DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the limitation “floor” in claim 1, the special definition “the lowest elevation interior point in a pipeline” is given (¶[0024]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qu (US20130213487) in view of Rizq (US20220241825) and Aljindan (US20190225902).
Regarding claim 1/10, Qu teaches a system and method for controlling gas hydrate formation (see Fig. 1 & hydrate - ¶[0003]), the method comprising the steps of: sensing a temperature of a pipeline upstream of a choke valve (115) from a temperature sensor (120A & temperature sensor ¶[0020-0021]) positioned in an array of temperature sensors (periodic temperature sensors - ¶[0032]), where the array of temperature sensors is positioned in a row along the pipeline wherein each temperature sensor in the array of temperature sensors corresponds to a known position along a length of the pipeline (¶[0032]); generating a temperature profile for the pipeline from the array of temperature sensors, where the temperature profile comprises temperature from each temperature sensor as a function of the known position of the temperature sensor; detecting when the temperature is below a temperature setpoint; identifying the known position in the pipeline corresponding to the temperature sensor sensing the temperature below the temperature setpoint; and increasing the temperature of the pipeline at the known position through a heating system (¶[0032] & claim 14), the heating system is a electrical heating element. (see elements 270, 230, 240 of heating unit).
Qu is silent to wherein the temperature sensors are positioned along a floor of the pipeline.
Rizq teaches the temperature sensors are positioned along a floor of the pipeline (see location of temperature sensor 155a), in order to detect the formation of hydrates (¶[0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qu to include the location of the temperature sensor of Rizq, in order to detect the formation of hydrates (¶[0042]).
Qu does not teach installing a heat material patch heating system at the known position, where the heat material patch heating system comprises temporary patches, where the temporary patches comprise a material capable of producing heat, and increasing the temperature of the pipeline due to heat transferring through the pipeline from the temporary patches.
Aljindan teaches installing a heat material patch heating system at the known position, where the heat material patch heating system comprises temporary patches, where the temporary patches comprise a material capable of producing heat, and increasing the temperature of the pipeline due to heat transferring through the pipeline from the temporary patches (clamp…heating jackets 110, Fig. 1 & “temporary installations” - ¶[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qu to include wherein the heating units are temporary patches as taught by Aljindan, in order to provide any number of heating units as needed (¶[0041]).
Regarding claim 2/11, Qu teaches the limitations of claim 1/10, and Qu does not teach
each temperature sensor is positioned between 0.05 meters and 1 meter from each other temperature sensor, however, Qu teaches wherein the pipe sections 110A having a temperature sensor may be connected in series in a range of lengths to achieve a desired composite or aggregate length (¶[0020]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qu to provide the claimed range, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II)
Regarding claims 3-4, Qu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Qu does not teach wherein the temperature setpoint is the freezing point of water for the pressure in the pipeline, or the temperature setpoint is between 1° C and 10° C greater than the freezing point of a water and gas mixture for the pressure in the pipeline. Howere, Qu further teaches wherein the temperature setpoint is provided to prevent pipeline freezing (¶[0003-0004]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qu to provide the claimed range, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05(II)
Regarding claim 5, Qu teaches the limitations of claim 1, and Qu further teaches the step of switching off the heating system when the temperature of the pipeline at the known position is greater than the temperature set point (¶[0032]).
Regarding claim 12, Qu teaches the limitations of claim 10, and Qu does not teach wherein the temperature sensor are a thermocouple.
Aljindan teaches wherein the temperature sensor are a thermocouple (¶[0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Qu to include the thermocouple as taught by Aljindan, as it has been held obvious to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (see MPEP 2143).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues none of the cited references teach using temporary patches where the material itself produces the heat.
Examiner respectfully traverses this argument. Aljindan teaches wherein the jackets, which include a material through which electrical current is applied to generate heat, and wherein the jackets may be temporary, and thus reads on the limitations at issue, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation and plain meaning of the terms.
Applicant further argues Qu is designed as a continuous heating method, and is silent to the activity of gas hydrate removal.
Examiner contends that Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate in scope with the claims (which do not preclude continuous heating), nor does this appear to accurately characterize the reference, as the heater output is controlled based on temperature (¶[0032]). It is further noted that Aljindan contemplates removal of hydrates by heating (¶[0003]).
For at least the reasons stated above, Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC S RUPPERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763