Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Petluri et al. in view of (US 20210068224 A1) in view of Stefan (US 20080313798 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Petluri et al. teaches comprising: a first narrow light emitter; and a second narrow light emitter (see para [0013]; “semiconductor light emitting devices comprising first, second, third, and fourth LED strings…”, see also para [0013]; “The first, second, and third LED strings together with their associated luminophoric mediums can comprise red, yellow, and violet lighting channels”); wherein when the first narrow light emitter and the second narrow light emitter are energized a composite light is emitted (see para [0016]; “a fourth unsaturated light that results from a combination of the first, second, and third unsaturated light”) that is characterized by a cyanosis observation index (COI) value of greater than four (4.0) (see 1st page, 2nd para; “The cyanosis observation index (“COI”) is defined by AS/NZS 1680.2.5 Interior Lighting Part 2.5… The COI value is calculated by calculating the color difference between blood viewed under the test light source and viewed under the reference lamp (a 4000 K Planckian source) for 50% and 100% oxygen saturation and averaging the results”
), and has a correlated color temperature (CCT) of between about 2000o K to about 50,000o K that is one of on the blackbody locus or near the blackbody locus (see para [0013]; “generating white light at a plurality of color points within a 7-step MacAdam ellipse of points on the black body locus having a correlated color temperature between 1800K and 10000K”, see para [0017]; “around any point on the black body locus having a correlated color temperature between 1800K and 10000K”). However, Petluri et al does not teach a composite lighting apparatus for inhibiting the optical imaging of subcutaneous veins
In the same field of endeavor, Stefan teaches a composite lighting apparatus for inhibiting the optical imaging of subcutaneous veins (see para [0022]; “one or more light-emitting diodes (LED) are mounted as the light source in or on the light fixture. …. Use of blue-color LED's is, for example, well suited to the color design of the portable toilet and also conceals the colors of soiling. A blue-color light also makes it more difficult for drug addicts to locate their veins, reducing the attractiveness of this facility for illicit purposes”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filling date of the invention to modify a method for semiconductor light emitting devices, with two or more of blue, red, short-blue-pumped cyan, long-blue-pumped cyan, yellow, and violet channels provide different biological effects while having good color rendering capability of Petluri et al. in view of methods for A light source in the housing is energizeable to emit light from the side through the roof and into the cabin of Stefan in order to get light into the cabin and to provide a secure mount for the light fixture (see para [0022]).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is fully incorporated herein.
Petluri et al in the combination further teach wherein the first narrow light emitter emits a blueish light (see para [0073]; “the blue lighting channel can produce light with spectral power distribution that falls within the values between Blue minimum 1 and Blue maximum 1 in the wavelength ranges”).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is fully incorporated herein.
Petluri et al in the combination further teach wherein the first narrow light emitter has a peak wavelength in the range of about four hundred forty nanometers (440 nm) to about four hundred and sixty nanometers (460 nm) (see para [0067]; “third LED strings can have LEDs having a peak wavelength between about 405 nm and about 485 nm, between about 430 nm and about 460 nm, between about 430 nm and about 455 nm, between about 430 nm and about 440 nm, between about 440 nm and about 450 nm, between about 440 nm and about 445 nm, or between about 445 nm and about 450 nm”, see also para [0099]; “first LED string is driven by a blue LED having peak emission wavelength of approximately 450 nm to approximately 455 nm, utilizes a recipient luminophoric medium”).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is fully incorporated herein.
Petluri et al in the combination further teach wherein the second narrow light emitter emits a yellowish light (see para [0073]; “the yellow channel can produce yellow light having a spectral power distribution that falls within the ranges between the Exemplary Yellow Channels Minimum and the Exemplary Yellow Channels Maximum in the wavelength ranges shown in one or more of Tables 13-15”).
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is fully incorporated herein.
