DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8, 17-24, and 31-44 are pending. Claims 9-16 and 25-30 were cancelled via amendment. Claims 31-44 were added via amendment.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (claims 1-8 and 17-24) in the reply filed on 2/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/28/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/13/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/30/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/12/2023. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 17-24, and 31-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0393075) in view of Su et al. (WO 2024/210788).
As per claim 1, Zhang et al. teach a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts)”, A UE detects SSBs and performs the operations of fig. 5.], comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories [Zhang, ¶ 0262, “As shown in FIG. 12, the preamble sequence sending apparatus includes: a memory 1201, a transceiver 1202 and a processor 1203”, The UE functions as the preamble sequence sending apparatus (see relation between fig. 5 and ¶s 0265-0267). The UE further contains a memory, a processor, and a transceiver to perform its claimed functions.], configured to cause the UE to:
receive a set of synchronization signal block (SSB) communications, wherein a plurality of SSB communications, of the set of SSB communications, satisfy a threshold for a measurement value [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected”, Received Signal Reference Power (RSRP) of received SSBS has an associated threshold. SSBs that exceed the threshold are selected.]; and
transmit, in a random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) corresponding to an SSB communication, of the plurality of SSB communications, a RACH communication [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected, and multiple ROs used for the preamble sequences are determined based on the selected SSB. That is, the UE selects X SSBs from the detected SSBs at least based on the SS-RSRPs of the detected SSBs, where X is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and X can be preset, or configured by a network device, or agreed upon by a protocol, or determined by the UE itself. M ROs are determined based on the X SSBs and a mapping relationship between SSBs and ROs, where M can be preset, or configured by a network device, or agreed upon by a protocol, or determined by a terminal. In addition to the SS-RSRP, the UE may also select the X SSBs based on other information, which is not limited by the present embodiment”, Selected SSBs that exceed the SS-RSRP threshold are mapped RACH occasions (RO, see ¶ 0200).].
Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach a RACH communication in accordance with an SSB prioritization.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach a RACH communication in accordance with an SSB prioritization [Su, ¶ 0140, “the step of determining the RO for the PRACH transmission may comprise a step of determining ROs mapped to SSBs based on the received first and second PRACH configurations, where the time-overlapping ROs with a lower priority are not associated with an SSB, which is different from an SSB, which the time-overlapping ROs with a high priority is associated with”, Step S1140 of Fig. 11 determines ROs associated with SSBs for PRACH transmission (see also ¶ 0136). In this instance, SSBs are prioritized by being placed in ROs that have high priority. In other words, low priority ROs are likely to be dropped in a time-domain overlap situation, so SSBs are priority mapped to ROs that will not be dropped (see ¶ 0145 and 0147, Options 1 and 2).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 2, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the UE of claim 1. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein a first SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a first quantity of ROs and a second SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a second quantity of ROs.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein a first SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a first quantity of ROs [Su, ¶ 0133, “The method 1100 may begin at step SI 110 where a first PRACH configuration is received from a network node. The first PRACH configuration configures a first set of ROs and comprises a first SSB mapping indication indicating the mapping of SSBs to ROs”, A first RACH configuration, corresponding to a first set of ROs, which are mapped to a first set of SSBs.] and a second SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a second quantity of ROs [Su, ¶ 0134, “At step SI 120, the terminal node receives a second PRACH configuration from the network node. The second PRACH configuration configures a second set of ROs and comprises a second SSB mapping indication indicating the mapping of SSBs to ROs”, A second RACH configuration, corresponding to a second set of ROs, which are mapped to a second set of SSBs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 3, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the UE of claim 2. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with respective quantities of ROs mapped to respective SSB communications of the set of SSB communications.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with respective quantities of ROs mapped to respective SSB communications of the set of SSB communications [Su, ¶ 0147, Option 1, “Option 1, the UE can redo the SSB indexes to RO mapping for the low priority ROs. It would not associate an RO of low priority with a different SSB index than that of the high-priority time-overlapping RO. In other words, some ROs of low priority are not associated with an SSB index, unless the SSB index is the same as the one for the time-domain overlapping high-priority ROs”, In an alternative, time-overlapping ROs are combined with a single, low priority SSB. In other words, there is a correlation between using multiple (or a quantity of ROs) with a type of SSB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 4, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the UE of claim 1. