DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/3/2024, 11/21/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 1/10/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “an operable coupling” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an operable coupling” in claims 1 and 5 and “a coupling assembly” in claims 1, 5 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, the claims recite “an operable coupling between the internal unit and the external unit”. The term “operable coupling” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which the bridge operably couples between the internal unit and the external unit. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of bridge operably coupling the internal unit and the external unit. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, the claims recite “a coupling assembly extending within the heat pump system cavity and configured to couple with a wall below a sill of a window”. The term “assembly” invokes a claim interpretation governed under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph), which requires a review of the specification to determine the appropriate structure, material or act to carry out the claimed limitation. However, the specification as originally filed, fails to describe a corresponding structure or technique by which the heat pump system cavity is configured to couple with a wall below a sill of a window. A mere restatement of the function does not suffice as a statement of structure. Thus, it does not appear that applicant had possession of the claimed invention because the specification does not disclose a structure which is capable of coupling the heat pump system cavity to a wall below a sill of a window. When a description of the structure, material or act is not provided or is not sufficient to perform the entire claimed function, or no association between the structure and the claimed function can be found in the specification, the written description fails to clearly define the boundaries of the claim.
Claims 2-4, 6, 8-10 are rejected based on dependency from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 20250290663) in view of Eicher et al (US 20250207812).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a heat pump system (100), the heat pump system comprising: an internal unit (10) that includes: an internal unit heat exchanger (11), an internal unit fan (13), and an internal unit reservoir (12) disposed below the internal unit heat exchanger (fig. 2) and configured to receive fluid dripping from the internal unit heat exchanger (water, paragraph 0037); an external unit (20) that includes: an external unit heat exchanger(21), an external unit fan (23), and an external unit reservoir (22) disposed below the external unit heat exchanger and configured to receive fluid dripping from the external unit heat exchanger (water, paragraph 0037); and a fluid handling system (42, 31, 32, 33, 70) that includes: a first fluid line (41), a fluid pump (42) that pumps fluid from the internal unit reservoir into the external unit reservoir via the first fluid line (a second water conveying tube 41 having an end in communication with the indoor drain pan 12, and another end extending towards the outdoor unit assembly 20; and a second water conveying member 42 connected to the second water conveying tube 41, paragraph 0052), a sprayer (70) configured to obtain fluid from the external unit reservoir and expel the fluid obtained from the external unit reservoir into the outdoor space (The first water conveying member 32 can convey the water in the outdoor drain pan 22 to the sprayer device 70 through the first water conveying tube 31, the sprayer device 70 can transform the water in the outdoor drain pan 22 into the water mist and spray the water mist to the air outlet side of the outdoor fan 23. The water mist is blown away by the outdoor fan 23, paragraph 0048), the sprayer obtaining fluid from the collection area (area including 33, paragraph 0048) but fails to explicitly teach a bridge comprising an operable coupling between the internal unit and the external unit; a heat pump system cavity defined by the internal unit, the external unit and the bridge; a coupling assembly extending within the heat pump system cavity and configured to couple with a wall below a sill of a window, the wall being disposed within the heat pump system cavity such that the internal unit is disposed within an indoor space proximate to the window and with the external unit disposed in an outdoor space proximate to the window, and with the bridge and the operable coupling extending through the window and over the sill of the window; at least three sprayers disposed proximate to a front face and a bottom face of the external unit, wherein the external unit reservoir is defined as an integral part of an external unit housing base that comprises a linear slope with an angle θ of at least 5° to allow for fluid to drain toward a collection area of the external unit housing base, with the linear slope being from a rear face of the external unit reservoir toward a front face of the external unit reservoir.
