DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Landi, et al. (“Battery Management in V2G-based aggregations”, published in the 2014 Power Systems Computation Conference, 18-22 August 2014, herein Landi).1 2 Regarding claims 1, 13 and 17, Landi teaches a vehicle, vehicle charger, and non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising: a memory that stores computer executable components (Section III-A: these actions necessarily require the use of a computer, which necessarily uses a memory and processor, see also the name of the conference, the Power Systems Computation Conference); and a processor that executes the computer executable components stored in the memory, wherein the computer executable components (Section III-A: these actions necessarily require the use of a computer, which necessarily uses a memory and processor, see also the name of the conference, the Power Systems Computation Conference) comprise: a charging scheme component that, based on one or more health metrics of a battery of the vehicle, determines a charging scheme for charging the battery (Sections II-A & B); and a communication component that transmits data representative of the charging scheme to a vehicle charger (Sections II-A & B). Regarding claim 2, Landi teaches the one or more health metrics comprise a current temperature of the battery (Sections II-A & B). Regarding claim 3, Landi teaches the one or more health metrics comprise a state of health metric of the battery (Sections II-A & B). Regarding claims 4 and 18, Landi teaches the one or more health metrics comprise a quantity of times that the battery has been exposed to a charging rate that exceeds a defined charging rate threshold (Sections III-A to III-C). Regarding claims 5 and 19, Landi teaches the one or more health metrics comprise a cumulative duration of time that the battery has been exposed to a charging rate that exceeds a defined charging rate threshold (Sections III-A to III-C). Regarding claims 6 and 20, Landi teaches he charging scheme for charging the battery is determined based on a defined amount of time available to charge the battery (Sections III-A to III-C). Regarding claim 8, Landi teaches the communication component that transmits the data representative of the charging scheme to the vehicle charger via a charging cable connected to the vehicle and to the vehicle charger (Sections III-A to III-C). Regarding claims 9 and 16, Landi teaches a group of charging rates configured to be selectively utilized during charging of the battery to prevent a temperature of the battery from exceeding a defined temperature threshold (Sections III-A to III-C). Regarding claim 10, Landi teaches a warning component that, in response to a determination that the one or more health metrics of the battery exceed a defined warning threshold, generates a warning, applicable to the determination that the one or more health metrics of the battery exceed the defined warning threshold, to be rendered via a user interface (Sections III-A to III-C). Regarding claim 14, Landi teaches the battery comprises a solid-state battery, and wherein the charging scheme is further determined based on a type of the battery being determined to comprise the solid-state battery (Section III-B). Regarding claim 15, Landi teaches the battery comprises a multi-cell battery, and wherein the charging scheme is further determined based on a type of the battery being determined to comprise the multi-cell battery (Section III-B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landi in view of Umathe, et al. (“Artificial Intelligence and IoT based Smart Battery Management System for Electric Vehicle”, published in 2022 International Conference on Smart Generation Computing, Communication and Network (SMART GENCON), 23-25 December 2022, herein Umathe).3 4 Regarding claim 7, Landi teaches the vehicle of claim 1, as discussed above. Landi does not explicitly teach the communication component that transmits the data representative of the charging scheme to the vehicle charger via a wireless connection. Umathe teaches the communication component that transmits the data representative of the charging scheme to the vehicle charger via a wireless connection (Section II). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of Landi and Umathe, because such a combination enables more expansive monitoring (Section II of Umathe). Regarding claim 11, Umathe further teaches an artificial intelligence component that, based on past health metrics of other batteries, other than the battery, and past charging schemes, other than the charging scheme, generates a charging scheme model, wherein the charging scheme for charging the battery is determined using the charging scheme model (Section IV). Regarding claim 12, Umathe further teaches the artificial intelligence component modifies the charging scheme based on past health metrics of the battery and past charging schemes applicable to the battery (Section IV).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 See 892 form for the full citation. A copy of this reference is attached to this Office Action.
2 In addition to the cited portions, please see also the associated figures.
3 See 892 form for the full citation. A copy of this reference is attached to this Office Action.
4 In addition to the cited portions, please see also the associated figures.
5 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.