DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to Application no. 18/536,608. All claims have been examined and are currently pending.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 10, 12, 19, and 20 were amended and claim 21-26 was newly added. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-14, 19-26 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (remarks filed 08/20/2026) have been considered but are not fully persuasive.
Applicant argues on pg 13, full ¶4, reproduced below:
.
Upon further review of the reference and in light of applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees as follows: first of all, Applicant has not provided any further definitions or evidence to state the difference. Further, Jongaramrungruang also states on pg 8003, column 1, ¶2: “We also used LANDSAT data (Wulder et al., 2019)”. Does the Applicant wish to argue that satellite imagery from the LANDSAT satellite is not satellite imagery? The Wulder reference can be seen in the following link: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.rse.2019.02.015.
Applicant further argues on pg 13, full ¶5, reproduced below:
.
Upon further review of the reference and in light of applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees as follows: first of all, Applicant has not provided any further definitions or evidence to state the difference. Further, Jongaramrungruang states on pg 8001, Section 2, ¶1: “the reflected radiance as measured by an instrument at the top of the atmosphere in the nadir direction”. Examine notes that TOA stands for “top of the atmosphere” or “top of atmosphere”. Additionally, pg 8002, Figure 2 shows a satellite gathering images, on top of the atmosphere.
Applicant further argues on page 13 (last paragraph) to page 14 (first partial paragraph), reproduced below:
.
Upon further review of the reference and in light of applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees as follows: first of all, Applicant has not provided any further specification of the spectral response function; a possible broad and reasonable interpretation for spectral response function could be “instrument kernel” as the claims do not define what a spectral response function is. Secondly, as Section 2.2, Equation 2 shows, T_lamba, which is related to wavelength, relies on the gas species; the gas species include the H20, CO2, and CH4 that applicant has cited. Applicant would have to amend the claims to go beyond the BRI and the Jongaramrungruang reference, and specify what the spectral response function is and how it differs from the Jongaramrungruang reference that responds to the wavelength of gas species.
Applicant further argues on page 14, first full ¶1, reproduced below:
Upon further review of the reference and in light of applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees as follows: first of all, Applicant has not provided any further evidence or explanation, just that the Examiner has stated something. Additionally, Applicant appears to make several mistakes as the rejection as cited an image reproduction of the Jongaramrungruang reference, then quotes from that image are used for different parts of the claim mapping (see new rejection below). The only “same sentence” that Examiner had used was regarding “generating” and “outputting”. Again, Applicant has not defined or provided any evidence or even made a stance on this. So, for clarity using a computer example, a computer can generate an image, then output the image. An output includes displaying the image, which the Jongaramrungruang reference shows. Applicant will have to provide further evidence and arguments other than a vague argument that does not appear to be saying anything.
Applicant has made a false assertion on pg 14, full ¶2, reproduced below:
.
Upon further review of the reference and in light of applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees as follows: first of all, Applicant has ignored the claim 2 mapping on page 18 of the most recently filed Non-Final Rejection that shows the following (reproduced):
. Which contradicts the assertion made by Applicant.
Finally, Applicant argues on pg 14, full ¶3, reproduced below:
.
Upon further review of the reference and in light of applicant's argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees as follows: first of all, Applicant has not provided any further definition on reflectance in the claims. Secondly, the Abstract of Guanter states “These instruments measure the solar radiation reflected”; additionally, light reflects off of objects to go into our eyes, this is how we are able to see objects. As stated earlier, Jongaramrungruang (D1) covers the limitation of “land cover map”. Additionally, pg 5, Figure 3 shows non-limiting examples of land cover maps in the top row. Therefore, the combination of Jongaramrungruang (D1) and Guanter (D2) remains for the rejection.
Accordingly, the claims, as they are currently written, do not place the instant application into an allowable state.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE10 2022 133 147.4, filed on 12/13/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 10, 19, 20, 21-24, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Jongaramrungruang (“Remote sensing of methane plumes: instrument tradeoff analysis for detecting and quantifying local sources at global scale”, 2021), in view of Guanter (“Mapping methane point emissions with the PRISMA spaceborne imaging spectrometer”, 2021).
Regarding claim 1, Jongaramrungruang teaches A method (Jongaramrungruang, Abstract, reproduced below:
. “end-to-end modeling framework” is being interpreted to involve a method) comprising:
receiving satellite imagery (Jongaramrungruang, see Abstract above, “Remote sensing” is being interpreted to involve “receiving satellite imagery”. Further supported by Figure 1 on pg 8001, a satellite image) corresponding to an area of the Earth (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, Figure 1, which shows a satellite image of an area of the Earth) and to a plurality of waveband channels (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, Section 3.1, reproduced below:
. 1.6 and 2.3 um bands are being interpreted as plurality of waveband channels), wherein the plurality of waveband channels comprise a first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband), the satellite imagery including a first top of atmosphere (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, left column, Section 2.2, last paragraph to right column lines 1-5, reproduced below:
. “Top of the atmosphere” is being interpreted as “top of atmosphere”) spectral reflectance (Jongaramrungruang, see Abstract image above, “reflected solar irradiance” is being interpreted as involving “spectral reflectance”. Supported by the plurality of bands from Section 3.1) image corresponding to the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband), and bottom of atmosphere spectral reflectance images (Jongaramrungruang, see nearest image below, “We built an end-to-end modeling framework that can generate reflected solar radiance through a methane plume of known concentration over realistic surfaces”. “Realistic surfaces” and “reflected solar radiance” are being interpreted as involving “bottom or atmosphere spectral reflectance images”) corresponding to the plurality of wavebands (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, column 2, paragraph after equation 1: “The subscript [lambda] denotes the wavelength dependence of these variables. The multiplication in Eq. (1) is element-wise for each wavelength in the spectral range of interest”. Which shows “plurality of wavebands”);
receiving methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, left column, last paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Methane plume” including a concentration (Jongaramrungruang, see pg 8001 image above: “methane plume of known concentration”) corresponding to each pixel of the satellite images (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8010, left column, Section 3.4.1, lines 1-6, reproduced below:
. “column CH4” is being interpreted as involving “methane plume” that uses pixels);
