Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 04/02/2026, with respect to claims 1-17 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-3, 8, 15-17 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Iketani (JP2012145022) and Lee (KR20160097589).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Barker (GB2501952) in view of Iketani (JP2012145022) and Lee (KR20160097589).
As to independent claim 1, Barker teaches an electric machine (2), comprising: a housing (10) at least partially defining a chamber (see figure 3); a chamber the chamber having an inlet (56) for a fluid passage to an exterior of the housing (10) , a rotor (24) disposed in the housing (10); the rotor (24) having an outlet (96) with a plurality of outlet portions (see figure 16) and an impeller (76) disposed at least partially in the chamber (see figure 3) and coupled with the rotor (24) the impeller (76) having a set of impeller blades (see figure 3) the set of impeller blades moving the fluid from the chamber (see figure 3) to the inlet (56) and into the fluid passage as shown in figures 3 and 16.
Barker teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except the plurality of outlet portions being disposed between respective adjacent pairs of the set of impeller blades, the plurality of outlet portions providing a fluid exiting from the rotor into the chamber.
Iketeni teaches the plurality of outlet portions (24) being disposed between respective adjacent pairs of the set of impeller blades (18a) as shown in figures 1 and 2, for the advantageous benefit of providing a technology which allows the improvement of lubricity between a rotor and a fixed shaft with a simple configuration.
Lee teaches the plurality of outlet portions (see annotated figure 1), the plurality of outlet portions (see annotated figure 1) providing a fluid exiting (80) from the rotor into the chamber (see annotated figure 1) as shown n figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of improving the performance of the pump and increasing the durability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Barker by using the plurality of outlet portions being disposed between respective adjacent pairs of the set of impeller blades, the plurality of outlet portions providing a fluid exiting from the rotor into the chamber, as taught by Iketeni and Lee, to provide a technology which allows the improvement of lubricity between a rotor and a fixed shaft with a simple configuration and improve the performance of the pump and increase the durability.
As to claim 15/1, Barker teaches wherein the housing(10) is devoid of a pump (see page 8, Lines 1-7).
Claim(s) 2-3, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barker (GB2501952), Iketani (JP2012145022) and Lee (KR20160097589) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Hathaway et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0217250).
As to claim 2/1, Barker in view of Iketani and Lee teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the fluid passage is a second fluid passage, the inlet is a second inlet, and the housing at least partially defines a first fluid passage and a second fluid passage, the second fluid passage fluidly coupled with the chamber; wherein the rotor has a third fluid passage fluidly coupled with the chamber; and wherein the electric machine further comprises: a first nozzle coupled with the housing and fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage; a first outlet defined by the first nozzle; a first inlet fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage; a second inlet and a second outlet fluidly coupled with the second fluid passage; and a second nozzle coupled with the rotor, at least partially aligned with the first nozzle, and defining a third inlet fluidly coupled with the third fluid passage; wherein the first nozzle is fluidly coupled with the second nozzle via a non- contact interface.
However Hathaway et al. teaches the fluid passage (see figure 3) is a second fluid passage (96), the inlet is a second inlet, and the housing (28) at least partially defines a first fluid passage (58) and a second fluid passage (96), the second fluid passage (96) fluidly coupled with the chamber (see figure 3); wherein the rotor (32) has a third fluid passage (60) fluidly coupled with the chamber; and wherein the electric machine (10) further comprises: a first nozzle (56) coupled with the housing (28) and fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage (58); a first outlet (52) defined by the first nozzle (56); a first inlet (see annotated figure 3) fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage (58); a second inlet (see annotated figure 3) and a second outlet (see annotated figure 3) fluidly coupled with the second fluid passage (96); and a second nozzle (66) coupled with the rotor (32), at least partially aligned with the first nozzle (56), and defining a third inlet (see annotated figure 3) fluidly coupled with the third fluid passage (60); wherein the first nozzle (56) is fluidly coupled with the second nozzle (66) via a non- contact interface as shown in figure 3, for the advantageous benefit of providing a reliability improvement, by eliminating the wear interface of a seal and has thickness sufficient to provide adequate mechanical rigidity without adding unnecessary weight.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Barker in view of Iketani and Lee by using the fluid passage is a second fluid passage, the inlet is a second inlet, and the housing at least partially defines a first fluid passage and a second fluid passage, the second fluid passage fluidly coupled with the chamber; wherein the rotor has a third fluid passage fluidly coupled with the chamber; and wherein the electric machine further comprises: a first nozzle coupled with the housing and fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage; a first outlet defined by the first nozzle; a first inlet fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage; a second inlet and a second outlet fluidly coupled with the second fluid passage; and a second nozzle coupled with the rotor, at least partially aligned with the first nozzle, and defining a third inlet fluidly coupled with the third fluid passage; wherein the first nozzle is fluidly coupled with the second nozzle via a non- contact interface, as taught by Hathaway et al., to provide a reliability improvement, by eliminating the wear interface of a seal and has thickness sufficient to provide adequate mechanical rigidity without adding unnecessary weight.
