DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roach et al. (US 2015/0126303) in view of Matsunaga (EP 1757334).
Regarding claim 1, Roach et al. discloses a club head having an aft body with a crown portion, sole portion, and bridge portion connecting the crown portion and the sole portion. Roach also discloses a skirt portion formed between the outer perimeter of the sole portion at a rear end of the aft body (See Figure 14). The crown and sole portions are made of a lightweight material such as composite (See Paragraph 0079). Roach et al. also disclose the skirt being made of metal or polymer (See Paragraph 0074). The crown and sole have a thickness ranging from 0.015 to 0.025 inch, or 0.381 to 0.635mm (See Paragraph 0067). Roach et al. does not disclose if the sole is thicker than the crown. Matsunaga discloses a club head wherein the sole is thicker than the crown (See Paragraph 0016). Matsunaga notes that the thinner crown and thicker sole increases launch angle (See Summary of the Invention). One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have the sole thicker than the crown, as taught by Matsunaga, in order to increase the rigidity of the sole and increase the launch angle of the club head.
Regarding claim 2, see the above regarding claim 1.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Roach et al. (US 2015/0126303) in view of Stevens et al. (US 2005/0026714).
Regarding claim 13, Roach et al. discloses a club head having an aft body with a crown portion, sole portion, and bridge portion connecting the crown portion and the sole portion. Roach also discloses a skirt portion formed between the outer perimeter of the sole portion at a rear end of the aft body (See Figure 14). The crown and sole portions are made of a lightweight material such as composite (See Paragraph 0079). Roach et al. also disclose the skirt being made of metal or polymer (See Paragraph 0074). The crown and sole have a thickness ranging from 0.015 to 0.025 inch, or 0.381 to 0.635mm (See Paragraph 0067). Roach et al. does not disclose if ledges are present for attachment. Stevens et al. discloses a club head having an aft body with ledges 62a and 64a along the perimeter of the crown and sole (See Figures 7 and 8). The ledge facilitates attachment of a face portion to the aft body to assemble the club head. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have ledges on the crown and sole portions, as taught by Stevens et al., in order to attach the face portion to the aft body.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 9, and 10 of copending Application No. 18/501959 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Application 18/501959 does not claim the sole being thicker than the crown. Though not in claim 1 of Application 18/501959, claim 9 of Application 18/501959 claims the sole being thicker than the crown. Based on the above, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found claim 1 of the instant application to be obvious over Application 18/501959.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 13 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/501959 in view of Stevens et al. (US 2005/0026714). Application 18/501959 claims the same subject matter except for the ledges on the crown and sole portions. Stevens et al. discloses a club head having an aft body with ledges 62a and 64a along the perimeter of the crown and sole (See Figures 7 and 8). The ledge facilitates attachment of a face portion to the aft body to assemble the club head. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have ledges on the crown and sole portions, as taught by Stevens et al., in order to attach the face portion to the aft body.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-12 and 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ALVIN A HUNTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711