calculating a first synthetic transmittance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Output from LES”, or the Large Eddy Simulation, is being interpreted as involving calculating a first synthetic transmittance image) corresponding to the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband), based on the methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, see image above, “3D concentration field of CH4” is being interpreted as involving methane plume data), an absorbance of methane (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, left column last two lines: “The transmission of the atmosphere is calculated from the background gas concentrations from the top of the atmosphere”. “Transmission” is being interpreted to involve “absorbance”) in the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband) and a spectral response function (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, first full paragraph: “We considered H2O, CO2, and CH4 in the background.” Which is being interpreted as involving a spectral response function to distinguish methane, CH4, from other gases such as CO2) of the satellite in the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband), wherein calculating the first synthetic transmittance images (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Output from LES”, or the Large Eddy Simulation, is being interpreted as involving calculating a first synthetic transmittance image) comprises, for the respective waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see nearest image below, “where i denotes the ith gas species”):
calculating an absorbance (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, Section 2.2, reproduced below:
. “Calculate absorption” is being interpreted as calculating an absorbance) as the pixel-wise dot product (Jongaramrungruang, see equation 2 above, the multiplication with the gas absorption is being interpreted to involve a pixel-wise dot product) of the methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 2.2 image above, “gas species” is being interpreted as involving methane plume data when the function iterates to methane) and the wavelength (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 2.2 image above, the lambda Greek letter is being interpreted to involve wavelength, a common variable for wavelength in Physics)) dependent absorbance of methane (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 2.2 image above, the wavelength lambda is a function of the kth layer, so it depends on the absorbance of methane as certain wavelengths) in that waveband (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, Section 3.1 left column, “1.6 and 2.3 μm bands”, which shows the calculation is for the wavebands with methane plume data);
converting the absorbance to a transmittance (Jongaramrungruang, see equation 2 above, this equation is involved in converting absorbance to transmittance); and
calculating the synthetic transmittance image as the pixel-wise dot product (Jongaramrungruang, see equation 2 above, the multiplication with the gas absorption is being interpreted to involve a pixel-wise dot product) of the transmittance (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, equation 1, T_lambda_down is being interpreted as transmittance) and the spectral response function of the satellite in that waveband (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, equation 1, T_lambda_up is being interpreted as involving the spectral response function as it involves the instrument, as shown in the paragraph after equation 1. Equation 1 shows the pixel-wise dot product is involved with the different variables);
determining a land cover map (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, Section 2.2.1, lines 1-3: “To analyze the impact of surface spectral features, we compiled a database of different surface albedos from the ECOSTRESS spectral library”. “Different surface albedos” is being interpreted to involve “land cover map”) corresponding to the area based on comparing the bottom of atmosphere spectral reflectance images (Jongaramrungruang , pg 8003, column 1, paragraph 2: “At each pixel, we matched the measured surface albedo from LANDSAT observations at 0.48, 0.56, 0.65, 0.87, 1.61, and 2.20 μm to the closest possible surface in our database and queried its full albedo spectra for our simulations”. “Matched” is being interpreted to involve “comparing”. “Closest possible surface in our database” is being interpreted to involve the bottom of atmosphere spectral reflectance images” as seen by the plurality of wavebands in the citied sentence) to a reference spectral library (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, Section 2.2.1, lines 1-3: “To analyze the impact of surface spectral features, we compiled a database of different surface albedos from the ECOSTRESS spectral library”. “ECOSTRESS spectral library” is being interpreted as “reference spectral library”);
generating a first output synthetic image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Overlay this on top of surface tiles” is being interpreted as “generating a first output synthetic image”) by combining the first synthetic transmittance image ( (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Output from LES”, or the Large Eddy Simulation, is being interpreted as involving calculating a first synthetic transmittance image) with the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, left column, Section 2.2, last paragraph to right column lines 1-5, reproduced below:
. “Top of the atmosphere” is being interpreted as “top of atmosphere”), by correcting (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8003, left column, paragraph 2: “At each pixel, we matched the measured surface albedo from LANDSAT observations at 0.48, 0.56, 0.65, 0.87, 1.61, and 2.20 μm to the closest possible surface in our database and queried its full albedo spectra for our simulations.” “Queried” is being interpreted to involve correcting as it influences, or corrects, the simulations) the first synthetic transmittance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8003, left column, paragraph 2: “At each pixel, we matched the measured surface albedo from LANDSAT observations at 0.48, 0.56, 0.65, 0.87, 1.61, and 2.20 μm to the closest possible surface in our database and queried its full albedo spectra for our simulations.” “Simulations” is being interpreted to involve the first synthetic transmittance image, or the data that involves the methane plume data) based on the land cover map (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8003, left column, paragraph 2: “At each pixel, we matched the measured surface albedo from LANDSAT observations at 0.48, 0.56, 0.65, 0.87, 1.61, and 2.20 μm to the closest possible surface in our database and queried its full albedo spectra for our simulations.” “Surface albedo” is being interpreted to involve land cover map as the surface albedo contains various land cover usage, as can be seen in Figure 3),
outputting the first output synthetic image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Overlay this on top of surface tiles” is being interpreted as involving outputting the first output synthetic image. As seen in schematic image Figure 4 on pg 8005 and pg 8011 Figure 11; which shows the image being displayed, a non-limiting example of showing the result of an output.).
However, Jongaramrungruang does not appear to explicitly teach pixelwise multiplying the corrected first synthetic transmittance image and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image. Though Jongaramrungruang does appear to teach pixelwise multiplication in equation 1 along with the individual terms, Jongaramrungruang may be broader.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Guanter teaches
and pixelwise multiplying (Guanter, pg 5, right column, reproduced below:
. “Multiplication” is being interpreted as involving pixelwise multiplication) the corrected (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “corrected for small radiometric offsets”) first synthetic transmittance image (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “plume transmittance”) and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “original TOA radiance”); and
Jongaramrungruang and Guanter are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to methane plume simulation and detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for methane plume simulation and detection with pixelwise multiplication (as taught by Jongaramrungruang) to include pixelwise multiplying the corrected first synthetic transmittance image and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (as taught by Guanter) because the combination provides an improvement to methane plume detection (Guanter, Abstract). Further, pixelwise multiplication can be common form of combining images (as one with ordinary skill in the art would know from signal analysis, or image processing that uses convolutions, as an example of “multiplication”).
