DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 through 23 originally filed 12 December 2023. Claims 1 through 23 are addressed by this action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4).
The drawings refer to more than one part each with the reference character "214b". The same part of an invention must be designated with the same reference character throughout the drawings.
In the present case, the reference character "214b" appears referring to elements in each of the left and right mesas in Figures 9 and 10. It is likely that the reference character "214a" is intended to refer to this element in the left mesa of each of these figures.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5).
The description includes the reference characters "#3", "200a", "200b", and "214a" which do not appear in the drawings. Reference characters mentioned in the description must appear in the drawings.
In the present case, these reference characters or similar numbers appear in the following locations: "#3" is mentioned in ¶82 and ¶88, "200a" is mentioned in ¶99, ¶101, ¶102, ¶103, and ¶111, "200b" is mentioned in ¶99, ¶100, ¶101, ¶102, ¶103, and ¶111, and "214a" is mentioned in ¶99.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(u)(1).
Figure 3 includes multiple views that are not separately labeled. Each view must be individually labeled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 through 3 and 16 through 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Hegblom et al. (Hegblom, US Pub. 2020/0321754).
Hegblom was initially cited in the IDS received 12 December 2023.
Regarding claim 1, Hegblom discloses, "A substrate" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1, pt. 102). "A current-blocking distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) arranged on the substrate" (p. [0031] and Fig. 1, pts. 102 and 109). "Wherein the current-blocking DBR includes a plurality of p-n junctions connected vertically in series to form a bidirectional current-blocking structure" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pt. 109). "A bottom contact layer arranged on the current-blocking DBR" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 106 and 109). "A bottom DBR arranged on the bottom contact layer" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 106 and 108). "A top DBR arranged on the bottom DBR" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 108 and 110). "An active region configured to generate a laser light" (p. [0034] and Fig. 1, pt. 112). "Wherein the active region is arranged between the bottom DBR and the top DBR" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 108, 110, and 112). "A top contact layer arranged on the top DBR" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1, pts. 110 and 120). "An optical output arranged over the top DBR" (p. [0027] and [0039]). "Wherein the emitter is configured to emit the laser light via the optical output" (p. [0027] and [0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Hegblom discloses, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR is configured to electrically isolate the substrate from the bottom contact layer" (p. [0031] and Fig. 1, pts. 102, 106, and 109, where blocking layer 109 isolates the substrate 102 from contact layer 106).
Regarding claim 3, Hegblom discloses, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR is an optical reflector configured to reflect a portion of the laser light generated by the active region toward the optical output" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pt. 109).
Regarding claim 16, Hegblom discloses, "A substrate" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1, pt. 102). "A first emitter arranged on the substrate" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1, pts. 100 and 102). "Wherein the first emitter comprises a first current-blocking distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) arranged on the substrate" (p. [0031] and Fig. 1, pts. 102 and 109). "Wherein the first current-blocking DBR includes a first plurality of p-n junctions connected vertically in series to form a first bidirectional current-blocking structure" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pt. 109). "A first bottom contact layer arranged on the first current-blocking DBR and associated with a first current" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 106 and 109). "A first bottom DBR arranged on the first bottom contact layer" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 106 and 108). "A first top DBR arranged on the first bottom DBR" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 108 and 110). "A first active region configured to generate a first laser light" (p. [0034] and Fig. 1, pt. 112). "Wherein the first active region is arranged between the first bottom DBR and the first top DBR" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 108, 110, and 112). "A first top contact layer arranged on the first top DBR and associated with a first current" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1, pts. 110 and 120). "A first optical output arranged over the first top DBR" (p. [0027] and [0039]). "Wherein the first emitter is configured to emit the first laser light via the first optical output" (p. [0027] and [0039]). "A second emitter arranged on the substrate" (p. [0076] and Fig. 18, pt. Array 2). "Wherein the second emitter is adjacent to the first emitter" (p. [0076] and Fig. 18, pts. Array 1 and Array 2). "Wherein the second emitter comprises a second current-blocking DBR arranged on the substrate" (p. [0031] and Fig. 1, pts. 102 and 109). "Wherein the second current-blocking DBR includes a second plurality of p-n junctions connected vertically in series to form a second bidirectional current-blocking structure" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pt. 109). "A second bottom contact layer arranged on the second current-blocking DBR and associated with a second current" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 106 and 109). "A second bottom DBR arranged on the second bottom contact layer" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 106 and 108). "A second top DBR arranged on the second bottom DBR" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 108 and 110). "A second active region configured to generate a second laser light" (p. [0034] and Fig. 1, pt. 112). "Wherein the second active region is arranged between the second bottom DBR and the second top DBR" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 108, 110, and 112). "A second top contact layer arranged on the second top DBR and associated with the second current" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1, pts. 110 and 120). "A second optical output arranged over the second top DBR" (p. [0027] and [0039]). "Wherein the second emitter is configured to emit the second laser light via the second optical output" (p. [0027] and [0039]). "An isolation region configured to electrically isolate the first emitter and the second emitter" (p. [0077] and Fig. 18, pts. 116, Array 1, and Array 2). "Wherein the isolation region is arranged laterally between the first bottom contact layer and the second bottom contact layer" (p. [0077] and Figs. 1 and 18, pts. 106 and 116, where the deeper isolation trench extends through the bottom contact layer 106). "[The isolation region is arranged] laterally between the first current-blocking DBR and the second current-blocking DBR" (p. [0077] and Figs. 1 and 18, pts. 109 and 116, where the deeper isolation trench extends through the blocking layer 109).
