DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groten (US 2005/0082201) in view of Peterson (US 2,373,501).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-6, Groten teaches introducing naphtha feed comprising benzene and naphtha and hydrogen gas into a hydrotreatment zone to form a hydrotreated effluent comprising cyclohexane [0018]. Groten teaches that the naphtha comprises benzene [0018]. Examiner considers “benzene” to read on the claimed hydrogen diminished liquid, and “cyclohexane” to read on the claimed hydrotreated effluent and hydrogen carrier.
Groten does not explicitly disclose (1) additional hydrotreater feed comprising a hydrogen diminished liquid organic hydrogen carriers (2) separation of products.
Regarding (1) and (2), Peterson teaches a similar process for hydrotreatment of benzene to produce cyclohexane (page 2, column 1, lines 45-75). After hydrotreatment, Petersen separates the cyclohexane (hydrogen carrier) from the unconverted hydrogen and benzene/other hydrotreated liquid material (page 2, column 2, lines 1-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have fed a mixture of benzene and naphtha to the hydrotreatment zone of Groten, since both feeds are known for the production of cyclohexane. Further, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have separated the hydrotreated material, unreacted hydrogen, and cyclohexane (hydrogen donor), as disclosed by Peterson, for the benefit of obtaining the desired cyclohexane fraction.
Regarding claim 3, Groten teaches the naphtha has a boiling point around 176°F (80°C) and higher boiling material as well [0056].
Regarding claim 7, Peterson teaches separating and recycling the hydrogen (page 2, column 2, lines 1-24).
Regarding claim 16, Groten teaches the presence of hydrogenation catalyst [0058].
Regarding claim 20, Groten teaches that the hydrogenation zone also desulfurizes the naphtha feed [0058].
Claims 2, 4, and 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groten (US 2005/0082201) in view of Peterson (US 2,373,501), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Klaasen (US 2022/0285714).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Groten/Petersen combination teaches benzene/cyclohexane hydrogen carriers.
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose benzyl toluene/perhydrobenzyl toluene.
However, Klaasen teaches hydrogenation to form various LOHC including benzene/cyclohexane, or benzyl toluene/perhydrobenzyl toluene [0017].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the Klaasen feeds in combination with those of the previous combination, since they are all known for the same purpose of hydrotreatment.
Regarding claims 8-15, the previous combination does not explicitly disclose the details of the hydrogen source.
However, Klaasen teaches modifying hydrogenation processes, by utilizing various carbon neutral sources of hydrogen that do not have emissions, use renewable electricity, carbon dioxide sequestration [0015-0024], [0048-0058].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the hydrogen sources as disclosed by Klaasen, in order to obtain the desirable carbon neutral benefits.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groten (US 2005/0082201) in view of Peterson (US 2,373,501) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keller (US 2002/0134706).
Regarding claims 17-19, the previous combination does not explicitly disclose how the feedstocks are preheated.
However, Keller teaches that conventional petroleum hydrotreaters operate using feed/effluent heat exchanger in combination with a charge heater [0065].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the Keller feed/effluent heat exchanger and furnace, for the benefit of obtaining the desired hydrotreatment temperatures.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18517939 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are drawn to overlapping subject matter regarding hydrotreatment steps to produce hydrogen carriers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18543274 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are drawn to overlapping subject matter regarding hydrotreatment steps to produce hydrogen carriers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented
Conclusion
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771