Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1,
The phrase “symbols are of variable length” further renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether the term “variable” is used to mean “able to be varied / changed” or to mean “not consistent or having a fixed pattern.” Examiner’s best interpretation in light of the specification is the latter definition. Appropriate correction is required.
The phrase “a first subset of the plurality of radar sensing symbols” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear whether this first subset is made up of, e.g., whole radar sensing symbols or of samples of the plurality of radar sensing symbols. The claim language “subset of the plurality of radar sensing symbols” suggests that the subset must be chosen from the set defined by a plurality of individual radar sensing symbols (e.g., the set may correspond to the 3 individual radar symbols of the set 434 as shown in Fig. 4), i.e., the subset must be defined by individual radar sensing symbols (e.g., the subset may correspond to the first and second radar symbols of the three radar symbols of the set 434). However, Examiner’s best understanding in light of the specification [0025-27] and Figs. 4-5 is that “a first subset of the plurality of radar sensing symbols” may refer to a set of radar samples included in the radar symbols as described in instant application Figs. 4-5 and [0025-26]. This is further supported by the description at instant application [0026] – “positioned the start of each set of samples so that each pair of consecutive samples are separated by the interval TSRI. Thus, the frame assembler 110 positions the radar samples to be equidistant in the stream 420” showing that the invention is directed towards equidistance between sets of radar samples. While instant application [0024] recites “equidistant sensing symbols,” the sets of sensing symbols (e.g., 432, 434, and 436 of Fig. 4) are not equidistant from one other. Rather, this recitation refers to equidistant sets of radar samples (e.g. sets starting at 437, 438, and 439) separated by an interval T.sub.SRI, wherein the sets of radar samples are within the sets of radar symbols (e.g. sets 432, 434, 434). Because the sets of radar samples are equidistant, but each set of radar samples (e.g. 538 and 539) starts at a different position within the symbols as shown in Fig. 5, the sets of sensing symbols cannot be equidistant. See also [0012] – “The communication system adjusts the position of the samples within each set of reserved symbols so that the samples are equidistant over successive sets of reserved symbols.”
The phrase “a first subset of the plurality of radar sensing symbols are equidistant in the transmitted frame” further renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what points are equidistant to one another, and it is further unclear from what point they are equidistant.
Claims 8, 10, and 13 recite similar limitations to claim 1 and are indefinite for similar reasons. Claims 2-9, 11-12, 14-20 rejected as depending from 1/8/10/13.
Regarding claim 2,
The term “the first symbol” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required. Further, it is unclear whether the terms “first” and “second” refer to any particular placements of the symbols or whether they merely serve to differentiate between the two symbols.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20240014976 A1 to Hamidi-Sepehr.
Regarding claim 1,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches:
A method comprising:
reserving a first portion of a transmitted frame for communication symbols (Figs. 2-4 – communication symbol block) and a second portion of the transmitted frame for a plurality of radar sensing symbols, (Figs. 2-4 – sensing symbols; [0236] – “As used herein, the term “joint communication and sensing” may refer to a system that allows for wireless communication as well as radar-based sensing”) wherein the communication symbols are of variable length; ([Fig. 1; [0102] – “The communication block's boundaries are aligned with some known time units (symbol, slot, subframe, or frame as defined in NR” [0117-118] – “Currently, for SCS=60 KHz, the NR slot and radio frame/subframe design is such that the normal CP duration for the 0th and 28th OFDM symbols is 1.69 us, while for the other OFDM symbols, it is 1.17 us, and there are 14 OFDM symbols within each slot… OFDM symbol duration is 16.67 us” Symbol with longer CP is of variable length compared to symbol with shorter CP.) and
setting a position of a first symbol of the radar sensing symbols so that at least a first subset of the plurality of radar sensing symbols are equidistant in the transmitted frame. (Figs. 2-4)
Regarding claim 2,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein setting the position comprises:
