DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/25/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
3. No Terminal disclaimer is filed in response to the non-statutory double patenting rejection. Claims 1-3,5-20 of current application is still rejected under non-statutory double patenting rejection as reproduced below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3,5-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,2,3,4,7,9,10,11,12,16 and 20 of U.S. Patent No.11910134 in view of Zhang et al; (Review on Chaotic Lasers and Measurement Applications- June 2021 attached) Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Claim 1 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 1 of US Patent 11910134
A system comprising: an optical circuit switch (OCS), comprising:
A system comprising: an optical circuit switch (OCS) comprising:
a first fiber collimator and a second fiber collimator;
a first fiber collimator and a second fiber collimator;
an OCS internal optical path coupling the first and second fiber collimators;
an OCS internal optical path coupling the first and second fiber collimators,
an optical circulator having a bidirectional port optically coupled to a port of the second fiber collimator; and
an optical circulator having a bidirectional port optically coupled to a port of the second fiber collimator; and
a first transceiver optically coupled to the optical circulator, a link diagnostic comprising: a first photodetector and a second photodetector; a light source; and wherein: wherein the OCS is optically coupled to a link diagnostic system, the light source is optically coupled ot he second photodetector, and
a signal obtained from the first photodetector is compared to a signal obtained at a second photodetector to detect signal loss.
See note below
a first transceiver optically coupled to the optical circulator; and a link diagnostic system comprising: a first photodetector and a second photodetector; a light source; an optical coupler, coupling the light source to the second photodetector; and wherein: the first photodetector is optically coupled to the optical circulator along a path comprising a fiber input to the first fiber collimator, the OCS internal optical path, and the port of the second fiber collimator.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious
expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.
App. 1969); the omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. However, claim 1 of US Patent 11910134 does not explicitly disclose, “a signal obtained from the first photodetector is compared to a signal obtained at a second photodetector to detect signal loss”. In a related field of endeavor, Zhang discloses the transmission is split into probe light (lower branch 99%) and reference light (upper branch 1%) and an optical delay line is set in the reference branch to compensate for the relative delay between the reference channel and the probe channel, and then the zero point is calibrated. The probe light is launched into the FUT through an Optical coupler. The echo light, induced by Rayleigh scattering and Fresnel reflections,(signal loss) and the reference light are detected by two 50-GHz bandwidth photodetectors (PDs) respectively, sampled by a real-time Oscilloscope (OCS) with6-GHzbandwidthand20Gs/s sampling rate, and processed by a computer, see page 10,section B, column 2, paragraph 2 and figure 30, and the motivation for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention is OTDR for fault measurement with some specific advantages of low cost, stable performance,
high practicality.
Claim 2 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 1 of US Patent 11910134
The OCS of claim 1, wherein when the OCS is optically coupled to the link diagnostic system, the optical circulator is optically coupled to a photodetector of the link diagnostic system.
See note below
A system comprising: an optical circuit switch (OCS) comprising:
a first transceiver optically coupled to the optical circulator; and a link diagnostic system comprising: a first photodetector and a second photodetector; a light source; an optical coupler, coupling the light source to the second photodetector; and wherein: the first photodetector is optically coupled to the optical circulator along a path comprising a fiber input to the first fiber collimator, the OCS internal optical path, and the port of the second fiber collimator.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious
expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.
App. 1969); the omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the omission of a second photodetector; a light source and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
Claim 3 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 1 of US Patent 11910134
The OCS of claim 1, wherein an optical coupler, coupling the light source to the second photodetector.
See note below
A system comprising: an optical circuit switch (OCS) comprising:
a first transceiver optically coupled to the optical circulator; and a link diagnostic system comprising: a first photodetector and a second photodetector; a light source; an optical coupler, coupling the light source to the second photodetector; and wherein: the first photodetector is optically coupled to the optical circulator along a path comprising a fiber input to the first fiber collimator, the OCS internal optical path, and the port of the second fiber collimator.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious
expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.
App. 1969); the omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the omission of optical circulator and fiber collimator and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
Claim 5 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 2 of US Patent 11910134
The OCS of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of optical circulators optically coupled to a plurality of ports of the first fiber collimator and a plurality of ports of the second fiber collimator.