Regarding claim 3, Jongaramrungruang teaches The method of claim 1, wherein combining the first synthetic transmittance image with the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image comprises:
Correcting (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, left column, Section 2.2, after equation 2: “1 cos (SZA)”. The calculation of cosine of SZA is being interpreted as involving “correcting”) the first synthetic transmittance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, first full paragraph: “For the gas enhancement within the BL, 300 vertical layers are used to model a simulated 3D methane plume enhancement from large eddy simulation [LES] output.” “Simulated 3D methane plume” is being interpreted as part of the first synthetic transmittance image) based on an angle of illumination (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, Figure 2, SZA, or solar zenith angle, is being interpreted as angle of illumination) corresponding to the satellite imagery (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, Figure 2 is being interpreted as capturing satellite imagery with the satellite shown in the middle area); and
However, Jongaramrungruang does not appear to explicitly teach pixelwise multiplying the corrected first synthetic transmittance image and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image. Though Jongaramrungruang does appear to teach pixelwise multiplication in equation 1 along with the individual terms, Jongaramrungruang may be broader.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Guanter teaches
pixelwise multiplying (Guanter, pg 5, right column, reproduced below:
. “Multiplication” is being interpreted as involving pixelwise multiplication) the corrected (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “corrected for small radiometric offsets”) first synthetic transmittance image (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “plume transmittance”) and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “original TOA radiance”).
Jongaramrungruang and Guanter are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to methane plume simulation and detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for methane plume simulation and detection with pixelwise multiplication (as taught by Jongaramrungruang) to include pixelwise multiplying the corrected first synthetic transmittance image and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (as taught by Guanter) because the combination provides an improvement to methane plume detection (Guanter, Abstract). Further, pixelwise multiplication can be common form of combining images (as one with ordinary skill in the art would know from signal analysis, or image processing that uses convolutions, as an example of “multiplication”).
Regarding claim 4, Jongaramrungruang teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising at least one of the steps of:
i) receiving background concentrations of one or more of methane, water and carbon dioxide (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. CH4 is methane, H2O is water, CO2 is carbon dioxide. “Background” and “concentration of H2O” show “background concentration”);
wherein combining the first synthetic transmittance image (Jongaramrungruang, see the nearest pg 8002 image above, “a simulated 3D methane plume” is being interpreted as involving “the first synthetic transmittance image”) with the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, first partial paragraph: “The instrument is assumed to be located at the TOA”. TOA is “top of atmosphere”, and is being interpreted to involve “spectral reflectance”) includes:
correcting (Jongaramrungruang, see the nearest pg 8002 image above, “For simplicity, background CO2 and CH4 are set to volume mixing ratios of 400 ppm [parts per million] and 2000 ppb, respectively. For the gas enhancement within the BL,”. Setting the mixing ratios for the gas enhancement for the simulated methane plume is being interpreted as “correcting”) the first synthetic transmittance image (Jongaramrungruang, see the nearest pg 8002 image above, “a simulated 3D methane plume” is being interpreted as involving “the first synthetic transmittance image”) based on the background concentrations (Jongaramrungruang, see the nearest pg 8002 image above, “Background” and “concentration of H2O” show “background concentration”);
However, Jongaramrungruang does not appear to explicitly teach pixelwise multiplying the corrected first synthetic transmittance image and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image and adding synthetic noise to one or more of methane plume data, the first synthetic transmittance image, and the first output synthetic image. Though Jongaramrungruang does appear to teach pixelwise multiplication in equation 1 along with the individual terms, Jongaramrungruang may be broader.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Guanter teaches
pixelwise multiplying (Guanter, pg 5, right column, reproduced below:
. “Multiplication” is being interpreted as involving pixelwise multiplication) the corrected (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “corrected for small radiometric offsets”) first synthetic transmittance image (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “plume transmittance”) and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “original TOA radiance”); and
adding synthetic noise (Guanter, see nearest image above: “small radiometric offsets” is being interpreted to involve “synthetic noise” that is added) to one or more of methane plume data (Guanter, see nearest image: “plumes were generated by large-eddy simulations” is being interpreted as involving “methane plume data”), the first synthetic transmittance image (Guanter, see nearest image above: “plume transmittance” is being interpreted as involving “first synthetic transmittance image”), and the first output synthetic image (Guanter, see nearest image: “The PRISMA-like TOA” is being interpreted as involving the “first output synthetic image”, as seen on the same page, left column where the simulated methane plumes are added to PRISMA TOA images).
Jongaramrungruang and Guanter are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to methane plume simulation and detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for methane plume simulation and detection with pixelwise multiplication and adding synthetic noise to one or more of methane plume data, the first synthetic transmittance image, and the first output synthetic image (as taught by Jongaramrungruang) to include pixelwise multiplying the corrected first synthetic transmittance image and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (as taught by Guanter) because the combination provides an improvement to methane plume detection (Guanter, Abstract). Further, pixelwise multiplication can be common form of combining images (as one with ordinary skill in the art would know from signal analysis, or image processing that uses convolutions, as an example of “multiplication”) as well as adding noise.
Regarding claim 5, Jongaramrungruang teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of waveband channels comprises a second waveband different to the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, Section 3.1, reproduced below:
. 1.6 um is being interpreted as second wave that is different to the first waveband) and the satellite imagery further comprises a second top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, right column, Section 3.2, ¶1: “At 1.6 μm, the incoming solar irradiance is higher, which could enhance the signal-to-noise ratio”. “Solar irradiance” is being interpreted as having ”a second top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image” for satellite imagery) corresponding to the second waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 nearest image above: “1.6 um is being interpreted as second wave that is different to the first waveband”), the method further comprising:
calculating a second synthetic transmittance image (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 nearest image above: 1.6 um band and methane plume are being interpreted to involve calculating a second synthetic transmittance image) corresponding to the second waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 nearest image above: 1.6 um band), based on the methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 nearest image above: “This simulation is based on a CH4”, which is being interpreted to have methane plume data), an absorbance of methane (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, right column, lines 1-2: “As the instrument’s FWHM increases, individual absorption lines are increasingly blurred.” Which is being interpreted to involve “absorbance”) in the second waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 nearest image above: 1.6 um band), and a spectral response function of the satellite in the second waveband (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, first full paragraph: “We considered H2O, CO2, and CH4 in the background.” Which is being interpreted as involving a spectral response function to distinguish methane, CH4, from other gases such as CO2);
generating a second output synthetic image (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 nearest image above: 1.6 um band and simulated high resolution spectrum show that a second output synthetic image is created) by combining the second synthetic transmittance image (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 nearest image above: 1.6 um band and simulated methane plume shows a second synthetic transmittance image) with the second top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, Figure 4, which shows the methane plume that a satellite would capture including the second top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image), wherein the method of combining the second synthetic transmittance image with the second top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image is the same as the method used for combining the first synthetic transmittance image with the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 nearest image above, which shows the methane plume simulations with the 1.6 and 2.3 um bands are combined to simulate what a satellite would see); and
outputting or storing the second output synthetic image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8011, Figure 11, shows the second output synthetic image from the combined bands);
wherein a ratio of signals in the first and second wavebands correlates to methane concentration (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 nearest image above: the CH4 concentration profile is being interpreted to involve a ratio of signals using the 1.6 and 2.3 um bands to simulate the methane plume).
