DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is responsive to RCE filed on 04/20/2026. Claims 1, 4, 14, and 20 are amended. Claims 1-8, and 10-20 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8, and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claim(s) 14 is/are drawn to method (i.e., a process), claim(s) 1, and 20 is/are drawn to a system (i.e., a machine/manufacture). As such, claims 1, 14, and 20 is/are drawn to one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claims 1-8, and 10-20 are directed to detect location and orientation of an object with respect to user equipment and output an advertisement via display based on parameters. Specifically, claim(s) 1, 14, and 20 recite(s) perform a positioning measurement or a sensing measurement for a set of object surrounding the UE; detect based on the positioning measurement or the sensing measurement, a relative location and a relative orientation of at least one object; select at least one advertisement in a set of advertisements based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object; identify, a set of features related to the at least one object; select a set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on (1) the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object and (2) the set of features related to the at least one object; and output, via at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters, which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept of (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) and Mental Processes and is similar to the concept of (concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgement, opinion) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)).
The Claim limitations are listed under Methods Of Organizing Human Activity, grouped as following:
perform a positioning measurement or a sensing measurement for a set of object surrounding the UE; detect based on the positioning measurement or the sensing measurement, a relative location and a relative orientation of at least one object; select at least one advertisement in a set of advertisements based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object; identify, a set of features related to the at least one object; select a set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on (1) the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object and (2) the set of features related to the at least one object; and output, via at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations),
select at least one advertisement in a set of advertisements based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations),
select a set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object; and output, via at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters; which is similar to the concept of (advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 54-55 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of the claim(s) such as apparatus, wireless communication, memory, processor, user equipment (UE) merely use(s) a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or generally link(s) the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment. Specifically, the apparatus, wireless communication, memory, processor, user equipment (UE) perform(s) the steps or functions of perform a positioning measurement or a sensing measurement for a set of object surrounding the UE; detect based on the positioning measurement or the sensing measurement, a relative location and a relative orientation of at least one object; select at least one advertisement in a set of advertisements based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object; identify, a set of features related to the at least one object; select a set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on (1) the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object and (2) the set of features related to the at least one object; and output, via at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a apparatus, wireless communication, memory, processor, user equipment (UE) to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of detect location and orientation of an object with respect to user equipment and output an advertisement via display based on parameters. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the apparatus, wireless communication, memory, processor, user equipment (UE) perform(s) the steps or functions of perform a positioning measurement or a sensing measurement for a set of object surrounding the UE; detect based on the positioning measurement or the sensing measurement, a relative location and a relative orientation of at least one object; select at least one advertisement in a set of advertisements based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object; identify, a set of features related to the at least one object; select a set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on (1) the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object and (2) the set of features related to the at least one object; and output, via at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
As for dependent claims 2-8, 10-13, and 15-19 further describe the abstract idea of detect location and orientation of an object with respect to user equipment and output an advertisement via display based on parameters. Claim(s) 2-8, 10-13, and 15-19 does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the additional element(s) of using a apparatus, wireless communication, memory, processor, user equipment (UE), display, sensor, camera to perform the steps amounts to no more than using a computer or processor to automate and/or implement the abstract idea of detect location and orientation of an object with respect to user equipment and output an advertisement via display based on parameters. As discussed above, taking the claim elements separately, the apparatus, wireless communication, memory, processor, user equipment (UE), display, sensor, camera perform(s) the steps or functions of display the at least one advertisement using at least one video if the at least one object is detected to be dynamic; or display the at least one advertisement using at least one static image if the at least one object is detected to be static; track a movement of the at least one object; and modify the output of the at least one advertisement based on the tracked movement of the at least one object; wherein to modify the output of the at least one advertisement based on the tracked movement of the at least one object, is configured to: display a relative direction between the at least one object and a location associated with the at least one advertisement based on the movement of the object; outputting the at least one advertisement, wherein the selection is based on at least one of the detected relative location or the detected relative orientation of the at least one object; perform a positioning measurement or a sensing measurement for a set of objects surrounding; and determine a presence of the at least one object in the set of objects based on the positioning measurement or the sensing measurement; wherein to output, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters, is configured to: output, a first advertisement in the at least one advertisement based on at least one of a first location or a first orientation of a first object in the at least one object; and output, a second advertisement in the at least one advertisement based on at least one of a second location or a second orientation of a second object in the at least one object; wherein the selection of the at least one advertisement in the set of advertisements or the selection of the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement is further based on at least one of: a time of a day, a weather condition, an environmental condition, or a lighting condition; receive a user input or a user desire to at least one advertisement, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the user input or the user desire; obtain profile information of at least one second UE, wherein the at least one second UE is within a same ecosystem of the UE, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the profile information. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of detect location and orientation of an object with respect to user equipment and output an advertisement via display based on parameters. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of detect location and orientation of an object with respect to user equipment and output an advertisement via display based on parameters. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, 12, 14, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koren, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180254001) in view of Lee et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210125227).
