DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/12/2023 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valko (US PgPub No. 2012/0287035).
Regarding claim 1, Valko teaches a computing device (figure 2; computing device 100) comprising: a camera comprising an array of pixels and subpixels configured to generate image data (paragraph 0007 and 0093 pixels used in verity of ways i.e. array of pixels and subpixels; the body detector may be implemented using an image sensor that has a lower resolution than that used for the face detector); and an image processor (figure 2 item 104 connected to item 105) configured to reduce power consumption of the computing device (abstract and paragraphs 0005, 0021, 0024, 0040, 0085, 0102, and 0105 - 0106; power control via power saving and/or power efficiency) by: performing image processing of the image data to determine human presence in proximity to the computing device (figure 5 items 302 – 308); increasing the image processing incrementally in response to a determination that a human may be advancing towards the computing device (figure 2 items 106 and 112 activated when a human may be advancing towards the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth); and decreasing the image processing incrementally in response to a determination that the human retreated from the computing device (figure 2 items 106 activated when a human retreated from the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth).
Regarding claim 2, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches wherein a determination that the human may be advancing towards the computing device comprises a series of indications in the image data, including at least two of the following: detecting a color change in at least one subpixel in the array of subpixels; detecting a color change in at least one pixel in the array of pixels; detecting a color change in the camera in a heat map mode; detecting a human form in the heat map mode; or detecting a human form at one or more camera resolutions (paragraphs 0027 – 0031 detection of subject using various systems).
Regarding claim 3, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches a central processing unit (figure 2 item 105; CPU), wherein the image processor comprises an image processor configured to indicate the determined human presence to the central processing unit for operating mode changes of the central processing unit (paragraphs 0029 and 0108; human body; additionally, abstract and paragraphs 0005, 0021, 0041, and 0054 person).
Regarding claim 4, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches wherein the image processor is further configured perform at least one of the following: in association with decreasing the image processing, decreasing power provided to the camera (abstract and paragraphs 0005, 0021, 0024, 0040, 0085, 0102, and 0105 - 0106; power control via power saving and/or power efficiency; figure 2 items 106 activated when a human retreated from the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth); or in association with increasing the image processing, increasing power provided to the camera (abstract and paragraphs 0005, 0021, 0024, 0040, 0085, 0102, and 0105 - 0106; power control via power saving and/or power efficiency; figure 2 items 106 and 104 activated when a human may be advancing towards the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth).
Regarding claim 5, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches wherein the image processor is further configured to reduce power consumption of the computing device by performing at least one of the following in association with decreasing the image processing: decreasing a field of view of the camera (figure 2 item 112 changes or deactivates operation of item 118 to change field of view sensing for reduce power consumption when needed according to item 106); or deactivating a number of pixels or subpixels in the camera (figure 2 item 112 changes or deactivates operation of item 118 to change field of view sensing for reduce power consumption when needed according to item 106).
Regarding claim 6, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches wherein the image processor is further configured to perform at least one of the following in association with increasing the image processing: increasing the field of view of the camera (figure 2 item 112 changes or activates operation of item 118 to change field of view sensing for increase processing and power consumption when needed according to item 106); or activating a number of pixels or subpixels in the camera (figure 2 item 112 changes or activates operation of item 118 to change field of view sensing for increase processing and power consumption when needed according to item 106).
Regarding claim 7, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 1, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches wherein decreasing the image processing incrementally comprises changing from performing image processing of image data generated by the array of pixels to performing image processing of image data generated by a first subset of pixels in the array of pixels in response to the image processing indicating that the human retreated from the computing device (paragraphs 0027 – 0031 detection of subject using various systems); or wherein increasing the image processing incrementally comprises changing from performing image processing of image data generated by the first subset of pixels in the array of pixels to performing image processing of image data generated by the array of pixels in response to the image processing indicating that the human is close enough to interact with the computing device (figure 2 items 106 and 112 activated when a human may be advancing towards the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth).
Regarding claim 8, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 7, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches wherein decreasing the image processing incrementally comprises changing from performing image processing of image data generated by the first subset of pixels in the array of pixels to performing image processing of image data generated by a second, smaller, subset of pixels in the array of pixels in response to the image processing indicating that the human continued to retreat or remained absent from the computing device (paragraphs 0027 – 0031 detection of subject using various systems including size change of detection); or wherein increasing the image processing incrementally comprises changing from performing image processing of image data generated by the second subset of pixels in the array of pixels to performing image processing of image data generated by the first subset of pixels in the array of pixels in response to the image processing indicating that the human continued to advance towards the computing device (figure 2 items 106 and 112 activated when a human may be advancing towards the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth).
