DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claims 2, 5, and 7 have been presented in original form.
Claims 3, 6, 8, 16, and 17 have been previously presented.
Claim 4 has been cancelled.
Claims 9-15 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landers, Jr. et al. (US 2019/0096198) (hereinafter “Landers”), previously cited by the examiner, in view of Danyluk et al. (US 2019/0180352) (hereinafter “Danyluk”), newly cited by the examiner.
Regarding claim 1, Landers discloses a kiosk (300) comprising:
a processor (see para. [0040]);
a main body (fig. 3);
a first camera (317) and a second camera (320) both mounted to the main body (fig. 3, the first camera and the second camera each being in communication with the processor (see para. [0040]);
the first camera (317) being configured to detect and authenticate a user by capturing biometric data of the user for use by the processor to authenticate the user and to associate the authenticated user to a user account (paras. [0026]-[0027], [0042]); and
the second camera (320) being configured to detect at least one user selected product (paras. [0022], [0025], [0027], [0040]-[0041]);
wherein the processor uses machine learning to compare at least one entry in a preexisting database of images of products to the data and images collected by the second camera to identify the at least one user selected product (paras. [0022], [0025], [0027], [0040]-[0041]);
wherein the processor generates a list of products detected by the second camera (paras. [0027] describes the POS system producing a receipt); and
wherein the kiosk is in wireless communication with an application on a mobile device of the user (para. [0019]).
Landers fails to teach a mobile application being configured to enable the user to generate a shopping list, and wherein the processor is further configured to compare the list of products detected by the second camera with products in the shopping list on the user's mobile application, and wherein the processor is further configured to generate a notification when a product in the list of products detected by the second camera is not on the shopping list or when a product in the shopping list is missing from the list of products detected by the second camera.
Danyluk discloses a system (200) comprising a shopping cart including one or more cameras (212), a processor (216), and a transceiver (214), wherein the transceiver is configured to wirelessly communicate with a shopping application on a mobile device (220) (see para. [0051]), and wherein the shopping application being configured to enable the user to generate a shopping list (paras. [0048], [0051]). The system further comprises visual recognition software (227) which may be included in a shopping cart (210), wherein the visual recognition software is further configured to compare the list of products detected by the one or more cameras with products in the shopping list on the user's mobile application (paras. [0049], [0051], [0054]), and wherein the system is further configured to generate a notification when a product in the list of products detected by the one or more cameras is not on the shopping list (para. [0064]) or when a product in the shopping list is missing from the list of products detected by the one or more cameras (para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Landers and Danyluk in order to enhance the consumer’s shopping experience by providing means to easily store and access a shopping list, and assisting the consumer with locating and retrieving items on his/her shopping list.
Regarding claim 2, Landers as modified by Danyluk further discloses wherein the first camera is a biometrics camera (Landers, paras. [0026], [0042]).
Regarding claim 5, Landers as modified by Danyluk further discloses wherein the kiosk further includes a display screen (Landers, para. [0018]).
Claim(s) 3, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landers in view of Danyluk, and further in view of Buibas et al. (US 10,282,720) (hereinafter “Buibas”), previously cited by the examiner. The teachings of Landers as modified by Danyluk have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 3: Landers as modified by Danyluk discloses wherein the processor is further configured to charge the user account of the authenticated user for at least one product in the generated list of products (Landers, para. [0027]), but fails to specifically teach wherein the processor is configured to charge the user for at least one product in the generated list of products when either the first camera or the second camera detects the user walking away from the kiosk.
Buibas discloses an automated checkout system including a processor configured to charge a user for at least one product in a generated list of products when a camera detects the user exiting the store (col. 12, lines 46-59).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Landers/ Danyluk and Buibas in order to provide an alternative means of expediting a point-of-sale checkout process, thus improving customers checkout experience.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, Landers as modified by Danyluk fails to teach wherein the processor is further configured to apply a biometrics focused mask to an image output of the first camera to determine a focus point of the image and to apply a machine learning model to the masked image to authenticate the user; and wherein the processor, using the biometrics focused mask, is configured to retrieve depth data from the image where the focus point is located and to mask out background information outside of the retrieved depth data.
Buibas discloses a system that incorporates a background subtraction or motion filter algorithm, masking out the background from the foreground for images (col. 30, lines 18+).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Landers/Danyluk and Buibas in order to improve the image quality to expedite the process of identifying an individual.
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landers in view of Danyluk, and further in view of Ostrowski et al. (US 2005/0189411) (hereinafter “Ostrowski”), previously cited by the examiner. The teachings of Landers as modified by Danyluk have been discussed above.
Regarding claims 6-8: Landers as modified by Danyluk shows wherein the second camera (Landers, fig. 3, item 320) is configured to view a user shopping basket (Landers, fig. 3, item 343), but fails to specifically teach wherein the kiosk further includes a third camera that is pointed to view the contents of a user’s shopping cart, wherein the third camera is in communication with the processor, and wherein the processor is further configured to cause at least one a visual and audible notification to be generated when an item is left in the user cart.
Ostrowski discloses a checkout system including one or more visual sensors positioned to view the contents of a user’s shopping cart; and a processing unit, wherein the one or more visual sensors are in communication with the processor, and wherein the processor is configured to cause at least one a visual and audible notification to be generated when an item is left in the user cart (paras. [0037], [0039]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Landers/Danyluk and Ostrowski in order to prevent a customer from leaving a retail establishment without paying for all items in his/her cart, thus reducing fraudulent activities from shoppers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Glaser et al. (US 10,740,742)
Pedley et al. (US 2015/0379607)
Gumaru et al. (US 2019/0318417)
/APRIL A TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876