As to Claim 1, Koren teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:at least one memory; and (0008: memory),at least one processor (0037: processor) coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor, is configured to:perform, via at least one sensor or at least one camera, a positioning measurement or a sensing measurement for a set of objects surrounding the UE; (0034: Referring to FIG. 5, the vehicle orientation, acceleration and velocity changes in time as sensed by the GPS and Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) system. Camera 61 captures in real time the landscape and provides the information to the system for further image processing. The purpose of image processing is to lock the augmented (projected) object 31 on the real object 32.),detect, based on the positioning measurement or the sensing measurement, a relative location and a relative orientation of at least one object with respect to the UE; (0039: The process of FIG. 7 entails determining projection parameters based upon location, direction and speed. Projection parameters include gimbal and image settings and output. In step 70 the process is initiated, such by executing one or more programs on a computing device, such as a tablet equipped with a GPS chip set (GPS unit) and an inertial measurement unit (IMU). Location and course are detected with the GPS unit in step 71. IMU parameters (e.g., acceleration and angular rate) are detected in step 72. Objects to display in the vicinity of the vehicle, given the direction of travel and orientation of the vehicle, are selected in step 73. An object that corresponds to a real world object identified through a camera (e.g., CCD) is identified in step 74. The virtual image to be projected on the window for display is determined in step 75. The position and movement of the projected image is determined, along with the requisite gimbal parameters in step 76. Then the image is displayed in step 77. The process repeats as the vehicle travels. In this manner, relevant projected images overlay or complement real world objects. The projected images may by promotional, advertising, informational or entertaining.),select at least one advertisement in a set of advertisements based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object, and (0039: Objects to display in the vicinity of the vehicle, given the direction of travel and orientation of the vehicle, are selected in step 73 and then the image is displayed in step 77. The process repeats as the vehicle travels. In this manner, relevant projected images overlay or complement real world objects. The projected images may by promotional, advertising, informational or entertaining.),select a set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object; and (0039: parameters (e.g., acceleration and angular rate) are detected in step 72. Objects to display in the vicinity of the vehicle, given the direction of travel and orientation of the vehicle, are selected in step 73. An object that corresponds to a real world object identified through a camera (e.g., CCD) is identified in step 74. The virtual image to be projected on the window for display is determined in step 75. The position and movement of the projected image is determined, along with the requisite gimbal parameters in step 76 and relevant projected images overlay or complement real world objects. The projected images may by promotional, advertising, informational or entertaining.),output, via at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters; (0039: parameters (e.g., acceleration and angular rate) are detected in step 72. Objects to display in the vicinity of the vehicle, given the direction of travel and orientation of the vehicle, are selected in step 73. An object that corresponds to a real world object identified through a camera (e.g., CCD) is identified in step 74. The virtual image to be projected on the window for display is determined in step 75. The position and movement of the projected image is determined, along with the requisite gimbal parameters in step 76 and relevant projected images overlay or complement real world objects. The projected images may by promotional, advertising, informational or entertaining).
Koren does not teach identify, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object;
(2) the set of features related to the at least one object.
However Lee teaches identify, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object; (0172: The object detection device 210 can generate information about objects outside the vehicle 10. Information about an object can include at least one of information on presence or absence of the object, positional information of the object, information on a distance between the vehicle 10 and the object, and information on a relative speed of the vehicle 10 with respect to the object. The object detection device 210 can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one sensor which can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one of a camera, a radar, a lidar, an ultrasonic sensor and an infrared sensor. The object detection device 210 can provide data about an object generated on the basis of a sensing signal generated from a sensor to at least one electronic device included in the vehicle.),(2) the set of features related to the at least one object; (0172: The object detection device 210 can generate information about objects outside the vehicle 10. Information about an object can include at least one of information on presence or absence of the object, positional information of the object, information on a distance between the vehicle 10 and the object, and information on a relative speed of the vehicle 10 with respect to the object. The object detection device 210 can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one sensor which can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one of a camera, a radar, a lidar, an ultrasonic sensor and an infrared sensor. The object detection device 210 can provide data about an object generated on the basis of a sensing signal generated from a sensor to at least one electronic device included in the vehicle.)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koren to include identify, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object (2) the set of features related to the at least one object of Lee. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that identify, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object (2) the set of features related to the at least one object would provide more data for determination an advertisement to be displayed to the user which the user would be interested ion and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 4, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to:identify, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object, wherein the selection of the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement is further based on the identified set of features; (0172: The object detection device 210 can generate information about objects outside the vehicle 10. Information about an object can include at least one of information on presence or absence of the object, positional information of the object, information on a distance between the vehicle 10 and the object, and information on a relative speed of the vehicle 10 with respect to the object. The object detection device 210 can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one sensor which can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one of a camera, a radar, a lidar, an ultrasonic sensor and an infrared sensor. The object detection device 210 can provide data about an object generated on the basis of a sensing signal generated from a sensor to at least one electronic device included in the vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include identify, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object, wherein the selection of the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement is further based on the identified set of features. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that identify, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object, wherein the selection of the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement is further based on the identified set of features would provide more data for determination an advertisement to be displayed to the user which the user would be interested ion and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 6, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: track a movement of the at least one object; and modify the output of the at least one advertisement based on the tracked movement of the at least one object; (0027: display mounted in the AV, and wherein the advertisement displayed on the display may be changed to another advertisement in a predetermined period based on ambient information.), and (0033: obtain ambient information related to an ambient environment of a current lane where the AV is driving, set an order of priority for lanes in which the AV is drivable based on the ambient information, and drive the AV in a driving lane set based on the order of priority.), and (0356: When there are two left-turn lanes, the vehicle may take advantage of the driver's tendency to look in the direction the vehicle drives by driving in the leftmost lane. Thus, the vehicle may efficiently provide advertisements to the drivers of vehicles driving in the lane to the right of the leftmost lane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: track a movement of the at least one object; and modify the output of the at least one advertisement based on the tracked movement of the at least one object. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: track a movement of the at least one object; and modify the output of the at least one advertisement based on the tracked movement of the at least one object would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 7, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 6.
