DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 11/17/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Landers, Jr. et al. (US 2019/0096198) (hereinafter referred to as Landers), previously cited by the examiner.
Re claims 1, and 2: Landers discloses a kiosk (300) comprising:
a processor (see para. [0040]);
a main body (fig. 3);
a first camera (317) and a second camera (320) both mounted to the main body (fig. 3, the first camera and the second camera each being in communication with the processor (see para. [0040]);
the first camera (317) being configured to detect and authenticate a user by capturing biometric data of the user for use by the processor to authenticate the user and to associate the authenticated user to a user account (paras. [0026]-[0027], [0042]); and
the second camera (320) being configured to detect at least one user selected product (paras. [0022], [0025], [0027], [0040]-[0041]);
wherein the processor uses machine learning to compare at least one entry in a preexisting database of images of products to the data and images collected by the second camera to identify the at least one user selected product (paras. [0022], [0025], [0027], [0040]-[0041]);
wherein the processor generates a list of products detected by the second camera (paras. [0027] describes the POS system producing a receipt);
wherein the first camera is a biometrics camera (paras. [0026], [0042]).
Re claim 5, Landers further discloses wherein the kiosk further includes a display screen (para. [0018]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landers in view of Ostrowski et al. (US 2005/0189411) (hereinafter referred to as Ostrowski). The teachings of Landers have been discussed above.
Re claim 3: Landers discloses wherein the processor is further configured to charge the user account of the authenticated user for at least one product in the generated list of products fails to specifically teach wherein the processor is further configured to charge the user for at least one product in the generated list of products (para. [0027]). Landers fails to specifically teach either the first camera or the second camera detects the user walking away and charging the user account based on detection.
Buibas discloses an automated checkout system including a processor configured to charge a user for at least one product in a generated list of products when a camera detects the user exiting the store (col. 12, lines 46-59).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Landers and Buibas in order to provide an alternative means of expediting a point-of-sale checkout process, thus improving customers checkout experience.
Re claims 6-8: Landers shows wherein the second camera (320) is configured to view a user shopping basket (343), but fails to specifically teach wherein the kiosk further includes a third camera that is pointed to view the contents of a user’s shopping cart, wherein the third camera is in communication with the processor, and wherein the processor is further configured to cause at least one a visual and audible notification to be generated when an item is left in the user cart.
Ostrowski discloses a checkout system including one or more visual sensors positioned to view the contents of a user’s shopping cart; and a processing unit, wherein the one or more visual sensors are in communication with the processor, and wherein the processor is configured to cause at least one a visual and audible notification to be generated when an item is left in the user cart (paras. [0037], [0039]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Landers and Ostrowski in order to prevent a customer from leaving a retail establishment without paying for all items in his/her cart.
Claim(s) 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landersin view of Buibas et al. (US 10,282,720) (hereinafter referred to as Buibas). The teachings of Landers have been discussed above.
Landers fails to teach wherein the processor is further configured to apply a biometrics focused mask to an image output of the first camera to determine a focus point of the image and to apply a machine learning model to the masked image to authenticate the user; and wherein the processor, using the biometrics focused mask, is configured to retrieve depth data from the image where the focus point is located and to mask out background information outside of the retrieved depth data.
Buibas discloses a system that incorporates a background substraction or motion filter algorithm, masking out the background from the foreground for images.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Landers and Buibas in order to improve the image quality to expedite the process of identifying a user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Daily (US 2008/0211671)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/APRIL A TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876