The system of claim 1 further comprising a plurality of optical circulators optically coupled to a plurality of ports of the first fiber collimator and a plurality of ports of the second fiber collimator.
Claim 6 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 3 of US Patent 11910134
The OCS of claim 5, the plurality of the ports of the first fiber collimator comprising N input ports, the plurality of the ports of the second fiber collimator comprising N output ports, and 2N optical circulators optically coupled and in one-to-one correspondence with the N input ports and N output ports.
The system of claim 2, the plurality of the ports of the first fiber collimator comprising N input ports, the plurality of the ports of the second fiber collimator comprising N output ports, and 2N optical circulators optically coupled and in one-to-one correspondence with the N input ports and N output ports.
Claim 7 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 4 of US Patent 11910134
The OCS of claim 1, further comprising a second link diagnostic system, the second link diagnostic system comprising a first photodetector, a second photodetector, a light source, and an optical coupler.
The system of claim 1 further comprising a second link diagnostic system, the second link diagnostic system comprising a first photodetector, a second photodetector, a light source, and an optical coupler.
Claim 8 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 7 of US Patent 11910134
The OCS of claim 1, further comprising microelectromechanical system (MEMS) mirrors.
The system of claim 1 wherein the OCS further comprises microelectromechanical system (MEMS) mirrors.
Claim 9 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 1 of US Patent 11910134
A link diagnostic system, comprising:
a link diagnostic system comprising:
a first photodetector and a second photodetector;
a first photodetector and a second photodetector;
a light source; and
a light source;
an optical coupler, coupling the light source to the second photodetector, wherein the first photodetector is optically coupled to an optical circuit switch (OCS) and configured to receive a reflection signal, and signal received by the second photodetector is used as a control signal to determine signal loss based on the reflections signal.
See Note below
an optical coupler, coupling the light source to the second photodetector; and wherein: the first photodetector is optically coupled to the optical circulator along a path comprising a fiber input to the first fiber collimator, the OCS internal optical path, and the port of the second fiber collimator.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious
expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.
App. 1969); the omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the omission of fiber collimator and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. However, claim 1 of US Patent 11910134 does not explicitly disclose, “configured to receive a reflection signal, and signal received by the second photodetector is used as a control signal to determine signal loss based on the reflections signal”. In a related field of endeavor, Zhang discloses the transmission is split into probe light (lower branch 99%) and reference light (upper branch 1%) and an optical delay line is set in the reference branch to compensate for the relative delay between the reference channel and the probe channel, and then the zero point is calibrated. The probe light is launched into the FUT through an Optical coupler. The echo light,(reelection light) induced by Rayleigh scattering and Fresnel reflections,(signal loss) and the reference light (control light) are detected by two 50-GHz bandwidth photodetectors (PDs) respectively, sampled by a real-time Oscilloscope (OCS) with 6-GHzbandwidth and 20Gs/s sampling rate, and processed by a computer, see page 10,section B, column 2, paragraph 2 and figure 30, and the motivation for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention is OTDR for fault measurement with some specific advantages of low cost, stable performance, high practicality.
Claim 10 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 1 of US Patent 11910134
The link diagnostic system of claim 9, wherein when the first photodetector is optically coupled to the OCS, the first photodetector is optically coupled to an optical circulator of the OCS along a path.
See Note below
a link diagnostic system comprising: a first photodetector and a second photodetector; a light source; an optical coupler, coupling the light source to the second photodetector; and wherein: the first photodetector is optically coupled to the optical circulator along a path comprising a fiber input to the first fiber collimator, the OCS internal optical path, and the port of the second fiber collimator.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious
expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.
App. 1969); the omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the omission of optical circulator and first fiber collimator and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
Claim 11 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 1 of US Patent 11910134
The link diagnostic system of claim 10, wherein the OCS comprises: a first fiber collimator and a second fiber collimator; an OCS internal optical path coupling the first and second fiber collimators; an optical circulator having a bidirectional port optically coupled to a port of the second fiber collimator; and a first transceiver optically coupled to the optical circulator.