Lee further teaches wherein to modify the output of the at least one advertisement based on the tracked movement of the at least one object, the at least one processor, is configured to:display a relative direction between the at least one object and a location associated with the at least one advertisement based on the movement of the object; (0356: When there are two left-turn lanes, the vehicle may take advantage of the driver's tendency to look in the direction the vehicle drives by driving in the leftmost lane. Thus, the vehicle may efficiently provide advertisements to the drivers of vehicles driving in the lane to the right of the leftmost lane) and (0357: When there are two or more left-turn lanes but no sidewalk, the first lane is not always set as the driving lane. For example, referring to FIG. 19B, the advertising vehicle may drive in the first lane according to the method described above in connection with FIG. 19A while controlled to change the driving lane depending on the conditions of the ambient lanes. For example, when a plurality of vehicles A1, A2, A3, and A4 park in the first lane, and one vehicle A5 parks at the front of the second lane, the advertising vehicle ADV may shift to, and drive in, the second lane. In this case, the plurality of vehicles A1, A2, A3, and A4 parking in the first lane may be advertisees (or advertisee vehicles) on the left side of the advertising vehicle ADV. Vehicles A6 and A7 parking in the third lane may also be advertisees (or advertisee vehicles) on the right side of the advertising vehicle ADV. In this case, the position of the advertising vehicle and the congestion of vehicles in the ambient lanes, as well as the gaze directions of the drivers of the ambient vehicles, may be taken into account in determining the driving lane of the advertising vehicle as described above in connection with FIG. 19A. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the advertising vehicle may be controlled to change the area of advertisement as the congestion of vehicles in the ambient lanes varies after the driving lane is determined. For example, if after the advertising vehicle ADV changes from the first lane to the second lane, other vehicles park behind the advertising vehicle ADV in the example of FIG. 19B, the processor may control a rear display of the advertising vehicle ADV to display advertisements).
As to Claim 8, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein to output, via the at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters, the at least one processor, is configured to:select the at least one display from multiple displays for outputting the at least one advertisement, wherein the selection is based on at least one of the detected relative location or the detected relative orientation of the at least one object; (0356: When there are two left-turn lanes, the vehicle may take advantage of the driver's tendency to look in the direction the vehicle drives by driving in the leftmost lane. Thus, the vehicle may efficiently provide advertisements to the drivers of vehicles driving in the lane to the right of the leftmost lane) and (0357: When there are two or more left-turn lanes but no sidewalk, the first lane is not always set as the driving lane. For example, referring to FIG. 19B, the advertising vehicle may drive in the first lane according to the method described above in connection with FIG. 19A while controlled to change the driving lane depending on the conditions of the ambient lanes. For example, when a plurality of vehicles A1, A2, A3, and A4 park in the first lane, and one vehicle A5 parks at the front of the second lane, the advertising vehicle ADV may shift to, and drive in, the second lane. In this case, the plurality of vehicles A1, A2, A3, and A4 parking in the first lane may be advertisees (or advertisee vehicles) on the left side of the advertising vehicle ADV. Vehicles A6 and A7 parking in the third lane may also be advertisees (or advertisee vehicles) on the right side of the advertising vehicle ADV. In this case, the position of the advertising vehicle and the congestion of vehicles in the ambient lanes, as well as the gaze directions of the drivers of the ambient vehicles, may be taken into account in determining the driving lane of the advertising vehicle as described above in connection with FIG. 19A. According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, the advertising vehicle may be controlled to change the area of advertisement as the congestion of vehicles in the ambient lanes varies after the driving lane is determined. For example, if after the advertising vehicle ADV changes from the first lane to the second lane, other vehicles park behind the advertising vehicle ADV in the example of FIG. 19B, the processor may control a rear display of the advertising vehicle ADV to display advertisements).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include select the at least one display from multiple displays for outputting the at least one advertisement, wherein the selection is based on at least one of the detected relative location or the detected relative orientation of the at least one object. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that select the at least one display from multiple displays for outputting the at least one advertisement, wherein the selection is based on at least one of the detected relative location or the detected relative orientation of the at least one object would provide the advertisement where the user can see and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 12, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Lee further teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to:receive a user input or a user desire to display the at least one advertisement, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the user input or the user desire; (0248: S115 is a personal content provision scenario. The display system 350 can receive user personal data through the input device 310 or the communication device 330. The display system 350 can provide content corresponding to the user personal data.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receive a user input or a user desire to display the at least one advertisement, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the user input or the user desire. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that receive a user input or a user desire to display the at least one advertisement, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the user input or the user desire would provide the advertisement where the user can see and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 14, Koren teaches a method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:performing, via at least one sensor or at least one camera, a positioning measurement or a sensing measurement for a set of obi ects surrounding the UE; (0034: Referring to FIG. 5, the vehicle orientation, acceleration and velocity changes in time as sensed by the GPS and Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) system. Camera 61 captures in real time the landscape and provides the information to the system for further image processing. The purpose of image processing is to lock the augmented (projected) object 31 on the real object 32.),detecting, based on the positioning measurement or the sensing measurement, a relative location and a relative orientation of at least one object with respect to the UE; (0039: The process of FIG. 7 entails determining projection parameters based upon location, direction and speed. Projection parameters include gimbal and image settings and output. In step 70 the process is initiated, such by executing one or more programs on a computing device, such as a tablet equipped with a GPS chip set (GPS unit) and an inertial measurement unit (IMU). Location and course are detected with the GPS unit in step 71. IMU parameters (e.g., acceleration and angular rate) are detected in step 72. Objects to display in the vicinity of the vehicle, given the direction of travel and orientation of the vehicle, are selected in step 73. An object that corresponds to a real world object identified through a camera (e.g., CCD) is identified in step 74. The virtual image to be projected on the window for display is determined in step 75. The position and movement of the projected image is determined, along with the requisite gimbal parameters in step 76. Then the image is displayed in step 77. The process repeats as the vehicle travels. In this manner, relevant projected images overlay or complement real world objects. The projected images may by promotional, advertising, informational or entertaining.),selecting at least one advertisement in a set of advertisements based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object; (0039: Objects to display in the vicinity of the vehicle, given the direction of travel and orientation of the vehicle, are selected in step 73 and then the image is displayed in step 77. The process repeats as the vehicle travels. In this manner, relevant projected images overlay or complement real world objects. The projected images may by promotional, advertising, informational or entertaining.),selecting a set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on the detected relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object; and (0039: parameters (e.g., acceleration and angular rate) are detected in step 72. Objects to display in the vicinity of the vehicle, given the direction of travel and orientation of the vehicle, are selected in step 73. An object that corresponds to a real world object identified through a camera (e.g., CCD) is identified in step 74. The virtual image to be projected on the window for display is determined in step 75. The position and movement of the projected image is determined, along with the requisite gimbal parameters in step 76 and relevant projected images overlay or complement real world objects. The projected images may by promotional, advertising, informational or entertaining.),outputting, via at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters; (0039: parameters (e.g., acceleration and angular rate) are detected in step 72. Objects to display in the vicinity of the vehicle, given the direction of travel and orientation of the vehicle, are selected in step 73. An object that corresponds to a real world object identified through a camera (e.g., CCD) is identified in step 74. The virtual image to be projected on the window for display is determined in step 75. The position and movement of the projected image is determined, along with the requisite gimbal parameters in step 76 and relevant projected images overlay or complement real world objects. The projected images may by promotional, advertising, informational or entertaining).
