DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response (amendments and arguments) is acknowledged.
Claims 27-28, 31, 35-39, 42, 46-47 are pending after amendment and examined on the merits following the last response.
Any rejection no longer of record has been overcome by amendment/argument.
The examiner attempted to reach applicant’s representative (AR) via telephone to advance prosecution on the merits, but was unable to connect with AR. Notwithstanding, the examiner remains open to interview at any time.
The present application is the newest continuation in the present family, drawn to treating any nephropathy directly linked to increased levels of ET-1 compared to ET-1 levels in those without the nephropathy with the claimed ET-1 antagonists, wherein the following family patents have already issued or are pending over the following scope of treating various nephropathies with the same instantly claimed ET-1 antagonists: U.S. Patent No. 11,874,283 (IgA nephropathy); U.S. Patent No. 11,372,005 and 10,866,249 (both of varying scope to HIV-associated nephropathy (HIVAN); U.S. Patent No. 9,255,931 (focal segmental glomerulosclerosis (FSGS); and U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220260590 (glomerulonephritis), for which an obviousness double patenting rejection has been applied below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 –
Obviousness, Modified, Necessitated by Amendment
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
103 – KSR Examples of ‘Rationales’ Supporting a Conclusion of Obviousness (Consistent with the “Functional Approach” of Graham)
Further regarding 35 USC 103(a) rejections, the Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) (KSR) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Note that the list of rationales provided is not intended to be an all-inclusive list. Other rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness may be relied upon by Office personnel.
Also, a reference is good not only for what it teaches by direct anticipation but also for what one of ordinary skill in the art might reasonably infer from the teachings. (In re Opprecht 12 USPQ 2d 1235, 1236 (Fed Cir. 1989); In re Bode 193 USPQ 12 (CCPA) 1976).
Claims 27-28, 31, 35-39, 42, and 46-47 remain/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over either Roden et al. (US20090054473) or KOPP, B., et al., "The role of Endothetin-l[ET-1] in the Pathogenesis of HIV-associated Nephropathy[HIVAN]", Journal of American Society of Nephrology, Vo1.19, pp.670A, SA-PO2496 (2008). (abstract only (illegible copy cited in the IDS of 4/24/12; see IDS note, bottom)); either alone based on that which was art-recognized about nephropathies as ET-1 associated (across conditions, e.g. diabetic and HIV; as for Kopp) and/or of the known ET-1 antagonists and what conditions they could treat (such as present ambrisentanm; nephropathies such as HIVAN or FSGS); or either in view of the other.
Roden teach the use of e.g. species ambrisentan (product/composition/kit) to treat a nephroathy (e.g. focused on diabetic nephropathy; however, any diabetic with HIV thereby part of the class being treated the nephropathy subspecies types FSGS or HIVAN); as well as diagnose nephropathy (art-recognized that elevated ET-1 levels indicative of some type of nephropathy as presently claimed in claim 9, based on teachings of Roden) (see entire document):
[0002] The present invention relates to methods and therapeutic combinations useful for improving clinical outcomes in diabetic patients having complications of diabetes such as diabetic nephropathy and/or metabolic syndrome.
[0004] Endothelins (ETs), particularly ET-1, are believed to play a role in
mediating the damaging effects of hyperglycemia in the kidney and elsewhere.
Expression of ET-1 in endothelial cells of the renal vasculature is upregulated by hyperglycemia; the potent profibrotic action of ET-1 thus generated in the kidney is believed to be involved in the morphologic changes seen in diabetic nephropathy. ET-1 acts via endothelin A (ETA) and endothelin B (ET.sub.B) receptors. Elevated plasma ET levels have been reported in patients with diabetes mellitus. See, for example, Takahashi et al. (1990) Diabetologia
33:306-310.
[0010] Avosentan, which may be classified as a selective ET.sub.A or dual
ET.sub.A/ET.sub.B receptor antagonist, has been reported to be in Phase III
clinical development for diabetic nephropathy. See Battistini et al. (2006)
Exp. Biol. Med. 231:653-695.
[0013] On the other hand, Shaw et al. (2006) Exp. Biol. Med.
231:1101-1105 reported that in a mouse model of non-obese type 1 diabetes, the
selective ET.sub.A receptor antagonist LU 208075 (ambrisentan) did not reduce the elevated plasma glucose levels seen in untreated animals.
[0035] The term "diabetic nephropathy" as used herein will be understood to include both incipient and overt stages of diabetic nephropathy, whether
diagnosed or not, but most typically as diagnosed by a clinician or physician.
The term "metabolic syndrome" as used herein refers to a complex of obesity,
hypertension, dyslipidemia and diabetes marked by a degree of insulin
resistance. The existence of metabolic syndrome as a true clinical syndrome is
not universally accepted; it will be understood that in the present context a
patient having metabolic syndrome is one exhibiting a complex of conditions as
itemized above, whether or not "metabolic syndrome" is formally diagnosed in
the patient.