See note below
A system comprising: an optical circuit switch (OCS) comprising:
an optical circulator having a bidirectional port optically coupled to a port of the second fiber collimator;
a first transceiver optically coupled to the optical circulator; and a link diagnostic system comprising: a first photodetector and a second photodetector; a light source; an optical coupler, coupling the light source to the second photodetector; and wherein: the first photodetector is optically coupled to the optical circulator along a path comprising a fiber input to the first fiber collimator, the OCS internal optical path, and the port of the second fiber collimator.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious
expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.
App. 1969); the omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the omission of first photodetector, second photodetector, light source and optical coupler and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
Claim 12 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 1 of US Patent 11910134
The link diagnostic system of claim 11, wherein the path further comprises a fiber input to the first fiber collimator, the OCS internal optical path, and the port of the second fiber collimator.
See note below
A system comprising: an optical circuit switch (OCS) comprising:
a first transceiver optically coupled to the optical circulator; and a link diagnostic system comprising: a first photodetector and a second photodetector; a light source; an optical coupler, coupling the light source to the second photodetector; and wherein: the first photodetector is optically coupled to the optical circulator along a path comprising a fiber input to the first fiber collimator, the OCS internal optical path, and the port of the second fiber collimator.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious
expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.
App. 1969); the omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the omission of first photodetector, second photodetector, light source and optical coupler and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
Claim 13 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 10 of US Patent 11910134
The link diagnostic system of claim 10, wherein the light source is configured to generate an optical time domain light signal.
The system of claim 1 wherein the light source is configured to generate an optical time domain light signal.
Claim 14 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 11 of US Patent 11910134
The link diagnostic system of claim 13, wherein the link diagnostic system is configured to determine a location of a source of the signal loss along the path based on the reflection signal.
The system of claim 10, wherein the link diagnostic system is configured to determine a location of a source of signal loss along the path based on a reflection signal.
Claim 15 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 12 of US Patent 11910134
The link diagnostic system of claim 13, wherein the link diagnostic system is configured to determine an amount of signal loss across the path based on the reflection signal.
The system of claim 10, wherein the link diagnostic system is configured to determine an amount of signal loss across the path based on a reflection signal.
Claim 16 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 16 of US Patent 11910134
A method of detecting signal loss in an optical fiber system, the method comprising:
A method of detecting signal loss in an optical fiber system, the method comprising:
generating, by a light source, an optical signal;
forming a path comprising a fiber input to a first fiber collimator, an optical circuit switch (OCS) optical path, and a port of a second fiber collimator, wherein a first photodetector of a link diagnostic system is optically coupled to an optical circulator along the path; generating, by a light source of at the link diagnostic system, an optical signal;
transmitting the optical signal through at
least a portion of a path;
receiving at a control photodetector the optical signal;
transmitting the optical signal through at least a portion of the path;
receiving a portion of the optical signal at an optical circulator;
receiving a portion of the optical signal at the optical circulator connected to the port of the second fiber collimator;
receiving at a first photodetector a reflected portion of the optical signal; and
receiving at the first photodetector a reflected portion of the optical signal; and
detecting signal loss based on a comparison of the optical signal received at the control photodetector and the reflected portion of the optical signal.
See note below
detecting signal loss based on the reflected portion of the optical signal.
It has been held that the omission of an element and its function is obvious
expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before.
In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 (CCPA). Also note Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375 (bd.
App. 1969); the omission of a reference element whose function is not needed would be
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore, the omission of first transceiver, optical circulator, first photodetector, second photodetector, light source and optical coupler and its function is an obvious expedient if the remaining elements perform the same function as before. However, claim 16 of US Patent 11910134 does not explicitly disclose, “receiving at a control photodetector the optical signal; comparison of the optical signal received at the control photodetector”. In a related field of endeavor, Zhang discloses the transmission is split into probe light (lower branch 99%) and reference light (upper branch 1%) and an optical delay line is set in the reference branch to compensate for the relative delay between the reference channel and the probe channel, and then the zero point is calibrated. The probe light is launched into the FUT through an Optical coupler. The echo light,(reelection light) induced by Rayleigh scattering and Fresnel reflections,(signal loss) and the reference light (control light) are detected by two 50-GHz bandwidth photodetectors (PDs) respectively, sampled by a real-time Oscilloscope (OCS) with 6-GHzbandwidth and 20Gs/s sampling rate, and processed by a computer, see page 10,section B, column 2, paragraph 2 and figure 30, and the motivation for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention is OTDR for fault measurement with some specific advantages of low cost, stable performance, high practicality.