identifying a position of a second symbol of the radar sensing symbols in the frame; ([0249] – “identifying, at 1801, a plurality of downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) symbols related to sensing to be performed during a sensing operation;” Second symbol may correspond to, e.g., first radar sensing symbol of the frame) and
adjusting the position of the first symbol based on the position of the second symbol. ([0249] – “generating, at 1803, a cellular transmission that includes a symbol repetition interval (SRI) composed of the plurality of DL-PRS symbols and the plurality of OFDM symbols” [0112] – “define the sensing block duration in terms of integer number of communication slots. As such, one approach, is to allow for a set of values in terms of the number of slots to be defined, from which one value can be configured as the sensing block duration, and let the sensing entity select the sensing symbol duration and the SRI duration within the block, considering the configured total sensing block duration, the carrier frequency, the speed requirements, the FoV requirements, the link budget, etc.” First symbol may correspond to, e.g., any symbol subsequent to first radar sensing symbol of the frame)
Regarding claim 3,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The method of claim 2, wherein adjusting the position comprises adjusting the position of the first symbol within the second portion. ([0249] – “generating, at 1803, a cellular transmission that includes a symbol repetition interval (SRI) composed of the plurality of DL-PRS symbols and the plurality of OFDM symbols” [0112] – “define the sensing block duration in terms of integer number of communication slots. As such, one approach, is to allow for a set of values in terms of the number of slots to be defined, from which one value can be configured as the sensing block duration, and let the sensing entity select the sensing symbol duration and the SRI duration within the block, considering the configured total sensing block duration, the carrier frequency, the speed requirements, the FoV requirements, the link budget, etc.” First symbol may correspond to, e.g., any radar sensing symbol subsequent to first radar sensing symbol of the frame)
Regarding claim 4,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein the second portion comprises at least three consecutive symbols of the transmitted frame. (Figs. 2-4, e.g., example cases with 10 or 5 consecutive sensing symbols)
Regarding claim 5,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein setting the position of the first symbol comprises setting the position of the first symbol based on a specified maximum velocity to be detected by the radar sensing symbols. ([0149] – “allow different patterns, e.g., over some SRIs, to allow more frequent communication transmission opportunities, similar to the example case in the bottom of FIG. 3. On the other hand, it is important to maintain the Nyquist sampling rate (defined by the SRI duration as the maximum time spacing allowed to sample a given direction) to avoid causing ambiguities in Doppler processing for each beam direction.” Eq. 1; [0150] – “ f.sub.d, is the maximum doppler intended for beam I” [0149] – “For one-direction sensing, where all the N sensing symbols within the SRI are used for transmission of sensing signal in one direction and obtain repetition/processing gain, the Nyquist requirement is ensured through the SRI duration (i.e., distance between the first sensing symbols in one SRI and the last sensing symbol in the consecutive SRI, is at most [e]qual to the SRI duration)”)
Regarding claim 6,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The method of claim 5, further comprising:
setting each of the plurality of radar sensing symbols based on the specified maximum velocity. ([0149] – “allow different patterns, e.g., over some SRIs, to allow more frequent communication transmission opportunities, similar to the example case in the bottom of FIG. 3. On the other hand, it is important to maintain the Nyquist sampling rate (defined by the SRI duration as the maximum time spacing allowed to sample a given direction) to avoid causing ambiguities in Doppler processing for each beam direction.” Eq. 1; [0150] – “ f.sub.d, is the maximum doppler intended for beam I” [0149] – “For one-direction sensing, where all the N sensing symbols within the SRI are used for transmission of sensing signal in one direction and obtain repetition/processing gain, the Nyquist requirement is ensured through the SRI duration (i.e., distance between the first sensing symbols in one SRI and the last sensing symbol in the consecutive SRI, is at most [e]qual to the SRI duration)”)
Regarding claim 7,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The method of claim 6, wherein:
a distance between a second symbol and a third symbol of the radar sensing symbols is based on a multiple of the specified maximum velocity, and wherein the second symbol and the third symbol are consecutive radar sensing symbols in the transmitted frame. ([0149] – “allow different patterns, e.g., over some SRIs, to allow more frequent communication transmission opportunities, similar to the example case in the bottom of FIG. 3. On the other hand, it is important to maintain the Nyquist sampling rate (defined by the SRI duration as the maximum time spacing allowed to sample a given direction) to avoid causing ambiguities in Doppler processing for each beam direction.” Eq. 1; [0150] – “ f.sub.d, is the maximum doppler intended for beam I” [0149] – “For one-direction sensing, where all the N sensing symbols within the SRI are used for transmission of sensing signal in one direction and obtain repetition/processing gain, the Nyquist requirement is ensured through the SRI duration (i.e., distance between the first sensing symbols in one SRI and the last sensing symbol in the consecutive SRI, is at most [e]qual to the SRI duration)”)
Regarding claim 8,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising setting a position of a second symbol of the radar sensing symbols so that the plurality of radar sensing symbols are equidistant in the transmitted frame, wherein the position of the first symbol in a first subset of symbols is different than the position of the second symbol in a second subset of symbols. (Figs. 2-4)
Regarding claim 9,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein a first of the communication symbols has a different length than a second of the communication symbols. ([Fig. 1; [0102] – “The communication block's boundaries are aligned with some known time units (symbol, slot, subframe, or frame as defined in NR” [0117-118] – “Currently, for SCS=60 KHz, the NR slot and radio frame/subframe design is such that the normal CP duration for the 0th and 28th OFDM symbols is 1.69 us, while for the other OFDM symbols, it is 1.17 us, and there are 14 OFDM symbols within each slot… OFDM symbol duration is 16.67 us” Symbol with longer CP is longer than symbol with shorter CP.)
Regarding claim 10,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches:
A method, comprising:
generating a plurality of communication symbols (Figs. 2-4 – communication symbol block;) and a plurality of radar sensing symbols; (Figs. 2-4 – sensing symbols; [0236] – “As used herein, the term “joint communication and sensing” may refer to a system that allows for wireless communication as well as radar-based sensing”)
generating a frame by spacing the plurality of radar sensing symbols between the plurality of the communication symbols so that at least a first subset of the plurality of radar sensing symbols are equidistant in the frame; (Figs. 2-4) and
transmitting the frame. ([abstract] – “identify a plurality of downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) symbols related to sensing to be performed during a sensing operation; identify a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols related to data; generate a cellular transmission that includes a symbol repetition interval (SRI) composed of the plurality of DL-PRS symbols and the plurality of OFDM symbols; and transmit the cellular transmission”)
Regarding claim 11,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The method of claim 9, wherein generating the frame comprises:
identifying a position of a first symbol of the radar sensing symbols in the frame; ([0249] – “identifying, at 1801, a plurality of downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) symbols related to sensing to be performed during a sensing operation;” first symbol may correspond to, e.g., first radar sensing symbol of the frame) and
adjusting the position of a second symbol based on the position of the first symbol. ([0249] – “generating, at 1803, a cellular transmission that includes a symbol repetition interval (SRI) composed of the plurality of DL-PRS symbols and the plurality of OFDM symbols” [0112] – “define the sensing block duration in terms of integer number of communication slots. As such, one approach, is to allow for a set of values in terms of the number of slots to be defined, from which one value can be configured as the sensing block duration, and let the sensing entity select the sensing symbol duration and the SRI duration within the block, considering the configured total sensing block duration, the carrier frequency, the speed requirements, the FoV requirements, the link budget, etc.” second symbol may correspond to, e.g., any symbol subsequent to first radar sensing symbol of the frame)
