DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Remarks dated 8 July 2026 wherein Claim 20 has been cancelled, Claim 21 has been newly added, and no claims are amended. Therefore, Claims 1 – 19 and 21 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 8 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description:
78 as shown in Figure 1.
16 as shown in Figure 1.
81 as shown in Figure 1.
604 as shown in Figure 8.
604 as shown in Figure 9.
710 as shown in Figure 10.
710 as shown in Figure 11.
710 as shown in Figure 12.
1004 as shown in Figure 13.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 8, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “a length of the body” twice. This claim language is objected to because throughout the claims the “body” is referred to as the “elongate body.” Therefore, the Examiner suggests amending each recitation of “a length of the body” to recite “a length of the elongate body” to improve the consistency of the claim language.
Claim 3 recites “a length of the body” twice. This claim language is objected to because throughout the claims the “body” is referred to as the “elongate body.” Therefore, the Examiner suggests amending each recitation of “a length of the body” to recite “a length of the elongate body” to improve the consistency of the claim language.
Claim 8 recites “the body.” This claim language is objected to because throughout the claims the “body” is referred to as the “elongate body.” Therefore, the Examiner suggests amending “the body” to recite “the elongate body” to improve the consistency of the claim language.
Claim 13 recites “the body.” This claim language is objected to because throughout the claims the “body” is referred to as the “elongate body.” Therefore, the Examiner suggests amending “the body” to recite “the elongate body” to improve the consistency of the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the outer braid.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner suggests amending Claim 14 to depend upon Claim 13 to provide proper antecedent basis for the outer braid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 10, 11 – 15, 17 – 19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bogusky (US 8,671,817 B1).
With regards to claim 1, Bogusky discloses (Figures 7 – 7C) an apparatus (100) comprising:
(a) an elongate body (102) having a proximal portion (120) and a distal portion (114), the distal portion terminating at a distal end (112), the elongate body defining a central longitudinal axis (see along 102 in Figure 7) ;
(b) a first tendon (108) (see the Examiner’s annotated Figures 7A – 7C below hereinafter referred to as “Fig. A”) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 7A – 7C), the first tendon having a distal end that is fixedly secured relative to the distal end of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54 “The distal ends of the pullwires 108 are anchored or mounted to the control ring 106, such that operation of the pullwires 108 may apply force or tension to the control ring 106, which may steer or articulate (e.g., up, down, pitch, yaw, or any direction in-between) the pertinent location, section, portion, or region of the catheter 100, which may in effect provide or define various bend radii for the articulated portion of the catheter 100.”), the first tendon being operable to drive articulation of the distal portion of the elongate body relative to the proximal portion of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54);
(c) a second tendon (108) (see Fig. A below) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 7A – 7C), the second tendon having a distal end that is fixedly secured relative to the distal end of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54), the second tendon being operable to drive articulation of the distal portion of the elongate body relative to the proximal portion of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54);
(d) a first stiffening member (108) (see Fig. A below) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 7A – 7C), the first stiffening member having a distal end that is fixedly secured relative to the distal end of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54); and
(e) a second stiffening member (108) (see Fig. A below) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 7A – 7C), the second stiffening member having a distal end that is fixedly secured relative to the distal end of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54);
the first tendon and the first stiffening member being positioned adjacent to each other along the proximal portion (see Figure 7C);
the second tendon and the second stiffening member being positioned adjacent to each other along the proximal portion (see Figure 7C);
the first tendon and the first stiffening member being angularly offset from each other along the distal portion (see Figure 7A);
the second tendon and the second stiffening member being angularly offset from each other along the distal portion (see Figure 7A).
With regards to claim 2, Bogusky discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, and Bogusky further discloses the first tendon (108) (see Fig. A above) and the second tendon (108) (see Fig. A above) being angularly offset from each other by approximately 180 degrees about the central longitudinal axis along at least part of a length of the body (102) (see Figure 7A and Figure A above);
the first stiffening member (108) (see Fig. A above) and the second stiffening member (108) (see Fig. A above) being angularly offset from each other by approximately 180 degrees about the central longitudinal axis along at least part of a length of the body (see Figure 7A and Figure A above).