Claim 17 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 16 of US Patent 11910134
The method of claim 16, further comprising forming the path, the path comprising a fiber input to a first collimator.
forming a path comprising a fiber input to a first fiber collimator, an optical circuit switch (OCS) optical path, and a port of a second fiber collimator, wherein a first photodetector of a link diagnostic system is optically coupled to an optical circulator along the path;
Claim 18 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 16 of US Patent 11910134
The method of claim 17, wherein the path further comprises an optical circuit switch (OCS) optical path, a port of a second fiber collimator, and the optical circulator.
forming a path comprising a fiber input to a first fiber collimator, an optical circuit switch (OCS) optical path, and a port of a second fiber collimator, wherein a first photodetector of a link diagnostic system is optically coupled to an optical circulator along the path.
Claim 19 of current App. 18/537005
Claim 16 of US Patent 11910134
The method of claim 16, wherein the first photodetector is optically coupled to the optical circulator.
forming a path comprising a fiber input to a first fiber collimator, an optical circuit switch (OCS) optical path, and a port of a second fiber collimator, wherein a first photodetector of a link diagnostic system is optically coupled to an optical circulator along the path.
Claim 20 of current App. 18/537005
Claims 16,20 US Patent 11910134
The method of claim 16, further comprising:
A method of detecting signal loss in an optical fiber system, the method comprising:
determining, based on the reflected portion of the optical signal, a location of a source of the detected signal loss in the optical fiber system; or
The method of claim 19, further comprising determining, based on the reflected portion of the optical signal, a location of a source of the detected signal loss along the path.
determining, based on the reflected portion of the optical signal, an amount of signal loss across the optical fiber system.
based on the reflected portion of the optical signal, detecting signal loss based on the reflected portion of the optical signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1,3, 5,6 and 8 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al; (US 2020/0257106A1) in view of Liu et al; (US 9185475) and further in view of Yasumura et al; (US 2018/0364419) in view of Zhang et al; (Review on Chaotic Lasers and Measurement Applications- June 2021 attached).
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses A system comprising: an optical circuit switch (OCS), ;(optical switching device (OCS) device, see figure 1a) comprising: a first fiber collimator and a second fiber collimator;(the input collimator 110 and the output collimator 150, see figure 1a) an OCS internal optical path coupling the first and second fiber collimators;(an input optical signal may enter the input collimators 110 through the optical fibers for transmission through the device 100 and reaching the output collimators 150 from collimators 110 via paths 113A, 113B, . . . , 113n, see paragraph 14 figure 1a).
However, Hu does not explicitly disclose an optical circulator having a bidirectional port optically coupled to a port of the second fiber collimator; and a first transceiver optically coupled to the optical circulator, a link diagnostic system, comprising: a first photodetector, a second photodetector and light source, and wherein: the OCS is optically coupled to a link diagnostic system, the light source is optically coupled to the second photodetector, and a signal obtained from the first photodetector is compared to a signal obtained at a second photodetector to detect signal loss.
In a related field of endeavor, Liu discloses an optical circulator having a bidirectional port optically coupled to a port of the second fiber collimator;( Optical circulators 106 allow bidirectional communication over a single OCS path, effectively creating an input/output port at each original port of the OCS, see column 3, lines and figure 1) and a first transceiver optically coupled to the optical circulator;(each optical transceiver 108 includes an optical transmitter coupled to optical circulator 106 via link 114 as well as an optical receiver coupled to optical circulator 106 via link 112, see column 3, lines 34-36 and figure 1).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the optical circulator of Lui with Hu to provide bidirectional optical communication between the input and/or output ports of optical switching circuit and the motivation is to provide low-cost interconnects with low power consumption, compact size, and good signal quality.
However, the combination of Hu and Liu does not explicitly disclose a link diagnostic system, comprising: a first photodetector, a second photodetector and light source, and wherein: the OCS is optically coupled to a link diagnostic system, the light source is optically coupled to the second photodetector, and a signal obtained from the first photodetector is compared to a signal obtained at a second photodetector to detect signal loss.