Regarding claim 9, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 8, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches wherein decreasing the image processing incrementally comprises changing the image processing from performing image processing of the image data generated by the second subset of pixels in the array of pixels to performing heatmap image processing of the second subset of pixels in response to the image processing indicating that there has been no human presence for a period of time (paragraphs 0027 – 0031 detection of subject using various systems including size change of detection including large set of data points may be collected, classified and stored for using in the presence determination i.e. heatmap; additionally paragraph 0029 teaches that should be appreciated that other sensor types may be implemented as well, such as ultrasonic sensors, microwave RADAR, and so forth. Some of these technologies may be utilized to determine physiological parameters when a human is in proximity to the device. For example, RADAR may be used to detect and/or locate a heartbeat in the room. Moreover, various techniques and wavelengths of light may be implemented. For example, proximity may be determined using depth sensors. Some example depth sensor techniques may include: focusing and defocusing, active IR reflected power, active IR structured light; active IR time of flight (2D+depth), active IR time of flight (single pixel sensor), passive IR (motion detector), passive IR thermal imaging (2D), stereo vision, polarization techniques, and so forth. In some embodiments, active IR may user multiple specific IR wavelengths to detect certain unique material properties, such as reflectivity of human skin or carbon dioxide emissions in breath. As such, the particular embodiments described herein are merely presented as examples and are not limiting), or wherein increasing the image processing incrementally comprises changing the image processing from performing the heatmap image processing of the image data generated by the second subset of pixels to performing image processing of the second subset of pixels in response to the image processing indicating that there has been no human presence for a period of time (figure 2 items 106 and 112 activated when a human may be advancing towards the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth).
Regarding claim 10, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 9, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches wherein decreasing the image processing incrementally comprises changing the image processing from performing image processing of the image data generated by one pixel to performing image processing of the image data generated by one subpixel in response to the image processing indicating that there has been no human presence for a period of time (paragraphs 0027 – 0031 detection of subject using various systems including size change of detection including large set of data points may be collected, classified and stored for using in the presence determination i.e. heatmap; additionally paragraph 0029 teaches that should be appreciated that other sensor types may be implemented as well, such as ultrasonic sensors, microwave RADAR, and so forth. Some of these technologies may be utilized to determine physiological parameters when a human is in proximity to the device. For example, RADAR may be used to detect and/or locate a heartbeat in the room. Moreover, various techniques and wavelengths of light may be implemented. For example, proximity may be determined using depth sensors. Some example depth sensor techniques may include: focusing and defocusing, active IR reflected power, active IR structured light; active IR time of flight (2D+depth), active IR time of flight (single pixel sensor), passive IR (motion detector), passive IR thermal imaging (2D), stereo vision, polarization techniques, and so forth. In some embodiments, active IR may user multiple specific IR wavelengths to detect certain unique material properties, such as reflectivity of human skin or carbon dioxide emissions in breath. As such, the particular embodiments described herein are merely presented as examples and are not limiting), or wherein increasing the image processing incrementally comprises changing the image processing from performing image processing of the image data generated by one subpixel to performing image processing of the image data generated by one pixel in response to the image processing indicating that there may be initial human presence after a period of time without an indication of human presence (figure 2 items 106 and 112 activated when a human may be advancing towards the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth).
Regarding claim 11, Valko teaches a method (abstract; method of operating a computing device), comprising: reducing power consumption (abstract and paragraphs 0005, 0021, 0024, 0040, 0085, 0102, and 0105 - 0106; power control via power saving and/or power efficiency) of a computing device (figure 2; computing device 100) by: performing image processing of image data generated by a camera comprising an array of pixels and subpixels to determine (paragraph 0007 and 0093 pixels used in verity of ways i.e. array of pixels and subpixels; the body detector may be implemented using an image sensor that has a lower resolution than that used for the face detector) human presence in proximity to the computing device (figure 5 items 302 – 308); increasing the image processing incrementally in response to a determination that a human may be advancing towards the computing device (figure 2 items 106 and 112 activated when a human may be advancing towards the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth); and decreasing the image processing incrementally in response to a determination that the human retreated from the computing device (figure 2 items 106 activated when a human retreated from the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth).
Regarding claim 12, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches wherein a determination that the human may be advancing towards the computing device comprises a series of indications in the image data, including at least two of the following: detecting a color change in at least one subpixel in the array of subpixels; detecting a color change in at least one pixel in the array of pixels; detecting a color change in the camera in a heat map mode; detecting a human form in the heat map mode; or detecting a human form at one or more camera resolutions (paragraphs 0027 – 0031 detection of subject using various systems).
Regarding claim 13, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches indicating the determined human presence to a central processing unit for operating mode changes of the central processing unit (paragraphs 0029 and 0108; human body; additionally, abstract and paragraphs 0005, 0021, 0041, and 0054 person).