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with a quantity of ROs that map to each SSB communication of the plurality of SSB communications.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with a quantity of ROs that map to each SSB communication of the plurality of SSB communications [Su, ¶ 0147, Option 1, “Option 1, the UE can redo the SSB indexes to RO mapping for the low priority ROs. It would not associate an RO of low priority with a different SSB index than that of the high-priority time-overlapping RO. In other words, some ROs of low priority are not associated with an SSB index, unless the SSB index is the same as the one for the time-domain overlapping high-priority ROs”, In an alternative, time-overlapping ROs are combined with a single, low priority SSB. In other words, there is a correlation between using multiple (or a quantity of ROs) with a type of SSB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 5, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the UE of claim 1. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a master information block communication.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a master information block communication [Su, ¶ 0005, “At 102, the UE decodes Master Information Block (MIB) and System Information Block (SIB) (i.e., Remaining Minimum System Information (RMSI) and Other System Information (OSI), which may be distributed over multiple physical channels such as Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) and Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), to acquire random access transmission parameters”, The reference contemplates using MIB and/or SIB to convey RACH parameters (see also ¶ 0015).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the MIB/SIB signaling as taught by Su et al. to assist with SSB-RO mapping setup as taught by Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because MIB/SIB are well recognized signalling within the art to pass configuration information with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 6, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the UE of claim 1. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a system information communication.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a system information communication [Su, ¶ 0005, “At 102, the UE decodes Master Information Block (MIB) and System Information Block (SIB) (i.e., Remaining Minimum System Information (RMSI) and Other System Information (OSI), which may be distributed over multiple physical channels such as Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) and Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), to acquire random access transmission parameters”, The reference contemplates using MIB and/or SIB to convey RACH parameters (see also ¶ 0015).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the MIB/SIB signaling as taught by Su et al. to assist with SSB-RO mapping setup as taught by Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because MIB/SIB are well recognized signalling within the art to pass configuration information with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 7, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the UE of claim 1. Zhang et al. also teach wherein the threshold for the measurement value is associated with a quantity of ROs to which an SSB communication, of the plurality of SSB communications, maps [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “ In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected, and multiple ROs used for the preamble sequences are determined based on the selected SSB”, RO mapping based on RSRP measurement and threshold comparison applies to multiple ROs.].
As per claim 8, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the UE of claim 7. Zhang et al. also teach wherein the threshold is based at least in part on a fixed configuration [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected”, Received Signal Reference Power (RSRP) of received SSBS has an associated threshold. SSBs that exceed the threshold are selected. The threshold is fixed (or preset).], a radio resource control configuration, or a system information configuration.
As per claim 17, A network node for wireless communication [Zhang, ¶ 0197, “gNB”, Paragraph [0202] relates the SSB-RO mapping to a UE, which in turn communicates with a gNB serving the cell.], comprising:
one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories [Zhang, ¶ 0197, “gNB”, A gNB is readily understood within the art as containing at least a memory, a processor, and a transceiver. In addition a gNB would require such structure to interact as described with a UE.], configured to cause the network node to:
transmit a set of synchronization signal block (SSB) communications, wherein a plurality of SSB communications, of the set of SSB communications, satisfy a threshold for a measurement value [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected”, Received Signal Reference Power (RSRP) of received SSBS has an associated threshold. SSBs that exceed the threshold are selected. Paragraph [0202] further details that a cell (operated by a base station/network node) transmits SSBs to a UE.]; and
receive, in a random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) corresponding to an SSB communication, of the plurality of SSB communications, a RACH communication [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected”, Received Signal Reference Power (RSRP) of received SSBS has an associated threshold. SSBs that exceed the threshold are selected. Paragraph [0202] further details that a cell (operated by a base station/network node) receives PRACH preambles in ROs, which are transmitted by a UE.].
Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach a RACH communication in accordance with an SSB prioritization.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach a RACH communication in accordance with an SSB prioritization [Su, ¶ 0140, “the step of determining the RO for the PRACH transmission may comprise a step of determining ROs mapped to SSBs based on the received first and second PRACH configurations, where the time-overlapping ROs with a lower priority are not associated with an SSB, which is different from an SSB, which the time-overlapping ROs with a high priority is associated with”, Step S1140 of Fig. 11 determines ROs associated with SSBs for PRACH transmission (see also ¶ 0136). In this instance, SSBs are prioritized by being placed in ROs that have high priority. In other words, low priority ROs are likely to be dropped in a time-domain overlap situation, so SSBs are priority mapped to ROs that will not be dropped (see ¶ 0145 and 0147, Options 1 and 2).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 18, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the network node of claim 17. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein a first SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a first quantity of ROs and a second SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a second quantity of ROs.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein a first SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a first quantity of ROs [Su, ¶ 0133, “The method 1100 may begin at step SI 110 where a first PRACH configuration is received from a network node. The first PRACH configuration configures a first set of ROs and comprises a first SSB mapping indication indicating the mapping of SSBs to ROs”, A first RACH configuration, corresponding to a first set of ROs, which are mapped to a first set of SSBs.] and a second SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a second quantity of ROs [Su, ¶ 0134, “At step SI 120, the terminal node receives a second PRACH configuration from the network node. The second PRACH configuration configures a second set of ROs and comprises a second SSB mapping indication indicating the mapping of SSBs to ROs”, A second RACH configuration, corresponding to a second set of ROs, which are mapped to a second set of SSBs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 19, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the network node of claim 18. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with respective quantities of ROs mapped to respective SSB communications of the set of SSB communications.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with respective quantities of ROs mapped to respective SSB communications of the set of SSB communications [Su, ¶ 0147, Option 1, “Option 1, the UE can redo the SSB indexes to RO mapping for the low priority ROs. It would not associate an RO of low priority with a different SSB index than that of the high-priority time-overlapping RO. In other words, some ROs of low priority are not associated with an SSB index, unless the SSB index is the same as the one for the time-domain overlapping high-priority ROs”, In an alternative, time-overlapping ROs are combined with a single, low priority SSB. In other words, there is a correlation between using multiple (or a quantity of ROs) with a type of SSB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 20, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the network node of claim 17. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with a quantity of ROs that map to each SSB communication of the plurality of SSB communications.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with a quantity of ROs that map to each SSB communication of the plurality of SSB communications [Su, ¶ 0147, Option 1, “Option 1, the UE can redo the SSB indexes to RO mapping for the low priority ROs. It would not associate an RO of low priority with a different SSB index than that of the high-priority time-overlapping RO. In other words, some ROs of low priority are not associated with an SSB index, unless the SSB index is the same as the one for the time-domain overlapping high-priority ROs”, In an alternative, time-overlapping ROs are combined with a single, low priority SSB. In other words, there is a correlation between using multiple (or a quantity of ROs) with a type of SSB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 21, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the network node of claim 17. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a master information block communication.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a master information block communication [Su, ¶ 0005, “At 102, the UE decodes Master Information Block (MIB) and System Information Block (SIB) (i.e., Remaining Minimum System Information (RMSI) and Other System Information (OSI), which may be distributed over multiple physical channels such as Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) and Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), to acquire random access transmission parameters”, The reference contemplates using MIB and/or SIB to convey RACH parameters (see also ¶ 0015).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the MIB/SIB signaling as taught by Su et al. to assist with SSB-RO mapping setup as taught by Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because MIB/SIB are well recognized signalling within the art to pass configuration information with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 22, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the network node of claim 17, wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a system information communication. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a system information communication.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a system information communication [Su, ¶ 0005, “At 102, the UE decodes Master Information Block (MIB) and System Information Block (SIB) (i.e., Remaining Minimum System Information (RMSI) and Other System Information (OSI), which may be distributed over multiple physical channels such as Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) and Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), to acquire random access transmission parameters”, The reference contemplates using MIB and/or SIB to convey RACH parameters (see also ¶ 0015).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the MIB/SIB signaling as taught by Su et al. to assist with SSB-RO mapping setup as taught by Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because MIB/SIB are well recognized signalling within the art to pass configuration information with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 23, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the network node of claim 17. Zhang et al. also teach wherein the threshold for the measurement value is associated with a quantity of ROs to which an SSB communication, of the plurality of SSB communications, maps [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “ In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected, and multiple ROs used for the preamble sequences are determined based on the selected SSB”, RO mapping based on RSRP measurement and threshold comparison applies to multiple ROs.].
As per claim 24, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the network node of claim 23. Zhang et al. also teach wherein the threshold is based at least in part on a fixed configuration [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected”, Received Signal Reference Power (RSRP) of received SSBS has an associated threshold. SSBs that exceed the threshold are selected. The threshold is fixed (or preset).], a radio resource control configuration, or a system information configuration.
