Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the light source disposed between the structure and the plants; however, elected figures 2A-2C do not show such arrangement. The elected arrangement shows the light source directly attached to the structure and the plants (including their “root system”) attached to/within the structure and not the light source between the structure and the plants. Claims 11 and 20 recite similar issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10-14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1&2) as being anticipated by Westlind US 20220287246.
Regarding claim 1, Westlind discloses a multi-plant holder comprising:
a structure (200 figure 5) defining a plurality of holders (202/204) adapted to retain a plurality of plants (as shown in figure 5); and
a light source disposed adjacent to the structure (102);
wherein the light source is adapted to provide a positive phototropic force on the plurality of plants towards the structure (by way of the arrangement shown in figure 5) and is disposed between the structure and the plurality of plants and is adapted to emit photosynthetic light away from the structure to illuminate the plants from behind, thereby providing the positive phototropic force towards the structure (as shown in figure 5, as best understood by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 2, Westlind discloses the multi-plant holder of claim 1 wherein the light source is adapted to emit energy away from the structure (by way of the arrangement shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 3, Westlind discloses the multi-plant holder of claim 1 wherein the each of the plurality of holders is aligned vertically in the structure (as shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 4, Westlind discloses the multi-plant holder of claim 1 wherein the structure is a tower (as shown in figure 5, as best understood by the Examiner) supporting plurality of holders in a vertical alignment (structure 200 comprises “tower” elements holding the plurality of holders 202/204 in a vertical alignment in figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Westlind discloses the multi-plant holder of claim 1 wherein the light source is adapted to provide the positive phototropic force towards a top portion of the structure (as shown in figure 5).
Regarding claim 10, Westlind discloses the multi-plant holder of claim 1 where in the structure is in fluid communication with an irrigation system adapted to supply a nutrient to the plurality of holders (by way of the apertures 118 shown in figure 4 and described in paragraph 0034).
Regarding claim 11, Westlind discloses a method of cultivating a plant, the method comprising: disposing a plurality of plants into a plurality of holders defined in a structure; and disposing a light source adjacent to the structure, wherein the light source is adapted to provide a positive phototropic force on the plurality of plants towards the structure and is disposed between the structure and the plurality of plants and is adapted to emit photosynthetic light away from the structure to illuminate the plants from behind, thereby providing the positive phototropic force towards the structure (see previous rejections).
Regarding claim 12, Westlind discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the light source is adapted to emit energy away from the structure (see previous rejections).
Regarding claim 13, Westlind discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the each of the plurality of holders is aligned vertically in the structure (see previous rejections).
Regarding claim 14, Westlind discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the structure is a tower supporting plurality of holders in a vertical alignment (see previous rejections).
Regarding claim 17, Westlind discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the light source is adapted to provide the positive phototropic force towards a top portion of the structure (see previous rejections).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westlind in view of Moffitt US 11089744.
Regarding claim 5, Westlind teaches the multi-plant holder of claim 4 but does not specify wherein the tower defines an irrigation system through an interior area of the tower establishing fluid communication with the plurality of holders.
Moffitt; however, does teach such an irrigation system (figure 1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such an irrigation system, in order to efficiently care for the plants.
Regarding claim 15, the references teach the method of claim 14 wherein the tower defines an irrigation system through an interior area of the tower establishing fluid communication with the plurality of holders (see claim 5 rejection).
Claim(s) 6, 8-9, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westlind.
Regarding claim 6, Westlind teaches the multi-plant holder of claim 1 but does not specify wherein the structure comprises a plurality of towers, each of the plurality of towers defining a vertical arrangement of holders.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a plurality of the towers, in order to meet growing rate design requirements; since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.
Regarding claim 8, Westlind teaches the multi-plant holder of claim 1 but does not specify wherein the plurality of holders are defined on a first side and a second side of the structure, within the embodiment of figure 5.
Westlind; however, does show such a structure in figure 7. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such a combination of embodiments, in order to meet growing rate design requirements; since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 9, Westlind teaches the multi-plant holder of claim 8 wherein the light source is provided to the first side and the second side of the structure (see claim 8 rejection); but does not specify the light source necessarily coupled to the sides of the structure.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide such an arrangement, in order to meet user design preferences for a more stable arrangement; since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art (such as connectors for connecting elements together) and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
Regarding claim 16, Westlind teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the structure comprises a plurality of towers, each of the plurality of towers defining a vertical arrangement of holders (see previous rejections).
Regarding claim 18, Westlind teaches the method of claim 11 wherein the plurality of holders are defined on a first side and a second side of the structure (see previous rejections).
Regarding claim 19, Westlind teaches the method of claim 18 wherein the light source is coupled to the first side and the second side of the structure (see previous rejections).
Regarding claim 20, Westlind teaches a multi-plant holder comprising: a structure having a first side and second side, each side defining a plurality of vertically spaced holders, each of the vertically spaced holders defining a recess adapted to receive a plant; an irrigation system in fluid communication with the structure and the plurality of vertically spaced holders; and a first light source adjacent to the first side and a second light source adjacent to the second side; wherein the first light source and the second light source are adapted to provide a positive phototropic force towards the structure and is disposed between the structure and the plurality of plants and is adapted to emit photosynthetic light away from the structure to illuminate the plants from behind, thereby providing the positive phototropic force towards the structure (see previous rejections).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments directed towards the Westlind reference are not persuasive at least for not addressing any of the detailed reasons provided in the rejections above, such as the particular arrangement of elements shown in Westlind’s figure 5, etc.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JESSICA B WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644