Petluri et al in the combination further teach wherein the second narrow light emitter has a peak wavelength in the range of about five hundred and sixty nanometers (560 nm) to about five hundred and eighty-five nanometers (585 nm) (see table 13; “Yellow Channels Maximum 560 < 580 < 600 < 620 < 640 < 660 < 680 < 700 < 720 < 740 < 760 < 780 < λ ≤ 580 λ ≤ 600 λ ≤ 620 λ ≤ 640 λ ≤ 660 λ ≤ 680 λ ≤ 700 λ ≤ 720 λ ≤ 740 λ ≤ 760 λ ≤ 780 λ ≤ 800”).
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is fully incorporated herein.
Petluri et al in the combination further teach wherein when the first and second narrow light emitters are energized the composite light that is emitted is characterized by a COI value of greater than 20 (see table 24)
.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is fully incorporated herein.
Petluri et al in the combination further teach wherein when the first and second narrow light emitters are energized the composite light that is emitted is characterized by a COI in the range of about 21 to about 46 (see Table 24)
.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is fully incorporated herein.
Petluri et al in the combination further teach wherein at least one of the first and second narrow light-emitters comprises a light-emitting diode (LED), an organic light-emitting diode (OLED), a fluorescent lamp, a vapor discharge lamp, or an HID lamp (see para [00013]; “semiconductor light emitting devices comprising first, second, third, and fourth LED strings, with each LED string comprising one or more LEDs having an associated luminophoric medium”).
Regarding claim 9, Petluri et al teach a lamp (see [0008]; “LED lamps have been provided that include two or more LEDs that each emit a light of a different color”) comprising: at least two light-emitting elements having a combined light emission when energized (see para [0008]; “by simultaneously energizing red, green and blue LEDs, the resulting combined light may appear white, or nearly white, depending on, for example, the relative intensities, peak wavelengths and spectral power distributions of the source red, green and blue LEDs”); and wherein when the at least two light-emitting elements are energized the lamp generates light exhibiting a correlated color temperature (CCT) of between about 2000 Kelvin (2000o K) to about 50,000o K (see para [0013]; “the constant CCT line of 9000K, the Planckian locus between 9000K and 4600K, the constant CCT line of 4600K, and the spectral locus”, see also para [0086]; “the lighting systems can be operated in a high-CRI mode to produce white light having CCT from about 1800K to about 10000K. In some implementations, the lighting systems can be operated in a highest-CRI mode to produce white light having CCT from about 1800K to about 10000K”), having a cyanosis observation index (COI) in the range of about 21 and 46 (see table 24), and having a CRI value of between about -13 and 41 (see para [0005]; “the CRI is a relative measure of the shift in surface color of an object when lit by a particular lamp as compared to a reference light source, typically either a black-body radiator or the daylight spectrum. The higher the CRI value for a particular light source, the better that the light source renders the colors of various objects it is used to illuminate. Color rendering performance may be characterized via standard metrics known in the art. Fidelity Index (Rf) and the Gamut Index (Rg) can be calculated based on the color rendition of a light source for 99 color evaluation samples (“CES”)….. Rf values range from 0 to 100”). However, Petluti does not disclose which when energized inhibits the optical imaging of subcutaneous veins.
In the same field of endeavor, Stefan teaches which when energized inhibits the optical imaging of subcutaneous veins (see para [0022]; “one or more light-emitting diodes (LED) are mounted as the light source in or on the light fixture. …. Use of blue-color LED's is, for example, well suited to the color design of the portable toilet and also conceals the colors of soiling. A blue-color light also makes it more difficult for drug addicts to locate their veins, reducing the attractiveness of this facility for illicit purposes”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filling date of the invention to modify a method for semiconductor light emitting devices, with two or more of blue, red, short-blue-pumped cyan, long-blue-pumped cyan, yellow, and violet channels provide different biological effects while having good color rendering capability of Petluri et al. in view of methods for A light source in the housing is energizeable to emit light from the side through the roof and into the cabin of Stefan in order to get light into the cabin and to provide a secure mount for the light fixture (see para [0022]).
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 9 is fully incorporated herein.
Petluri et al in the combination further teach wherein at least one of the light-emitting elements comprises a light-emitting diode (LED), an organic light-emitting diode (OLED), a fluorescent lamp, a vapor discharge lamp, or an HID lamp (see para [00013]; “semiconductor light emitting devices comprising first, second, third, and fourth LED strings, with each LED string comprising one or more LEDs having an associated luminophoric medium”).
