Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 and 7 are allowed.
Claim 2 includes limitations directed towards 2. (New) The roulette-gaming system of claim 1 further comprising: a first dome disposed over a first roulette wheel; a second dome disposed over a second roulette wheel; a first ball, wherein the first ball is disposed between the first dome and the first roulette wheel; and a second ball, wherein the second ball is disposed between the second dome and the second roulette wheel. The closest art of record Ellis teaches a roulette gaming system however it is silent with regards to the done the first ball and the second ball as shown above. These limitations when viewed in combination with any intervening and parent claims and any remaining limitations of the claim are seen to provide patentable distinction over the cited prior art of record.
Claim 7 includes limitations directed towards The roulette-gaming system of claim 1, further comprising a first roulette wheel, the first roulette wheel comprising 144 slots. The closest art of record Ellis teaches a roulette gaming system however it is silent with regards to the first roulette wheel comprising 144 slots. The utilization of the 144 slots when viewed in combination with any intervening and parent claims and any remaining limitations of the claim are seen to provide patentable distinction over the cited prior art of record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
The notations noted below apply to all rejections: In as much structure set forth by the applicant in the claims, the device is capable of use in the intended manner if so desired (See MPEP 2112). It should be noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, it meets the claim limitations. In a claim drawn to a process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 939, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). The intended use defined in the preamble and body of the claim breathes no life and meaning structurally different than that of the applied reference.
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis (US 20060178191 A1) in view of Walker (US 2010/0120487 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ellis teaches 1. A roulette-gaming system, the roulette-gaming system for effecting a multi-wheel roulette gaming experience, the roulette-gaming system comprising: See [0037+][0057+], a grouped series of roulette wheel assemblies, each roulette wheel assembly comprising a roulette wheel, a roulette ball, automated rotation means for rotating the roulette wheel, and automated launch means for launching the roulette ball, each roulette wheel comprising a plurality of ball-receiving sectors, each ball-receiving sector comprising a select wheel symbol, the roulette balls being respectively receivable in one of the ball-receiving sectors for providing a multi-sector event; See [0057+][0016+] wherein the automation is explicitly taught and the specifics of the rotation and ball launching means being automated are considered inherent to the use of a roulette wheel., central processing means, the central processing means for collecting the wagers, for governing the automated rotation and launch means, for comparing wagers to the multi-sector event, for calculating payouts to players should a wager match the multi-sector event, and for governing credits-debits during roulette gaming; and See [0097+][0112+], visual display means, the visual display means for visually displaying grouped roulette wheel assembly action to the player participation area, the grouped roulette wheel assembly action comprising the multi-sector event, the grouped wheel assembly action for effecting a multi-wheel roulette gaming experience. See [0078+]; Fig. 2;
Walker does teach what the primary reference is silent on including a player participation area, the player participation area for enabling grouped players participating, the player participation area being spatially separated from the roulette wheel assemblies and comprising a plurality of electronic input devices, the plurality of electronic input devices configured to receive wagers from a corresponding plurality of players among the grouped players participating, the wagers for identifying select wager symbols, the wheel and wager symbols having paired symbol correspondence; See Fig. 7 wherein the remote devices (78) or the player participation areas are separated from the roulette table. The user(s) may enter their wagers through the player participation areas which may include the symbols and the pair correspondence as is common in roulette betting. Additionally, the courts held that "Where the printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate, the printed matter will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability….[T]he critical question is whether there exists any new and unobvious functional relationship between the printed matter and the substrate." (See In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385-86, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983)) As such, the examiner views the symbols as being printed matter and no new or unobvious functional relationship exists between the printed matter and the substrate. Wherein the plurality of electronic input devices configured to receive the wagers is separate from the visual display means visually displaying the grouped roulette wheel assembly action. See Fig. 7 which shows the input devices separate from the display means.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the date of the effective filing, to modify Ellis with Walker to allow multiple remote users to place a wager on a roulette table.
Regarding claim 5, Ellis teaches 5. (New) The roulette-gaming system of claim 1, wherein select events form part of a progressive jackpot, and wherein the central processing means determines if an event provided by the roulette-gaming system is one of the select events. See [0118+] the examiner considers the processor determining the event to be inherit with the disclosure. Additionally, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) Moreover, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As such, the determination of events as claimed is the functioning of the system and does not differentiate over the cited prior art of record.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ellis (US 20060178191 A1) in view of Sokolov (US 20050167912 A1) and Walker (US 2010/0120487 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Sokolov teaches 6. (New) The roulette-gaming system of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of ball- receiving sectors is marked with a Mahjong symbol associated therewith. See [0136+] Additionally, the courts held that "Where the printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate, the printed matter will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability….[T]he critical question is whether there exists any new and unobvious functional relationship between the printed matter and the substrate." (See In re Gulack, 703 F.2d 1381, 1385-86, 217 USPQ 401, 404 (Fed. Cir. 1983)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the date of the effective filing, to modify Ellis with Sokolov to provide different indicia related to other games on a roulette wheel. ([0136+]).
Response to Arguments
With regards to the applicants’ arguments against the claims, the examiner has augmented the body of the rejections as presented above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ronin US 6083105 - Computerized roulette play.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY S VANDERVEEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3711