Regarding claim 17, Hegblom discloses, "Wherein the first bottom contact layer and the second bottom contact layer are formed from a contact buffer layer" (p. [0077] and Figs. 1 and 18, pt. 106). "The isolation region is an isolation trench that extends vertically through the contact buffer layer to separate the first bottom contact layer and the second bottom contact layer" (p. [0077] and Figs. 1 and 18, pts. 106 and 128, where the deeper isolation trench extends through the bottom contact layer 106). "Wherein the isolation trench extends vertically to the substrate or partially into the substrate in order to electrically isolate the first bottom contact layer and the second bottom contact layer" (p. [0077] and Figs. 1 and 18, pts. 102 and 128).
Regarding claim 18, Hegblom discloses, "Wherein the first bottom contact layer and the second bottom contact layer are formed from a contact buffer layer" (p. [0077] and Figs. 1 and 18, pt. 106). "Wherein the first current-blocking DBR and the second current-blocking DBR are formed from a common current-blocking DBR" (p. [0077] and Figs. 1 and 18, pt. 109). "Wherein the isolation region is an implant isolation region that extends vertically through the contact buffer layer and the common current-blocking DBR to the substrate or partially into the substrate in order to electrically isolate the first bottom contact layer and the second bottom contact layer" (p. [0077] and Figs. 1 and 18, pts. 102, 106, 109, and 128).
Regarding claim 19, Hegblom discloses, "Wherein the isolation region is configured to electrically isolate the first bottom contact layer and the second bottom contact layer" (p. [0077] and Figs. 1 and 18, pts. 106 and 128).
Regarding claim 20, Hegblom discloses, "Wherein the first current-blocking DBR is configured to electrically isolate the substrate from the first bottom contact layer" (p. [0031] and Fig. 1, pts. 102, 106, and 109, where blocking layer 109 isolates the substrate 102 from contact layer 106). "Wherein the second current-blocking DBR is configured to electrically isolate the substrate from the second bottom contact layer" (p. [0031] and Fig. 1, pts. 102, 106, and 109, where blocking layer 109 isolates the substrate 102 from contact layer 106).
Regarding claim 21, Hegblom discloses, "Wherein the first current-blocking DBR is a first optical reflector configured to reflect a portion of the first laser light generated by the first active region toward the first optical output" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pt. 109). "Wherein the second current-blocking DBR is a second optical reflector configured to reflect a portion of the second laser light generated by the second active region toward the second optical output" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pt. 109).
Regarding claim 22, Hegblom discloses, "Wherein the first emitter and the second emitter are selectively addressable" (p. [0097]).
Regarding claim 23, Hegblom discloses, "Forming a current-blocking distributed Bragg reflector (DBR) on a substrate" (p. [0031] and Fig. 1, pts. 102 and 109). "Wherein the current-blocking DBR includes a plurality of p-n junctions connected vertically in series to form a bidirectional current-blocking structure" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pt. 109). "Forming a bottom contact layer on the current-blocking DBR" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 106 and 109). "Wherein the current-blocking DBR is configured to electrically isolate the substrate from the bottom contact layer" (p. [0031] and Fig. 1, pts. 102, 106, and 109, where blocking layer 109 isolates the substrate 102 from contact layer 106). "Forming a bottom DBR on the bottom contact layer" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 106 and 108). "Forming an active region on the bottom DBR" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 108 and 110). "Wherein the active region is configured to generate a laser light" (p. [0034] and Fig. 1, pt. 112). "Forming a top DBR on the active region" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pts. 108, 110, and 112). "Forming a top contact layer on the top DBR" (p. [0028] and Fig. 1, pts. 110 and 120). "Forming an optical output over the top DBR" (p. [0027] and [0039]). "Wherein the optical output is configured to emit the laser light from the emitter" (p. [0027] and [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegblom in view of Yamamoto (US Patent 4,868,838).