Koren does not teach identifying, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object;
(2) the set of features related to the at least one object; and.
However Lee teaches identifying, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object; (0172: The object detection device 210 can generate information about objects outside the vehicle 10. Information about an object can include at least one of information on presence or absence of the object, positional information of the object, information on a distance between the vehicle 10 and the object, and information on a relative speed of the vehicle 10 with respect to the object. The object detection device 210 can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one sensor which can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one of a camera, a radar, a lidar, an ultrasonic sensor and an infrared sensor. The object detection device 210 can provide data about an object generated on the basis of a sensing signal generated from a sensor to at least one electronic device included in the vehicle.),(2) the set of features related to the at least one object; (0172: The object detection device 210 can generate information about objects outside the vehicle 10. Information about an object can include at least one of information on presence or absence of the object, positional information of the object, information on a distance between the vehicle 10 and the object, and information on a relative speed of the vehicle 10 with respect to the object. The object detection device 210 can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one sensor which can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one of a camera, a radar, a lidar, an ultrasonic sensor and an infrared sensor. The object detection device 210 can provide data about an object generated on the basis of a sensing signal generated from a sensor to at least one electronic device included in the vehicle.)..
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koren to include identifying, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object (2) the set of features related to the at least one object of Lee. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that identifying, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object (2) the set of features related to the at least one object would provide more data for determination an advertisement to be displayed to the user which the user would be interested ion and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 18, Koren and Lee teach the method of claim 14.
Lee further teaches tracking a movement of the at least one object; and modifying the output of the at least one advertisement based on the tracked movement of the at least one object; (0027: display mounted in the AV, and wherein the advertisement displayed on the display may be changed to another advertisement in a predetermined period based on ambient information.), and (0033: obtain ambient information related to an ambient environment of a current lane where the AV is driving, set an order of priority for lanes in which the AV is drivable based on the ambient information, and drive the AV in a driving lane set based on the order of priority.), and (0356: When there are two left-turn lanes, the vehicle may take advantage of the driver's tendency to look in the direction the vehicle drives by driving in the leftmost lane. Thus, the vehicle may efficiently provide advertisements to the drivers of vehicles driving in the lane to the right of the leftmost lane).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include tracking a movement of the at least one object; and modifying the output of the at least one advertisement based on the tracked movement of the at least one object. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that tracking a movement of the at least one object; and modifying the output of the at least one advertisement based on the tracked movement of the at least one object would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 20, Koren teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:means for performing, via at least one sensor or at least one camera, a positioning measurement or a sensing measurement for a set of objects surrounding the UE: (0034: Referring to FIG. 5, the vehicle orientation, acceleration and velocity changes in time as sensed by the GPS and Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU) system. Camera 61 captures in real time the landscape and provides the information to the system for further image processing. The purpose of image processing is to lock the augmented (projected) object 31 on the real object 32.),means for detecting, based on the positioning measurement or the sensing measurement; (0039: The process of FIG. 7 entails determining projection parameters based upon location, direction and speed. Projection parameters include gimbal and image settings and output. In step 70 the process is initiated, such by executing one or more programs on a computing device, such as a tablet equipped with a GPS chip set (GPS unit) and an inertial measurement unit (IMU). Location and course are detected with the GPS unit in step 71. IMU parameters (e.g., acceleration and angular rate) are detected in step 72. Objects to display in the vicinity of the vehicle, given the direction of travel and orientation of the vehicle, are selected in step 73. An object that corresponds to a real world object identified through a camera (e.g., CCD) is identified in step 74. The virtual image to be projected on the window for display is determined in step 75. The position and movement of the projected image is determined, along with the requisite gimbal parameters in step 76. Then the image is displayed in step 77. The process repeats as the vehicle travels. In this manner, relevant projected images overlay or complement real world objects. The projected images may by promotional, advertising, informational or entertaining.),means for selecting at least one advertisement in a set of advertisements based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object; (0039: Objects to display in the vicinity of the vehicle, given the direction of travel and orientation of the vehicle, are selected in step 73 and then the image is displayed in step 77. The process repeats as the vehicle travels. In this manner, relevant projected images overlay or complement real world objects. The projected images may by promotional, advertising, informational or entertaining.),means for selecting a set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object; and (0039: parameters (e.g., acceleration and angular rate) are detected in step 72. Objects to display in the vicinity of the vehicle, given the direction of travel and orientation of the vehicle, are selected in step 73. An object that corresponds to a real world object identified through a camera (e.g., CCD) is identified in step 74. The virtual image to be projected on the window for display is determined in step 75. The position and movement of the projected image is determined, along with the requisite gimbal parameters in step 76 and relevant projected images overlay or complement real world objects. The projected images may by promotional, advertising, informational or entertaining.),means for outputting, via at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters; (0039: parameters (e.g., acceleration and angular rate) are detected in step 72. Objects to display in the vicinity of the vehicle, given the direction of travel and orientation of the vehicle, are selected in step 73. An object that corresponds to a real world object identified through a camera (e.g., CCD) is identified in step 74. The virtual image to be projected on the window for display is determined in step 75. The position and movement of the projected image is determined, along with the requisite gimbal parameters in step 76 and relevant projected images overlay or complement real world objects. The projected images may by promotional, advertising, informational or entertaining).
