DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claims Status
Claims 1-10 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2024/0129833 A1 to LEE et al in-view US 2018/0205492 A1 to Littlejohn et al, and further in view of US 9,438,359 B2 to Haslam.
As to claim 1, LEE discloses a method operable by a vehicle processor (see fig.1-2), the method comprising: causing a vehicle receiver to receive a radio broadcast channel, transmitting location and broadcasting range for one or more other radio broadcast channels whose broadcasting range overlaps with a broadcasting range of said received radio broadcast channel; determining a location of the vehicle (see fig. 4A-4B and 5; page.9, ¶0227-¶0230¶); determining if a broadcasting range of any of the or each other radio broadcast channels overlaps with a location of the vehicle; and outputting for display through a user interface, an indication of available radio broadcast channels including the or each of the other radio broadcast channels determined to have a broadcasting range overlapping with the location of the vehicle (see fig.5-7; page.9, ¶0227-¶0234).
LEE does not explicitly discloses obtaining directly from digital sideband information of the received radio broadcast channel.
Littlejohn discloses obtaining directly from digital sideband information of the received radio broadcast channel (see fig.1; page.3, ¶0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LEE with the teaching as taught by Littlejohn in order to increasing accuracy of data subsequently provided to the receiver device and improving user experience.
LEE and Littlejohn do not explicitly disclose digital data encoded in the radio broadcast channel, wherein the digital data comprising a respective digital broadcast identifier.
Haslam discloses digital data encoded in the radio broadcast channel, wherein the digital data comprising a respective digital broadcast identifier (see fig.2-4;col.6,ll.16-22 and col.8,ll.18-37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LEE and Littlejohn with the teaching as taught by Haslam in order to provide an automatic switching to the same digital audio data when the receiver outside of regions in which broadcast stations transmit such audio data.
As to claim 2, LEE further discloses receiving a position of the vehicle from a separate processor across a vehicle network (see fig.2; page.5, ¶0116).
As to claim 3, LEE further discloses wherein said radio broadcast channel comprises one of: a Frequency Modulated, FM; an Amplitude Modulated, AM; or a digitally encoded broadcast (see fig.5-6; page.4, ¶0083).
As to claim 4, LEE further discloses comprising obtaining the digital data through the Radio Data System, RDS of an FM broadcast (see fig. 9; page.11, ¶0251,¶0122).
As to claim 5, LEE further discloses comprising iteratively performing the steps of: determining a position of the vehicle, determining for each iteratively determined position of the vehicle, if a broadcasting range of any of the or each other radio broadcast channels overlaps with said iteratively determined position of the vehicle; and outputting for display through the user interface, an indication of available radio broadcast channels including the or each of the other radio broadcasts determined to have a broadcasting range overlapping with the location of the vehicle (see fig.5-7; page.9, ¶0227-¶0234).
As to claim 6, Haslam further discloses performing said steps in response to determining that the position of the vehicle has changed after a waiting period greater than a threshold amount (see col.8,ll.38-45).
As to claim 7, LEE further discloses further outputting for display through the user interface, an indication of radio broadcast channels previously available at said vehicle receiver(see page.4, ¶0086, ¶0228-¶0229).
As to claim 8, LEE further discloses wherein said broadcast channels previously available comprise radio broadcast channels saved by a user of said vehicle(see page.4, ¶0086, ¶0228-¶0229).
As to claim 9, LEE further discloses wherein said processor is responsive to user interaction with said user interface to cause said vehicle receiver to tune to a radio broadcast channel selected by a user of said vehicle(see fig.1-2; page.6,¶0139-¶0140).
As to claim 10, LEE further discloses A vehicle radio system comprising a receiver capable of receiving a radio broadcast channel, a user interface, and a processor configured to perform the method of claim 1(see fig.1-3).
Conclusion
MULUGETA MENGESHA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/Mulugeta Mengesha/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2424