[0051] Suitable selective ET.sub.A receptor antagonists can be identified by
one of ordinary skill from literature on such antagonists, based on the
disclosure herein, but a non-limiting list of such antagonists includes
ambrisentan, atrasentan, avosentan, BMS 193884, BQ-123, CI-1020, clazosentan, darusentan, edonentan, S-0139, SB-209670, sitaxsentan, TA-0201, tarasentan, TBC 3711, tezosentan, YM-598, ZD-1611 and ZD-4054, as well as salts, esters, prodrugs, metabolites, tautomers, racemates and enantiomers thereof.
Kopp teach: The role of Endothetin-l[ET-1] in the Pathogenesis of HIV-associated Nephropathy[HIVAN]" (see abstract provided by Applicant in IDS 4/24/12; as well as IDS statement below that copy provide is not legible; though the title in the IDS list sufficient to apply the reference relevant to the subject matter as presently claimed); as well as diagnose nephropathy (art-recognized that elevated ET-1 levels indicative of some type of nephropathy as presently claimed, based on teachings of Kopp).
Either Roden or Kopp (e.g. use of ET-1 antagonists such as ambrisentan for the nephropathy species HIVAN), teach and/or suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to treat other form and/or subspecies of nephropathy (e.g. FSGS or HIVAN), diagnose general nephropathy (by the steps claimed therein) in Roden, especially where Roden uses the same agent here (the known ET-1 antagonist ambrisentan); or Kopp teaching that HIVAN is ET-1 associated (and art-recognized if not in the abstract that a known ET-1 antagonist would be the 1st line treatment option); either alone and/or in view of the other; because the formerly claimed types of nephropathy (HIVAN)/renal disorder (FSGS) are both known to be negatively associated with the ET-1 pathway; where the ET-1 pathway is known to be treatable (to some degree) with ET-1 antagonists. Additionally to apply known steps to diagnose/monitor nephropathy in view of either/both alone or in view of the other. For at least the rational under KSR of (C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (here another form of nephropathy falling under the same ET-1 pathway and using the same ET-1 antagonists (e.g. ambrisentan)).
Equally, methods of monitoring the effectiveness of such treatment (standard practice) as in instant claims 38-46 even if not anticipated, would have been prima facie obvious based on the prior art combination against the backdrop of the state of the art and PHOSITA’s appreciation of following routine protocol thereto.
Applicant has added new claims 46 and 47 by amendment. New claim 46 is directed to treating any nephropathy with an ET-1 antagonist alone, which is rendered obvious under the same rationale already applied above. New claim 47 is merely drawn to routes of administration options already taught by the prior art of record applied (see passages above).
Based on the teachings of the reference(s), one of ordinary skill in this art at the time of the invention, would have had the rationale and reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention, as a whole; which is deemed prima facie obvious.
Response to Amendments/Arguments
Applicant’s response (amendments and arguments) have been fully considered but are not yet found persuasive. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed invention, The prior art combination is still deemed to teach and/or suggest treating nephropathies generally with ET-1 antagonists. Such would not preclude an ET-1 antagonist as being the sole active agent administered, under the rationale that the ET-1 antagonist was recognized as providing certain antagonistic benefits – including alone - for which nephropathies generally would benefit, as supported by the prior art of record and the state of the art on ET-1 and antagonist thereof (MPEP 2144.03, common knowledge). Notwithstanding that Rodin’s results pointed to an increase in ET-1, rather than a decrease, such was nevertheless recognized as an antagonist of ET-1 within the art, of which PHOSITA recognizes. The selection other ET-1 antagonist would have been merely a matter of selection from a finite number of options, and prima facie obvious therefrom – including alone, as a solo treatment. While applicant’s arguments have been fully considered they are not yet deemed persuasive based on the prior art combination teachings as a whole against the state of the art that ET-1 antagonists would have been expected to reduce ET-1 levels even if some results vary. Thus, the prima facie case of obviousness as such is maintained, absent further arguments, amendments, and/or evidence (test data, declaration).
Double Patenting – Maintained, No Arguments, Request for Abeyance
Claims 27-28, 31, 35-39, 42, and 46-47 remain/are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,874,283 (IgA nephropathy); U.S. Patent No. 11,372,005 and 10,866,249 (both of varying scope to HIV-associated nephropathy (HIVAN); U.S. Patent No. 9,255,931 (focal segmental glomerulosclerosis (FSGS). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instantly claimed invention is drawn to treating any nephropathy – which includes any the species issued in the patents above - directly linked to increased levels of ET-1 compared to ET-1 levels in those without the nephropathy with the claimed ET-1 antagonists.
Claims 27-28, 31, 35-39, 42, and 46-47 remain/are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of the copending application published as U.S. Patent Publication No. 20220260590 (glomerulonephritis), for which an obviousness double patenting rejection has been applied. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instantly claimed invention is drawn to treating any nephropathy – which includes the species glomerulonephritis of ‘590 - directly linked to increased levels of ET-1 compared to ET-1 levels in those without the nephropathy with the claimed ET-1 antagonists.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAURY A AUDET/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654