Koren does not teach means for identifying, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object;
(2) the set of features related to the at least one object.
However Lee teaches means for identifying, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object; (0172: The object detection device 210 can generate information about objects outside the vehicle 10. Information about an object can include at least one of information on presence or absence of the object, positional information of the object, information on a distance between the vehicle 10 and the object, and information on a relative speed of the vehicle 10 with respect to the object. The object detection device 210 can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one sensor which can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one of a camera, a radar, a lidar, an ultrasonic sensor and an infrared sensor. The object detection device 210 can provide data about an object generated on the basis of a sensing signal generated from a sensor to at least one electronic device included in the vehicle.),(2) the set of features related to the at least one object; (0172: The object detection device 210 can generate information about objects outside the vehicle 10. Information about an object can include at least one of information on presence or absence of the object, positional information of the object, information on a distance between the vehicle 10 and the object, and information on a relative speed of the vehicle 10 with respect to the object. The object detection device 210 can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one sensor which can detect objects outside the vehicle 10. The object detection device 210 may include at least one of a camera, a radar, a lidar, an ultrasonic sensor and an infrared sensor. The object detection device 210 can provide data about an object generated on the basis of a sensing signal generated from a sensor to at least one electronic device included in the vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koren to include means for identifying, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object; (2) the set of features related to the at least one object of Lee. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that means for identifying, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object; (2) the set of features related to the at least one object would provide more data for determination an advertisement to be displayed to the user which the user would be interested ion and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
B. Claim(s) 2, 4, 11, 13, 15, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koren, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180254001) in view of Lee et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210125227) in view of Dawes et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20200380934).
As to Claim 2, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Koren and Lee do not teach wherein the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement includes at least one of: an amount of information to be displayed for the at least one advertisement, a font size for the at least one advertisement, a set of colors to be used for the at least one advertisement, a display brightness for the at least one advertisement, or a display angle for the at least one advertisement.
However Dawes teaches wherein the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement includes at least one of:an amount of information to be displayed for the at least one advertisement, a font size for the at least one advertisement, a set of colors to be used for the at least one advertisement, a display brightness for the at least one advertisement, or a display angle for the at least one advertisement; (0027: The brightness level to which the display screen is adjusted to may be determined based on the measurements taken by sensor devices 208a and 208b. For example, the advertisement personalization system may contain predetermined brightness settings associated with certain ranges of currents generated by photodiodes within sensor devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an amount of information to be displayed for the at least one advertisement, a font size for the at least one advertisement, a set of colors to be used for the at least one advertisement, a display brightness for the at least one advertisement, or a display angle for the at least one advertisement. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that an amount of information to be displayed for the at least one advertisement, a font size for the at least one advertisement, a set of colors to be used for the at least one advertisement, a display brightness for the at least one advertisement, or a display angle for the at least one advertisement would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 4, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Koren and Lee do not teach wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object includes at least one of an estimated age or age group, a gender, a height, a brand, a color, or a condition related to the at least one object, wherein the selection of the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement is further based on the identified set of features.
However Dawes teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object includes at least one of an estimated age or age group, a gender, a height, a brand, a color, or a condition related to the at least one object, wherein the selection of the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement is further based on the identified set of features; (abstract: The system determines the relative motion of the audience to the advertisement and the audience demographics to determine advertisement content and format.), and (0018: demographic information (e.g., age group, place of residence, income level, or place of employment), identity, any suitable information associated with facial features, or any combination thereof. In some embodiments, information from communication with user devices within a proximity of the advertisement includes identities of users associated with respective user devices, the number of user devices, the types of user devices, the mobile carriers of the respective devices, any suitable information communicable through commercial wireless bands (e.g., Wi-Fi, 4G LTE, or Bluetooth), or any combination thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object includes at least one of an estimated age or age group, a gender, a height, a brand, a color, or a condition related to the at least one object, wherein the selection of the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement is further based on the identified set of features. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: identify, via the at least one sensor or the at least one camera, a set of features related to the at least one object includes at least one of an estimated age or age group, a gender, a height, a brand, a color, or a condition related to the at least one object, wherein the selection of the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement is further based on the identified set of features would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 11, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Koren and Lee do not teach wherein the selection of the at least one advertisement in the set of advertisements or the selection of the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement is further based on at least one of: a time of a day, a weather condition, an environmental condition, or a lighting condition.