As to claim 3/2, Barker, Iketani and Lee in view of Hathaway et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the first nozzle and the second nozzle partially overlap in a radial direction.
However Hathaway et al. teaches the first nozzle (56) and the second nozzle (66) partially overlap in a radial direction as shown in figure 3, for the advantageous benefit of providing a reliability improvement, by eliminating the wear interface of a seal and has thickness sufficient to provide adequate mechanical rigidity without adding unnecessary weight.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Barker, Iketani and Lee in view of Hathaway et al. by using the first nozzle and the second nozzle partially overlap in a radial direction, as taught by Hathaway et al., to provide a reliability improvement, by eliminating the wear interface of a seal and has thickness sufficient to provide adequate mechanical rigidity without adding unnecessary weight.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barker (GB2501952), Iketani (JP2012145022) and Lee (KR20160097589) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of in view of Hirano (WO 2014125856).
As to claim 16/1, Barker in view of Iketani and Lee teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except the housing of the electric machine at least partially defining a first fluid passage; wherein the fluid passage is a second fluid passage and an accessory gearbox (AGB) mechanically coupled to drive the electric machine, the AGB comprising: a pump; and an AGB fluid passage fluidly coupled with the pump; wherein the AGB fluid passage is fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage of the electric machine.
However Hirano teaches the housing (1) of the electric machine at least partially defining a first fluid passage (61); wherein the fluid passage is a second fluid passage (1a) and an accessory gearbox (AGB) (5) mechanically coupled to drive the electric machine (4), the AGB comprising: a pump (63); and an AGB fluid passage (62) fluidly coupled with the pump (63) ; wherein the AGB fluid passage (62) is fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage (61) of the electric machine (4) as shown in figure 7, for the advantageous benefit of providing cooling to the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Barker in view of Iketani and Lee by using the housing of the electric machine at least partially defining a first fluid passage; wherein the fluid passage is a second fluid passage and an accessory gearbox (AGB) mechanically coupled to drive the electric machine, the AGB comprising: a pump; and an AGB fluid passage fluidly coupled with the pump; wherein the AGB fluid passage is fluidly coupled with the first fluid passage of the electric machine, as taught by Hirano, to provide cooling to the motor.
As to claim 17/16, Barker, Iketani and Lee in view of Hirano teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the housing of the electric machine at least partially defines a second fluid passage the AGB includes a second AGB fluid passage fluidly coupled with the second fluid passage of the electric machine.
However Hirano teaches the housing (1) of the electric machine (4) at least partially defines a second fluid passage (1b) the AGB includes a second AGB fluid passage (see figure 7) fluidly coupled with the second fluid passage (1b) of the electric machine (4) as shown in figure 7, for the advantageous benefit of providing cooling to the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Barker, Iketani and Lee in view of Hirano by using the housing of the electric machine at least partially defines a second fluid passage the AGB includes a second AGB fluid passage fluidly coupled with the second fluid passage of the electric machine, as taught by Hirano, to provide cooling to the motor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-7, 11-14, 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Note: claims 4-5 depend claim 3, claim 6 depends claim 2 , claim 7 depends claim 6, claim 11 depends claim 1, claims 12-13 depend claim 11, and claim 14 depends claim 13, claim 21 depends claim 1
Allows claims 9-10, Note: claims 10, depends claim 9.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 May 13, 2026