In a related field on endeavor, Yasumura discloses a link diagnostic system, comprising: wherein the OCS is optically coupled to a link diagnostic system ;(the OCS 500 includes a control 435 and the controller 435 may be internal to, or external to, the OCS 500 and the controller 435 may include additional instructions for performing self-monitoring and self-diagnostic operations, see paragraph 60 and figure 5).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the optical link diagnostic of Yasumura with Hu and Liu to provide alerts, to pause traffic on a particular optical fiber until the switching path is stable or until another switching path can be established and the motivation is to provide detection and repairing of the optical switching path between the input and output.
However, the combination of Hu, Liu and Yasumura does not explicitly disclose a first photodetector, a second photodetector and light source, the light source is optically coupled to the second photodetector, and a signal obtained from the first photodetector is compared to a signal obtained at a second photodetector to detect signal loss.
In a related field of endeavor, Zhang discloses a first photodetector,(photo detector PD2, see figure 30) a second photodetector;(photodetector PD1, see figure 30) and light source,(Integrated chaos source, see figure 30) the light source is optically coupled to the second photodetector,(Optical coupler coupled with the photodetector PD1, see figure 30) and a signal obtained from the first photodetector is compared to a signal obtained at a second photodetector to detect signal loss,(the probe light is launched into the FUT through an Optical coupler. The echo light,(reflection light) induced by Rayleigh scattering and Fresnel reflections,(signal loss) and the reference light (control light) are detected by two 50-GHz bandwidth photodetectors (PDs) respectively, sampled by a real-time Oscilloscope (OCS) with 6-GHzbandwidth and 20Gs/s sampling rate, and processed by a computer, see page 10,section B, column 2, paragraph 2 and figure 30).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the first and second photo detector of Zhang with Hu, Liu and Yasumura to provide OTDR for fault measurement in optical network and the motivation is low cost, stable performance, high practicality.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hu, Liu and Yasumura does not explicitly disclose the OCS of claim 1, wherein an optical coupler, coupling the light source to the second photodetector.
In a related field of endeavor, Zhang discloses the OCS of claim 1, wherein an optical coupler ;(optical coupler (OC), see figure 30) coupling the light source to the second photodetector;(Optical coupler coupling integrated light source with the photodetector PD1, see figure 30) Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, Hu discloses the OCS of claim 1, further comprising the first fiber collimator and the second fiber collimator;(the input collimator 110 and the output collimator 150, see figure 1a)
However, the combination of Hu, Yasumura and Zhang does not explicitly disclose a plurality of optical circulators optically coupled to a plurality of ports of and a plurality of ports of.
In a related field of endeavor, Liu discloses a plurality of optical circulators optically coupled to a plurality of ports of and a plurality of ports of ;( Optical circulators 106 allow bidirectional communication over a single OCS path, effectively creating an input/output port at each original port of the OCS, see column 3, lines and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Hu discloses the OCS of claim 5, the plurality of the ports of the first fiber collimator comprising N input ports, the plurality of the ports of the second fiber collimator comprising N output ports, ;(an input optical signal may enter the input collimators 110 through the optical fibers for transmission through the device 100 and reaching the output collimators 150 from collimators 110 via paths 113A, 113B, . . . , 113n, see paragraph 14 figure 1a), and
However, the combination of Hu, Yasumura and Zhang does not explicitly disclose 2N optical circulators optically coupled and in one-to-one correspondence with the N input ports and N output ports.
In a related field of endeavor, Liu discloses 2N optical circulators optically coupled and in one-to-one correspondence with the N input ports and N output ports ;( Optical circulators 106 allow bidirectional communication over a single OCS path, effectively creating an input/output port ( N/N ports = 2N ports) at each original port of the OCS, see column 3, lines and figure 1). Motivation same as claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Hu discloses the OCS of claim 1, further comprising microelectromechanical system (MEMS) mirrors ; (the MEMS array 130 may include two sets of micro-mirror arrays 132, 134 each having an n number of micro-mirrors (133A, 113B, . . . , 113n, 135A, 135B, . . . , 135n), see paragraph 15).
