DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 4-7 and 24 are pending.
Claims 1-3 and 8-17 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Claims 18-23 and 25 were cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, file , with respect to objection to drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, file , with respect to rejection under 35 USC 112 to claim 25 have been fully considered and are persuasive due to cancellation of claim. The rejection under 35 USC 112 to claim 25 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 6/12/2026 regarding claims 4-7 and 25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant's amendment, such as: “wherein, during a switching interval in the fully-integrated mode, while a second transformer operates at the DC supply voltage and outputs energy through the rectification and filtering circuit, the first transformer initially has its two primary winding connection ends short-circuited through corresponding bridge arm circuits and is in a magnetizing-current freewheeling state; and wherein a turn-off timing of an upper switch or a lower switch of the first bridge arm circuit is controlled such that magnetizing current of the first transformer charges or discharges parasitic capacitance associated with the bridge arm center point of the first bridge arm circuit” is not persuasive or put the claims in condition for allowance.
Regarding claim 4, applicant amend claim to include: “wherein, during a switching interval in the fully-integrated mode, while a second transformer operates at the DC supply voltage and outputs energy through the rectification and filtering circuit, the first transformer initially has its two primary winding connection ends short-circuited through corresponding bridge arm circuits and is in a magnetizing-current freewheeling state; and wherein a turn-off timing of an upper switch or a lower switch of the first bridge arm circuit is controlled such that magnetizing current of the first transformer charges or discharges parasitic capacitance associated with the bridge arm center point of the first bridge arm circuit”. However, US Patent 7,295, 448 (Zhu), more particularly Fig. 7, discloses the fully-integrated mode, more particularly the operation of the fully-integrated mode as discloses in current invention (see paragraph 250 to 260). For example, attached is Fig. 7 from Zhu including element compare with element of the current invention as mentioned in paragraph 250 to 260 for purposes of clarity:
[AltContent: textbox (V1 =)][AltContent: textbox (V2 =)][AltContent: textbox ( = t9)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ( = t8)][AltContent: textbox ( = t7)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ( = t6)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ( = t5)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ( = t4)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ( = t3)][AltContent: textbox ( = t1)][AltContent: textbox ( =t2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ( = t0)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Q32 =)][AltContent: textbox (Q31 =)][AltContent: textbox (Q22 =)][AltContent: textbox (Q21 =)][AltContent: textbox (Q12 =)][AltContent: textbox (Q11 =)]
Therefore, Zhu discloses the amended element of claim 4 and applicant arguments are not persuasive. For more details see rejection of claim 4 below.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 31; “…the first transformer…” should be “…a first transformer…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu US Patent 7,295,448 (Zhu) in view of Nakahori US Patent 7,405,955 (Nakahori).
Regarding claim 4, Zhu discloses DC-DC converter (Fig. 1), comprising: a power input end (i.e., 16a, 16b) (Fig. 1), configured to be connected to a DC power supply (i.e., VI) (Fig. 1); a power output end (i.e., Vout1, Vout2) (Fig. 1), configured to output power;
M bridge arm circuits (i.e., 12a, 12b, 12c) (Fig. 1), wherein input ends of the M bridge arm circuits are connected to the power input end, and M is an integer greater than 1;
a transformer component (i.e., T1, T2) (Fig. 1), comprising (M-1) transformers, wherein the (M-1) transformers are provided with at least two transformers with turns ratios, each of the transformers (i.e., T1, T2) (Fig. 1) comprises one primary winding and at least one secondary winding, wherein the one primary winding comprises two primary winding connection ends, one of the primary winding connection ends of the Nth transformer (i.e., T1, T2) (Fig. 1) is connected to a bridge arm center point of the Nth bridge arm circuit, and the other primary winding connection end of the Nth transformer is connected to the bridge arm center point of the (N+1)th bridge arm circuit, where 1≤ N ≤ (M-1) (for example see Fig. 1) ;
and a rectification (i.e., 14a, 14b) (Fig. 1) and filtering circuit (i.e., 5) (Fig. 12), wherein input ends of the rectification (i.e., K, L, M, N) (Fig. 1) and filtering (i.e., L1-L4, Co1-Co2) (Fig. 1) circuit are connected to secondary winding connection ends of the transformer component,
the M bridge arm circuits (i.e., 12a, 12b, 12c) (Fig. 1) and the transformer (i.e., T1, T2) (Fig. 1) component are configured to convert the input DC voltage (i.e., VI) (Fig. 1) into the required voltages on secondary windings of the transformer component, the required voltages are rectified and filtered by the rectification (i.e., 14a, 14b) (Fig. 1) and filtering (i.e., L1-L4, Co1, Co2) (Fig. 1) circuit, and the filtered voltage is output to the power output end, where M is equal to 3,
wherein, during a switching interval in the fully-integrated mode (for example see Fig. 7) , while a second transformer (i.e., T2) (Fig. 1) operates at the DC supply voltage and outputs energy through the rectification (i.e., 14a, 14b) (Fig. 1) and filtering circuit (i.e., L1-L4, Co1, Co2) (Fig. 1), a first transformer (i.e., T1) (Fig. 1) initially has its two primary winding connection ends short-circuited through corresponding bridge arm circuits (for example see bridge arms 12a) and is in a magnetizing-current freewheeling state; and wherein a turn-off (for example see t5) (Fig. 7) timing of an upper switch (i.e., S1) (Fig. 7) or a lower switch of the first bridge arm circuit is controlled such that magnetizing current of the first transformer charges or discharges parasitic capacitance associated with the bridge arm center point of the first bridge arm circuit (i.e., 12a) (Fig. 1).