Regarding claim 7, Jongaramrungruang teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the first waveband comprises 2200 nm or 3300 nm (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, Section 3.1, reproduced here:
. 2.3 um is approximately 2200 nm when converted) and has a bandwidth of no more than 200 nm (Jongaramrungruang, Abstract, “Using a spectral resolution of 1.5 nm”. “Spectral resolution” is being interpreted as “bandwidth” where 1.5 nm is no more than 200 nm) and the second waveband does not overlap the first waveband, comprises 1600 nm (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, Section 3.1, reproduced here:
. 1.6 um is approximately 1600 nm when converted, and is being interpreted as not overlapping) and has a bandwidth of no more than 150 nm (Jongaramrungruang, Abstract, “Using a spectral resolution of 1.5 nm”. “Spectral resolution” is being interpreted as “bandwidth” where 1.5 nm is no more than 200 nm).
Regarding claim 9, Jongaramrungruang teaches The method of claim 1, wherein receiving methane plume data comprises generating the methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, first full paragraph:
. “methane plume” is being interpreted as having “methane plume data”) based on an atmospheric simulation (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, first full paragraph:
. “Large eddy simulation” is being interpreted as involving “atmospheric simulation”) taking into account a mass flux rate of methane release (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8011, Figure 11 text, reproduced below:
. “prescribed flux rate” for CH4 plume is being interpreted as involving “mass flux rate of methane release”), a wind velocity (Jongaramrungruang, see nearest image above, “wind speed” is being interpreted as involving “wind velocity”) and an emission height (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8012, left column, last paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Emission rate” and unit kg h-1 is being interpreted to involve “emission height”);
wherein the atmospheric simulation comprises a large eddy simulation (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, first full paragraph:
. “Large eddy simulation” is being interpreted as involving “atmospheric simulation”).
Regarding claim 10, Jongaramrungruang A method of generating a synthetic dataset (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8014, Figure 17 image, which shows the synthetic dataset was generated), comprising: generating a plurality of output synthetic images (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8014, Figure 17 image and text, “Retrieved CH4 column over a well pad in the Durango, Colorado, area with varying instrument FWHM”. Which is being interpreted to have plurality of output synthetic images, as seen from all the plots), each output synthetic image corresponding to a unique combination of area (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8014, Figure 17 image and text, “Durango, Colorado, area”, when combined with the “AVIRIS-NG data” from the same page, shows unique combination of area) and methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8014, Figure 17 image and text, “Retrieved CH4 column over a well pad in the Durango, Colorado, area with varying instrument FWHM”. “Varying” shows unique combination of area and methane plume data), wherein the generating the plurality of output synthetic images (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8014, Figure 17 image, which shows the synthetic dataset was generated) comprises, for at least one of the plurality of output synthetic images (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8014, Figure 17 image, which shows the synthetic dataset was generated):
receiving satellite imagery (Jongaramrungruang, see Abstract above, “Remote sensing” is being interpreted to involve “receiving satellite imagery”. Further supported by Figure 1 on pg 8001, a satellite image) corresponding to an area of the Earth (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, Figure 1, which shows a satellite image of an area of the Earth) and to a plurality of waveband channels, wherein the plurality of waveband channels (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, Section 3.1, reproduced below:
. 1.6 and 2.3 um bands are being interpreted as plurality of waveband channels) comprise a first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband), the satellite imagery including a first top of atmosphere (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, left column, Section 2.2, last paragraph to right column lines 1-5, reproduced below:
. “Top of the atmosphere” is being interpreted as “top of atmosphere”) spectral reflectance (Jongaramrungruang, see Abstract image above, “reflected solar irradiance” is being interpreted as involving “spectral reflectance”. Supported by the plurality of bands from Section 3.1) image corresponding to the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband), and bottom of atmosphere spectral reflectance images (Jongaramrungruang, see nearest image below, “We built an end-to-end modeling framework that can generate reflected solar radiance through a methane plume of known concentration over realistic surfaces”. “Realistic surfaces” and “reflected solar radiance” are being interpreted as involving “bottom or atmosphere spectral reflectance images”) corresponding to the plurality of wavebands (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, column 2, paragraph after equation 1: “The subscript [lambda] denotes the wavelength dependence of these variables. The multiplication in Eq. (1) is element-wise for each wavelength in the spectral range of interest”. Which shows “plurality of wavebands”);
receiving methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, left column, last paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Methane plume” including a concentration (Jongaramrungruang, see pg 8001 image above: “methane plume of known concentration”) corresponding to each pixel of the satellite images (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8010, left column, Section 3.4.1, lines 1-6, reproduced below:
. “column CH4” is being interpreted as involving “methane plume” that uses pixels);
calculating a first synthetic transmittance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Output from LES”, or the Large Eddy Simulation, is being interpreted as involving calculating a first synthetic transmittance image) corresponding to the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband), based on the methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, see image above, “3D concentration field of CH4” is being interpreted as involving methane plume data), an absorbance of methane (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, left column last two lines: “The transmission of the atmosphere is calculated from the background gas concentrations from the top of the atmosphere”. “Transmission” is being interpreted to involve “absorbance”) in the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband) and a spectral response function (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, first full paragraph: “We considered H2O, CO2, and CH4 in the background.” Which is being interpreted as involving a spectral response function to distinguish methane, CH4, from other gases such as CO2) of the satellite in the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband), wherein calculating the first synthetic transmittance images (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Output from LES”, or the Large Eddy Simulation, is being interpreted as involving calculating a first synthetic transmittance image) comprises, for the respective waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see nearest image below, “where i denotes the ith gas species”):