With regards to claim 8, Bogusky discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, and Bogusky further discloses the body defining a working channel (104), the working channel being sized to slidably receive an instrument (see Col. 13, lines 11 – 21 “the working lumen 104 and from which a working catheter or guidewire may extend distally therefrom”).
With regards to claim 10, Bogusky discloses the claimed invention of claim 8, and Bogusky further discloses further comprising a low friction liner in the working channel (see Col. 13, lines 39 – 67 “The entire working lumen 104 within the distal articulating section 114 is formed by an inner polymer tube (e.g., 0.001'' thick PTFE).” According to paragraph [0073] of the Specification dated 12 December 2023 this material is low friction).
With regards to claim 11, Bogusky discloses the claimed invention of claim 8, and Bogusky further discloses the apparatus further comprising an inner braid (see Col. 17, lines 45 – 67 “a first layer of braiding”) the inner braid being positioned radially externally relative to the working channel (104), the inner braid being positioned radially internally relative to the first tendon, the second tendon, the first stiffening member, and the second stiffening member (see Figure A above and the annotated first tendon, second tendon, first stiffening member, and the second stiffening member) (see Col. 18, line 17 – Col. 19, line 33).
With regards to claim 12, Bogusky discloses the claimed invention of claim 11, and Bogusky further discloses the apparatus the inner braid (see Col. 17, lines 45 – 67 “a first layer of braiding”) comprising metal wire strands (see Col. 13, lines 39 – 67 “a double braided layer (e.g., sixteen 0.0005''.times.0.003'' spring temper 304V stainless steel wires braided at 68 picks per inch (ppi) in a 2 over 2 pattern) embedded within the outer polymer tube”).
With regards to claim 13, Bogusky discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, and Bogusky further discloses the apparatus further comprising an outer braid (see Col. 17, lines 45 – 67 “a second layer of braiding”), the outer braid being positioned radially externally relative to the first tendon, the second tendon, the first stiffening member, and the second stiffening member, at least a portion of the body being positioned radially externally relative to the outer braid (see Figure A above and the annotated first tendon, second tendon, first stiffening member, and the second stiffening member) (see Col. 18, line 17 – Col. 19, line 33).
With regards to claim 14, Bogusky discloses the claimed invention of claim 12, and Bogusky further discloses the outer braid (see Col. 17, lines 45 – 67 “a second layer of braiding”) comprising metal wire strands (see Col. 13, lines 39 – 67 “a double braided layer (e.g., sixteen 0.0005''.times.0.003'' spring temper 304V stainless steel wires braided at 68 picks per inch (ppi) in a 2 over 2 pattern) embedded within the outer polymer tube”).
With regards to claim 15, Bogusky discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, and Bogusky further discloses further comprising:
(a) a first tendon lumen (110) (see Figure A above at the annotated “First tendon”) having a low friction liner (see Col. 13, lines 39 – 67 “The pullwire lumens 110 extend through the distal articulating section 114 and may be constructed of a low friction material”), the first tendon (108) (see Figure A above) being slidably disposed in the first tendon lumen (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54); and
(b) a second tendon lumen (110) (see Figure A above at the annotated “Second tendon”) having a low friction liner (see Col. 13, lines 39 – 67 “The pullwire lumens 110 extend through the distal articulating section 114 and may be constructed of a low friction material”), the second tendon (108) (see Figure A above) being slidably disposed in the first tendon lumen (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54).