Regarding claim 12,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The method of claim 11, wherein adjusting the position of the second symbol comprises setting the position of the second symbol based on a specified maximum velocity to be detected by the radar sensing symbols. ([0149] – “allow different patterns, e.g., over some SRIs, to allow more frequent communication transmission opportunities, similar to the example case in the bottom of FIG. 3. On the other hand, it is important to maintain the Nyquist sampling rate (defined by the SRI duration as the maximum time spacing allowed to sample a given direction) to avoid causing ambiguities in Doppler processing for each beam direction.” Eq. 1; [0150] – “ f.sub.d, is the maximum doppler intended for beam I” [0149] – “For one-direction sensing, where all the N sensing symbols within the SRI are used for transmission of sensing signal in one direction and obtain repetition/processing gain, the Nyquist requirement is ensured through the SRI duration (i.e., distance between the first sensing symbols in one SRI and the last sensing symbol in the consecutive SRI, is at most [e]qual to the SRI duration)”)
Regarding claim 13,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches:
A device comprising:
a processor ([0252-258] – “processor circuitry”) configured to:
reserve a first portion of a frame for communication symbols (Figs. 2-4 – communication symbol block) and a second portion of the frame for a plurality of radar sensing symbols, (Figs. 2-4 – sensing symbols; [0236] – “As used herein, the term “joint communication and sensing” may refer to a system that allows for wireless communication as well as radar-based sensing”) wherein the communication symbols are of variable length; ([Fig. 1; [0102] – “The communication block's boundaries are aligned with some known time units (symbol, slot, subframe, or frame as defined in NR” [0117-118] – “Currently, for SCS=60 KHz, the NR slot and radio frame/subframe design is such that the normal CP duration for the 0th and 28th OFDM symbols is 1.69 us, while for the other OFDM symbols, it is 1.17 us, and there are 14 OFDM symbols within each slot… OFDM symbol duration is 16.67 us” Symbol with longer CP is of variable length compared to symbol with shorter CP.) and
set a position a first symbol of the radar sensing symbols so that at least a first subset of the plurality of radar sensing symbols are equidistant in the frame; (Figs. 2-4) and
a transmitter to transmit the frame. ([abstract] – “identify a plurality of downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) symbols related to sensing to be performed during a sensing operation; identify a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols related to data; generate a cellular transmission that includes a symbol repetition interval (SRI) composed of the plurality of DL-PRS symbols and the plurality of OFDM symbols; and transmit the cellular transmission”)
Regarding claim 14,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The device of claim 13, wherein the processor is to set the position by:
identifying a position of a second symbol of the radar sensing symbols in the frame; ([0249] – “identifying, at 1801, a plurality of downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) symbols related to sensing to be performed during a sensing operation;” Second symbol may correspond to, e.g., first radar sensing symbol of the frame) and
adjusting the position of the first symbol based on the position of the second symbol. ([0249] – “generating, at 1803, a cellular transmission that includes a symbol repetition interval (SRI) composed of the plurality of DL-PRS symbols and the plurality of OFDM symbols” [0112] – “define the sensing block duration in terms of integer number of communication slots. As such, one approach, is to allow for a set of values in terms of the number of slots to be defined, from which one value can be configured as the sensing block duration, and let the sensing entity select the sensing symbol duration and the SRI duration within the block, considering the configured total sensing block duration, the carrier frequency, the speed requirements, the FoV requirements, the link budget, etc.” First symbol may correspond to, e.g., any symbol subsequent to first radar sensing symbol of the frame)
Regarding claim 15,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The device of claim 14, wherein adjusting the position comprises adjusting the position of the first symbol within the second portion. ([0249] – “generating, at 1803, a cellular transmission that includes a symbol repetition interval (SRI) composed of the plurality of DL-PRS symbols and the plurality of OFDM symbols” [0112] – “define the sensing block duration in terms of integer number of communication slots. As such, one approach, is to allow for a set of values in terms of the number of slots to be defined, from which one value can be configured as the sensing block duration, and let the sensing entity select the sensing symbol duration and the SRI duration within the block, considering the configured total sensing block duration, the carrier frequency, the speed requirements, the FoV requirements, the link budget, etc.” First symbol may correspond to, e.g., any radar sensing symbol subsequent to first radar sensing symbol of the frame)
