DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/12/23 and 05/13/24 have been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/12/23 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9-10, 12-14, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tayebi S Milad et al. (2017 IEEE energy conversion congress and exposition, XP03324680, pages 175-182).
In regard to claim 1. A system (Abstract; figs. 7, 10) comprising: a power converter (fig. 7: a DC/AC Inverter) comprising: direct current (DC) terminals configured to receive input power from a power source (fig. 7: see the DC terminals of the DC/AC Inverter); a plurality of alternating current (AC) phase terminals (fig. 7: see a, b and c phases of the AC terminals of the DC/AC Inverter); and a plurality of switching legs (fig. 10: switching legs a, b, c) comprising: a first switching leg (fig. 10: switching legs a) comprising a plurality of switches (fig. 10: S5, S6) and connected to the DC terminals and to a first AC phase terminal of the plurality of AC phase terminals (fig. 10: terminal a); a second switching leg (fig. 10: switching legs b) comprising a plurality of switches (fig. 10: S7, S8) and connected to the DC terminals and to a second AC phase terminal of the plurality of AC phase terminals (fig. 10: terminal b); and a third switching leg (fig. 10: switching legs c) comprising a plurality of switches (fig. 10: S9, S10) and connected to the DC terminals and to a third AC phase terminal of the plurality of AC phase terminals (fig. 10: terminal c); and a controller (fig. 7: see the controller block) configured to: determine, based on based on a measured electrical characteristic, to disable one or more switching legs of the plurality of switching legs (see Abstract and page 180, left hand side column, the first paragraph: "The output power is then used by the phase skipping management function to determine the number of phases to be operated. The phase skipping management function operates all three phases when the output power is greater than two-thirds of the inverter stage rated power. When the output power is between one-third and two-thirds of rated power, two-phase operation is selected. Similarly, the inverter operates in single-phase mode when the output power is less than or equal to one-third of rated power."): select, based on a selection criteria (fig. 7: see the block Phase Skipping Management), at least one switching leg of the plurality of switching legs (fig. 7: see blocks A, B, C); and disable the selected at least one switching leg to be disabled (page 180, left hand side column, the first paragraph).
In regard to claim 3. The system of claim 1, further comprising a sensor (fig. 7; see Vdclink sensor) corresponding to one of the plurality of AC terminals, wherein the controller (fig. 7; see the controller block) is configured to receive, from the sensor, an indication of the measured electrical characteristic.
In regard to claim 4. The system of claim 3, wherein the measured electrical characteristic (fig. 7; see Vdclink sensor) corresponds to each of the plurality of AC terminals (page 179, right hand side, second paragraph, electrical characteristic that corresponds to each of the plurality of AC phase terminals is also measured and used for the phase selection in this particular implementation).
In regard to claim 5. The system of claim 1, wherein the measured electrical characteristic comprises one or more of voltage, current, power or frequency (fig. 7; see Vdclink sensor) .
In regard to claim 9. The system of claim 1, wherein the selection criteria is based on a signal, and wherein the controller is further configured to receive the signal and to select the at least one switching leg based on the signal (page 179, right hand side, second paragraph), electrical characteristic that corresponds to each of the plurality of AC phase terminals is also measured and used for the phase selection in this particular implementation).
In regard to claim 10. The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to cause the selected at least one switching leg to be disabled by controlling one or more switches of the plurality of switches, of the selected at least one switching leg, to be in a non-conducting state (page 180, left hand side column, first paragraph)..
In regard to claim 12. The system of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to be connected to a meter that is connected to phases of a multi-phase power delivery network, and wherein the plurality of AC terminals are configured to be connected to the multi-phase power delivery network (page 179, right hand side, second paragraph, fig. 7; PLL block measures electrical characteristic that corresponds to each of the plurality of AC phase terminals and can be understood as a meter).
In regard to claim 13. The system of claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to receive, from the meter, an indication of the measured electrical characteristic, and wherein the measured electrical characteristic comprises an electrical characteristic of at least one phase of the multi-phase power delivery network (page 179, right hand side, second paragraph, fig. 7; PLL block measures electrical characteristic that corresponds to each of the plurality of AC phase terminals and can be understood as a meter).
In regard to claim 14. A method comprising: determining, by a controller (fig. 7: see the controller block), based on a measured electrical characteristic, to disable one or more switching legs of a plurality of switching leg (see Abstract and page 180, left hand side column, the first paragraph: "The output power is then used by the phase skipping management function to determine the number of phases to be operated. The phase skipping management function operates all three phases when the output power is greater than two-thirds of the inverter stage rated power. When the output power is between one-third and two-thirds of rated power, two-phase operation is selected. Similarly, the inverter operates in single-phase mode when the output power is less than or equal to one-third of rated power."); selecting, based on a selection criteria (fig. 7: see the block Phase Skipping Management), at least one switching leg from at least three switching legs of a power converter, each of the three switching legs (fig. 7: see blocks A, B, C) corresponding to a different phase of alternating current voltage; and disabling by the controller, the selected at least one switching leg (page 180, left hand side column, the first paragraph).