As per claim 31, Zhang et al. teach a method for wireless communication by a network node [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts)”, A UE detects SSBs and performs the operations of fig. 5.], comprising:
receiving a set of synchronization signal block (SSB) communications, wherein a plurality of SSB communications, of the set of SSB communications, satisfy a threshold for a measurement value [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected”, Received Signal Reference Power (RSRP) of received SSBS has an associated threshold. SSBs that exceed the threshold are selected.]; and
transmitting, in a random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) corresponding to an SSB communication, of the plurality of SSB communications, a RACH communication [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected, and multiple ROs used for the preamble sequences are determined based on the selected SSB. That is, the UE selects X SSBs from the detected SSBs at least based on the SS-RSRPs of the detected SSBs, where X is an integer greater than or equal to 1, and X can be preset, or configured by a network device, or agreed upon by a protocol, or determined by the UE itself. M ROs are determined based on the X SSBs and a mapping relationship between SSBs and ROs, where M can be preset, or configured by a network device, or agreed upon by a protocol, or determined by a terminal. In addition to the SS-RSRP, the UE may also select the X SSBs based on other information, which is not limited by the present embodiment”, Selected SSBs that exceed the SS-RSRP threshold are mapped RACH occasions (RO, see ¶ 0200).].
Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach a RACH communication in accordance with an SSB prioritization.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach a RACH communication in accordance with an SSB prioritization [Su, ¶ 0140, “the step of determining the RO for the PRACH transmission may comprise a step of determining ROs mapped to SSBs based on the received first and second PRACH configurations, where the time-overlapping ROs with a lower priority are not associated with an SSB, which is different from an SSB, which the time-overlapping ROs with a high priority is associated with”, Step S1140 of Fig. 11 determines ROs associated with SSBs for PRACH transmission (see also ¶ 0136). In this instance, SSBs are prioritized by being placed in ROs that have high priority. In other words, low priority ROs are likely to be dropped in a time-domain overlap situation, so SSBs are priority mapped to ROs that will not be dropped (see ¶ 0145 and 0147, Options 1 and 2).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 32, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the method of claim 31. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein a first SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a first quantity of ROs and a second SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a second quantity of ROs.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein a first SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a first quantity of ROs [Su, ¶ 0133, “The method 1100 may begin at step SI 110 where a first PRACH configuration is received from a network node. The first PRACH configuration configures a first set of ROs and comprises a first SSB mapping indication indicating the mapping of SSBs to ROs”, A first RACH configuration, corresponding to a first set of ROs, which are mapped to a first set of SSBs.] and a second SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a second quantity of ROs [Su, ¶ 0134, “At step SI 120, the terminal node receives a second PRACH configuration from the network node. The second PRACH configuration configures a second set of ROs and comprises a second SSB mapping indication indicating the mapping of SSBs to ROs”, A second RACH configuration, corresponding to a second set of ROs, which are mapped to a second set of SSBs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 33, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the method of claim 32. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with respective quantities of ROs mapped to respective SSB communications of the set of SSB communications.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with respective quantities of ROs mapped to respective SSB communications of the set of SSB communications [Su, ¶ 0147, Option 1, “Option 1, the UE can redo the SSB indexes to RO mapping for the low priority ROs. It would not associate an RO of low priority with a different SSB index than that of the high-priority time-overlapping RO. In other words, some ROs of low priority are not associated with an SSB index, unless the SSB index is the same as the one for the time-domain overlapping high-priority ROs”, In an alternative, time-overlapping ROs are combined with a single, low priority SSB. In other words, there is a correlation between using multiple (or a quantity of ROs) with a type of SSB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 34, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the method of claim 31. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with a quantity of ROs that map to each SSB communication of the plurality of SSB communications.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with a quantity of ROs that map to each SSB communication of the plurality of SSB communications [Su, ¶ 0147, Option 1, “Option 1, the UE can redo the SSB indexes to RO mapping for the low priority ROs. It would not associate an RO of low priority with a different SSB index than that of the high-priority time-overlapping RO. In other words, some ROs of low priority are not associated with an SSB index, unless the SSB index is the same as the one for the time-domain overlapping high-priority ROs”, In an alternative, time-overlapping ROs are combined with a single, low priority SSB. In other words, there is a correlation between using multiple (or a quantity of ROs) with a type of SSB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 35, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the method of claim 31. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a master information block communication.