DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 13-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Long US PGPUB 2016/0241028.
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 20, Long discloses a system [fig. 1] comprising:
a first energy storage unit [fig. 1, 110A], a second energy storage unit [fig. 1, 110B], a first converter unit [fig. 1, 130A], a second converter unit [fig. 1, 130B], a first diode element [fig. 1, diode to right of 120A], a second diode element [fig. 1, diode to right of 120B], a load [abs.; par. 5; low voltage onboard systems of the vehicle], and a data processing apparatus [fig. 1, controller 140];
wherein the first energy storage unit is electrically connected to the first converter unit and the second energy storage unit is electrically connected to the second converter unit [fig. 1];
wherein the first converter unit is electrically connected to the load via the first diode element and the second converter unit is electrically connected to the load via the second diode element [fig. 1, via diodes to V_low];
wherein the data processing apparatus is communicatively connected to at least one of the first converter unit, the second converter unit, the first diode element, the second diode element, and the load [fig. 1, lines with arrows representing comms/control; pars. 20-22]; and
wherein the data processing apparatus is operable to, obtaining first data indicative of an imbalance of one of the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit with respect to the respective other one of the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit [par. 20 & 23-25; the balance state of the SOCs of the batteries is detected];
providing an operational parameter based on the first data for one or more of, at least one of the first converter unit and the second converter unit [pars. 19-20 & 23-25; based on the imbalance, control signals for the converters 120 are developed]; at least one of the first diode element and the second diode element; and the load;
wherein the operational parameter acts against the imbalance [pars. 19-20 & 23-25]; and
wherein the system is operable to be an electric power supply system for controlling an electric power supply [pars. 5-7 & 19-25; controlling HV/LV power for a vehicle].
Regarding claim 1, the method steps disclosed therein are deemed as being inherent in the assembly and operation of the prior art, since the prior art of record herein is construed as teaching or suggesting all of the elements as recited in the method claim, as pointed out in regards to claim 8. The claim is accordingly rejected.
Regarding claim 20, the method steps would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill based on the teachings of the Long reference, above, as pertains to rejection of the apparatus of claim 8. Furthermore, the Long reference teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by a computer, perform the claimed method steps [pars. 27-30].
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Long discloses wherein one or more of the first converter unit and the second converter unit is a DC-DC converter unit [fig. 1].
Regarding claim 3, Long discloses wherein the first data is indicative of one or more of a state of charge of the first energy storage unit [par. 20 & 23-25; the balance state of the SOCs of the batteries is detected], a state of charge of the second energy storage unit [par. 20 & 23-25; the balance state of the SOCs of the batteries is detected], a capacity of the first energy storage unit, a capacity of the second energy storage unit, an output current of the first converter unit, an output current of the second converter unit, an age of the first energy storage unit, an age of the second energy storage unit, an internal resistance of the first energy storage unit, an internal resistance of the second energy storage unit, a cell imbalance of battery cells of the first energy storage unit, a cell imbalance of battery cells of the second energy storage unit, a wear status of the first energy storage unit, a wear status of the second energy storage unit, a defect status of the first energy storage unit, a defect status of the second energy storage unit, a heat generated by the first energy storage unit, a heat generated by the second energy storage unit, a heat generated by the first converter unit, and a heat generated by the second converter unit.
Regarding claim 4, Long discloses wherein the operational parameter for the at least one of the first converter unit and the second converter unit comprises an output voltage for the respective converter unit [par. 18 & 20; fig. 1, certain modules are selected for providing an output voltage to maintain the balance, thus the modules that are providing an output voltage have a non-zero output voltage (op parameter), which may have a particular value (“step up” or “step down”)
Regarding claim 5, Long discloses wherein providing an operational parameter for one or more of the first converter unit and the second converter unit, the first diode element and the second diode element, and the load comprises providing a target value for the operational parameter [par. 18; a particular value to step up or down to, thus a target value].
Regarding claim 6, Long discloses wherein providing an operational parameter comprises one or more of continuously modifying the operational parameter and selecting a predefined level of the operational parameter [par. 18; stepping up or down to a predefined level (defined in the command prior to execution, thus pre-defined)].
Regarding claim 7, Long discloses wherein the operational parameter is closed-loop controlled [par. 23; feedback of the output voltage is used to regulate operation].
Regarding claim 10, Long discloses wherein the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit are traction batteries for a vehicle [fig. 1; 110; par. 16].