Regarding claim 14, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches performing at least one of the following: in association with decreasing the image processing, decreasing power provided to the camera (abstract and paragraphs 0005, 0021, 0024, 0040, 0085, 0102, and 0105 - 0106; power control via power saving and/or power efficiency; figure 2 items 106 activated when a human retreated from the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth); or in association with increasing the image processing, increasing power provided to the camera (abstract and paragraphs 0005, 0021, 0024, 0040, 0085, 0102, and 0105 - 0106; power control via power saving and/or power efficiency; figure 2 items 106 and 104 activated when a human may be advancing towards the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth).
Regarding claim 15, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches performing at least one of the following: in association with decreasing the image processing, decreasing a field of view of the camera (figure 2 item 112 changes or deactivates operation of item 118 to change field of view sensing for reduce power consumption when needed according to item 106); or in association with increasing the image processing, increasing the field of view of the camera (figure 2 item 112 changes or activates operation of item 118 to change field of view sensing for increase processing and power consumption when needed according to item 106).
Regarding claim 16, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 11, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches performing at least one of the following: in association with decreasing the image processing, deactivating a number of pixels or subpixels in the camera (figure 2 item 112 changes or deactivates operation of item 118 to change field of view sensing for reduce power consumption when needed according to item 106); or in association with increasing the image processing, activating the number of pixels or subpixels in the camera (figure 2 item 112 changes or activates operation of item 118 to change field of view sensing for increase processing and power consumption when needed according to item 106).
Regarding claim 17, Valko teaches computer-readable storage device (note paragraph 0099 of the specification as filed says that the computer-readable storage device do not include communication media and propagating signals and refer to physical hardware media) having instructions recorded thereon that, when executed (paragraphs 0030 – 0031, 0035, 0037, and 0040), implement a method comprising: reducing power consumption of a computing device by: performing image processing of image data generated by a camera comprising an array of pixels and subpixels to determine (paragraph 0007 and 0093 pixels used in verity of ways i.e. array of pixels and subpixels; the body detector may be implemented using an image sensor that has a lower resolution than that used for the face detector) human presence in proximity to the computing device (figure 5 items 302 – 308); increasing the image processing incrementally in response to a determination that a human may be advancing towards the computing device (figure 2 items 106 and 112 activated when a human may be advancing towards the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth); and decreasing the image processing incrementally in response to a determination that the human retreated from the computing device (figure 2 items 106 activated when a human retreated from the computing device; also paragraphs 0025 and 0041; movement toward the device may activate more features, such as providing more options/menus in a user interface, whereas movement away from the device may reduce the number of features available to a user, such as reducing the number of menus/options and/or reducing or increasing the size of the options displayed; determined how close the user is to the device; if the user is facing the device, if the user is moving away/toward the device; and so forth).
Regarding claim 18, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 17, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches wherein a determination that the human may be advancing towards the computing device comprises a series of indications in the image data, including at least two of the following: detecting a color change in at least one subpixel in the array of subpixels; detecting a color change in at least one pixel in the array of pixels; detecting a color change in the camera in a heat map mode; detecting a human form in the heat map mode; or detecting a human form at one or more camera resolutions (paragraphs 0027 – 0031 detection of subject using various systems).
Regarding claim 19, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 17, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches performing at least one of the following: in association with decreasing the image processing, decreasing a field of view of the camera (figure 2 item 112 changes or deactivates operation of item 118 to change field of view sensing for reduce power consumption when needed according to item 106); or in association with increasing the image processing, increasing the field of view of the camera (figure 2 item 112 changes or activates operation of item 118 to change field of view sensing for increase processing and power consumption when needed according to item 106).
Regarding claim 20, as mentioned above in the discussion of claim 17, Valko teaches all of the limitations of the parent claim. Additionally, Valko teaches performing at least one of the following: in association with decreasing the image processing, deactivating a number of pixels or subpixels in the camera (figure 2 item 112 changes or deactivates operation of item 118 to change field of view sensing for reduce power consumption when needed according to item 106); or in association with increasing the image processing, activating the number of pixels or subpixels in the camera (figure 2 item 112 changes or activates operation of item 118 to change field of view sensing for increase processing and power consumption when needed according to item 106).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
XU (US PgPub No. 20220239846) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Suto (US Patent No. 11341668) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Verma (US Patent No. 11265462) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Carrafa (US Patent No. 10799109) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Posa (US PgPub No. 20120038796) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Abernethy (US PgPub No. 20110296163) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
LE DORTZ (US Patent No. 20200264311) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Lee (US Patent No. 20190258864) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Valko (US Patent No. 20170193282) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Vashishtha (US Patent No. 20170169570) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Vashishtha (US Patent No. 10019648) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Stein (US Patent No. 9223013) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Yoon (US Patent No. 9167150) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Gonzales (US Patent No. 6933979) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Oku (US Patent No. 6791461) teaches a system for distance detection and processing.
Usman Khan
/USMAN A KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637
12/09/2025