DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim(s) 14-20 have been withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on 07/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method of forming an energy storage device), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/16/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
It is suggested that a comma be added to claims 2-13 as set forth below.
2. The energy storage device of claim 1, wherein the solid state electrolyte material comprises oxides, chalcogenides, polymers, polyanion materials, ionic salts, silicates, zeolites, molecular organic frameworks, and/or covalent organic frameworks.
3. The energy storage device of claim 1, wherein the solid state electrolyte material is an oxide with ABO3 perovskite structure.
4. The energy storage device of claim 3, wherein B-site cations of the ABO3 perovskite oxide have multiple charging states comprising a 3+ charge and a 4+ charge.
5. The energy storage device of claim 3, wherein the ABO3 perovskite oxide comprises a four component oxide structure including a first B-site cation and a second B-site cation, and wherein: a A-site cation of the ABO3 perovskite oxide can be made of materials comprising lithium and strontium, the first B-site cation can be made of materials comprising zirconium, hafnium, titanium, tin, gallium, potassium, magnesium, sodium, and the second B-site cation can be made of materials comprising niobium, tantalum, molybdenum, and tungsten.
6. The energy storage device of claim 3, wherein the ABO3 perovskite oxide has a chemical formula of Li3xLa2/3-xTiO3, and x ranges from 0.01 to 0.66.
7. The energy storage device of claim 1, wherein the solid state electrolyte material has a sodium (Na) super lonic conductor (NASICON) structure, and wherein the solid state electrolyte material is composed of NASICON-type phosphates including Li1+xAlxTi2-x(PO4)3, x ranging from 0.3 to 0.5.
8. The energy storage device of claim 1, wherein the solid state electrolyte material has an ionic conductivity higher than 10-8 s/cm at 50˚C and an electrical conductivity higher than 10-8 s/cm at room temperature.
9. The energy storage device of claim 1, wherein the energy storage device comprises solid state batteries, lithium-ion batteries, lithium metal batteries, or lithium sulfur batteries.
10. The energy storage device of claim 1, wherein the one or more electrodes are configured as cathode electrodes or anode electrodes in the energy storage device.
11. The energy storage device of claim 10, wherein the electrode active material configured for the anode electrodes comprises graphite, silicon, silica, alloys, metal oxides, lithium titanate, and/or lithium metal materials, and wherein the electrode active material configured for the cathode electrodes comprises lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide, lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide, lithium iron phosphate, lithium manganese iron phosphate, lithium manganese phosphate, nickel manganese cobalt aluminum oxide, iron-based cathode materials, lithium manganese oxide, and/or lithium nickel manganese oxide.
12. The energy storage device of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more electrodes further comprises binder materials including polyvinylidene fluoride, polyethylene oxide, polytetrafluoroethylene, perfluoro sulfonic acid, carboxymethyl cellulose, and/or styrene-butadiene rubber.
13. The energy storage device of claim 1, wherein each of the one or more electrodes further comprises conductive additive materials including graphite, graphene, carbon nanotube, multi-walled carbon nanotube, and/or vapor grown carbon fiber.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11
Claim 11 depends from claim 10, which recites that the one or more electrodes are configures as “cathode electrodes or anode electrodes.” Claim 11, however subsequently recites electrode active materials for both anode and cathode electrodes. It is unclear how both the anode electrodes and the cathode electrodes are present in claim 11 when claim 10 alternatively requires the one or more electrode to be cathode electrodes OR anode electrodes. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0163351 A1, Liu et al.
Regarding claim 1
Liu teaches an energy storage device (corresponding to a solid-state battery 10A) [Figs. 1A-1B and paras. 0063-0066], comprising:
one or more electrodes (corresponding to positive electrode layer 90B) [Fig. 1B and paras. 0065-0066], each of the one or more electrodes (90B) comprising:
a solid state electrolyte material (94B) having a first average particle size less than 10µm (the solid-state electrolyte materials are polished and/or milled down to nanoparticles having size less than 900 nm) [Fig. 1B, paras. 0066 and 0110], wherein the solid state electrolyte material is ionically and electronically conductive [paras. 0066, 0074 and 0111]; and
an electrode active material (92b) having a second average particle size less than 30µm (the cathode active materials 92A, 92B, 94C, 94D are generally solid powders with its particle size ranging between 10 nm and 100 µm, thereby satisfying the claimed range of less than 30 µm) [Fig. 1B and para. 0080],
wherein the solid state electrolyte material and the electrode active material are mixed [Fig. 1B and para. 0066].