Zhu disclose that the power converter 10 can be configured as either single output or dual output (for example see column 11, lines 63-65) but fail to disclose wherein the (M-1) transformers are provided with at least two transformers with turns ratios and wherein a first end of the common filtering inductor is connected to first ends of the secondary windings of the transformer component or output ends of rectification diodes, the other end of the common filtering inductor is connected to the power output end, a capacitor is connected to the power output end.
Nakahori, in the same field of endeavor discloses a Dc-Dc converter including at least (M-1) transformers, wherein the (M-1) transformers are provided with at least two transformers with different turns ratios (see column, lines 57-62) in order to reduce eddy current at the transformer. Further, Nakahori discloses and a rectification (i.e., 41, 42) (Fig. 12) and filtering circuit (i.e., 5) (Fig. 12), wherein input ends of the rectification (i.e., 41, 42) (Fig. 12) and filtering (i.e., 5) (Fig. 12) circuit are connected to secondary winding connection ends of the transformer component, an output end of the rectification (i.e., 41, 42) (Fig. 12) and filtering (i.e., 5) (Fig. 12) circuit is connected to the power output end, the rectification (i.e., 41, 42) (Fig. 12) and filtering (i.e., 5) (Fig. 12) circuit shares a common filtering inductor (i.e., L51) (Fig. 12), as a single output topology for a DC-DC Converter.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide Dc-Dc converter including at least (M-1) transformers, wherein the (M-1) transformers are provided with at least two transformers with different turns ratios in Zhu, as taught by Nakahori, in order to reduce eddy current and a filter, wherein a first end of the common filtering inductor is connected to first ends of the secondary windings of the transformer component or output ends of rectification diodes, the other end of the common filtering inductor is connected to the power output end, a capacitor is connected to the power output end as to provide a single output configuration.
Regarding claim 5, Zhu in view of Nakahori, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention. More particularly, Nakahori, discloses wherein in the fully-integrated mode, the control period is adjusted based on changes in an input voltage (i.e., V11) (Fig. 12) and a duty cycle of each transformer to ensure that the maximum magnetic flux in any one of the (M-1) transformers does not exceed the maximum allowable value of magnetic material (for example see column 11, lines 35-38).
Regarding claim 6, Zhu in view of Nakahori, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention. More particularly, Nakahori, discloses when switching from the (M-1)th transformer (i.e., T2) (Fig. 1) to the first transformer (i.e., T1) (Fig. 1), the first transformer (i.e., T1) (Fig. 1) is connected to the DC power supply before the second transformer (i.e., T2) (Fig. 1) is disconnected from the DC power supply.
Regarding claim 7, Zhu in view of Nakahori, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention. More particularly, Zhu, discloses a power supply device comprising the DC-DC converter of claim 4.
Regarding claim 24, Zhu in view of Nakahori, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention. More particularly, Zhu discloses the DC-DC converter, wherein in the fully-integrated mode, the three bridge arm circuits (i.e., 12a, 12b, 12c) (Fig. 1) comprises a first bridge arm switch (i.e., S1) (Fig. 1), a second bridge arm switch (i.e., S2) (Fig. 1), a third bridge arm switch (i.e., S3) (Fig. 1), a fourth bridge arm switch (i.e., S4) (Fig. 1), a fifth bridge arm switch (i.e., S5) (Fig. 1), and a sixth bridge arm switch (i.e., S6) (Fig. 1), the first bridge arm switch (i.e., S1) (Fig. 1) and the second bridge arm switch (i.e., S2) (Fig. 1) are connected in series to form a first bridge arm circuit (i.e., 12a) (Fig. 1); the third bridge arm switch (i.e., S3) (Fig. 1) and the fourth bridge arm (i.e., S4) (Fig. 1) switch are connected in series to form a second bridge arm circuit (i.e., 12b) (Fig. 1); and the fifth bridge arm switch (i.e., S5) (Fig. 1) and the sixth bridge arm switch (i.e., S6) (Fig. 1) are connected in series to form a third bridge arm circuit (i.e., 12c) (Fig. 1);
during a full period, time points progress sequentially from time t0 to time t9: at time t0 (i.e. t4) (Fig. 7), the third bridge arm switch is turned on; at time t1 (i.e. t5) (Fig. 7), the first bridge arm switch is turned off; at time t2 (i.e. t6) (Fig. 7), the second bridge arm switch is turned on; at time t3 (i.e. t7) (Fig. 7), the sixth bridge arm switch is turned off; between time t3 (i.e. t7) (Fig. 7) and time t4 (i.e. t9) (Fig. 7), the fifth bridge arm switch is turned on; at time t4 (i.e. t9) (Fig. 7), the third bridge arm switch is turned off; at time t5 (i.e. t10) (Fig. 7), the fourth bridge arm switch is turned on; at time t6 (i.e. t11) (Fig. 7), the second bridge arm switch is turned off; at time t7 (i.e. t12) (Fig. 7), the first bridge arm switch is turned on; at time t8 (i.e. first switching time after t12) (Fig. 7), the fifth bridge arm switch is turned off; between time t8 and time t9 (i.e. second switching time after t12) (Fig. 7), the sixth bridge arm switch is turned on; and at time t9 (i.e. third switching time after t12) (Fig. 7), the fourth bridge arm switch is turned off.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YAHVEH COMAS TORRES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838