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a master information block communication [Su, ¶ 0005, “At 102, the UE decodes Master Information Block (MIB) and System Information Block (SIB) (i.e., Remaining Minimum System Information (RMSI) and Other System Information (OSI), which may be distributed over multiple physical channels such as Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) and Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), to acquire random access transmission parameters”, The reference contemplates using MIB and/or SIB to convey RACH parameters (see also ¶ 0015).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the MIB/SIB signaling as taught by Su et al. to assist with SSB-RO mapping setup as taught by Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because MIB/SIB are well recognized signalling within the art to pass configuration information with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 36, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the method of claim 31, wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a system information communication. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a system information communication.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a system information communication [Su, ¶ 0005, “At 102, the UE decodes Master Information Block (MIB) and System Information Block (SIB) (i.e., Remaining Minimum System Information (RMSI) and Other System Information (OSI), which may be distributed over multiple physical channels such as Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) and Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), to acquire random access transmission parameters”, The reference contemplates using MIB and/or SIB to convey RACH parameters (see also ¶ 0015).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the MIB/SIB signaling as taught by Su et al. to assist with SSB-RO mapping setup as taught by Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because MIB/SIB are well recognized signalling within the art to pass configuration information with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 37, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the method of claim 31. Zhang et al. also teach wherein the threshold for the measurement value is associated with a quantity of ROs to which an SSB communication, of the plurality of SSB communications, maps [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “ In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected, and multiple ROs used for the preamble sequences are determined based on the selected SSB”, RO mapping based on RSRP measurement and threshold comparison applies to multiple ROs.].
As per claim 38, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the method of claim 37. Zhang et al. also teach wherein the threshold is based at least in part on a fixed configuration [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected”, Received Signal Reference Power (RSRP) of received SSBS has an associated threshold. SSBs that exceed the threshold are selected. The threshold is fixed (or preset).], a radio resource control configuration, or a system information configuration.
As per claim 39, A method for wireless communication by a network node [Zhang, ¶ 0197, “gNB”, Paragraph [0202] relates the SSB-RO mapping to a UE, which in turn communicates with a gNB serving the cell.], comprising:
transmitting a set of synchronization signal block (SSB) communications, wherein a plurality of SSB communications, of the set of SSB communications, satisfy a threshold for a measurement value [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected”, Received Signal Reference Power (RSRP) of received SSBS has an associated threshold. SSBs that exceed the threshold are selected. Paragraph [0202] further details that a cell (operated by a base station/network node) transmits SSBs to a UE.]; and
receiving, in a random access channel (RACH) occasion (RO) corresponding to an SSB communication, of the plurality of SSB communications, a RACH communication [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected”, Received Signal Reference Power (RSRP) of received SSBS has an associated threshold. SSBs that exceed the threshold are selected. Paragraph [0202] further details that a cell (operated by a base station/network node) receives PRACH preambles in ROs, which are transmitted by a UE.].
Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach a RACH communication in accordance with an SSB prioritization.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach a RACH communication in accordance with an SSB prioritization [Su, ¶ 0140, “the step of determining the RO for the PRACH transmission may comprise a step of determining ROs mapped to SSBs based on the received first and second PRACH configurations, where the time-overlapping ROs with a lower priority are not associated with an SSB, which is different from an SSB, which the time-overlapping ROs with a high priority is associated with”, Step S1140 of Fig. 11 determines ROs associated with SSBs for PRACH transmission (see also ¶ 0136). In this instance, SSBs are prioritized by being placed in ROs that have high priority. In other words, low priority ROs are likely to be dropped in a time-domain overlap situation, so SSBs are priority mapped to ROs that will not be dropped (see ¶ 0145 and 0147, Options 1 and 2).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 40, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the method of claim 39. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein a first SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a first quantity of ROs and a second SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a second quantity of ROs.