calculating an absorbance (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, Section 2.2, reproduced below:
. “Calculate absorption” is being interpreted as calculating an absorbance) as the pixel-wise dot product (Jongaramrungruang, see equation 2 above, the multiplication with the gas absorption is being interpreted to involve a pixel-wise dot product) of the methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 2.2 image above, “gas species” is being interpreted as involving methane plume data when the function iterates to methane) and the wavelength (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 2.2 image above, the lambda Greek letter is being interpreted to involve wavelength, a common variable for wavelength in Physics)) dependent absorbance of methane (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 2.2 image above, the wavelength lambda is a function of the kth layer, so it depends on the absorbance of methane as certain wavelengths) in that waveband (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, Section 3.1 left column, “1.6 and 2.3 μm bands”, which shows the calculation is for the wavebands with methane plume data);
converting the absorbance to a transmittance (Jongaramrungruang, see equation 2 above, this equation is involved in converting absorbance to transmittance); and
calculating the synthetic transmittance image as the pixel-wise dot product (Jongaramrungruang, see equation 2 above, the multiplication with the gas absorption is being interpreted to involve a pixel-wise dot product) of the transmittance (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, equation 1, T_lambda_down is being interpreted as transmittance) and the spectral response function of the satellite in that waveband (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, equation 1, T_lambda_up is being interpreted as involving the spectral response function as it involves the instrument, as shown in the paragraph after equation 1. Equation 1 shows the pixel-wise dot product is involved with the different variables);
determining a land cover map (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, Section 2.2.1, lines 1-3: “To analyze the impact of surface spectral features, we compiled a database of different surface albedos from the ECOSTRESS spectral library”. “Different surface albedos” is being interpreted to involve “land cover map”) corresponding to the area based on comparing the bottom of atmosphere spectral reflectance images (Jongaramrungruang , pg 8003, column 1, paragraph 2: “At each pixel, we matched the measured surface albedo from LANDSAT observations at 0.48, 0.56, 0.65, 0.87, 1.61, and 2.20 μm to the closest possible surface in our database and queried its full albedo spectra for our simulations”. “Matched” is being interpreted to involve “comparing”. “Closest possible surface in our database” is being interpreted to involve the bottom of atmosphere spectral reflectance images” as seen by the plurality of wavebands in the citied sentence) to a reference spectral library (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, Section 2.2.1, lines 1-3: “To analyze the impact of surface spectral features, we compiled a database of different surface albedos from the ECOSTRESS spectral library”. “ECOSTRESS spectral library” is being interpreted as “reference spectral library”);
generating a first output synthetic image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Overlay this on top of surface tiles” is being interpreted as “generating a first output synthetic image”) by combining the first synthetic transmittance image ( (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Output from LES”, or the Large Eddy Simulation, is being interpreted as involving calculating a first synthetic transmittance image) with the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, left column, Section 2.2, last paragraph to right column lines 1-5, reproduced below:
. “Top of the atmosphere” is being interpreted as “top of atmosphere”), by correcting (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8003, left column, paragraph 2: “At each pixel, we matched the measured surface albedo from LANDSAT observations at 0.48, 0.56, 0.65, 0.87, 1.61, and 2.20 μm to the closest possible surface in our database and queried its full albedo spectra for our simulations.” “Queried” is being interpreted to involve correcting as it influences, or corrects, the simulations) the first synthetic transmittance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8003, left column, paragraph 2: “At each pixel, we matched the measured surface albedo from LANDSAT observations at 0.48, 0.56, 0.65, 0.87, 1.61, and 2.20 μm to the closest possible surface in our database and queried its full albedo spectra for our simulations.” “Simulations” is being interpreted to involve the first synthetic transmittance image, or the data that involves the methane plume data) based on the land cover map (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8003, left column, paragraph 2: “At each pixel, we matched the measured surface albedo from LANDSAT observations at 0.48, 0.56, 0.65, 0.87, 1.61, and 2.20 μm to the closest possible surface in our database and queried its full albedo spectra for our simulations.” “Surface albedo” is being interpreted to involve land cover map as the surface albedo contains various land cover usage, as can be seen in Figure 3),
outputting the first output synthetic image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Overlay this on top of surface tiles” is being interpreted as involving outputting the first output synthetic image. As seen in schematic image Figure 4 on pg 8005 and pg 8011 Figure 11; which shows the image being displayed, a non-limiting example of showing the result of an output.).
storing each of the plurality of output synthetic images and the corresponding methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8014, Figure 17 image, shows the images, which means the output synthetic images are stored along with the methane plume data).
However, Jongaramrungruang does not appear to explicitly teach pixelwise multiplying the corrected first synthetic transmittance image and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image. Though Jongaramrungruang does appear to teach pixelwise multiplication in equation 1 along with the individual terms, Jongaramrungruang may be broader.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Guanter teaches
and pixelwise multiplying (Guanter, pg 5, right column, reproduced below:
. “Multiplication” is being interpreted as involving pixelwise multiplication) the corrected (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “corrected for small radiometric offsets”) first synthetic transmittance image (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “plume transmittance”) and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “original TOA radiance”); and
Jongaramrungruang and Guanter are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to methane plume simulation and detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for methane plume simulation and detection with pixelwise multiplication (as taught by Jongaramrungruang) to include pixelwise multiplying the corrected first synthetic transmittance image and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (as taught by Guanter) because the combination provides an improvement to methane plume detection (Guanter, Abstract). Further, pixelwise multiplication can be common form of combining images (as one with ordinary skill in the art would know from signal analysis, or image processing that uses convolutions, as an example of “multiplication”).
