Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4 – 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 9 – 10 and 7 – 8 of U.S. Patent Application 18/288,700. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, as can be seen from the comparison table below independent claims of current application appears to be worded slightly different than the co-pending application.
Regarding claim 1,
Claim 1 of instant application
Claim 1 of No. 18/288,700
An endoscopic examination support apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire an endoscopic video captured by an endoscope;
detect a lesion candidate from the endoscopic video;
generate a heat map which represents a lesion possibility of the lesion candidate included in the endoscopic video by a color; and
superimpose and display an area where the lesion possibility is highest among areas in the heat map, on the endoscopic video in a first display mode, and superimpose and display an area where the lesion possibility is next highest among the areas in the heat map, on the endoscopic video in a second display mode,
wherein the second threshold is larger than the first threshold, and
wherein the second display mode has a higher transparency than the first display mode.
An endoscopic examination support apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire an endoscopic video captured by an endoscope;
detect a lesion candidate from the endoscopic video;
generate a heat map which represents a lesion possibility of the lesion candidate included in the endoscopic video by a color; and
superimpose and display an area where the lesion possibility is equal to or higher than a first threshold on the endoscopic video in a first display mode, and superimpose and display an area where the lesion possibility is equal to or higher than a second threshold on the endoscopic video in a second display mode,
wherein the second threshold is larger than the first threshold, and
wherein the second display mode has a higher transparency than the first display mode.
Regarding claims 4 – 8 of instant application, they are corresponding to claims 9 – 10 and 7 – 8 of U.S. Patent Application 18/288,700, respectively.
Claims 1 and 4 – 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 – 8 of U.S. Patent Application 18/530,375. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because, as can be seen from the comparison table below independent claims of current application appears to be worded slightly different than the co-pending application.
Regarding claim 1,
Claim 1 of instant application
Claim 1 of No. 18/530,375
An endoscopic examination support apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire an endoscopic video captured by an endoscope;
detect a lesion candidate from the endoscopic video;
generate a heat map which represents a lesion possibility of the lesion candidate included in the endoscopic video by a color; and
superimpose and display an area where the lesion possibility is highest among areas in the heat map, on the endoscopic video in a first display mode, and superimpose and display an area where the lesion possibility is next highest among the areas in the heat map, on the endoscopic video in a second display mode,
wherein the second threshold is larger than the first threshold, and
wherein the second display mode has a higher transparency than the first display mode.
An endoscopic examination support apparatus comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and
a processor configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire an endoscopic video captured by an endoscope;
detect a lesion candidate from the endoscopic video;
generate a heat map which represents a lesion possibility of the lesion candidate included in the endoscopic video by a color; and
superimpose and display the lesion possibility on the endoscopic video in multiple display modes with different degree of transparency according to the lesion possibility.
Regarding claims 4 – 8 of instant application, they are corresponding to claims 4 – 8 of U.S. Patent Application 18/530,375, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5 and 7 – 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0274999, IDS), hereinafter referred as Kubota, in view of Watanabe (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0029404, IDS), and in further view of Usuda (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0153720, IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Kubota discloses an endoscopic examination support apparatus (Figs. 1 – 2) comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions ([0028], ROM, RAM, storage device); and
a processor ([0028], CPU) configured to execute the instructions to:
acquire an endoscopic video captured by an endoscope ([0045], “The computation unit 22b acquires an image pickup signal from the endoscope 2 by the control unit 22a controlling driving of the light source apparatus 3 and driving of the image pickup device of the endoscope 2 and controlling the image pickup signal acquisition unit 21 in accordance with a set observation mode …”);
detect a lesion candidate from the endoscopic video ([0046], “The lesion detection unit 33 in the support information generation unit 32 first detects a lesion area Ln from the observation image G1 by performing processing of applying an image discriminator which has acquired a function of being capable of discriminating a polyp image in advance through a learning method such as deep learning, to the observation image G1 (S2). The detection result of the lesion area Ln is output to the oversight risk analysis unit 34);
generate a marker image which represents a lesion possibility of the lesion candidate included in the endoscopic video by a color (Figs. 6 – 7, [0083 – 0087]); and
superimpose and display an area where the lesion possibility is highest among areas in the marker image, on the endoscopic video in a first display mode, and superimpose and display an area where the lesion possibility is next highest among the areas in the marker image, on the endoscopic video in a second display mode (Figs. 6 – 7, [0083 – 0087]),
wherein the second threshold is larger than the first threshold ([0083 – 0087], oversight risk is high (threshold) than oversight risk is low).