With regards to claim 17, Bogusky discloses (see Figures 7 – 7C) an apparatus (100)comprising:
(a) an elongate body (102) having a proximal portion (120) and a distal portion (114), the distal portion terminating at a distal end (112), the elongate body defining a central longitudinal axis (see along 102 in Figure 7);
(b) a first tendon (108) (see Figure A above) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 7A – 7C), the first tendon having a distal end that is fixedly secured relative to the distal end of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54 “The distal ends of the pullwires 108 are anchored or mounted to the control ring 106, such that operation of the pullwires 108 may apply force or tension to the control ring 106, which may steer or articulate (e.g., up, down, pitch, yaw, or any direction in-between) the pertinent location, section, portion, or region of the catheter 100, which may in effect provide or define various bend radii for the articulated portion of the catheter 100.”), the first tendon being operable to drive articulation of the distal portion of the elongate body relative to the proximal portion of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54);
(c) a first stiffening member (108) (see Figure A above) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 7A – 7C), the first stiffening member having a distal end that is fixedly secured relative to the distal end of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54);
(d) an inner braid (see Col. 17, lines 45 – 67 “a first layer of braiding”) positioned radially internally relative to the first tendon and relative to the first stiffening member (see Col. 18, line 17 – Col. 19, line 33); and
(e) an outer braid (see Col. 17, lines 45 – 67 “a second layer of braiding”) positioned radially externally relative to the first tendon and relative to the first stiffening member (see Col. 18, line 17 – Col. 19, line 33).
With regards to claim 18, Bogusky discloses the claimed invention of claim 17, and Bogusky further discloses the first tendon (108) (see Figure A above) and the first stiffening member (108) (see Figure A above) being positioned adjacent to each other along the proximal portion (120) (see Figure 7C);
the first tendon and the first stiffening member being angularly offset from each other along the distal portion (114) (see Figure 7A).
With regards to claim 19, Bogusky discloses the claimed invention of claim 17, and Bogusky further discloses the apparatus further comprising:
(a) a second tendon (108) (see Figure A above) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 7A – 7C), the second tendon having a distal end that is fixedly secured relative to the distal end of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54), the second tendon being operable to drive articulation of the distal portion of the elongate body relative to the proximal portion of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54); and
(b) a second stiffening member (108) (see Figure A above) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 7A – 7C), the second stiffening member having a distal end that is fixedly secured relative to the distal end of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54).
With regards to claim 21, Bogusky discloses an apparatus (100) comprising:
an elongate body (102) having a proximal portion (120) and a distal portion (114);
a first tendon (108) (see Figure A above) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 7A – 7C), the first tendon being secured to the distal portion and operable to drive articulation of the distal portion of the elongate body relative to the proximal portion of the elongate body (see Col. 12, lines 35 – 54); and
a first stiffening member (108) (see Figure A above) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 7A – 7C), the first tendon and the first stiffening member being positioned adjacent to each other along the proximal portion and angularly offset from each other along the distal portion (see Figure 7C which shows the adjacent positioning and Figure 7A for the angular offset positioning).
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 8, 9, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Joseph et al. (US 2018/0055589 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Joseph”).
With regards to claim 1, Joseph discloses (see Figures 10A – 10B) an apparatus (60) (see [0096]) comprising:
(a) an elongate body (see [0079] “This simplified representation of the pullwires and sidewall is used in FIGS. 6A-6C and in many subsequent figures described below, for simplicity and ease of understanding. Although pullwires are shown on the exterior/outer surface of the sidewalls in these figures, in actual catheter devices described herein, the pullwires will typically (though not necessarily) be located within the sidewall of a given catheter embodiment.” Here the elongate body is the sidewall of the catheter) having a proximal portion (see Figure 10B and the “Shaft Section”) and a distal portion (see Figure 10A and the “Articulation Section”), the distal portion terminating at a distal end (see Figure 10A and the “Articulation Section” where the distal end is the distal most portion of the Articulation Section), the elongate body defining a central longitudinal axis (see at the center of the catheter sidewall 62 in Figure 10A);