Regarding claim 19, Jongaramrungruang teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing computer program code (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, left column, last paragraph: “We built an end-to-end modeling framework that can generate reflected solar radiance through a methane plume of known concentration over realistic surfaces and perform the retrieval from the corresponding observed radiance under a given instrument to output the predicted methane concentration in each column.” The modeling framework is being interpreted as having computer program code that is on non-transitory computer-readable medium, as the reference mentions algorithms), which when executed by one or more computer processors (Jongaramrungruang, see more previous citation. The modeling framework is being interpreted as using one or more computer processors), performs a method, comprising:
receiving satellite imagery (Jongaramrungruang, see Abstract above, “Remote sensing” is being interpreted to involve “receiving satellite imagery”. Further supported by Figure 1 on pg 8001, a satellite image) corresponding to an area of the Earth (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, Figure 1, which shows a satellite image of an area of the Earth) and to a plurality of waveband channels (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, Section 3.1, reproduced below:
. 1.6 and 2.3 um bands are being interpreted as plurality of waveband channels), wherein the plurality of waveband channels comprise a first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband), the satellite imagery including a first top of atmosphere (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, left column, Section 2.2, last paragraph to right column lines 1-5, reproduced below:
. “Top of the atmosphere” is being interpreted as “top of atmosphere”) spectral reflectance (Jongaramrungruang, see Abstract image above, “reflected solar irradiance” is being interpreted as involving “spectral reflectance”. Supported by the plurality of bands from Section 3.1) image corresponding to the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband), and bottom of atmosphere spectral reflectance images (Jongaramrungruang, see nearest image below, “We built an end-to-end modeling framework that can generate reflected solar radiance through a methane plume of known concentration over realistic surfaces”. “Realistic surfaces” and “reflected solar radiance” are being interpreted as involving “bottom or atmosphere spectral reflectance images”) corresponding to the plurality of wavebands (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, column 2, paragraph after equation 1: “The subscript [lambda] denotes the wavelength dependence of these variables. The multiplication in Eq. (1) is element-wise for each wavelength in the spectral range of interest”. Which shows “plurality of wavebands”);
receiving methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, left column, last paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Methane plume” including a concentration (Jongaramrungruang, see pg 8001 image above: “methane plume of known concentration”) corresponding to each pixel of the satellite images (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8010, left column, Section 3.4.1, lines 1-6, reproduced below:
. “column CH4” is being interpreted as involving “methane plume” that uses pixels);
calculating a first synthetic transmittance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Output from LES”, or the Large Eddy Simulation, is being interpreted as involving calculating a first synthetic transmittance image) corresponding to the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband), based on the methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, see image above, “3D concentration field of CH4” is being interpreted as involving methane plume data), an absorbance of methane (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, left column last two lines: “The transmission of the atmosphere is calculated from the background gas concentrations from the top of the atmosphere”. “Transmission” is being interpreted to involve “absorbance”) in the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband) and a spectral response function (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, first full paragraph: “We considered H2O, CO2, and CH4 in the background.” Which is being interpreted as involving a spectral response function to distinguish methane, CH4, from other gases such as CO2) of the satellite in the first waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 3.1 image above, 2.3 um band is being interpreted as first waveband), wherein calculating the first synthetic transmittance images (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Output from LES”, or the Large Eddy Simulation, is being interpreted as involving calculating a first synthetic transmittance image) comprises, for the respective waveband (Jongaramrungruang, see nearest image below, “where i denotes the ith gas species”):
calculating an absorbance (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, Section 2.2, reproduced below:
. “Calculate absorption” is being interpreted as calculating an absorbance) as the pixel-wise dot product (Jongaramrungruang, see equation 2 above, the multiplication with the gas absorption is being interpreted to involve a pixel-wise dot product) of the methane plume data (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 2.2 image above, “gas species” is being interpreted as involving methane plume data when the function iterates to methane) and the wavelength (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 2.2 image above, the lambda Greek letter is being interpreted to involve wavelength, a common variable for wavelength in Physics)) dependent absorbance of methane (Jongaramrungruang, see Section 2.2 image above, the wavelength lambda is a function of the kth layer, so it depends on the absorbance of methane as certain wavelengths) in that waveband (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, Section 3.1 left column, “1.6 and 2.3 μm bands”, which shows the calculation is for the wavebands with methane plume data);
converting the absorbance to a transmittance (Jongaramrungruang, see equation 2 above, this equation is involved in converting absorbance to transmittance); and
calculating the synthetic transmittance image as the pixel-wise dot product (Jongaramrungruang, see equation 2 above, the multiplication with the gas absorption is being interpreted to involve a pixel-wise dot product) of the transmittance (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, equation 1, T_lambda_down is being interpreted as transmittance) and the spectral response function of the satellite in that waveband (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, equation 1, T_lambda_up is being interpreted as involving the spectral response function as it involves the instrument, as shown in the paragraph after equation 1. Equation 1 shows the pixel-wise dot product is involved with the different variables);
determining a land cover map (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, Section 2.2.1, lines 1-3: “To analyze the impact of surface spectral features, we compiled a database of different surface albedos from the ECOSTRESS spectral library”. “Different surface albedos” is being interpreted to involve “land cover map”) corresponding to the area based on comparing the bottom of atmosphere spectral reflectance images (Jongaramrungruang , pg 8003, column 1, paragraph 2: “At each pixel, we matched the measured surface albedo from LANDSAT observations at 0.48, 0.56, 0.65, 0.87, 1.61, and 2.20 μm to the closest possible surface in our database and queried its full albedo spectra for our simulations”. “Matched” is being interpreted to involve “comparing”. “Closest possible surface in our database” is being interpreted to involve the bottom of atmosphere spectral reflectance images” as seen by the plurality of wavebands in the citied sentence) to a reference spectral library (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, right column, Section 2.2.1, lines 1-3: “To analyze the impact of surface spectral features, we compiled a database of different surface albedos from the ECOSTRESS spectral library”. “ECOSTRESS spectral library” is being interpreted as “reference spectral library”);
generating a first output synthetic image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Overlay this on top of surface tiles” is being interpreted as “generating a first output synthetic image”) by combining the first synthetic transmittance image ( (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Output from LES”, or the Large Eddy Simulation, is being interpreted as involving calculating a first synthetic transmittance image) with the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8002, left column, Section 2.2, last paragraph to right column lines 1-5, reproduced below:
. “Top of the atmosphere” is being interpreted as “top of atmosphere”), by correcting (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8003, left column, paragraph 2: “At each pixel, we matched the measured surface albedo from LANDSAT observations at 0.48, 0.56, 0.65, 0.87, 1.61, and 2.20 μm to the closest possible surface in our database and queried its full albedo spectra for our simulations.” “Queried” is being interpreted to involve correcting as it influences, or corrects, the simulations) the first synthetic transmittance image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8003, left column, paragraph 2: “At each pixel, we matched the measured surface albedo from LANDSAT observations at 0.48, 0.56, 0.65, 0.87, 1.61, and 2.20 μm to the closest possible surface in our database and queried its full albedo spectra for our simulations.” “Simulations” is being interpreted to involve the first synthetic transmittance image, or the data that involves the methane plume data) based on the land cover map (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8003, left column, paragraph 2: “At each pixel, we matched the measured surface albedo from LANDSAT observations at 0.48, 0.56, 0.65, 0.87, 1.61, and 2.20 μm to the closest possible surface in our database and queried its full albedo spectra for our simulations.” “Surface albedo” is being interpreted to involve land cover map as the surface albedo contains various land cover usage, as can be seen in Figure 3),
outputting the first output synthetic image (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Overlay this on top of surface tiles” is being interpreted as involving outputting the first output synthetic image. As seen in schematic image Figure 4 on pg 8005 and pg 8011 Figure 11; which shows the image being displayed, a non-limiting example of showing the result of an output.).