Regarding claim 11, Long discloses wherein the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit comprises one or more of separate encapsulation battery packs, and individual battery cell or module of same battery pack [fig. 1; pars. 15-18; this covers both alternatives, the modules are inherently separate or together].
Regarding claim 13, Long discloses wherein the system further comprises energy monitoring system, wherein the energy monitoring system comprises an energy storage information unit and an energy control unit [fig. 2, 140 receives voltage/current unit and processes it to determine control signals, thus stores and sends control signals; pars. 21-26].
Regarding claim 14, Long discloses wherein the energy storage information unit is operable to provide a current state information of the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit to the energy control unit [pars. 21-26; 140 uses the current state information to determine control signals, thus passes state information].
Regarding claim 19, Long discloses wherein the system is operable to be a component of a vehicle [fig. 1].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long US PGPUB 2016/0241028 in view of Inoue US PGPUB 2014/0327306.
Regarding claim 12, Long discloses wherein at least one of the first converter unit further comprises a first intermediate AC converter and the second converter unit further comprises a second intermediate AC converter.
However, Inoue discloses a battery system with power conversion wherein at least one of the first converter unit further comprises a first intermediate AC converter and the second converter unit further comprises a second intermediate AC converter [figs. 1-2; 13 comprises a converter which coverts power from DC to AC and then back to DC, thus an intermediate converter; par. 40].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long to further include wherein at least one of the first converter unit further comprises a first intermediate AC converter and the second converter unit further comprises a second intermediate AC converter for the purpose of changing the DC voltage level with low losses, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long US PGPUB 2016/0241028 in view of Mercier et al. US PGPUB 2014/0312844.
Regarding claim 15, Long does not explicitly disclose wherein the energy control unit is operable to determine an adjustment amount of at least one of a first output voltage and a second output voltage based on the current state information to balance an energy level between the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit.
However, Mercier discloses a battery system with DC/DC converters wherein the energy control unit is operable to determine an adjustment amount of at least one of a first output voltage and a second output voltage based on the current state information to balance an energy level between the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit [fig. 1; converters K regulate the output voltage of the converter based on the SOC of the attached storage unit to balance out the SOCs; pars. 20, 49-50, 53 & 55].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Long to further include wherein the energy control unit is operable to determine an adjustment amount of at least one of a first output voltage and a second output voltage based on the current state information to balance an energy level between the first energy storage unit and the second energy storage unit for the purpose of balancing the charge levels, as taught by Mercier (pars. 20, 49-50, 53 & 55).
Regarding claim 16, Long does not explicitly disclose wherein the energy control unit is operable to send at least one of a first control signal comprising a first target voltage to the first converter unit and a second control signal comprising a second target voltage to the second converter unit based on the adjustment amount.
However, Mercier as applied in claim 15 wherein the energy control unit is operable to send at least one of a first control signal comprising a first target voltage to the first converter unit and a second control signal comprising a second target voltage to the second converter unit based on the adjustment amount [fig. 1; converters K regulate the output voltage of the converter based on the SOC of the attached storage unit to balance out the SOCs; pars. 20, 49-50, 53 & 55].
Regarding claim 17, Mercier as applied in claim 15 discloses wherein the energy control unit is operable to adjust at least one of the first output voltage and the second output voltage by an adjustment amount [fig. 1; converters K regulate the output voltage of the converter based on the SOC of the attached storage unit to balance out the SOCs; pars. 20, 49-50, 53 & 55].
The combination of Long and Mercer does not explicitly disclose wherein the first converter unit and the first converter unit comprise an internal feedback loop that measures the first output voltage and the second output voltage and compare with the first target voltage and the second target voltage respectively.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the power converter arts to use feedback loops to ensure that power electronics are not under or overshooting a target. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanno to further include wherein the first converter unit and the first converter unit comprise an internal feedback loop that measures the first output voltage and the second output voltage and compare with the first target voltage and the second target voltage respectively for the purpose of verifying and regulating the output, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 18, Long discloses wherein the system is operable to dynamically adjust at least one of the first output voltage and the second output voltage, a first output current and a second output current, based on a dynamically added or subtracted energy consumption [par. 18; a particular value to step up or down to, thus a target value, based on the SOC and the load on the modules, thus a “a dynamically added or subtracted energy consumption”].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Butzmann US PGPUB 2012/0217797 discloses a battery system with a plurality of DC/DC converters.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859