DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed 10 December 2025 containing remarks and amendments to the claims.
Claims 1-6, 8-18, and 20-22 are pending.
The previous rejections have been updated as necessitated by amendments to the claims.
The previous obvious type double patenting rejections for application 18543724 have been withdrawn in view of the terminal disclaimer approved 10 December 2025. Examiner notes that no terminal disclaimer has been submitted for application 18517939, and thus these rejections are maintained.
The updated rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groten (US 2005/0082201) in view of Peterson (US 2,373,501).
Regarding claims 1 and 5-6, Groten teaches introducing naphtha feed comprising benzene and naphtha and hydrogen gas into a hydrotreatment zone to form a hydrotreated effluent comprising cyclohexane [0018]. Groten teaches that the naphtha comprises benzene [0018]. Examiner considers “benzene” to read on the claimed hydrogen diminished liquid, and “cyclohexane” to read on the claimed hydrotreated effluent and hydrogen carrier.
Groten does not explicitly disclose (1) additional hydrotreater feed comprising a hydrogen diminished liquid organic hydrogen carriers (2) separation of products.
Regarding (1) and (2), Peterson teaches a similar process for hydrotreatment of benzene to produce cyclohexane (page 2, column 1, lines 45-75). After hydrotreatment, Petersen separates the cyclohexane (hydrogen carrier) from the unconverted hydrogen and benzene/other hydrotreated liquid material (page 2, column 2, lines 1-10).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have fed a mixture of benzene and naphtha to the hydrotreatment zone of Groten, since both feeds are known for the production of cyclohexane. Further, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have separated the hydrotreated material, unreacted hydrogen, and cyclohexane (hydrogen donor), as disclosed by Peterson, for the benefit of obtaining the desired cyclohexane fraction.
Regarding claim 3, Groten teaches the naphtha has a boiling point around 176°F (80°C) and higher boiling material as well [0056].
Regarding claim 7, Peterson teaches separating and recycling the hydrogen (page 2, column 2, lines 1-24).
Regarding claim 16, Groten teaches the presence of hydrogenation catalyst [0058].
Regarding claim 20, Groten teaches that the hydrogenation zone also desulfurizes the naphtha feed [0058].
Claims 2, 4, 8-15, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groten (US 2005/0082201) in view of Peterson (US 2,373,501), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Klaasen (US 2022/0285714).
Regarding claims 2, 4, and 21-22, Groten/Petersen combination teaches benzene/cyclohexane hydrogen carriers.
The previous combination does not explicitly disclose benzyl toluene/perhydrobenzyl toluene.
However, Klaasen teaches hydrogenation to form various LOHC including benzene/cyclohexane, or benzyl toluene/perhydrobenzyl toluene [0017]. Examiner additionally notes that Klassen teaches the hydrogenated streams serve as liquid organic hydrogen carriers and then after transport can be dehydrogenated to obtain the hydrogen [0115-0118].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the Klaasen feeds in combination with those of the previous combination, since they are all known for the same purpose of hydrotreatment. Examiner additionally notes that Klaasen teaches an alternate treatment path for the hydrogenated streams, and that the person having ordinary skill in the art may select to either send the hydrogenated stream to further treatment for gasoline production or to Klaasen transport and dehydrogenation, for use as hydrogen, depending on the product desired at the time. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding claims 8-15, the previous combination does not explicitly disclose the details of the hydrogen source.
However, Klaasen teaches modifying hydrogenation processes, by utilizing various carbon neutral sources of hydrogen that do not have emissions, use renewable electricity, carbon dioxide sequestration [0015-0024], [0048-0058].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used the hydrogen sources as disclosed by Klaasen, in order to obtain the desirable carbon neutral benefits.
Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Groten (US 2005/0082201) in view of Peterson (US 2,373,501) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Keller (US 2002/0134706).
Regarding claims 17-19, the previous combination does not explicitly disclose how the feedstocks are preheated.
However, Keller teaches that conventional petroleum hydrotreaters operate using feed/effluent heat exchanger in combination with a charge heater [0065].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the Keller feed/effluent heat exchanger and furnace, for the benefit of obtaining the desired hydrotreatment temperatures.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18517939 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications are drawn to overlapping subject matter regarding hydrotreatment steps to produce hydrogen carriers.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner considers Applicant’s argument to be:
The person having ordinary skill in the art would not use cylcohexane as a hydrogen carrier, since Groten teaches sending cyclohexane to isomerization to produce a gasoline product.
Applicant’s process offers strong evidence of non-obviousness by way of synergy.
Regarding Applicant’s first argument, Examiner notes that claim 1 does not specify a positive step for actually sending the hydrogen rich liquid organic carrier to further treatment. In this regard, Examiner considers the cyclohexane of Groten/Petersen to read on the claimed “hydrogen rich liquid organic carrier”. Further, in the dependent claims, Klaasen is referenced to provide further treatment steps. Klaasen teaches an alternate treatment path for the hydrogenated streams, and that the person having ordinary skill in the art may select to either send the hydrogenated stream to further treatment for gasoline production or to Klaasen transport and dehydrogenation, for use as hydrogen, depending on the product desired at the time. It is not seen where such a selection would result in any new or unexpected results.
Regarding Applicant’s second argument, it is not seen where Applicant has provided evidence of new or unexpected results. Examiner suggests providing data showing such synergy so that it may be considered.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE STEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771