However, Jongaramrungruang does not appear to explicitly teach pixelwise multiplying the corrected first synthetic transmittance image and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image. Though Jongaramrungruang does appear to teach pixelwise multiplication in equation 1 along with the individual terms, Jongaramrungruang may be broader.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Guanter teaches
and pixelwise multiplying (Guanter, pg 5, right column, reproduced below:
. “Multiplication” is being interpreted as involving pixelwise multiplication) the corrected (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “corrected for small radiometric offsets”) first synthetic transmittance image (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “plume transmittance”) and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (Guanter, see pg 5 image above, “original TOA radiance”); and
Jongaramrungruang and Guanter are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to methane plume simulation and detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for methane plume simulation and detection with pixelwise multiplication (as taught by Jongaramrungruang) to include pixelwise multiplying the corrected first synthetic transmittance image and the first top of atmosphere spectral reflectance image (as taught by Guanter) because the combination provides an improvement to methane plume detection (Guanter, Abstract). Further, pixelwise multiplication can be common form of combining images (as one with ordinary skill in the art would know from signal analysis, or image processing that uses convolutions, as an example of “multiplication”).
Regarding claim 20, Jongaramrungruang teaches An image processor comprising one or more computer processors and memory storing the computer program code (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8001, left column, last paragraph: “We built an end-to-end modeling framework that can generate reflected solar radiance through a methane plume of known concentration over realistic surfaces and perform the retrieval from the corresponding observed radiance under a given instrument to output the predicted methane concentration in each column.” The modeling framework is being interpreted as having an image processor with one or more computer processors and memory. The framework is being interpreted as having computer program code) according to claim 19,which when executed by the one or more computer processors performs the method (Jongaramrungruang, see more previous citation. The modeling framework is being interpreted as performing the method according the claim 19).
Claim 21 is rejected using the same rationale and motivation as applied to claim 3 discussed above.
Claim 22 is rejected using the same rationale and motivation as applied to claim 4 discussed above.
Claim 23 is rejected using the same rationale and motivation as applied to claim 5 discussed above.
Claim 24 is rejected using the same rationale and motivation as applied to claim 7 discussed above.
Claim 26 is rejected using the same rationale and motivation as applied to claim 9 discussed above.
Claim(s) 8, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jongaramrungruang, as modified by Guanter, in view of Sanchez-Garcia (“Mapping methane plumes at very high spatial resolution with theWorldView-3 satellite”, March 2022).
Regarding claim 8, Jongaramrungruang teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the satellite imagery takes the form of imagery (Jongaramrungruang1, Abstract: “Remote sensing” is being interpreted as satellite imagery) from at least one of the group (Examiner note: since the phrasing “at least one of the group” is used, then only one of the groups will be considered) comprising:
However, Jongaramrungruang does not appear to explicitly teach European Space Agency Sentinel-2 Constellation. Though Jongaramrungruang does appear to teach other satellite missions/constellations.
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Guanter teaches
i) the European Space Agency (Sanchez-Garcia, pg 1672, Acknowledgements: “First, we would like to thank the European Space Agency and European Space Imaging for the access to the WV-3 data through the Third-Party Missions scheme.”) Sentinel 2 constellation (Sanchez-Garcia, pg 1658, left column, first partial paragraph: “The Sentinel-2 (S2) multispectral mission”), wherein the top of atmosphere reflectance images take the form of 1C level Sentinel 2 data corresponding to bands B11 and/or B12 (Sanchez-Garcia, pg 1659, left column, first partial paragraph: “S2 B11 and B12 bands”, is being interpreted as involving 1C level Sentinel 2 Data that has TOA reflectance), and when used, the bottom of atmosphere spectral reflectance images take the form of 2A level Sentinel 2 data corresponding to bands B1 to B12 (Sanchez-Garcia, pg 1658, left column, first partial paragraph: “The Sentinel-2 (S2) multispectral mission”. Which is being interpreted as having TOA bands B1 to B12 that can be converted to BOA, a common method that one with ordinary skill in the art would know, as shown in this link: https://sentiwiki.copernicus.eu/web/s2-mission); and
ii) the United States Geological Survey/NASA Landsat-8 and/or Landsat-9 constellation, wherein the top of atmosphere reflectance images take the form of Landsat L1TP data corresponding to bands B7 and/or B6, and when used, the bottom of atmosphere spectral reflectance images take the form of Landsat L1TP data corresponding to bands B1 to B12.
Jongaramrungruang, Guanter and Sanchez-Garcia are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to methane plume simulation and detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for methane plume simulation using satellite imagery (as taught by Jongaramrungruang and Guanter) to include satellite imagery from the Sentinel-2 constellation (as taught by Sanchez-Garcia) because the combination provides an improvement to methane plume detection using different satellite missions (Sanchez-Garcia, Abstract).
Claim 25 is rejected using the same rationale and motivation as applied to claim 8 discussed above.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jongaramrungruang, as modified by Guanter, in view of Varon (“High-frequency monitoring of anomalous methane point sources with multispectral Sentinel-2 satellite observations”, 2021).
Regarding claim 11, Jongaramrungruang teaches The method of claim 10, wherein the methane plume data is generated based on atmospheric simulations (Jongaramrungruang, pg 8005, left column, first full paragraph, reproduced below:
. “Output from LES”, or the Large Eddy Simulation, is being interpreted as involving atmospheric simulations);
However, Jongaramrungruang does not appear to explicitly teach “wherein for each area, a time series of two or more output synthetic images is generated corresponding to different times during the same atmospheric simulation; and wherein the synthetic dataset further comprises a plurality of unmodified top of atmosphere reflectance images corresponding to the first waveband, and when used the second waveband”. Though atmospheric simulations are taught (by Large Eddy Simulation)
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Varon teaches
wherein for each area, a time series (Varon, pg 2779, left column, first partial paragraph: “The MBSP method shows the most consistent [but coarse] precision across the time series,”) of two or more output synthetic images (Varon, pg 2777, right column, last paragraph, reproduced here:
. “Five 3h simulations” shows time series with two or more output synthetic images that are generated) is generated corresponding to different times during the same atmospheric simulation (Varon, see most recent image above, “five 3 h simulations” shows different times, as what happens for a video over a period of time, each section of the time period is a different time. The LES, or large eddy simulation, along with the simulations, are being interpreted as the same atmospheric simulation); and
wherein the synthetic dataset (Varon, see nearest image above, the five 3h simulations are being interpreted to be synthetic and stored, otherwise, the data couldn’t be analyzed.) further comprises a plurality of unmodified top of atmosphere reflectance images (Varon, pg 2774, left column, paragraph before Section 3.1: “Here we use TOA reflectances from the Sentinel-2 L1C product.” Which is being interpreted to involve “unmodified top of atmosphere reflectance images”) corresponding to the first waveband (Varon, pg 2774, right column, Section 3.2, first paragraph, reproduced below:
. Band-12 is being interpreted as the first waveband), and when used the second waveband (Varon, see most recent image above, Band-11 is being interpreted as the second waveband).