Regarding claim 4, Hegblom does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the plurality of p-n junctions include a plurality of p-i-n junctions." Yamamoto discloses, "Wherein the plurality of p-n junctions include a plurality of p-i-n junctions" (col. 5, lines 56-63 and Fig. 1C, pt. 15, where the current blocking layer of Hegblom is modified to include an intrinsic layer between the differently doped layers in the same manner that the current blocking layer of Yamamoto includes a current blocking layer between the differently doped layers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hegblom with the teachings of Yamamoto. In view of the teachings of Hegblom regarding a VCSEL with an underlying current blocking layer that provides reflection, the alternate construction of the current blocking layer to include intrinsic regions as taught by Yamamoto would enhance the teachings of Hegblom by allowing the current blocking layer to exhibit high breakdown voltage (Yamamoto, col. 9, lines 41-44).
Claims 5 through 9 and 12 through 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegblom in view of Shouji et al. (Shouji, US Pub. 2012/0057902).
Regarding claim 5, Hegblom does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR comprises a plurality of alternately stacked high-index layers and low-index layers." "Wherein the high-index layers are p-doped and the low-index layers are n-doped, or the high-index layers are n-doped and the low-index layers are p-doped." Shouji discloses, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR comprises a plurality of alternately stacked high-index layers and low-index layers" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103). "Wherein the high-index layers are p-doped and the low-index layers are n-doped, or the high-index layers are n-doped and the low-index layers are p-doped" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103, where the differently doped portions of the current blocking layer of Hegblom are constructed to employ the different refractive indices of Shouji to provide the reflection suggested by Hegblom). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hegblom with the teachings of Shouji. In view of the teachings of Hegblom regarding a VCSEL with an underlying current blocking layer that provides reflection, the alternate construction of a reflecting region from high and low index regions that include a graded composition region as taught by Shouji would enhance the teachings of Hegblom by providing a suitable manner of constructing the current blocking layer in a manner that provides reflection.
Regarding claim 6, Hegblom does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR comprises a plurality of gradient layers." "Wherein each gradient layer of the plurality of gradient layers is arranged between a respective pair of high-index and low-index layers of the current-blocking DBR." "Wherein each gradient layer of the plurality of gradient layers has a respective intermediate refractive index value between a high refractive index value and a low refractive index value of the respective pair of high-index and low-index layers." Shouji discloses, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR comprises a plurality of gradient layers" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103). "Wherein each gradient layer of the plurality of gradient layers is arranged between a respective pair of high-index and low-index layers of the current-blocking DBR" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103). "Wherein each gradient layer of the plurality of gradient layers has a respective intermediate refractive index value between a high refractive index value and a low refractive index value of the respective pair of high-index and low-index layers" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hegblom with the teachings of Shouji for the reasons provided above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 7, Hegblom does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR comprises a plurality of gradient layers that provide a gradual semiconductor band-gap change or a stepped semiconductor band-gap change between high-index and low-index materials of the alternately stacked high-index layers and low-index layers." Shouji discloses, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR comprises a plurality of gradient layers that provide a gradual semiconductor band-gap change or a stepped semiconductor band-gap change between high-index and low-index materials of the alternately stacked high-index layers and low-index layers" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hegblom with the teachings of Shouji for the reasons provided above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 8, The combination of Hegblom and Shouji does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a first part of each high-index layer is p-doped." "A second part of each high-index layer is n-doped." "The plurality of p-n junctions are formed with the low-index layers." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the doping of the current blocking layer such that some high-index layers are doped differently than other high-index layers and to dope the low-index layers oppositely from the adjacent high-index layers to ensure that the differently doped regions achieve an adequate thickness for current blocking while coordinating the materials employed for each layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 9, The combination of Hegblom and Shouji does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein a first part of each low-index layer is p-doped." "A second part of each low-index layer is n-doped." "The plurality of p-n junctions are formed with the high-index layers." It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the doping of the current blocking layer such that some low-index layers are doped differently than other low-index layers and to dope the high-index layers oppositely from the adjacent low-index layers to ensure that the differently doped regions achieve an adequate thickness for current blocking while coordinating the materials employed for each layer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 12, Hegblom does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR comprises a plurality of alternately stacked high-index layers and low-index layers." "Wherein each low-index layer comprises a first plurality of gradient sublayers that provide a first transition in refractive index across a range of low refractive indices." "Wherein each high-index layer