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al; (US 2020/0257106A1) in view of Liu et al; (US 9185475) and further in view of Yasumura et al; (US 2018/0364419) view of Zhang et al; (Review on Chaotic Lasers and Measurement Applications- June 2021 attached) and further in view of Oikawa et al; (US 2006/0198583).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hu, Liu and Zhang does not explicitly disclose the OCS of claim 1, wherein when the OCS is optically coupled to the link diagnostic system, the optical circulator is optically coupled to a photodetector of the link diagnostic system.
In a related field of endeavor, Yasumura discloses the OCS of claim 1, wherein when the OCS is optically coupled to the link diagnostic system;(the OCS 500 includes a control 435 and the controller 435 may be internal to, or external to, the OCS 500 and the controller 435 may include additional instructions for performing self-monitoring and self-diagnostic operations, see paragraph 60 and figure 5).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the optical link diagnostic of Yasumura with Hu, Liu and Zhang to provide alerts, to pause traffic on a particular optical fiber until the switching path is stable or until another switching path can be established and the motivation is to provide detection and repairing of the optical switching path between the input and output.
However, the combination of Hu, Liu and Yasumura does not explicitly disclose the optical circulator is optically coupled to a photodetector of the link diagnostic system.
In a related field of endeavor, Oikawa discloses the optical circulator is optically coupled to a photodetector of the link diagnostic system ;(optical circulator 5 coupled with the optical channel monitor 6’ with plurality of photodetectors 6d, see figure 5).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the optical channel monitor of Oikawa with Hu, Liu ,Yasumura and Zhang to detect the reflected light from the optical circulator and the motivation is to monitor the optical power corresponding to each wavelength channel.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hu, Liu, Yasumura and Zhang does not explicitly disclose the OCS of claim 1, further comprising a second link diagnostic system, the second link diagnostic system comprising a first photodetector, a second photodetector, a light source, and an optical coupler.
In a related field of endeavor, Oikawa discloses the OCS of claim 1, further comprising a second link diagnostic system, the second link diagnostic system comprising a first photodetector, a second photodetector, a light source, and an optical coupler;( the lights corresponding to each of the wavelength channels Ch1 to ChN are monitored by the channel monitor 6, with plurality of photodetectors 6d (thus multiple diagnostic) and feedback control of each of the MEMS mirrors 3(Ch1) to 3(ChN) is performed based on the monitored result, see paragraph 52 and figure 4). Motivation same as claim 2.
Claims 9-12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa et al; (US 2006/0198583) in view of Hu et al; (US 2020/0257106A1) and further in view of Zhang et al; (Review on Chaotic Lasers and Measurement Applications- June 2021 attached).
Regarding claim 9, Oikawa discloses a link diagnostic system;(wavelength selective switch coupled with the channel monitor 6 serving as a reflected light monitor section; and a control circuit 7 serving as a control unit, see page 39 and figure 1) comprising: a first photodetector and a second photodetector; a light source; ( the lights transmitted through the end faces of each of the output fibers 11out (#1) to 11out (#M) are output lights Lout(#1) to Lout(#M), and the reflected lights, see paragraph 42 and figure 1) and an optical coupler, coupling the light source to the second photodetector, wherein the first photodetector is optically coupled ;(optical circulator 5 (coupler) coupled with the optical channel monitor 6’ with plurality of photodetectors 6d through demultiplexer 6c; see figure 5).
However, Oikawa does not explicitly disclose to an optical circuit switch (OCS) and configured to receive a reflection signal, a signal received by the second photodetector used as a control signal to determine signal loss based on the reflection signal.
In a related of endeavor, Hu discloses to an optical circuit switch (OCS); (OCS 100 may be an all-optical switching matrix including input collimators 110 including n number of collimator elements and output collimators 150, see paragraph 14 ad figure 1a).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine optical circuit switch of Hu with Oikawa to provide optical switching device with collimator arrays for input and output signals and the motivation is decreased the beam divergence and increased focus in switching optical input and/or output optical signals.