However Dawes teaches wherein the selection of the at least one advertisement in the set of advertisements or the selection of the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement is further based on at least one of: a time of a day, a weather condition, an environmental condition, or a lighting condition; (0027: the advertisement format of advertisement 206a is determined based on information captured from sensors 208a and 208b about environment 202a. In some embodiments, the advertisement formatting includes the brightness level of the display screen on cargo container 204. Brightness indicator 212a reflects a 75% maximum brightness level for the display screen on which advertisement 206a is displayed. Sensor devices 208a and 208b may include video cameras and photodiode arrays, which capture information about the presence of the audience within vehicle 210, their position and viewing angle relative to the rear display screen of cargo container 204, and the amount of sunlight incoming towards the rear display screen. For example, environment 202a, indicative of sunny weather at 2:50 PM, prevents the audience of vehicle 210 from properly seeing advertisement 206a in the absence of proper advertisement formatting (e.g., an incoming ray of sunlight is reflecting off of the rear display screen and is preventing the audience within vehicle 210 from properly seeing the screen). In response to receiving a large amount of current generated by the photodiode arrays of sensors 208a and 208b, the control circuitry of the advertisement personalization system may determine there is a glare caused by the large amount of incoming sunlight. To remove the interference from the glare, the advertisement personalization system may alter the formatting of the advertisement by raising the brightness level of the display screen. The brightness level to which the display screen is adjusted to may be determined based on the measurements taken by sensor devices 208a and 208b. For example, the advertisement personalization system may contain predetermined brightness settings associated with certain ranges of currents generated by photodiodes within sensor devices.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the selection of the at least one advertisement in the set of advertisements or the selection of the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement is further based on at least one of: a time of a day, a weather condition, an environmental condition, or a lighting condition. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the selection of the at least one advertisement in the set of advertisements or the selection of the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement is further based on at least one of: a time of a day, a weather condition, an environmental condition, or a lighting condition would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 13, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Koren and Lee do not teach obtain profile information of at least one second UE, wherein the at least one second UE is within a same ecosystem of the UE, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the profile information.
However Dawes teaches obtain profile information of at least one second UE, wherein the at least one second UE is within a same ecosystem of the UE, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the profile information; (0048: the advertisement personalization system uses the profile photo of an audience member to determine that the user is interested in the Eiffel Tower and determines that the advertisement content should include travel promotions for airlines traveling to Paris. In some embodiments, social media profile information includes scheduling information (e.g., an audience member has an upcoming dinner with a friend) and allows control circuitry to determine that the advertisement content should include a food item, restaurant location, a price of a food item, travel time necessary to arrive at the restaurant location, or any combination thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include obtain profile information of at least one second UE, wherein the at least one second UE is within a same ecosystem of the UE, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the profile information. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that obtain profile information of at least one second UE, wherein the at least one second UE is within a same ecosystem of the UE, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the profile information would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 15, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 14.
Koren and Lee do not teach an amount of information to be displayed for the at least one advertisement, a font size for the at least one advertisement, a set of colors to be used for the at least one advertisement, a display brightness for the at least one advertisement, or a display angle for the at least one advertisement.
However Dawes teaches an amount of information to be displayed for the at least one advertisement, a font size for the at least one advertisement, a set of colors to be used for the at least one advertisement, a display brightness for the at least one advertisement, or a display angle for the at least one advertisement; (0027: The brightness level to which the display screen is adjusted to may be determined based on the measurements taken by sensor devices 208a and 208b. For example, the advertisement personalization system may contain predetermined brightness settings associated with certain ranges of currents generated by photodiodes within sensor devices).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an amount of information to be displayed for the at least one advertisement, a font size for the at least one advertisement, a set of colors to be used for the at least one advertisement, a display brightness for the at least one advertisement, or a display angle for the at least one advertisement. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that an amount of information to be displayed for the at least one advertisement, a font size for the at least one advertisement, a set of colors to be used for the at least one advertisement, a display brightness for the at least one advertisement, or a display angle for the at least one advertisement would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 19, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 14.
Koren and Lee do not teach obtaining profile information of at least one second UE, wherein the at least one second UE is within a same ecosystem of the UE, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the profile information.
However Dawes teaches obtaining profile information of at least one second UE, wherein the at least one second UE is within a same ecosystem of the UE, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the profile information; (0048: the advertisement personalization system uses the profile photo of an audience member to determine that the user is interested in the Eiffel Tower and determines that the advertisement content should include travel promotions for airlines traveling to Paris. In some embodiments, social media profile information includes scheduling information (e.g., an audience member has an upcoming dinner with a friend) and allows control circuitry to determine that the advertisement content should include a food item, restaurant location, a price of a food item, travel time necessary to arrive at the restaurant location, or any combination thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include obtaining profile information of at least one second UE, wherein the at least one second UE is within a same ecosystem of the UE, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the profile information. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that obtaining profile information of at least one second UE, wherein the at least one second UE is within a same ecosystem of the UE, wherein the output of the at least one advertisement is further based on the profile information would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
C. Claim(s) 3, 5, 10, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koren, (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180254001) in view of Burckart et al., (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20110093330).
As to Claim 3, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Koren and Lee do not teach wherein to select the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on the relative location and the detected relative orientation of the at least one object, the at least one processor, is configured to: select the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on a distance of the at least one object from the UE, a movement of the at least one object with respect to the UE.
However Burckart teaches wherein to select the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on the relative location and the detected relative orientation of the at least one object, the at least one processor, is configured to:select the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on a distance of the at least one object from the UE, a movement of the at least one object with respect to the UE, and at least one of: (0017: The advertising controller may determine the distance from the advertising vehicle to the proximate vehicle, for example, by receiving positional data associated with the proximate vehicle. The positional data may include, for example, data such as GPS coordinates of the proximate vehicle, coordinates derived by triangulation between multiple wireless communication towers to identify an approximate location of the proximate vehicle, or other positional data as appropriate for a given implementation. The advertising controller may calculate the distance based upon a difference between the positional data (e.g., GPS coordinates of the proximate vehicle and GPS coordinates of the advertising vehicle, triangulation coordinates derived by triangulation between multiple wireless communication towers to identify an approximate location of the proximate vehicle and the advertising vehicle, or other positional data as appropriate for a given implementation). The advertising controller may also and/or alternatively determine the distance from the advertising vehicle to the proximate vehicle by determining a received signal strength associated with signaling received from the proximate vehicle via an inter-vehicle wireless network and calculating the distance based upon the received signal strength.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein to select the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on the relative location and the detected relative orientation of the at least one object, the at least one processor, is configured to: select the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on a distance of the at least one object from the UE, a movement of the at least one object with respect to the UE. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein to select the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on the relative location and the detected relative orientation of the at least one object, the at least one processor, is configured to: select the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on a distance of the at least one object from the UE, a movement of the at least one object with respect to the UE would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 5, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Koren and Lee do not teach wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: detect whether the at least one object is static or dynamic, wherein to output the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters, the at least one processor, is configured to: display the at least one advertisement using at least one video if the at least one object is detected to be dynamic; or display the at least one advertisement using at least one static image if the at least one object is detected to be static.