Regarding claim 9, Petluri et al teach method for providing a lamp (see [0008]; “LED lamps have been provided that include two or more LEDs that each emit a light of a different color”) comprising: (a) identifying a target chromaticity point having a ccy value within +/-0.02 of the blackbody locus and having a (ccy, ccx) point lying within the CCT range of 2,000 degrees Kelvin (2,000o K) and 50,000o K (see para [0013]; “The blue color region can comprise a region on the 1931 CIE Chromaticity Diagram comprising the combination of a region defined by a line connecting the ccx, ccy color coordinates of the infinity point of the Planckian locus (0.242, 0.24) and (0.12, 0.068), the Planckian locus from 4000K and infinite CCT, the constant CCT line of 4000K”); (b) identifying a target cyanosis observation index (COI) value greater than 4.0 desired for the lamp (see table 24)
; (c) identifying a target CRI value desired for the lamp (see para [0047]; “For CCTs less than 5000K, the reference illuminants used in the CRI calculation procedure are the SPDs of blackbody radiators”); (d) choosing a plurality, “n,” of light sources having distinct emissions (ccxi, ccyi), where i=2 to n, such that the color triangle formed by at least one set of three (ccxi, ccyi) values contains the target chromaticity point or for that scenario where only two light sources having distinct emission are chosen, a line connecting their (ccxi, ccyi) values that includes the target (ccx, ccy); (e) combining the light sources from step (d) in a ratio such that the target (ccx, ccy) value is obtained (see para [0046]; “The light emitted by a light source may be represented by a point on a chromaticity diagram, such as the 1931 CIE chromaticity diagram, having color coordinates denoted (ccx, ccy) on the X-Y axes of the diagram. A region on a chromaticity diagram may represent light sources having similar chromaticity coordinates. The color points described in the present disclosure can be within color-point ranges defined by geometric shapes on the 1931 CIE Chromaticity Diagram that enclose a defined set of ccx, ccy color coordinate. It should be understood that any gaps or openings in any described or depicted boundaries for color-point ranges should be closed with straight lines to connect adjacent endpoints in order to define a closed boundary for each color-point range”); (f) calculating the COI using the AS/NZS 1680 standard (see para [0053]; “The cyanosis observation index (“COI”) is defined by AS/NZS 1680.2.5 Interior Lighting Part 2.5”); (g) calculating the CCT from the ccx, ccy coordinates of the combined light sources from (see para [0013]; “The blue color region can comprise a region on the 1931 CIE Chromaticity Diagram comprising the combination of a region defined by a line connecting the ccx, ccy color coordinates of the infinity point of the Planckian locus (0.242, 0.24) and (0.12, 0.068), the Planckian locus from 4000K and infinite CCT, the constant CCT line of 4000K, …), a line connecting the ccx, ccy color coordinates of the infinity point of the Planckian locus (0.242, 0.24) and (0.12, 0.068), and the Planckian locus from 4000K and infinite CCT”) (d); (h) calculating the CRI of the system (see para [0047]; “the reference illuminants used in the CRI calculation procedure are the SPDs of blackbody radiators”); (i) comparing the calculated COI to the target COI from step (b) (see para [00053]; “If a light source's output around 660 nm is too low a patient's skin color may appear darker and may be falsely diagnosed as cyanosed. If a light source's output at 660 nm is too high, it may mask any cyanosis, and it may not be diagnosed when it is present. COI is a dimensionless number and is calculated from the spectral power distribution of the light source. The COI value is calculated by calculating the color difference between blood viewed under the test light source and viewed under the reference lamp (a 4000 K Planckian source) for 50% and 100% oxygen saturation and averaging the results. The lower the value of COI, the smaller the shift in color appearance results under illumination by the source under consideration”); (j) comparing the calculated CRI to the target CRI from (c) (see para [0086]; “the lighting systems can be operated in a high-CRI mode to produce white light having CCT from about 1800K to about 10000K. In some implementations, the lighting systems can be operated in a highest-CRI mode to produce white light having CCT from about 1800K to about 10000K”);; and (k) if the target values are not achieved, returning to step (d) and choosing additional or replacement light sources that satisfy the condition of step (d) and repeating steps (e)-(j) until the targets are met, or, if the