systems data that provides a basis for generating the set of job requirements…the set of job requirements can be dynamically refined with additional natural language; para 0017-0019, using machine learning, a model can be trained to invoke a procedure in response to a single statement, as for example one identifying an individual (e.g., current or former employee) such as “we need a candidate like Ms. Smith, our company's current chief engineer.” The statement invokes procedures to gather data such as Ms. Smith's education, credentials, skills, work history, and any other relevant data ..using the data as a standard, a set of job requirements can be constructed such that a preferred candidate (Examiner is interpreting preferred candidate as mock candidate) would have the same or comparable education, credentials, skills, and work history; Further, Ghosh, para 0034, teaches define a preferred candidate (Examiner is interpreting a preferred candidate as a mock candidate) for constructing a set of job requirements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine O’Malley with wherein the receiving comprises: generating a prompt to request the one or more mock candidates from the LM; and receiving the one or more mock candidates generated by the LM as taught by Ghosh with the motivation for determining job requirements and assessing a job candidate can include generating a set of job requirements and ranking a job candidate (Ghosh, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 5, O’Malley, now incorporating Ghosh and Michaels, teaches The method of claim 1.
Yet, O’Malley does not appear to explicitly teach yet in the same field of endeavor Ghosh teaches wherein the LM incorporates one of artificial intelligence or machine learning technologies in generating the one or more mock candidates (See at least Ghosh, para 0017-0019, using machine learning, a model can be trained to invoke a procedure in response to a single statement, as for example one identifying an individual (e.g., current or former employee) such as “we need a candidate like Ms. Smith, our company's current chief engineer.” The statement invokes procedures to gather data such as Ms. Smith's education, credentials, skills, work history, and any other relevant data .using the data as a standard, a set of job requirements can be constructed such that a preferred candidate (Examiner is interpreting preferred candidate as mock candidate) would have the same or comparable education, credentials, skills, and work history).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine O’Malley with wherein the LM incorporates one of artificial intelligence or machine learning technologies in generating the one or more mock candidates as taught by Ghosh with the motivation for determining job requirements and assessing a job candidate can include generating a set of job requirements and ranking a job candidate (Ghosh, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 6, O’Malley, now incorporating Ghosh and Michaels, teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: identifying, by the one or more processors, availability for a hiring manager based on a calendar of the hiring manager; (See at least O’Malley, para 1006, The TIMES is a module that can automatically schedules events or appointments for such as interviews, which can take place through a variety of methods and venues, such as on the phone or a face-to-face interview…, all based on conditions preset, such as dates and times a NEED-MGR and/or an Interviewer selects as “Open” times on his/her calendar for the interview);
identifying, by the one or more processors, contact information for the candidates corresponding to the subset of resumes with the highest ... similarity score; and (See at least O’Malley, Figure 44, shows candidates with highest scores, for example, Joe Smith has highest score of 2502; See at least O’Malley, para 0198, teaches contact information);
sending, by the one or more processors, electronic communications scheduling interviews between the candidates corresponding to the subset of resumes with the highest similarity score and the hiring manager (See at least O’Malley, Figure 44, shows candidates with highest scores, for example, Joe Smith has highest score of 2502; O’Malley, para 0594, Email to invite potential applicants to participate in an Interview).
Yet, O’Malley does not appear to explicitly teach yet in the same field of endeavor Michaels teaches vector (Michaels teaches vector embeddings throughout, see at least para 0048, vector embeddings... allows the system to increase its accuracy in determining the meaning and context of the resumes and job descriptions; Further, Michaels, para 0018, the system may utilize word embedding (WE) models and/or phrase embedding (PE) models to train its algorithm(s) and semantically evaluate the resumes and/or job descriptions for matches. As is known in the art, a word embedding may be a learned representation of text where words that may have the same or similar meaning may have a similar representation. Each word may be represented by a real-valued vector and the word embedding methods may use a corpus of text to learn the real-valued vector representations of a set of vocabulary; para 0019, The system may utilize pre-trained word embeddings and/or pre-trained phrase embeddings, may learn new word embeddings and/or new phrase embeddings for one or more vocabulary(s) of interest, or any combination thereof.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine O’Malley and Ghosh with vector as taught by Michaels with the motivation for semantically evaluating and matching resumes with job descriptions (Michaels, Abstract).
Regarding Claim 7, O’Malley, now incorporating Ghosh and Michaels, teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the identifying the job description comprises: crawling a website; identifying a new job opening posted to the website based on the crawling; and retrieving the job description from the website (O’Malley, Abstract teaches information regarding a at least one job opening; para 0158, teaches social networks, such as a LinkedIn®, can connect and interact with the HIRES system to exchange data; Further, See at least Ghosh, Abstract, job requirements can be generated by searching networked systems and extracting data).
Regarding claims 8 and 15 the claims are an obvious variant to claim 1 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise. O’Malley further teaches a system comprising a memory and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that when executed by at least one computing device, cause the at least one computing device to perform operations. See at least O’Malley, para 0087, teaching the computing environment including computers, processing system, memory; Further Ghosh, para 0101, teaches a computer readable storage medium, as used herein, is not to be construed as being transitory signals per se.
Regarding Claims 9 and 16, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 2 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claims 10 and 17, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 3 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claims 11 and 18, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 4 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claims 12 and 19, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 5 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claims 13 and 20, the claims recite analogous limitations to claim 6 above, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Regarding Claim 14, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 7 above, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Response to Arguments
Applicants arguments filed on 11/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding 35 U.5.C. § 101 rejections: Examiner has updated the 101 rejection in light of the most recent claim amendments and maintains the 101 rejection. Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are found unpersuasive.
With respect to Applicant’s remarks that the claims do not recite an abstract idea, Examiner respectfully disagrees. With respect to the abstract idea, the claimed invention falls within at least the abstract grouping of organizing human activity as explained in the above 101 analysis. Applicant appears to be confusing additional elements (e.g. processor, computers) under Step 2A: Prong One: Abstract Ideas. Examiner respectfully notes the additional elements are analyzed in Step 2A: Prong Two and Step 2B of the 101 analysis. With respect to Applicants remarks on integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the computing elements are additional elements to perform the steps and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Examiner has reviewed Applicants claims and specification and has found only generic computing elements. See above 101 analysis.
With respect to Applicant’s remarks (remarks page 10), “These additional elements improve the functioning of a computer at least in part by using less compute resources (e.g. compute time) through generating a vector similarity score between vector embeddings of candidate resumes and vector embeddings of mock candidates generated by a public pre-trained LLM.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As an initial matter, “vector embeddings” are not in Applicant’s specification, see above 112 rejection. Further, Applicant is merely reciting the known benefits of computing systems and machine learning. Using an already existing, publicly available language model, is not a technical solution to a technical problem. Rather, the computing systems and known machine learning models are being used for the very purpose that such computing elements are known to be used for, e.g. more efficient, faster, and etc. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation.
Therefore, Examiner maintains the 101 rejection with respect to these and all depending claims unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections. With respect to the prior art rejections, Applicants arguments have been considered but are moot in light of the most recent claim amendments as the Examiner has updated the rejections with the Michaels reference.
Further, with respect to Applicant’s remarks on “generating, by one or more processors of a first computer, a vector similarity score between vector embeddings of the set of resumes and vector embeddings of the one or more mock candidates”, Examiner respectfully notes these limitations are not in Applicant’s specification, see above 112 rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.R.N./ Examiner, Art Unit 3629
/LYNDA JASMIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3629