(b) a first tendon (1a) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 10A – 10B and [0079]), the first tendon having a distal end that is fixedly secured relative to the distal end of the elongate body (see [0079], [0095], and [0096]), the first tendon being operable to drive articulation of the distal portion of the elongate body relative to the proximal portion of the elongate body (see [0079], [0095], and [0096]);
(c) a second tendon (3a) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 10A – 10B and [0079]), the second tendon having a distal end that is fixedly secured relative to the distal end of the elongate body (see [0079], [0095], and [0096]), the second tendon being operable to drive articulation of the distal portion of the elongate body relative to the proximal portion of the elongate body (see [0079], [0095], and [0096]);
(d) a first stiffening member (3b) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 10A – 10B and [0079]), the first stiffening member having a distal end that is fixedly secured relative to the distal end of the elongate body (see [0079], [0095], and [0096]); and
(e) a second stiffening member (1b) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 10A – 10B and [0079]), the second stiffening member having a distal end that is fixedly secured relative to the distal end of the elongate body (see [0079], [0095], and [0096]);
the first tendon and the first stiffening member being positioned adjacent to each other along the proximal portion (see Figure 10B where the first tendon 1a and the first stiffening member 3b are positioned adjacent to each other);
the second tendon and the second stiffening member being positioned adjacent to each other along the proximal portion (see Figure 10B where the second tendon 3a and the second stiffening member 1b are positioned adjacent to each other);
the first tendon and the first stiffening member being angularly offset from each other along the distal portion (see Figure 10A where the first tendon 1a and the first stiffening member 3b are angularly offset from each other);
the second tendon and the second stiffening member being angularly offset from each other along the distal portion (see Figure 10A where the second tendon 3a and the second stiffening member 1b are angularly offset from each other).
With regards to claim 2, Joseph discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, and Joseph further discloses the first tendon (1a) and the second tendon (3a) being angularly offset from each other by approximately 180 degrees about the central longitudinal axis along at least part of a length of the body (see Figures 10A – 10B and the location of the first tendon 1a and second tendon 3a);
the first stiffening member (3b) and the second stiffening member (1b) being angularly offset from each other by approximately 180 degrees about the central longitudinal axis along at least part of a length of the body (see Figures 10A – 10B and the location of the first stiffening member 3b and the second stiffening member 1b).
With regards to claim 3, Joseph discloses the claimed invention of claim 2, and Joseph further discloses the first tendon (1a) and the second tendon (3a) being angularly offset from each other by approximately 180 degrees about the central longitudinal axis along the entire length of the body (see Figures 10A – 10B and the location of the first tendon 1a and second tendon 3a);
the first stiffening member (3b) and the second stiffening member (1b) being angularly offset from each other by approximately 180 degrees about the central longitudinal axis along the entire length of the body (see Figures 10A – 10B and the location of the first stiffening member 3b and the second stiffening member 1b).
With regards to claim 8, Joseph discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, and Joseph further discloses the body (see [0079] “This simplified representation of the pullwires and sidewall is used in FIGS. 6A-6C and in many subsequent figures described below, for simplicity and ease of understanding. Although pullwires are shown on the exterior/outer surface of the sidewalls in these figures, in actual catheter devices described herein, the pullwires will typically (though not necessarily) be located within the sidewall of a given catheter embodiment.” Here the elongate body is the sidewall of the catheter) defining a working channel (62), the working channel being sized to slidably receive an instrument (see the size of the working channel in Figures 10A – 10B and [0077] “guidewire”).
With regards to claim 9, Joseph discloses the claimed invention of claim 8, and Joseph further discloses the working channel (62) being coaxially positioned about the central longitudinal axis (see Figures 10A – 10B).
