DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-16 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyairi et al (US 2007/0048494).
Regarding claim 1, Miyairi teaches a honeycomb catalytic body comprising:
A honeycomb structure constituted of ceramics such as silicon carbide, cordierite, mullite, silicon nitride and alumina (see [0080];
A catalyst layer containing a catalyst carried in a layered form on the inner surfaces of pores on the inner surface of cells of the honeycomb (see [0084]);
The catalyst layer comprising a noble metal including Pt, Rh, Pd, and combinations thereof dispersed in and carried on a carrier coat constituted by active alumina (see [0096]).
First, the preamble language to a catalyst structure for preparing synthetic gas is directed to an intended use of the catalyst structure and not limiting. In so far as for preparing synthetic gas is limited to a property of the catalyst structure, Miyairi teaches a catalyst structure comprising Pt, Rh, Pd and combinations thereof and an artisan would therefore expect Miyairi to comprise synthetic gas preparation activity.
Regarding the composition of the substrate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to prepare the honeycomb catalytic body as taught by Miyairi where the honeycomb structure is constituted of any of the ceramics taught by Miyari including silicon carbide or silicon nitride in order to produce the honeycomb catalytic body suitable for Miyairi’s catalyst.
Regarding claim 2, Miyairi teaches the catalyst layer carried on the inner surface of pores formed inside each partition wall (See [0084]).
Regarding claim 3, Miyairi teaches a honeycomb shape.
Regarding claim 5, Miyairi teaches the partition walls having pores (see [0084]).
Regarding claim 6, Miyairi teaches the partition walls having a porosity of 30% to 80% (see [0091]).
Regarding claim 7, Miyairi teaches a catalyst where the loading of catalyst per liter of honeycomb structure is 100 g (see Examples [0111])
Regarding claim 8, Miyairi teaches the catalyst comprising Pt, Rh, Pd and combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 9, Miyairi teaches the metal oxide carrier comprising alumina.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyairi as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Tomita et al (US 2009/0175043).
As applied to claim 1, Miyairi teaches a honeycomb catalytic body comprising all of the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, Miyairi does not teach a thermal conductivity of the catalyst structure is 10 W/mK or more.
Tomita teaches a honeycomb structure comprising a silicon carbide based porous material for purification of diesel exhaust gas (see [0001]). Tomita teaches the thermal conductivity of the silicon carbide based porous material being high because it shows excellent thermal shock resistance. Tomita further teaches the thermal conductivity being at least 10 W/mK because at less than 10 W/mK the thermal shock resistance tends to decrease (see [0030]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to prepare the honeycomb catalytic body where the thermal conductivity is at least 10 W/mK to improve the thermal shock resistance of the catalyst body.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyairi as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Zheng et al (US 2017/0274321).
As applied to claim 1, Miyairi teaches a honeycomb catalytic body comprising all of the limitations of claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Miyairi does not teach wherein the metal active particles are included in an amount in a rage of 5 wt% to 30 wt% based on a total weight of the catalytic material.
Zheng teaches emissions treatment systems with three-way catalyst and SCR-HCT catalysts, the catalyst comprising platinum group metal (PGM)-containing catalysts where the amounts of PGMs can be within a range of about 1 to 50 wt% of a given catalyst composition (e.g. a washcoat) (see [0077]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to prepare the honeycomb catalytic body comprising PGM metal catalytic material as taught by Miyairi where the amount of PGM metal is in any workable or optimum range overlapping with 1 to 50 wt% as taught by Zheng since Zheng suggests that the range is suitable for three-way catalyst activity.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738