DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 17, the recitation of “request to join” is vague and indefinite because it is not clear of who the “request” being broadcast to.
The dependent claims 2-8, 10-16 and 18-20 are also rejected because they are, directly or indirectly, depending from rejected claims 1, 9 and 17.
Regarding claim 2, the recitation of “accumulating, by the system, electricity” is vague and indefinite is vague and indefinite because it is unclear of how the system accumulates electricity. Moreover, the recitation of “intermediate battery” is unclear of how the “intermediate battery” is relate to the “system”.
The dependent claims 3-5 are also rejected because they are, directly or indirectly, depending from rejected claim 2.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 11 and 13, the recitation of “full” is unclear because it is a relative term. For example, the full percentage for some of the batteries is not the same for the others.
The dependent claim 12 is also rejected because they are, directly or indirectly, depending from rejected claim 11.
Regarding claims 4 and 12, the recitation of “communication with grid” is vague and indefinite because “grid” is not clearly defined.
Regarding claim 10, the recitation of “a vehicle component that accumulates electricity” is vague and indefinite because it is unclear of how the vehicle component accumulates electricity. Moreover, the recitation of “intermediate battery” is unclear of how the “intermediate battery” is relate to the “system”.
Claims 2 and 10 recite the limitation "the charging station" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The dependent claims 3-5 are also rejected because they are, directly or indirectly, depending from rejected claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-9, 14-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keefe (US 2010/0079004, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Keefe teaches a computer-implemented method (figs. 2 and 4), comprising: receiving, by a system (EVMS, [0025]) comprising a processor, a message from one or more vehicles (50, [0032]), wherein the message comprising an indication to discharge energy (step 430, [0048]); adding, by the system, the one or more vehicles to form a cluster of vehicles that provided the indication to discharge energy (step 440, [0048]); and broadcasting, by the system, request to join the cluster of vehicles upon formation the cluster (step 450, [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Keefe further teaches extracting, by the system, payment information from one or more vehicles connected to the charging station; and transmitting, by the system, payment suing the payment information to all cars that joined the cluster (figs. 5, 6, [0032]-[0035] and [0076]).
Regarding claim 7, Keefe further teaches wherein the message comprises vehicle information, amount of electricity for discharging, payment information, health of the battery, amount of time available to discharge ([0032]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 8, Keefe further teaches wherein the request comprises a charging station identification, a charging station location, a payment offer information ([0075] and [0076]).
Regarding claim 9, Keefe teaches a system (fig. 2), comprising a memory that stores computer executable components ([0025]); a processor (inherently includes in a EVMS, [0025]) that executes the computer executable components stored in the memory, wherein the computer executable components comprises: a communication component (80) that receives a message from one or more vehicles (50, [0032]), wherein the message comprising an indication to discharge energy (step 430, [0048]); a grid component (14) that adds the one or more vehicles to form a cluster of vehicles that provided the indication to discharge energy (step 440, [0048]); and the communication component that broadcasts a request to join the cluster of vehicles upon formation the cluster (step 450, [0049]).
Regarding claim 14, Keefe further teaches wherein the computer executable component further comprise: a vehicle component that extracts payment information from one or more vehicles connected to the charging station; and transmitting, by the system, payment suing the payment information to all cars that joined the cluster (figs. 5, 6, [0032]-[0035] and [0076]).
Regarding claim 15, Keefe further teaches wherein the message comprises vehicle information, amount of electricity for discharging, payment information, health of the battery, amount of time available to discharge ([0032]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 16, Keefe further teaches wherein the request comprises a charging station identification, a charging station location, a payment offer information ([0075] and [0076]).
Regarding claim 17, Keefe teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium ([0025]) , comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a processor (which inherently includes in EVMS), facilitate performance of operations, comprising: receiving, a message from one or more vehicles (50, [0032]), wherein the message comprising an indication to discharge energy (step 430, [0048]); adding the one or more vehicles to form a cluster of vehicles that provided the indication to discharge energy (step 440, [0048]); and broadcasting request to join the cluster of vehicles upon formation the cluster (step 450, [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, Keefe further teaches extracting payment information from one or more vehicles connected to the charging station; and transmitting, by the system, payment suing the payment information to all cars that joined the cluster (figs. 5, 6, [0032]-[0035] and [0076]).
Regarding claim 20, Keefe further teaches wherein the message comprises vehicle information, amount of electricity for discharging, payment information, health of the battery, amount of time available to discharge ([0032]-[0037]) and wherein the request comprises a charging station information, a charging station location, a payment offer information ([0075] and [0076]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 10-13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keefe in view of Beaston et al. (US 2017/0106764).
Regarding claims 2-5, 10-13 and 18, Keefe teaches all subject matter claimed as applied above. Keefe further teaches transmitting a notification indicating an amount of discharged by the vehicle ([0042] and [0043]) except for an intermediate battery and further limitations as claimed.
However, Beaston teaches one or more vehicles (102) connected to a charging station (103) and storing the electricity into an intermediate battery (106), comprising an indication that the intermediate battery is full (fig. 1A and [0058]).
In view of Beaston’s teaching, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Keefe by incorporating the teaching as taught by Beaston so that power can be stored in the battery energy storage system for later use (see Beaston: [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
References: Alarcon et al. (US 12,606,043); Gadoury et al. (US 2024/0203167); Furukawa et al. (US 2023/0138275); Hishida et al. (US 11,618,336) and Wild et al. (US 10,769,555) are cited because they are related to system and method for charging/discharging electric vehicle.
/TUYEN K VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876