However Burckart teaches wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: detect whether the at least one object is static or dynamic, wherein to output the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters, the at least one processor, is configured to: display the at least one advertisement using at least one video if the at least one object is detected to be dynamic; or display the at least one advertisement using at least one static image if the at least one object is detected to be static; (0014: The advertising controller may determine this associated revenue value. The advertising controller may select one or more of the associated advertisements with a highest revenue value or highest combination of revenue values. Advertisements may be periodically changed and a static or a changing group of selected advertisements may be iteratively shown and/or changed to further enhance revenue potential for the advertising vehicle and businesses associated with the destination of the proximate vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: detect whether the at least one object is static or dynamic, wherein to output the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters, the at least one processor, is configured to: display the at least one advertisement using at least one video if the at least one object is detected to be dynamic; or display the at least one advertisement using at least one static image if the at least one object is detected to be static. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein the at least one processor, is further configured to: detect whether the at least one object is static or dynamic, wherein to output the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters, the at least one processor, is configured to: display the at least one advertisement using at least one video if the at least one object is detected to be dynamic; or display the at least one advertisement using at least one static image if the at least one object is detected to be static would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 10, Koren and Lee teach the apparatus of claim 1.
Koren and Lee do not teach wherein to output, via the at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters, the at least one processor, is configured to: output, via a first display in the at least one display, a first advertisement in the at least one advertisement based on at least one of a first location or a first orientation of a first object in the at least one object; and output, via a second display in the at least one display, a second advertisement in the at least one advertisement based on at least one of a second location or a second orientation of a second object in the at least one object.
However Burckart teaches wherein to output, via the at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters, the at least one processor, is configured to:output, via a first display in the at least one display, a first advertisement in the at least one advertisement based on at least one of a first location or a first orientation of a first object in the at least one object; and output, via a second display in the at least one display, a second advertisement in the at least one advertisement based on at least one of a second location or a second orientation of a second object in the at least one object; (0059: determines a second or additional destination associated with another of the one or more of the proximate vehicle(s), such as a subset of the proximate vehicle(s), the process 400 may select and display advertisements associated with the second or additional destination. For example, where one of the advertising displays is viewable by occupants of a subset (e.g., one) of the proximate vehicle(s), and a second of the advertising displays is viewable by occupants of a second subset (e.g., one) of the proximate vehicle(s), the process 400 may display an advertisement associated with the respective destinations to the respective occupants. Many other variations on the present subject matter are possible and all are considered within the scope of the present subject matter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein to output, via the at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters, the at least one processor, is configured to: output, via a first display in the at least one display, a first advertisement in the at least one advertisement based on at least one of a first location or a first orientation of a first object in the at least one object; and output, via a second display in the at least one display, a second advertisement in the at least one advertisement based on at least one of a second location or a second orientation of a second object in the at least one object. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein to output, via the at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters, the at least one processor, is configured to: output, via a first display in the at least one display, a first advertisement in the at least one advertisement based on at least one of a first location or a first orientation of a first object in the at least one object; and output, via a second display in the at least one display, a second advertisement in the at least one advertisement based on at least one of a second location or a second orientation of a second object in the at least one object would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 16, Koren and Lee teach the method of claim 14.
Koren and Lee do not teach wherein selecting the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object comprises: selecting the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on a distance of the at least one object from the UE, a movement of the at least one object with respect to the UE, and at least one of: a height of the at least one object with respect to the UE, or a motion state associated with the UE.
However Burckart teaches wherein selecting the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object comprises: selecting the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on a distance of the at least one object from the UE, a movement of the at least one object with respect to the UE, and at least one of: a height of the at least one object with respect to the UE, or a motion state associated with the UE; (0017: The advertising controller may determine the distance from the advertising vehicle to the proximate vehicle, for example, by receiving positional data associated with the proximate vehicle. The positional data may include, for example, data such as GPS coordinates of the proximate vehicle, coordinates derived by triangulation between multiple wireless communication towers to identify an approximate location of the proximate vehicle, or other positional data as appropriate for a given implementation. The advertising controller may calculate the distance based upon a difference between the positional data (e.g., GPS coordinates of the proximate vehicle and GPS coordinates of the advertising vehicle, triangulation coordinates derived by triangulation between multiple wireless communication towers to identify an approximate location of the proximate vehicle and the advertising vehicle, or other positional data as appropriate for a given implementation). The advertising controller may also and/or alternatively determine the distance from the advertising vehicle to the proximate vehicle by determining a received signal strength associated with signaling received from the proximate vehicle via an inter-vehicle wireless network and calculating the distance based upon the received signal strength.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein selecting the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object comprises: selecting the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on a distance of the at least one object from the UE, a movement of the at least one object with respect to the UE, and at least one of: a height of the at least one object with respect to the UE, or a motion state associated with the UE. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that wherein selecting the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object comprises: selecting the set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on a distance of the at least one object from the UE, a movement of the at least one object with respect to the UE, and at least one of: a height of the at least one object with respect to the UE, or a motion state associated with the UE would provide more data for determination an advertisement to be displayed to the user which the user would be interested ion and that would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
As to Claim 17, Koren and Lee teach the method of claim 14.