However, Kubota fails to explicitly disclose the apparatus wherein the marker image is a heat map; and wherein the second display mode has a higher transparency than the first display mode.
However, in a similar field of endeavor Watanabe discloses an endoscope system (abstract). In addition, Watanabe discloses the system wherein generate and display a heat map for detected lesion ([0119]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kubota, and generate and display a heat map for detected lesion. The motivation for doing this is that utilizing a heat map to display a lesion possibility by color allows user to easily detect lesion candidate.
Furthermore, in a similar field of endeavor Usuda discloses an endoscope system (abstract). In addition, Usuda discloses the system wherein the second display mode has a higher transparency than the first display mode (Fig. 7, [0075 - 0077, 0118 - 0119], teach display a lesion region with different transparency, wherein the second display mode as in fig. 7C has a higher transparency than the first display mode as in Fig. 7B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kubota in view of Watanabe, and the second display mode has a higher transparency than the first display mode. The motivation for doing this is that utilizing different transparency provides another way of distinction for different regions so that the Application of Kubota can be broadened.
Regarding claim 2 (depends on claim 1), Usuda discloses the apparatus wherein the second display mode is different in transparency from the first display mode (Fig. 7, [0075 - 0077, 0118 - 0119], teach display a lesion region with different transparency, wherein the second display mode as in fig. 7C has a higher transparency than the first display mode as in Fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 3 (depends on claim 2), Usuda discloses the apparatus wherein the second display mode has a higher transparency than the first display mode(Fig. 7, [0075 - 0077, 0118 - 0119], teach display a lesion region with different transparency, wherein the second display mode as in fig. 7C has a higher transparency than the first display mode as in Fig. 7B).
Regarding claim 5 (depends on claim 1), Kubota discloses the apparatus wherein the processor is further configured to execute the instructions to: detect the lesion using a machine learning model learned in advance to estimate a lesion candidate included in the endoscopic image ([0037, 0061, 0069]).
Regarding claims 7 – 8, they are corresponding to claim 1, thus, they are interpreted and rejected for a same reason set forth for claim 1.
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota in view of Watanabe, in further view of Usuda and Kang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2016/0027174, IDS), hereinafter referred as Kang.
Regarding claim 4 (depends on claim 1), Kubota in view of Watanabe and in further view of Usuda fails to explicitly disclose the apparatus wherein a predetermined mark is superimposed and displayed at a position of a center or a center of gravity of an area having a highest lesion possibility.
However, in a similar field of endeavor Kang discloses an image processing system (abstract). In addition, Kang discloses the system wherein a predetermined mark is superimposed and displayed at a position of a center or a center of gravity of an area having a highest lesion possibility (Figs. 3-4, [0078-0089], teach wherein a predetermine mark or cross mark 311 is superimposed and displayed at a position of a center of an area having a highest lesion possibility).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kubota, and a predetermined mark is superimposed and displayed at a position of a center or a center of gravity of an area having a highest lesion possibility. The motivation for doing this is that utilizing a mark at the center allows the user to easily detect most accurate position any lesion candidates.
Regarding claim 6 (depends on claim 4), Kang discloses the apparatus wherein the predetermined mark is displayed as a guide to a position of the lesion candidate for supporting decision making of a doctor (Figs. 3-4, [0078-0089] teach wherein a predetermine mark or cross mark 311 is displayed as a guide to a position of the lesion candidate for supporting decision making of a doctor).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Andrew Bee can be reached on 571-270-5183. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QIAN YANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677