DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argue that LEE does not discloses “outputting for display at a user interface, an indication that includes information about radio broadcast channels whose broadcasting range are determined to overlap with the vehicle location of the vehicle”. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. LEE clearly discloses outputting for display at a user interface, an indication that includes information about radio broadcast channels whose broadcasting range are determined to overlap with the vehicle location of the vehicle (see included but not limited; see fig. 6; page.10, ¶0236-¶0237; discloses FIG. 6, the controller 110 may calculate the first broadcast station list, which is a candidate list of electric field overlapping areas, based on the current frequency set by the user and the current location of the vehicle 1 determined by the location receiver 104…broadcast station list may include broadcast station A and broadcast station B, and the name of a broadcast station to be displayed on the display device 102 may be ‘KBS 1st Radio’ of broadcast station A or ‘KBS Classic FM’ of broadcast station B… ).
Claims Status
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application.
Claims 11-20 are new claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0129833 A1 to LEE et al in-view US 2018/0205492 A1 to Littlejohn et al, and further in view of US 9,438,359 B2 to Haslam.
As to claims 1 and 10, LEE discloses a method [ a vehicle radio system comprising a receiver, a user interface; and a processor] operable by a vehicle processor (see fig.1-2), the method comprising: causing a vehicle receiver to receive a radio broadcast channel, transmitting location and broadcasting range for one or more other radio broadcast channels whose broadcasting range overlaps with a first broadcasting range of the radio broadcast channel; determining a vehicle location of the vehicle (see fig. 4A-4B and 5; page.9, ¶0227-¶0230¶); determining if the broadcasting range of any of the or more other radio broadcast channels overlaps with the vehicle location of the vehicle; and outputting for display at a user interface, an indication that includes information about radio broadcast channels whose broadcasting range are determined to overlap with the vehicle location of the vehicle (see fig. 6; page.10, ¶0236-¶0237; discloses FIG. 6, the controller 110 may calculate the first broadcast station list, which is a candidate list of electric field overlapping areas, based on the current frequency set by the user and the current location of the vehicle 1 determined by the location receiver 104…broadcast station list may include broadcast station A and broadcast station B, and the name of a broadcast station to be displayed on the display device 102 may be ‘KBS 1st Radio’ of broadcast station A or ‘KBS Classic FM’ of broadcast station B…).
LEE does not explicitly discloses obtaining from digital sideband information
Littlejohn discloses obtaining directly from digital sideband information of the received radio broadcast channel (see fig.1; page.3, ¶0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LEE with the teaching as taught by Littlejohn in order to increasing accuracy of data subsequently provided to the receiver device and improving user experience.
LEE and Littlejohn do not explicitly disclose digital data encoded in the radio broadcast channel, wherein the digital data comprising a respective digital broadcast identifier.
Haslam discloses digital data encoded in the radio broadcast channel, wherein the digital data comprising a respective digital broadcast identifier (see fig.2-4;col.6,ll.16-22 and col.8,ll.18-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LEE and Littlejohn with the teaching as taught by Haslam in order to provide an automatic switching to the same digital audio data when the receiver outside of regions in which broadcast stations transmit such audio data.
As to claim 2 and 11, LEE further discloses receiving a position information associated with a vehicle having the vehicle processor from a separate processor over a vehicle network (see fig.2; page.5, ¶0116).
As to claims 3 and 12, LEE further discloses wherein said radio broadcast channel comprises one of: a Frequency Modulated, FM; an Amplitude Modulated, AM; or a digitally encoded broadcast (see fig.5-6; page.4, ¶0083).
As to claims 4 and 13, LEE further discloses comprising obtaining the digital data through a Radio Data System, RDS of an FM broadcast (see fig. 9; page.11, ¶0251,¶0122).
As to claims 5 and 14, LEE further discloses comprising iteratively determining an updated vehicle location of a vehicle associated with the vehicle processor, determining for each iteratively determined updated vehicle location of the vehicle, if the broadcasting range of any of the one or more other radio broadcast channels overlaps with said iteratively determined updated vehicle location of the vehicle; and updating an output for display at the user interface, by updating the indication to include only information about additional radio broadcast channels whose broadcasting range overlap with the updated vehicle location of the vehicle (see fig.5-7; page.9, ¶0227-¶0234).
As to claim 6, LEE further discloses further discloses performing determining an updated vehicle location, determining for each iteratively determined updated vehicle location of the vehicle and updating an output for display at the user interface in response to determining that the updated vehicle location of the vehicle has changed after a waiting period greater than a threshold amount (see fig.5-7; page.9, ¶0227-¶0234).
As to claims 7 and 16, LEE further discloses outputting for display at the user interface, information about a first set of radio of radio broadcast channels previously available at said vehicle receiver(see page.4, ¶0086, ¶0228-¶0229).
As to claim 8 and 17, LEE further discloses wherein the first set of radio broadcast channels comprise radio broadcast channels saved by a user of a vehicle associated with the vehicle processor (see page.4, ¶0086, ¶0228-¶0229).
As to claims 9 and 18, LEE further discloses wherein said vehicle processor is responsive to user interaction with said user interface to cause said vehicle receiver to tune to a radio broadcast channel selected by a user of said vehicle(see fig.1-2; page.6,¶0139-¶0140).
As to claim 15, LEE further discloses wherein, based on a determination that the vehicle location of the vehicle has changed after a waiting period greater than a threshold amount, the instructions cause the processor to iteratively: determine an updated vehicle location of the vehicle, determine for each updated vehicle location of the vehicle, if the broadcasting range of any of the one or more other radio broadcast channels overlap with each iteratively determined updated vehicle location of the vehicle; and update an output for display at the user interface by updating the indication to include only information about additional radio broadcast channels whose broadcasting range overlap with the updated vehicle location of the vehicle (see fig.5-7; page.9, ¶0227-¶0234).
As to claim 19, the claim limitation corresponds to the limitation as recited in the rejected claims 1 and 10. Therefore, Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in Claims 1 and 10.
As to claim 20, the claim limitation corresponds to the limitation as recited in the rejected claims 7 and 8. Therefore, Claim 20 is rejected for the same reason as discussed in Claims 1 and 10.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mulugeta Mengesha/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424