With regards to claim 21, Joseph discloses (Figures 10A – 10B) an apparatus (60) (see [0096]) comprising:
an elongate body (see [0079] “This simplified representation of the pullwires and sidewall is used in FIGS. 6A-6C and in many subsequent figures described below, for simplicity and ease of understanding. Although pullwires are shown on the exterior/outer surface of the sidewalls in these figures, in actual catheter devices described herein, the pullwires will typically (though not necessarily) be located within the sidewall of a given catheter embodiment.” Here the elongate body is the sidewall of the catheter) having a proximal portion (see Figure 10B and the “Shaft Section”) and a distal portion (see Figure 10A and the “Articulation Section”);
a first tendon (1a) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 10A – 10B and [0079]), the first tendon being secured to the distal portion and operable to drive articulation of the distal portion of the elongate body relative to the proximal portion of the elongate body (see [0079], [0095], and [0096]); and
a first stiffening member (3b) extending through the elongate body (see Figures 10A – 10B and [0079]), the first tendon and the first stiffening member being positioned adjacent to each other along the proximal portion and angularly offset from each other along the distal portion (see Figure 10A which shows the first tendon 1a and first stiffening member 3b angularly offset from each other and Figure 10B which shows the first tendon 1a and first stiffening member 3b being positioned adjacent to each other).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 – 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogusky in view of Marass et al. (US 2021/0121663 A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Marass”).
With regards to claim 4, Bogusky discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, however, Bogusky is silent with regards to the first tendon and the first stiffening member together extending along a first helical path along the proximal portion;
the second tendon and the second stiffening member together extending along a second helical path along the proximal portion.
Nonetheless Marass, which is within the analogous art of torqueable steerable sheaths (see abstract and title), teaches the first tendon (top 210 in Figure 2 also referred to as first pull wire 300 see [0039]) and the first stiffening member (top 212 in Figure 2) together extending along a first helical path (see [0040] “a substantially helical path”) along the proximal portion (114) (see [0040]);
the second tendon (bottom 210 in Figure 2 also referred to as second pullwire 302 see [0039]) and the second stiffening member (bottom 212 in Figure 2) together extending along a second helical path (see [0040] “a substantially helical path”) along the proximal portion (114) (see [0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus of Bogusky in view of a teaching of Marass such that the first tendon and the first stiffening member together extending along a first helical path along the proximal portion; the second tendon and the second stiffening member together extending along a second helical path along the proximal portion. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus in this manner because Marass teaches the rotation of the pullwires/tendons and stiffening members along the length of the non-deflectable section reduces the energy stored in the pull wires when torque is applied to the steerable introducer while the deflectable section is in a deflected position. This allows a smooth, approximately one-to-one response to the steerable introducer to an applied torque without breaking the pullwires or whipping the distal end of the sheath. See [0022] and [0023] of Marass.
The apparatus of Bogusky modified in view of a teaching of Marass will hereinafter be referred to as the apparatus of Bogusky and Marass.
With regards to claim 5, the apparatus of Bogusky and Marass teaches the claimed invention of claim 4, however Bogusky is silent with regards to the first tendon extending along a first straight path along the distal portion, the first straight path being parallel with the central longitudinal axis;
the second tendon extending along a second straight path along the distal portion, the second straight path being parallel with the central longitudinal axis.
Nonetheless Marass, which is within the analogous art of torqueable steerable sheaths (see abstract and title), teaches the first tendon (top 210 in Figure 2 also referred to as first pull wire 300 see [0039]) extending along a first straight path along the distal portion (116) (see [0032] “Pull wires 210 extend in straight lines 180 degrees apart through deflectable portion 116 (shown in FIG. 1) without wrapping around sheath 106 in circumferential direction 220.”), the first straight path being parallel with the central longitudinal axis (see [0032]);
the second tendon (bottom 210 in Figure 2 also referred to as second pull wire 302 see [0039]) extending along a second straight path along the distal portion (see [0032] “Pull wires 210 extend in straight lines 180 degrees apart through deflectable portion 116 (shown in FIG. 1) without wrapping around sheath 106 in circumferential direction 220.”), the second straight path being parallel with the central longitudinal axis (see [0032]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus of Bogusky and Marass in view of a further teaching of Marass such that the first tendon extending along a first straight path along the distal portion, the first straight path being parallel with the central longitudinal axis; the second tendon extending along a second straight path along the distal portion, the second straight path being parallel with the central longitudinal axis. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Marass teaches the rotation of the pullwires/tendons and stiffening members along the length of the non-deflectable section reduces the energy stored in the pull wires when torque is applied to the steerable introducer while the deflectable section is in a deflected position. This allows a smooth, approximately one-to-one response to the steerable introducer to an applied torque without breaking the pullwires or whipping the distal end of the sheath. See [0022], [0023], and [0032] of Marass.