comprises a second plurality of gradient sublayers that provide a second transition in refractive index across a range of high refractive indices." Shouji discloses, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR comprises a plurality of alternately stacked high-index layers and low-index layers" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103). "Wherein each low-index layer comprises a first plurality of gradient sublayers that provide a first transition in refractive index across a range of low refractive indices" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103). "Wherein each high-index layer comprises a second plurality of gradient sublayers that provide a second transition in refractive index across a range of high refractive indices" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hegblom with the teachings of Shouji for the reasons provided above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 13, Hegblom does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the high-index layers are p-doped and the low-index layers are n-doped, or the high-index layers are n-doped and the low-index layers are p-doped." Shouji discloses, "Wherein the high-index layers are p-doped and the low-index layers are n-doped, or the high-index layers are n-doped and the low-index layers are p-doped" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103, where the differently doped portions of the current blocking layer of Hegblom are constructed to employ the different refractive indices of Shouji to provide the reflection suggested by Hegblom). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hegblom with the teachings of Shouji for the reasons provided above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, Hegblom discloses, "Wherein the plurality of DBR pairs are alternately p-doped and n-doped to form the plurality of p-n junctions" (p. [0030] and Fig. 1, pt. 109). Hegblom does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR comprises a plurality of alternately stacked high-index layers and low-index layers." "Wherein the plurality of alternately stacked high-index layers and low-index layers form a plurality of DBR pairs." "Wherein each DBR pair includes a respective neighboring pair of high-index and low-index layers." Shouji discloses, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR comprises a plurality of alternately stacked high-index layers and low-index layers" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103). "Wherein the plurality of alternately stacked high-index layers and low-index layers form a plurality of DBR pairs" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103). "Wherein each DBR pair includes a respective neighboring pair of high-index and low-index layers" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hegblom with the teachings of Shouji for the reasons provided above regarding claim 5.
Claims 10, 11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hegblom, in view of Shouji, and further in view of Yamamoto.
Regarding claim 10, The combination of Hegblom and Shouji does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR comprises a plurality of intrinsic layers." "Wherein each intrinsic layer of the plurality of intrinsic layers is arranged between a respective pair of p-doped and n-doped layers of the current-blocking DBR." Yamamoto discloses, "Wherein the current-blocking DBR comprises a plurality of intrinsic layers" (col. 5, lines 56-63 and Fig. 1C, pt. 15, where the current blocking layer of Hegblom is modified to include an intrinsic layer between the differently doped layers in the same manner that the current blocking layer of Yamamoto includes a current blocking layer between the differently doped layers). "Wherein each intrinsic layer of the plurality of intrinsic layers is arranged between a respective pair of p-doped and n-doped layers of the current-blocking DBR" (col. 5, lines 56-63 and Fig. 1C, pt. 15, where the current blocking layer of Hegblom is modified to include an intrinsic layer between the differently doped layers in the same manner that the current blocking layer of Yamamoto includes a current blocking layer between the differently doped layers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Hegblom and Shouji with the teachings of Yamamoto. In view of the teachings of Hegblom regarding a VCSEL with an underlying current blocking layer that provides reflection, the alternate construction of the current blocking layer to include intrinsic regions as taught by Yamamoto would enhance the teachings of Hegblom and Shouji by allowing the current blocking layer to exhibit high breakdown voltage (Yamamoto, col. 9, lines 41-44).
Regarding claim 11, Hegblom does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein each intrinsic layer of the plurality of intrinsic layers is part of a respective high-index layer of the current-blocking DBR, or is part of a respective low-index layer of the current-blocking DBR." Shouji discloses, "Wherein each intrinsic layer of the plurality of intrinsic layers is part of a respective high-index layer of the current-blocking DBR, or is part of a respective low-index layer of the current-blocking DBR" (p. [0112] and Figs. 3 and 5, pt. 103, where the intrinsic portions of the current blocking layer of Yamamoto must be incorporated within one of the high or low index layers of Yamamoto). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hegblom with the teachings of Shouji for the reasons provided above regarding claim 5.
Regarding claim 15, The combination of Hegblom and Shouji does not explicitly disclose, "Wherein each DBR pair includes an intrinsic layer arranged between the respective neighboring pair of high-index and low-index layers." Yamamoto discloses, "Wherein each DBR pair includes an intrinsic layer arranged between the respective neighboring pair of high-index and low-index layers" (col. 5, lines 56-63 and Fig. 1C, pt. 15, where the current blocking layer of Hegblom is modified to include an intrinsic layer between the differently doped layers in the same manner that the current blocking layer of Yamamoto includes a current blocking layer between the differently doped layers). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Hegblom and Shouji with the teachings of Yamamoto for the reasons provided above regarding claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yuen (US Pub. 2019/0181609) is cited for teaching a VCSEL array that includes an isolation trench between VCSEL elements.
/SEAN P HAGAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2828