DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Unno (JP 6760449 B2, attached with translation) in view of Takada (US 2017/0254378 A1), Nukumizu (WO 2020/089979 A1, attached with translation), and Mitsui (Mitsui, "Milex RS-2210 MB Technical Datasheet," 2020). Songhan (Songhan, "Mitsui Milex RS-2210MB Silicone Rubber Modified Phenolic Resin") is cited as an evidentiary reference.
Regarding claims 1-7, Unno teaches a friction material composition that includes a binder, inorganic filler, and fiber base material (p. 6, [0009]). The copper content is 5 mass% or less (p. 6, [00009]). The content of metal fibers not containing copper may be 0.5 mass % or less (p. 6, [0009]). The binder may be silicone-modified phenol resin in amounts ranging from 5-20 mass% (p. 7, [0012]; [0013]).
However, Unno is silent as to use of theta-alumina particles and alumina fiber in the claimed amounts. In the same field of endeavor, Takada teaches inclusion of 1 mass% or more of theta-alumina particles having specific surface area of 40-150 m2/g and particle size in the range of 1-300 microns (p. 1, [0018]-[0019]; p. 2, [0034]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Unno and the particles of Takada to arrive at the claimed invention, and to provide a friction material that can stabilize friction properties due to changes in the humidity of the environment, as well as suppress the counterpart material attack, as taught by Takada (p. 1, [0014]).
While Unno teaches that 0-0.5 mass% of non-copper-containing metal fibers may be used, Unno and Takada are silent as to use of alumina fiber. In the same field of endeavor, Nukumizu teaches that alumina fiber having average length of 60 microns is suitable for use in a brake pad composition (p. 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select the alumina fibers of Nukumizu for use as the metal fiber of Unno, in the amount taught by Unno, to arrive at the claimed invention, and because of the art-recognized suitability for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07.
Unno does not limit the silicone-modified phenol resin that may be used. Mitsui teaches that it is known in the art that the silicone rubber modified phenolic resin, RS-2210MB, may be used in brake pad friction materials (p. 1). Songhan clarifies that RS-2210 MB has a rubber content of 10 phr (10 mass%) (p. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to select the resin of Mitsui for use in the composition of Unno as modified by Takada and Nukumizu to arrive at the claimed invention, and because of the art-recognized suitability for the intended purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. These prior art ranges overlap the claimed ranges. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the prior art range overlaps the claimed range. See MPEP 2144.05.
Unno teaches a copper content of 5 mass% or less as stated above. This encompasses the claimed limitation of “copper free”, i.e. 0 mass%. Alternatively, Nukumizu teaches that in certain US markets the sale of friction materials containing 0.5 mass% or more of copper will be prohibited and that there is an urgent need to develop materials that do not contain copper (p. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form a copper-free friction material when modifying Unno in order to meet the market need identified by Nukumizu.
Conclusion
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762