However, Eicher teaches a bridge (106) comprising an operable coupling (pathway, paragraph 0042) between the internal unit and the external unit (fig. 1b); a heat pump system cavity (annotated fig. 1I below) defined by the internal unit, the external unit and the bridge; a coupling assembly (annotated fig. 2b) extending within the heat pump system cavity (understood the coupling assembly annotated would be connected within 104) and configured to couple with a wall below a sill of a window (annotated fig. 2b illustrates a coupling below the sill. Accordingly, the self-contained heat pump room conditioning unit 100 can be configured to straddle a window sill or another opening in a building envelope, paragraph 0042), the wall being disposed within the heat pump system cavity such that the internal unit is disposed within an indoor space (102 indoor portion, paragraph 0038) proximate to the window and with the external unit disposed in an outdoor space (104 outdoor portion, paragraph 0038) proximate to the window, and with the bridge and the operable coupling extending through the window and over the sill of the window (The bridge portion 106 can have a length sufficiently long to extend across a standard windowsill, paragraph 0043); at least three sprayers (502, one, three, four, five, six, or more nozzles can be included, paragraph 0050) disposed proximate to a front face and a bottom face of the external unit (fig. 5b), the external unit reservoir is defined as an integral part of an external unit housing base (area housing 122, 508, fig. 5b) that comprises a linear slope with an angle θ of at least 5° (the outdoor base pan 132 can be sloped to bias the flow of condensate to one or more desired locations for subsequent discharge or removal from the indoor base pan 126, paragraph 0041, one of ordinary skill the art would recognize a gradual slope for efficient collection) to allow for fluid to drain toward a collection area (locations, paragraph 0041) of the external unit housing base to efficiently cool the outdoor heat exchanging coil.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the heat pump system of Wang to include a bridge comprising an operable coupling between the internal unit and the external unit; a heat pump system cavity defined by the internal unit, the external unit and the bridge; a coupling assembly extending within the heat pump system cavity and configured to couple with a wall below a sill of a window, the wall being disposed within the heat pump system cavity such that the internal unit is disposed within an indoor space proximate to the window and with the external unit disposed in an outdoor space proximate to the window, and with the bridge and the operable coupling extending through the window and over the sill of the window; at least three sprayers disposed proximate to a front face and a bottom face of the external unit, wherein the external unit reservoir is defined as an integral part of an external unit housing base that comprises a linear slope with an angle θ of at least 5° to allow for fluid to drain toward a collection area of the external unit housing base in view of the teachings of Eicher to efficiently cool the outdoor heat exchanging coil.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach the linear slope being from a rear face of the external unit reservoir toward a front face of the external unit reservoir.
However, it has been held that an “obvious to try” rationale when choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is a support for a conclusion of obviousness which is consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham, if the following findings can be established: (1) a finding that at the time of the invention, there had been a recognized problem or need in the art, which may include a design need or market pressure to solve a problem; (2) a finding that there had been a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions to the recognized need or problem; (3) a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success; and (4) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness. See MPEP § 2143(I)(E).
In the instant case, and as per (1), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the teachings of Eicher regarding the slope of the external unit reservoir. In essence, Eicher considers an sloped external unit reservoir. As per (2), based on the above teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the reservoir can be sloped in a finite combination as follows: (A) front to rear (B) rear to front, or (C) pitched in the middle and sloped to the sides or side. As per (3), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that changing the slope of the external unit reservoir will not change the principles of operation of the prior art, nor would it render the prior art inoperable for its intended purpose, since water accumulation from the outdoor coil in Eicher will continue to operate regardless of the slope of the external unit reservoir. In other words, modifying the prior art to achieve any of the aforementioned combinations of (A), (B) and (C) can be done with a reasonable expectation of success. This is supported by the fact that Eicher considers the use of sloped base ban. As per (4), one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that choosing a direction of the slope can be done as a matter of routine optimization, in order to achieve a configuration of flow of condensate to one or more desired locations for subsequent discharge.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have taken the teachings of Eicher and to have modified them by having the linear slope being from a rear face of the external unit reservoir toward a front face of the external unit reservoir, as a matter of choosing a finite number of predictable solutions, in order to achieve a desired level of condensate flow, without yielding unpredictable results.
Regarding claims 3 and 19, the combined teachings teach the external unit reservoir is configured to hold between 3.5 to 5 Liters of fluid without overflowing (paragraph 0037, 0044, the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01, I.).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches a heat pump system (100), the heat pump system comprising: an internal unit (10); an external unit (20) that includes: an external unit heat exchanger(21), and an external unit reservoir (22) disposed below the external unit heat exchanger and configured to receive fluid dripping from the external unit heat exchanger (water, paragraph 0037); and a fluid handling system (42, 31, 32, 33, 70) that includes: a sprayer (70) configured to obtain fluid from the external unit reservoir and expel the fluid obtained from the external unit reservoir into the outdoor space (The first water conveying member 32 can convey the water in the outdoor drain pan 22 to the sprayer device 70 through the first water conveying tube 31, the sprayer device 70 can transform the water in the outdoor drain pan 22 into the water mist and spray the water mist to the air outlet side of the outdoor fan 23. The water mist is blown away by the outdoor fan 23, paragraph 0048) but fails to explicitly teach a bridge comprising an operable coupling between the internal unit and the external unit; a heat pump system cavity defined by the internal unit, the external unit and the bridge; at least three sprayers.