Fig. 1B
Regarding claim 2
Liu teaches the energy storage device as set forth above, wherein the solid state electrolyte material (94B) comprises oxides, chalcogenides, polymers, polyanion materials, ionic salts, silicates, zeolites, molecular organic frameworks, and/or covalent organic frameworks [para. 0074].
Regarding claim 3
Liu teaches the energy storage device as set forth above, wherein the solid state electrolyte material is an oxide with ABO3 perovskite structure (perovskite (ABO3)-type oxides) [para. 0074].
Regarding claim 5
Liu teaches the energy storage device as set forth above, wherein the ABO3 perovskite oxide comprises a four component oxide structure including a first B-site cation and a second B-site cation (corresponding to LixM1/3Nb1−xTixO3, where M=La, Nd) [para. 0074], and wherein:
a A-site cation of the ABO3 perovskite oxide can be made of materials comprising lithium and strontium (Li in LixM1/3Nb1−xTixO3) [para. 0074], the first B-site cation can be made of materials comprising zirconium, hafnium, titanium, tin, gallium, potassium, magnesium, sodium (Ti in LixM1/3Nb1−xTixO3), and the second B-site cation can be made of materials comprising niobium, tantalum, molybdenum, and tungsten (Nb in LixM1/3Nb1−xTixO3) [para 0074].
Regarding claim 6
Liu teaches the energy storage device as set forth above, wherein the ABO3 perovskite oxide has a chemical formula of Li3xLa2/3-xTiO3, and x ranges from 0.01 to 0.66 (see para. 0074, wherein LixLayTiO3, LLTO, etc.).
Regarding claim 7
Liu teaches the energy storage device as set forth above, wherein the solid state electrolyte material has a sodium (Na) super lonic conductor (NASICON) structure [paras. 0023-0024], and wherein the solid state electrolyte material is composed of NASICON-type phosphates including Li1+xAlxTi2-x(PO4)3, x ranging from 0.3 to 0.5 (lithium aluminum titanium phosphate oxide materials, Li(Al, Ti)2(PO4)3) [para. 0074].
Regarding claim 8
Liu teaches the energy storage device as set forth above.
Regarding the limitation “wherein the solid-state electrolyte material has an ionic conductivity higher than 10-8 s/cm at 50˚C and an electrical conductivity higher than 10-8 s/cm at room temperature,” because the solid state electrolyte material is identical to the one claimed, the claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
The court has held that products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Examiner notes that Liu discloses the solid-sate electrolyte comprising an ionic conductivity of 10-4S/cm at 50˚C [para. 0015].
Regarding claim 9
Liu teaches the energy storage device as set forth above, wherein the energy storage device comprises solid state batteries, lithium-ion batteries, lithium metal batteries, or lithium sulfur batteries (Liu discloses a solid-state battery) [para. 0024].
Regarding claim 10
Liu teaches the energy storage device as set forth above, wherein the one or more electrodes are configured as cathode electrodes or anode electrodes in the energy storage device (one or more of the anode material layer, the solid-state electrolyte material layer, the cathode material layer, or a combination thereof, includes the composition) [Fig. 1B and para. 0066; see also paras. 0002 and 0024].
Regarding claim 11
Liu teaches the energy storage device as set forth above, wherein the electrode active material configured for the anode electrodes comprises graphite, silicon, silica, alloys, metal oxides, lithium titanate, and/or lithium metal materials [para. 0082], and wherein the electrode active material configured for the cathode electrodes comprises lithium nickel manganese cobalt oxide (LiaNibMncCodOe), lithium nickel cobalt aluminum oxide (LixNiyCozAlaOb), lithium iron phosphate (Li3Fe2(PO4)3), lithium manganese iron phosphate, lithium manganese phosphate (LiMnPO4), nickel manganese cobalt aluminum oxide, iron-based cathode materials, lithium manganese oxide, and/or lithium nickel manganese oxide [para. 0081].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-11 above, and further in view of JP2019-075253A, Tokoro et al.