Regarding claim 16,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The device of claim 15, wherein the second portion comprises at least three consecutive symbols of the frame. (Figs. 2-4, e.g., example cases with 10 or 5 consecutive sensing symbols)
Regarding claim 17,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The device of claim 13, wherein the processor is to set the position by setting the position of the first symbol based on a specified maximum velocity to be detected by the radar sensing symbols. ([0149] – “allow different patterns, e.g., over some SRIs, to allow more frequent communication transmission opportunities, similar to the example case in the bottom of FIG. 3. On the other hand, it is important to maintain the Nyquist sampling rate (defined by the SRI duration as the maximum time spacing allowed to sample a given direction) to avoid causing ambiguities in Doppler processing for each beam direction.” Eq. 1; [0150] – “ f.sub.d, is the maximum doppler intended for beam I” [0149] – “For one-direction sensing, where all the N sensing symbols within the SRI are used for transmission of sensing signal in one direction and obtain repetition/processing gain, the Nyquist requirement is ensured through the SRI duration (i.e., distance between the first sensing symbols in one SRI and the last sensing symbol in the consecutive SRI, is at most [e]qual to the SRI duration)”)
Regarding claim 18,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The device of claim 17, wherein the processor is configured to:
set each of the plurality of radar sensing symbols based on the specified maximum velocity. ([0149] – “allow different patterns, e.g., over some SRIs, to allow more frequent communication transmission opportunities, similar to the example case in the bottom of FIG. 3. On the other hand, it is important to maintain the Nyquist sampling rate (defined by the SRI duration as the maximum time spacing allowed to sample a given direction) to avoid causing ambiguities in Doppler processing for each beam direction.” Eq. 1; [0150] – “ f.sub.d, is the maximum doppler intended for beam I” [0149] – “For one-direction sensing, where all the N sensing symbols within the SRI are used for transmission of sensing signal in one direction and obtain repetition/processing gain, the Nyquist requirement is ensured through the SRI duration (i.e., distance between the first sensing symbols in one SRI and the last sensing symbol in the consecutive SRI, is at most [e]qual to the SRI duration)”)
Regarding claim 19,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The device of claim 18, wherein:
a distance between a second symbol and a third symbol is based on a multiple of the specified maximum velocity, and wherein the second symbol and the third symbol are consecutive radar sensing symbols in the frame. ([0149] – “allow different patterns, e.g., over some SRIs, to allow more frequent communication transmission opportunities, similar to the example case in the bottom of FIG. 3. On the other hand, it is important to maintain the Nyquist sampling rate (defined by the SRI duration as the maximum time spacing allowed to sample a given direction) to avoid causing ambiguities in Doppler processing for each beam direction.” Eq. 1; [0150] – “ f.sub.d, is the maximum doppler intended for beam I” [0149] – “For one-direction sensing, where all the N sensing symbols within the SRI are used for transmission of sensing signal in one direction and obtain repetition/processing gain, the Nyquist requirement is ensured through the SRI duration (i.e., distance between the first sensing symbols in one SRI and the last sensing symbol in the consecutive SRI, is at most [e]qual to the SRI duration)”)
Regarding claim 20,
Hamidi-Sepehr teaches the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Hamidi-Sepehr further teaches:
The device of claim 13, wherein the communication symbols comprise orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols. ([abstract] – “identify a plurality of downlink positioning reference signal (DL-PRS) symbols related to sensing to be performed during a sensing operation; identify a plurality of orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) symbols related to data; generate a cellular transmission that includes a symbol repetition interval (SRI) composed of the plurality of DL-PRS symbols and the plurality of OFDM symbols; and transmit the cellular transmission”)
Contact Information
/JULIANA CROSS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/William Kelleher/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648