However, Eicher teaches a bridge (106) comprising an operable coupling (pathway, paragraph 0042) between the internal unit and the external unit (fig. 1b); a heat pump system cavity (annotated fig. 1I below) defined by the internal unit, the external unit and the bridge; at least three sprayers (502, one, three, four, five, six, or more nozzles can be included, paragraph 0050) (fig. 5b), to efficiently cool the outdoor heat exchanging coil.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the heat pump system of Wang to include a bridge comprising an operable coupling between the internal unit and the external unit; a heat pump system cavity defined by the internal unit, the external unit and the bridge; at least three sprayers in view of the teachings of Eicher to efficiently cool the outdoor heat exchanging coil.
Regarding claim 6, Wang, as modified, teaches an internal unit (10) that includes: an internal unit heat exchanger (11), and an internal unit reservoir (12) disposed below the internal unit heat exchanger (fig. 2) and configured to receive fluid dripping from the internal unit heat exchanger (water, paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach a coupling assembly (annotated fig. 2b of Eicher) extending within the heat pump system cavity (understood the coupling assembly annotated would be connected within 104 of Eicher) and configured to couple with a wall of a building (annotated fig. 2b illustrates a coupling. Accordingly, the self-contained heat pump room conditioning unit 100 can be configured to straddle a window sill or another opening in a building envelope, paragraph 0042 of Eicher), the wall being disposed within the heat pump system cavity such that the internal unit is disposed within an indoor space (102 indoor portion, paragraph 0038 of Eicher) proximate to the building and with the external unit disposed in an outdoor space (104 outdoor portion, paragraph 0038) proximate to the opening, and with the bridge and the operable coupling extending through the opening (paragraph 0042 of Eicher.
Regarding claim 8, Wang, as modified, teaches the fluid handling system (42, 31, 32, 33, 70) comprises a first fluid line (41), a fluid pump (42) that pumps fluid from the internal unit reservoir into the external unit reservoir via the first fluid line (a second water conveying tube 41 having an end in communication with the indoor drain pan 12, and another end extending towards the outdoor unit assembly 20; and a second water conveying member 42 connected to the second water conveying tube 41, paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach the least three sprayers (502, one, three, four, five, six, or more nozzles can be included, paragraph 0050) disposed proximate to a front face and a bottom face of the external unit (fig. 5b of Eicher).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach the external unit reservoir is defined as an integral part of an external unit housing base (area housing 122, 508, fig. 5b of Eicher) that comprises a linear slope with an angle θ of at least 5° (the outdoor base pan 132 can be sloped to bias the flow of condensate to one or more desired locations for subsequent discharge or removal from the indoor base pan 126, paragraph 0041 of Eicher, one of ordinary skill the art would recognize a gradual slope for efficient collection) to allow for fluid to drain toward a collection area (locations, paragraph 0041 of Want) of the external housing base, the at least three sprayers (502 of Eicher) obtaining fluid from the collection area (area including 33, paragraph 0048 of Wang).
Regarding claim 11, Wang teaches a heat pump system (100), the heat pump system comprising: an external unit (20) that includes: an external unit heat exchanger(21), and an external unit reservoir (22) disposed below the external unit heat exchanger and configured to receive fluid dripping from the external unit heat exchanger (water, paragraph 0037); and a fluid handling system (42, 31, 32, 33, 70) that includes: a sprayer (70) configured to obtain fluid from the external unit reservoir and expel the fluid obtained from the external unit reservoir into the outdoor space (The first water conveying member 32 can convey the water in the outdoor drain pan 22 to the sprayer device 70 through the first water conveying tube 31, the sprayer device 70 can transform the water in the outdoor drain pan 22 into the water mist and spray the water mist to the air outlet side of the outdoor fan 23. The water mist is blown away by the outdoor fan 23, paragraph 0048) but fails to explicitly teach one or more sprayers.
However, Eicher teaches one or more sprayers (502, one, three, four, five, six, or more nozzles can be included, paragraph 0050) to efficiently cool the outdoor heat exchanging coil.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the heat pump system of Wang to include a bridge comprising an operable coupling between the internal unit and the external unit; a heat pump system cavity defined by the internal unit, the external unit and the bridge; at least three sprayers in view of the teachings of Eicher to efficiently cool the outdoor heat exchanging coil.