Regarding claim 4
Liu teaches the energy storage as set forth above, wherein B-site cations of the ABO3 perovskite oxide include Ti, Al and Nb [para. 0074].
However, Liu is silent to the B-site cations having multiple charging states comprising a 3+ charge and a 4+ charge.
Tokoro teaches a positive electrode active material comprising Li1+a NibMncCodM2eO2+α, where M2 contains titanium which is present mainly in the state of Ti3+ or Ti4+ in the positive electrode active material and wherein Ti3+ is oxidized to Ti4+ to perform charge compensation, whereby the crystal structure of the positive electrode active material is easily maintained [Pages 4-5].
Liu and Tokoro are analogous inventions in the field of electrode active materials. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have provided B-site cations having multiple charging states comprising a 3+ charge and a 4+ charge for the purpose of performing charge compensation, whereby the crystal structure of the positive electrode active material is easily maintained, as discloses in Tokoro.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu, as applied to claims 1-3 and 5-11 above, and further in view of US 2024/0097128 A1, TALEBIESFANDARA et al. (hereinafter “Talebiesfandara”).
Regarding claim 12
Liu teaches the energy storage device as set forth in claim 1 above.
Liu is silent to each of the one or more electrodes further comprises binder materials including polyvinylidene fluoride, polyethylene oxide, polytetrafluoroethylene, perfluoro sulfonic acid, carboxymethyl cellulose, and/or styrene-butadiene rubber.
Talebiesfandara teaches an energy storage device comprising one or more electrodes (corresponding to cathode or anode) comprising a binder in order to improve adhesion to a current collector foil, the binder including polymeric materials such as polyvinylidenefluoride (“PVDF”) and styrene-butadiene or styrene-butadiene rubber (“SBR”) [Abstract and para. 0100].
Liu and Talebiesfandara are analogous inventions in the field of electrodes for energy storage devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified each of the one or more electrodes in Liu to comprise a binder including PVDF or SBR, as disclosed in Talebiesfandara, for the purpose of improving adhesion of each of the one or more electrodes to a current collector.
Regarding claim 13
Liu teaches the energy storage device as set forth in claim 1 above.
Liu is silent to each of the one or more electrodes further comprising conductive additive materials including graphite, graphene, carbon nanotube, multi-walled carbon nanotube, and/or vapor grown carbon fiber.
Talebiesfandara teaches an energy storage device comprising one or more electrodes (corresponding to cathode or anode) comprising conductive additive materials such as graphite, graphene, carbon nanotubes carbon nanofiber, and multi-walled carbon nanotubes [Abstract and paras. 0100-0101].
Liu and Talebiesfandara are analogous inventions in the field of electrodes for energy storage devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified each of the one or more electrodes in Liu to comprise a conductive additive comprising graphite, graphene, carbon nanotube, multi-walled carbon nanotube, and/or vapor grown carbon fiber, as disclosed in Talebiesfandara, for the purpose of improving the electrical conductivity through the electrode [paras. 0100-0101].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0166031 A1, Li et al. teaches an energy storage device (corresponding to battery 20) [Fig. 1 and para. 0051], comprising:
one or more electrodes (corresponding to negative electrode 22 and/or positive electrode 24) [Fig. 1 and para. 0051], each of the one or more electrodes (22 and/or 24) comprising:
a solid-state electrolyte material (90) having a first average particle size less than 10µm (solid state electrolyte particles have an average diameter greater than or equal to about 100 nm to less than or equal to about 100 μm) [Fig. 1, paras. 0054 and 0072]; and
an electrode active material (e.g., active material particles 50 of the negative electrode active material 22) [Fig. 1 and para. 0054], wherein the solid state electrolyte material (90) and the electrode active material (50) are mixed [Fig. 1 and para. 0054].
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721