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein a first SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a first quantity of ROs [Su, ¶ 0133, “The method 1100 may begin at step SI 110 where a first PRACH configuration is received from a network node. The first PRACH configuration configures a first set of ROs and comprises a first SSB mapping indication indicating the mapping of SSBs to ROs”, A first RACH configuration, corresponding to a first set of ROs, which are mapped to a first set of SSBs.] and a second SSB communication, of the set of SSB communications, is mapped to a second quantity of ROs [Su, ¶ 0134, “At step SI 120, the terminal node receives a second PRACH configuration from the network node. The second PRACH configuration configures a second set of ROs and comprises a second SSB mapping indication indicating the mapping of SSBs to ROs”, A second RACH configuration, corresponding to a second set of ROs, which are mapped to a second set of SSBs.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 41, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the method of claim 39. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with a quantity of ROs that map to each SSB communication of the plurality of SSB communications.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is associated with a quantity of ROs that map to each SSB communication of the plurality of SSB communications [Su, ¶ 0147, Option 1, “Option 1, the UE can redo the SSB indexes to RO mapping for the low priority ROs. It would not associate an RO of low priority with a different SSB index than that of the high-priority time-overlapping RO. In other words, some ROs of low priority are not associated with an SSB index, unless the SSB index is the same as the one for the time-domain overlapping high-priority ROs”, In an alternative, time-overlapping ROs are combined with a single, low priority SSB. In other words, there is a correlation between using multiple (or a quantity of ROs) with a type of SSB.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the SSB-to-RO mapping as taught by Su et al. into Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because implementing priority based mapping allows for legacy and new ROs to interoperate (see Su, ¶ 0129) with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 42, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the method of claim 39. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a master information block communication.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a master information block communication [Su, ¶ 0005, “At 102, the UE decodes Master Information Block (MIB) and System Information Block (SIB) (i.e., Remaining Minimum System Information (RMSI) and Other System Information (OSI), which may be distributed over multiple physical channels such as Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) and Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), to acquire random access transmission parameters”, The reference contemplates using MIB and/or SIB to convey RACH parameters (see also ¶ 0015).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the MIB/SIB signaling as taught by Su et al. to assist with SSB-RO mapping setup as taught by Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because MIB/SIB are well recognized signalling within the art to pass configuration information with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 43, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the method of claim 39, wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a system information communication. Zhang et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a system information communication.
However, in an analogous art, Su et al. teach wherein the SSB prioritization is a configured prioritization conveyed in a system information communication [Su, ¶ 0005, “At 102, the UE decodes Master Information Block (MIB) and System Information Block (SIB) (i.e., Remaining Minimum System Information (RMSI) and Other System Information (OSI), which may be distributed over multiple physical channels such as Physical Broadcast Channel (PBCH) and Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH), to acquire random access transmission parameters”, The reference contemplates using MIB and/or SIB to convey RACH parameters (see also ¶ 0015).].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the MIB/SIB signaling as taught by Su et al. to assist with SSB-RO mapping setup as taught by Zhang et al. One would have been motivated to do this because MIB/SIB are well recognized signalling within the art to pass configuration information with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 44, Zhang et al. in view of Su et al. teach the method of claim 39. Zhang et al. also teach wherein the threshold for the measurement value is associated with a quantity of ROs to which an SSB communication, of the plurality of SSB communications, maps [Zhang, ¶ 0216, “ In URAT, when sending a preamble sequence, a UE can detect SSB bursts (bursts), and select a suitable SSB from all detected SSBs based on a detected synchronization signal reference signal received power (SS-RSRP) of each SSB, in one embodiment, one or more SSBs with a highest SS-RSRP are selected, or for another example, one or more SSBs with an SS-RSRP greater than a preset threshold are selected, and multiple ROs used for the preamble sequences are determined based on the selected SSB”, RO mapping based on RSRP measurement and threshold comparison applies to multiple ROs.].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Al et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0056296), teaches SSB selection and PRACH mapping for a UAV deployment (see at least fig. 5).
The reference, Marcone et al. (US PG Pub 2025/0056624), teaches RACH occasion (RO) determination (see at least figs. 5 and 6).
The reference, Zhang (WO 2024/207727), teaches mapping relationships between ROs and SSBs in legacy and current implementations (see at least figs. 7A-7F).
The reference, Shen et al. (WO 2024/027306), teaches SSB to RO mapping (see figs. 6-16).
The reference, Catt (NPL), teaches SSB selection based on RSRP (see at least section 2.4).
The reference, Xiaomi (NPL), teaches a relationship between RSRP threshold and PRACH repetitions (see at least section 2.2).
The reference, Panasonic (NPL), teaches determining a number of PRACH transmissions based on a comparison between a measurement and a threshold (see section 2.2).
The reference, Nokia (NPL), teaches the relationship between RACH repetitions and a RSRP threshold (see section 2.1, fig. 2).
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417