Regarding claim 12, Wang, as modified teaches the external unit reservoir (22) disposed below the external unit heat exchanger and configured to receive fluid dripping from the external unit heat exchanger (water, paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 13, Wang, as modified, teaches the fluid handling system (42, 31, 32, 33, 70) comprises a first fluid line (41), a fluid pump (42) that pumps fluid from an internal unit reservoir (12) into the external unit reservoir via the first fluid line (a second water conveying tube 41 having an end in communication with the indoor drain pan 12, and another end extending towards the outdoor unit assembly 20; and a second water conveying member 42 connected to the second water conveying tube 41, paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach one or more sprayers (502, one, three, four, five, six, or more nozzles can be included, paragraph 0050 of Eicher) disposed proximate to a front face and a bottom face of the external unit (fig. 5b of Eicher).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach the external unit reservoir is defined as an integral part of an external unit housing base (area housing 122, 508, fig. 5b of Eicher)
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach the external unit reservoir is comprises a linear slope with an angle θ of at least 2° (the outdoor base pan 132 can be sloped to bias the flow of condensate to one or more desired locations for subsequent discharge or removal from the indoor base pan 126, paragraph 0041 of Eicher, one of ordinary skill the art would recognize a gradual slope for efficient collection) to allow for fluid to drain toward a collection area (locations, paragraph 0041 of Want) of the external housing base, the at least three sprayers (502 of Eicher) obtaining fluid from the collection area (area including 33, paragraph 0048 of Wang).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 17-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US 20250290663) in view of Eicher et al (US 20250207812) as applied to claim and in further view of Eicher at al (US 20250198650, herein ‘650).
Regarding claims 2, 17 and 18, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach the at least three sprayers are ultrasonic perforated mesh atomizers having between 7.0 μm mesh size and 14.0 μm mesh size and collectively configured to generate a spray rate of at least 6.67 L/day at 0° C. and a spray rate of at least 11.2 L/day at 30° C. and operating at a driving voltage of 15-42.4 V peak.
However, ‘650 teaches the at least three sprayers (any number can be used, paragraph 0045) are ultrasonic perforated mesh atomizers (piezo atomizer, paragraph 0045) having between 7.0 μm mesh size and 14.0 μm mesh size and collectively configured to generate a spray rate of at least 6.67 L/day at 0° C. and a spray rate of at least 11.2 L/day at 30° C. and operating at a driving voltage of 15-42.4 V peak (The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)) to easily dissipate or be carried away by wind or the exhaust of the outdoor unit
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify the heat pump system of the combined teachings to include at least three sprayers are ultrasonic perforated mesh atomizers having between 7.0 μm mesh size and 14.0 μm mesh size and collectively configured to generate a spray rate of at least 6.67 L/day at 0° C. and a spray rate of at least 11.2 L/day at 30° C. and operating at a driving voltage of 15-42.4 V peak in view of the teachings of ‘650 easily dissipate or be carried away by wind or the exhaust of the outdoor unit.
Regarding claims 4 and 20, the combined teachings teach a heating assembly that includes a Positive Temperature Coefficient (PTC) heating element (414, electric heating element, paragraph 0051 of ‘650) that snakes (fig. 5 of ‘650) within a plurality of at least three brackets (holder for pump 306 and tubing to nozzle 304, paragraph 0046 of ‘650) that define fluid ports (holder for pump 306 and tubing to nozzle 304, paragraph 0046, the heat source 414 and fan 408 may be disposed within the outdoor base pain 132 and may blow heated air on the condensate therein, paragraph 0051 of ‘650), the heating element heated via electric power to heat the at least three brackets along with heating the at least three sprayers that are respectively associated with the brackets and the fluid ports (paragraph 0051 of ‘650), the heating of the heating element preventing fluid proximate to the heating element from freezing, which may otherwise clog the at least three sprayers (freezing, paragraph 0051 of ‘650), the heating element being between 4 and 6 feet in length and operating with a power of <45 W (The cited prior art teaches all of the positively recited structure of the claimed apparatus. The Courts have held that a statement of intended use in an apparatus claim fails to distinguish over a prior art apparatus. See In re Sinex, 309 F.2d 488, 492, 135 USPQ 302, 305 (CCPA 1962). The Courts have held that the manner of operating an apparatus does not differentiate an apparatus claim from the prior art, if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See Ex Parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (BPAI 1987). The Courts have held that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art in terms of structure, not function. See In re Danley, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959); and Hewlett-Packard Co. V. Bausch and Lomb, Inc., 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP §§ 2114 and 2173.05(g)).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763