target values are achieved, (l) constructing and measuring the illumination system to ensure compliance with the target values established in steps (a)-(c). (see para [0013]; “The devices can further include a control circuit can be configured to adjust a fifth color point of a fifth unsaturated light that results from a combination of the first, second, third, and fourth unsaturated light, with the fifth color point falls within a 7-step MacAdam ellipse around any point on the black body locus having a correlated color temperature between 1800K and 10000K. The devices can be configured to generate the fifth unsaturated light corresponding to a plurality of points along a predefined path with the light generated at each point having light with Rf greater than or equal to about 88, Rg greater than or equal to about 98 and less than or equal to about 104, or both”, see also para [0084]; “the desired saturated color point of a recipient luminophoric medium can be achieved by blending two or more luminescent materials in a ratio. The appropriate ratio to achieve the desired saturated color point can be determined via methods known in the art. Generally speaking, any blend of luminescent materials can be treated as if it were a single luminescent material, thus the ratio of luminescent materials in the blend can be adjusted to continue to meet a target CIE value for LED strings having different peak emission wavelengths. Luminescent materials can be tuned for the desired excitation in response to the selected LEDs used in the LED strings (101A-F), which may have different peak emission wavelengths within the range of from about 360 nm to about 535 nm” Note: the selection and weighing of light sources may be iteratively adjusting until the desired metrics are achieved). However, Petluti does not disclose which when energized inhibits the optical imaging of subcutaneous veins.
In the same field of endeavor, Stefan teaches which when energized inhibits the optical imaging of subcutaneous veins (see para [0022]; “one or more light-emitting diodes (LED) are mounted as the light source in or on the light fixture. …. Use of blue-color LED's is, for example, well suited to the color design of the portable toilet and also conceals the colors of soiling. A blue-color light also makes it more difficult for drug addicts to locate their veins, reducing the attractiveness of this facility for illicit purposes”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effecting filling date of the invention to modify a method for semiconductor light emitting devices, with two or more of blue, red, short-blue-pumped cyan, long-blue-pumped cyan, yellow, and violet channels provide different biological effects while having good color rendering capability of Petluri et al. in view of methods for a light source in the housing is energizeable to emit light from the side through the roof and into the cabin of Stefan in order to get light into the cabin and to provide a secure mount for the light fixture (see para [0022]).
Regarding claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is fully incorporated herein.
Petluri et al in the combination further teach wherein the selected COI value of the lamp is in the range of about 21 to about 46 (see table 24).
.
Regarding claim 13, the rejection of claim 11 is fully incorporated herein.
Petluri et al in the combination further teach wherein the selected CRI value of the lamp is in the range of about of about -13 and 41(see para [0005]; “the CRI is a relative measure of the shift in surface color of an object when lit by a particular lamp as compared to a reference light source, typically either a black-body radiator or the daylight spectrum. The higher the CRI value for a particular light source, the better that the light source renders the colors of various objects it is used to illuminate. Color rendering performance may be characterized via standard metrics known in the art. Fidelity Index (Rf) and the Gamut Index (Rg) can be calculated based on the color rendition of a light source for 99 color evaluation samples (“CES”)…..Rf values range from 0 to 100”).
Regarding claim 14, the rejection of claim 11 is fully incorporated herein.
Petluri et al in the combination further teach wherein at least one of the at least two light sources comprises a light-emitting diode (LED), an organic light-emitting diode (OLED), a fluorescent lamp, a vapor discharge lamp, or an HID lamp (see para [0013]; “semiconductor light emitting devices comprising first, second, third, and fourth LED strings, with each LED string comprising one or more LEDs having an associated luminophoric medium”).
Conclusion
/WINTA GEBRESLASSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 2677