DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 2/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Group II incorporates all the limitations of claim 1. This is not found persuasive because the test for distinction is not whether the combination (Group II) includes all the limitations of the independent claim. Rather, inventions in a combination-subcombination relationship are distinct if it can be shown that (1) the combination as claimed does not require the particulars of the subcombination as claimed for patentability, and (2) that the subcombination has utility by itself or in other combinations (MPEP § 806.05(c)). Both have been shown in the restriction requirement, previously mailed. Additionally, the search and prior art required for Group II is not required for Group I.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Accordingly, claims 10-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(h)(3) because section lines in drawings should refer to the view number of the sectional view where it is shown. Figure 1D should have section line 1E–1E. See also Figure 3B, 6B, and 8B.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(m) because they include shading that reduces legibility and does not aids understanding of the invention. See Figures 2A, 3A, 5A, 5B, 6A, 7A, 8A, and 9A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schlaak et al. (US 10,224,166).
Regarding claim 1, Schlaak discloses a terminal for an electrical protection device, comprising: a ferrule (250) comprising a base (around 220, Fig. 2B) and a wall (pointed by 250 in Fig. 2B) disposed along a periphery of the base, wherein the base extends along a first plane (horizontal on Fig. 2B) and the wall extends along a direction that is substantially perpendicular to the first plane (vertical), whereby the base and the wall form a cup having an interior space, an electrical connector (200B) attached to the ferrule, wherein the electrical connector extends out from the interior space.
Regarding claim 3, Schlaak discloses the wall comprising a groove formed along a (outer) surface of the support wall.
Regarding claim 4, Schlaak discloses that the base and the wall are one of circular (Fig. 1A) or rectangular in shape.
Regarding claim 5, Schlaak discloses the base comprising at least one of a slot, a recess or a through-hole (Figs. 1A and 2B).
Regarding claim 6, Schlaak discloses the electrical connector comprising an elongated planar member with a through-hole disposed within the planar member (see Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 7, Schlaak discloses the electrical connector comprising a protrusion (not labeled, see base of 200B in Fig. 3) arranged on an end of the electrical connector.
Regarding claim 8, Schlaak discloses the electrical connector comprising a first elongated leg (left side of hole, Fig. 3) and a second elongated leg (right side of hole) substantially parallel to the first elongated leg, and a bridge portion (top of hole) substantially perpendicular to the first and second elongated legs and connecting the first and second elongated legs to one another.
Regarding claim 9, Schlaak discloses the ferrule formed using a metal drawing process (method of manufacturing, not germane to apparatus claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlaak in view of Douglass et al. (US 11,075,047).
Regarding claim 2, Douglass teaches the electrical connector attached to the ferrule by at least one of a braze or weld (welding). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to attach the connector to the ferrule using welding, as taught by Douglass, in order to provide a reliable mechanical and electrical connection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831