With regards to claim 6, the apparatus of Bogusky and Marass teaches the claimed invention of claim 4, however Bogusky is silent with regards to the first stiffening member extending along a third helical path along the distal portion;
the second stiffening member extending along a fourth helical path along the distal portion.
Nonetheless Marass, which is within the analogous art of torqueable steerable sheaths (see abstract and title), teaches the first stiffening member (706) (see [0049]) extending along a third helical path (see [0049] “electrode wire 706 has a first tight wind within a deflectable portion 708 and a looser wind within a non-deflectable portion 710.” Where the third helical path is the helical path of the first tight winding within the deflectable portion) along the distal portion (708);
the second stiffening member (706) (see [0049]) extending along a fourth helical path along the distal portion (see [0049] “it is within the scope of the present disclosure to have multiple electrode wires…electrode wire 706 has a first tight wind within a deflectable portion 708 and a looser wind within a non-deflectable portion 710.” Where the fourth helical path is the helical path of the first tight winding within the deflectable portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the helical path of the apparatus of Bogusky and Marass in view of a further teaching of Marass such that the first stiffening member extending along a third helical path along the distal portion; the second stiffening member extending along a fourth helical path along the distal portion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Marass teaches different winding patterns/helical paths (tighter in some areas and looser in other areas) present in different areas of the steerable sheath provide the intended benefits of strain relief to compression or flexing of the steerable sheath used. See [0047] of Marass.
With regards to claim 7, the apparatus of Bogusky and Marass teaches the claimed invention of claim 6, however Bogusky is silent with regards to the third helical path having a finer pitch than the first helical path;
the fourth helical path having a finer pitch than the second helical path.
Nonetheless Marass, which is within the analogous art of torqueable steerable sheaths (see abstract and title), teaches the third helical path having a finer pitch than the first helical path (see [0049] “electrode wire 706 has a first tight wind within a deflectable portion 708 and a looser wind within a non-deflectable portion 710.” Where the third helical path is the helical path of the first tight winding within the deflectable portion and the first helical path is the helical path of the looser winding within the non-deflectable portion);
the fourth helical path having a finer pitch than the second helical path (see [0049] “electrode wire 706 has a first tight wind within a deflectable portion 708 and a looser wind within a non-deflectable portion 710.” Where the fourth helical path is the helical path of the first tight winding within the deflectable portion and the second helical path is the helical path of the looser winding within the non-deflectable portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus of Bogusky and Marass in view of a further teaching of Marass such that the third helical path having a finer pitch than the first helical path; the fourth helical path having a finer pitch than the second helical path. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Marass teaches different winding patterns/helical paths (tighter in some areas and looser in other areas) present in different areas of the steerable sheath provide the intended benefits of strain relief to compression or flexing of the steerable sheath used. See [0047] of Marass.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bogusky in view of Soutorine (US 2011/0270037 A1).
With regards to claim 16, Bogusky discloses the claimed invention of claim 1, however Bogusky is silent with regards to the apparatus further comprising a plurality of electrical conduits extending along the elongate body.
Nonetheless Soutorine, which is within the analogous art of apparatuses for advancing a probe (see abstract and title), teaches the apparatus further comprising a plurality of electrical conduits (see [0114] “at least one electrical conduit extending along tube 140” and [0131] “electrical conduits for signal transmission”) extending along the elongate body (140).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the apparatus of Bogusky in view of a teaching of Soutorine such that the apparatus further comprising a plurality of electrical conduits extending along the elongate body. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Soutorine teaches incorporating a plurality of electrical conduits can be used to power image-capturing devices, signal transmission, and/or to provide a voltage to one or more light sources exposed at the end of the elongate body. See [0114] and [0131] of Soutorine.
Conclusion
/ROBERT F ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/WILLIAM R CARPENTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783
07/27/2026