In regard to claim 16. The method of claim 14, wherein the measured electrical characteristic comprises power drawn by a load connected to at least one of the three switching legs (page 179, right hand side, second paragraph, electrical characteristic that corresponds to each of the plurality of AC phase terminals is also measured and used for the phase selection in this particular implementation).
In regard to claim 18. The method of claim 14, wherein the selection criteria comprises selection of the at least one switching leg based on a signal, relating to a switching leg selection, received by the controller signal (page 179, right hand side, second paragraph).
In regard to claim 19. The method of claim 18, wherein the signal relating to the switching leg selection comprises an indication relating to disabling at least one switching leg (fig. 7; see Vdclink sensor).
In regard to claim 20. The method of claim 19, wherein the signal relating to the switching leg selection comprises an indication of a power load on each of a plurality of phases of a power delivery network (page 179, right hand side, second paragraph, fig. 7; PLL block measures electrical characteristic that corresponds to each of the plurality of AC phase terminals and can be understood as a meter).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6 – 8, 11, 15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a system including the limitation “ further comprising a plurality of terminals configured to be connected to an energy storage, wherein the controller is configured to cause the energy storage to provide power to the power converter based on the input power and based on a consumption of a load connected to the plurality of AC terminals“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Claim 6 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a system including the limitation “wherein: the controller is configured to determine to disable one or more switching legs of the plurality of switching legs based on a comparison of the measured electrical characteristic with a load power consumption threshold, and the controller is configured to select the at least one switching leg based on a determination that power drawn by a load, connected to one or more terminals of the plurality of AC terminals, is below the load power consumption threshold “ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Claim 7 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a system including the limitation “ wherein the selection criteria comprises at least one of: random selection of the at least one switching leg; selection of the at least one switching leg of the plurality of switching legs, for each of a plurality of time intervals; selection of the at least one switching leg of the plurality of switching legs randomly, for each of a plurality of time intervals; selection of at least one switching leg of the plurality of switching legs, for each of a plurality of time intervals and based on a predetermined sequence; selection of the at least one switching leg, based on a second measured electrical characteristic; or a priority of loads connected to the plurality of switching legs“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Dependent claim 8 is allowable by virtue of their dependency.
Claim 11 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a system including the limitation “wherein the power converter further comprises: a first switch connected between the first switching leg and the first AC terminal; a second switch connected between the second switching leg and the second AC terminal; and a third switch connected between the third switching leg and the third AC terminal, wherein the controller is configured to cause the selected at least one switching leg to be disabled by controlling at least one of the first switch, the second switch, or the third switch to disconnect the selected at least one switching leg from at least one corresponding AC terminal of the plurality of AC terminals“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Claim 15 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a method including the limitation “ wherein the determining comprises measuring a load power consumption based on power drawn by a load connected to one or more switching legs of the three switching, and wherein the selecting of the at least one switching leg is based on the load power consumption being below a load power consumption threshold“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Claim 17 is allowed because the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a method including the limitation “wherein the selection criteria comprises at least one of: random selection of the at least one switching leg; random selection of the at least one switching leg for each of a plurality of time intervals; random selection of the at least one switching leg for each of a plurality of time intervals; selection of the at least one switching leg comprises for each of a plurality of time intervals and based on a predetermined sequence; or a priority of loads connected to the switching legs“ in addition to other limitations recited therein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hafezinasab et al. (US 11,545,892 B2) disclose an apparatus and method for single phase and three phase power factor correction.
Haryani et al. (US 2025/0293614 A1) disclose a Totem-pole power factor correction converter and control method thereof.
Ham et al. (US 2025/0074226 A1) disclose an electrified vehicle and method for controlling charging and discharging operation of the same.
Zohar et al. (US 12,176,740 B2) disclose a method and apparatus for electrical switching.
Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers and/or paragraphs in thereferences applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Althoughthe specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied tospecific limitations within the individual claim(s), other passages and figures may applyas well.
Additionally, in the event that other prior art is provided and made of record by theExaminer, as being relevant or pertinent to applicant's disclosure but not relied upon.The references are provided for the convenience of the applicant. The Examinerrequest that the references be considered in any subsequent amendments, as they arealso representative of the art and may apply to the specific limitations ofany newly amended claim(s).
It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing amendments or responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of theclaimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art and/ordisclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied upon inorder to ensure proper interpretation of the newly added limitations and toverify/ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
/ADOLF D BERHANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838