Koren and Lee do not teach detecting whether the at least one object is static or dynamic, wherein outputting the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters comprises: displaying the at least one advertisement using at least one video if the at least one object is detected to be dynamic; or displaying the at least one advertisement using at least one static image if the at least one object is detected to be static.
However Burckart teaches detecting whether the at least one object is static or dynamic, wherein outputting the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters comprises: displaying the at least one advertisement using at least one video if the at least one object is detected to be dynamic; or displaying the at least one advertisement using at least one static image if the at least one object is detected to be static; (0014: The advertising controller may determine this associated revenue value. The advertising controller may select one or more of the associated advertisements with a highest revenue value or highest combination of revenue values. Advertisements may be periodically changed and a static or a changing group of selected advertisements may be iteratively shown and/or changed to further enhance revenue potential for the advertising vehicle and businesses associated with the destination of the proximate vehicle.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include displaying the at least one advertisement using at least one video if the at least one object is detected to be dynamic; or displaying the at least one advertisement using at least one static image if the at least one object is detected to be static. Motivation to do so comes from the knowledge well known in the art that detecting whether the at least one object is static or displaying the at least one advertisement using at least one video if the at least one object is detected to be dynamic; or displaying the at least one advertisement using at least one static image if the at least one object is detected to be static would increase the likelihood that the user will review and engage with such advertisement and that would promote an increase in the sales and would therefore make the method/system more profitable.
NPL Reference
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The NPL “Displays on Wheels: New Developments in Automotive Exterior Displays” describes “The idea of attaching a sign or image to a vehicle probably dates back to some ancient Roman merchant who decorated his delivery wagon, but it wasn’t until the 21st century that exterior vehicle signage went digital. And now, the emergence of new technologies such as e-paper displays and smart glass have expanded the options for exterior automotive displays. In particular, the rise of autonomous vehicles is spurring a need for new communication mechanisms between the car and other vehicles and pedestrians around it. The first electronic vehicle displays showed up on taxis, with panels installed on the taxi roof called “car tops” for obvious reasons. At first, they were very basic, consisting of a single printed panel with a backlight. The design then progressed to simple LED arrays that could show different messages in alphanumeric text, and then to LCD display panels. In 2014, “smart” displays were introduced that could show dynamic images and video content. Today’s smart car-tops are integrated with more sophisticated controllers that can do “hyper targeting”—changing display content dynamically based on real-time triggers such as location, weather, and live events.”.
Pertinent Art
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Reference#20230396958 teaches similar invention which describes aspects presented herein may improve the performance of mobile/computer applications. Aspects presented herein may enable mobile/computer applications to differentiate entities that are associated with UEs or entities running the navigations applications, thereby enabling the mobile/computer applications (or their associated servers) to have a more accurate understanding of the conditions surrounding the UEs and their users. In one aspect, a network node obtains first information including at least one feature associated with a plurality of devices. The network node selects a first subset of the plurality of devices for a measurement based on the at least one feature associated with the plurality of devices (or the network node may exclude a second subset of the plurality of devices from the measurement).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant argues that the amendments should overcome the 101 rejection. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As for Step 2A Prong One, of the Abstract idea is directed towards the abstract idea of detect location and orientation of an object with respect to user equipment and output an advertisement via display based on parameters which is grouped within the Methods Of Organizing Human Activity and is similar to the concept of (commercial or legal interactions including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors business relations) grouping of abstract ideas in prong one of step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 54 (January 7, 2019)). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea (See pages 7, 10, Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., US Supreme Court, No. 13-298, June 19, 2014; 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 53-54 (January 7, 2019)), (MPEP § 2106.04).
As for Step 2A Prong Two, the claim limitations do not include additional elements in the claim that apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, and the claim is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the judicial exception and the claim limitation simply describe the abstract idea. The limitation directed to perform a positioning measurement or a sensing measurement for a set of object surrounding the UE; detect based on the positioning measurement or the sensing measurement, a relative location and a relative orientation of at least one object; select at least one advertisement in a set of advertisements based on the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object; identify, a set of features related to the at least one object; select a set of parameters for outputting the at least one advertisement based on (1) the relative location and the relative orientation of the at least one object and (2) the set of features related to the at least one object includes at least one of an estimated age or age group, a gender, a higher, a brand, a color, or a condition related to the at least one object; and output, via at least one display associated with the UE, the at least one advertisement using the selected set of parameters. The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)), the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (Vanda Memo), the claims do not apply the abstract idea with, or by use of, a particular machine (MPEP 2106.05(b)), the claims do not effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05(c)), and the claims do not apply or use the abstract idea in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP 2106.05(e) and Vanda Memo). Therefore, the claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of a computer. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Accordingly, the additional elements do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea, and the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
As for Step 2B, The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when analyzed under step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test (See 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. 50, 52, 56 (January 7, 2019)), the limitation directed to detect location and orientation of an object with respect to user equipment and output an advertisement via display based on parameters does not add significantly more to the abstract idea. Furthermore, using well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea does not constitute significantly more. The recitations to “apparatus, wireless communication, memory, processor, user equipment (UE)” are generically recited computer structure. These functions correspond to the actions required to perform the abstract idea. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claims merely recite the concept of detect location and orientation of an object with respect to user equipment and output an advertisement via display based on parameters. Therefore, the use of these additional elements does no more than employ the computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea. The use of a computer or processor to merely automate and/or implement the abstract idea cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)). Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
B. With regards to applicant's arguments with respect to 35 U.S.C 102/103 arguments has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/TAREK ELCHANTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3621B