Jongaramrungruang and Varon are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to methane plume simulation and detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for atmospheric simulation (as taught by Jongaramrungruang) to include “wherein for each area, a time series of two or more output synthetic images is generated corresponding to different times during the same atmospheric simulation; and wherein the synthetic dataset further comprises a plurality of unmodified top of atmosphere reflectance images corresponding to the first waveband, and when used the second waveband” (as taught by Varon) because the combination provides an improvement to methane plume detection (Guanter, Abstract).
Claim(s) 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jongaramrungruang, as modified by Guanter, in view of Groshenry (“Detecting Methane Plumes using PRISMA: Deep Learning Model and Data Augmentation”, Nov 2022).
Regarding claim 12, Jongaramrungruang teaches A method of training a machine learning model to analyze methane in satellite imagery, comprising:
However, Jongaramrungruang does not appear to explicitly teach machine learning and boundary mask (though does have methane plumes highlights as if a mask was made).
Pertaining to the same field of endeavor, Groshenry teaches
receiving a synthetic training (Groshenry, pg 3, Section 2.3.2, reproduced below:
. Which shows “synthetic data” used to “train” the CNN) set generated according to claim 10; training the machine learning model (Groshenry, see nearest image above, “train the Convolutional Neural Network (CNN)”) to infer the presence of a methane plume (Groshenry, see nearest image above, “to validate the artificial plume generation technique”), and one or more parameters selected from:
a boundary or mask of the methane plume (Groshenry, see nearest image above, “segmentation” is being interpreted as involving “a boundary or mask of the methane plume”); a mass flux rate of a source of the methane plume; a location of the source of the methane plume; a concentration map of excess methane; and
a map of differences in spectral response which are attributable to methane;
wherein the machine learning model processes inputs comprising images from the synthetic training set corresponding to the first, and optionally second, wavebands (Groshenry, pg 1, Section 1, lines 3-4: “These satellite missions offer high resolution and broad spectral coverage, in particular in the shortwave infrared”. Shortwave infrared is being interpreted to include at least one of the first wavebands),
wherein the training comprises supervised learning with ground truths based on the corresponding methane plume data (Groshenry, pg 4, Figure 1 text: “Figure 1: Examples of automatically-detected XCH4 plumes including XCH4 concentration maps (left column), the probability map predicted by the network (second column), hysteresis thresholding (third column), and manually labeled ground truth (right column)”. “Ground truth” is being interpreted to involve supervised learning. “XCH4 concentration maps” is being interpreted as “methane plume data”);
storing the weights comprising the trained machine learning model (Groshenry, see nearest image above, “we froze pre-trained weights”, which is being interpreted as “storing the weights”).
Jongaramrungruang, Guanter, and Groshenry are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to methane plume simulation and detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for atmospheric simulation with highlighting methane plumes (as taught by Jongaramrungruang) to include machine learning with segmentation (as taught by Varon) because the combination provides an improvement to methane plume detection (Varon, Abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Jongaramrungruang teaches The method of claim 12, wherein a loss function (Groshenry, see nearest image above, CNN is being interpreted as having a loss function for training) for training the machine learning model comprises a term based on a mass difference (Groshenry, see nearest image above, CNN is being interpreted as having a loss function that calculates the difference between predicted and ground truth. The concentration map generated, see figure 1 text, is being interpreted as having mass, therefore mass difference) between a first mass of methane calculated for the methane plume using the inferred outputs of the machine learning model (Groshenry, pg 4, Figure 1 text: “Figure 1: Examples of automatically-detected XCH4 plumes including XCH4 concentration maps (left column), the probability map predicted by the network (second column), hysteresis thresholding (third column), and manually labeled ground truth (right column)”. “Probability map predicted by the network” is being interpreted as “inferred outputs of the machine learning model”), and a second mass of methane corresponding to the methane plume data (Groshenry, pg 4, Figure 1 text: “Figure 1: Examples of automatically-detected XCH4 plumes including XCH4 concentration maps (left column), the probability map predicted by the network (second column), hysteresis thresholding (third column), and manually labeled ground truth (right column)”. “Manually labeled ground truth” is being interpreted as involving the second mass, or concentration map, of the corresponding methane plume data).
Jongaramrungruang, Guanter and Groshenry are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to methane plume simulation and detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for atmospheric simulation with highlighting methane plumes (as taught by Jongaramrungruang) to include machine learning with segmentation, further adding loss function (as taught by Varon) because the combination provides an improvement to methane plume detection (Varon, Abstract).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jongaramrungruang, as modified Guanter and Groshenry, in view of Varon (“High-frequency monitoring of anomalous methane point sources with multispectral Sentinel-2 satellite observations”, 2021).
Regarding claim 14, Jongaramrungruang teaches The method of claim 12, wherein the inputs to the machine learning model (Varon, pg 2782, left column, 2nd to last paragraph: “Sentinel-2 methane column retrievals for heterogeneous surfaces could be improved in the future with image segmentation to separately retrieve methane concentrations over different surface types within a scene.” “Image segmentation” is being interpreted as involving “machine learning model”) comprise a time series (Varon, pg 2779, left column, first partial paragraph: “The MBSP method shows the most consistent [but coarse] precision across the time series,”) of images from the synthetic training set (Varon, pg 2777, right column, last paragraph, reproduced here:
. “Five 3h simulations” shows time series with two or more output synthetic images that are generated), the time series corresponding to the same area (Varon, see nearest image above, “domain” is being interpreted as involving “the same area”).
Jongaramrungruang, Groshenry, Varon are considered to be analogous art because they are directed to methane plume simulation and detection. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method and system for atmospheric simulation with highlighting methane plumes, modified to have machine learning with segmentation (as taught by Jongaramrungruang and Groshenry) to include time series data (as taught by Varon) because the combination provides an improvement to methane plume detection (Varon, Abstract).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Varon et al ("Quantifying methane point sources from fine-scale satellite observations of atmospheric methane plumes”, 2018) discloses time series methane plume simulation with motivation to use machine learning.
/J.B.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2667
/MATTHEW C BELLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2667