However, the combination of Oikawa and Hu does not explicitly disclose configured to receive a reflection signal, a signal received by the second photodetector used as a control signal to determine signal loss based on the reflection signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Zhang discloses configured to receive a reflection signal, a signal received by the second photodetector used as a control signal to determine signal loss based on the reflection signal; (the probe light is launched into the FUT through an Optical coupler. The echo light,(reflection light) induced by Rayleigh scattering and Fresnel reflections,(signal loss) and the reference light (control light) are detected by two 50-GHz bandwidth photodetectors (PDs) respectively, sampled by a real-time Oscilloscope (OCS) with 6-GHzbandwidth and 20Gs/s sampling rate, and processed by a computer, see page 10,section B, column 2, paragraph 2 and figure 30).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the first and second photo detector of Zhang with Oikawa and Hu to provide OTDR for fault measurement in optical network and the motivation is low cost, stable performance, high practicality.
Regarding claim 10, Oikawa discloses the link diagnostic system of claim 9, wherein when the first photodetector is optically coupled, the first photodetector is optically coupled to an optical circulator of the OCS along a path ;(optical circulator 5 (coupler) coupled with the optical channel monitor 6’ with plurality of photodetectors 6d through demultiplexer 6c; see figure 5).
However, the combination of Oikawa and Zhang does not explicitly disclose to the OCS.
In a related field of endeavor, Hu discloses to the OCS (OCS 100 may be an all-optical switching matrix including input collimators 110 including n number of collimator elements and output collimators 150, see paragraph 14 ad figure 1a). Motivation same as claim 9.
Regarding claim 11, Oikawa discloses the link diagnostic system of claim 10, wherein the comprises: an optical circulator having a bidirectional port optically coupled;(optical circulator 5 (coupler) coupled with the optical channel monitor 6’ with plurality of photodetectors 6d through demultiplexer 6c; see figure 5), and a first transceiver optically coupled to the optical circulator; ( the lights transmitted through the end faces of each of the output fibers 11out (#1) to 11out (#M) are output lights Lout(#1) to Lout(#M), and the reflected lights the optical channel monitor 6’ with plurality of photodetectors 6d through demultiplexer 6c; see paragraph 42 and figures 1 and 5).
However, the combination of Oikawa and Zhang does not explicitly disclose OCS, a first fiber collimator and a second fiber collimator; an OCS internal optical path coupling the first and second fiber collimators; to a port of the second fiber collimator.
In a related field of endeavor, Hu discloses OCS, (OCS 100 may be an all-optical switching matrix including input collimators 110 including n number of collimator elements and output collimators 150, see paragraph 14 ad figure 1a) a first fiber collimator and a second fiber collimator; (the input collimator 110 and the output collimator 150, see figure 1a) an OCS internal optical path coupling the first and second fiber collimators; to a port of the second fiber collimator ;(an input optical signal may enter the input collimators 110 through the optical fibers for transmission through the device 100 and reaching the output collimators 150 from collimators 110 via paths 113A, 113B, . . . , 113n, see paragraph 14 figure 1a) Motivation same as claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Oikawa and Zhang does not explicitly disclose the link diagnostic system of claim 11, wherein the path further comprises a fiber input to the first fiber collimator, the OCS internal optical path, and the port of the second fiber collimator.
In a related field of endeavor, Hu disclose the link diagnostic system of claim 11, wherein the path further comprises a fiber input to the first fiber collimator, the OCS internal optical path, and the port of the second fiber collimator;(an input optical signal may enter the input collimators 110 through the optical fibers for transmission through the device 100 and reaching the output collimators 150 from collimators 110 via paths 113A, 113B, . . . , 113n, see paragraph 14 figure 1a) Motivation same as claim 9.
Regarding claim 14, Oikawa discloses the link diagnostic system of claim 13, wherein the link diagnostic system is configured to determine a location of a source of signal loss along the path based on a reflection signal; (the channel monitor 6 measures powers P(Ch1) to P(ChN) of the components corresponding to each of the wavelength channels Ch1 to ChN, which are contained in the reflected light LR output from the third port of the optical circulator 5, and outputs a signal indicating the measurement results to the control circuit 7 and the channel monitor 6 measures powers P(Ch1) to P(ChN) of the components corresponding to each of the wavelength channels Ch1 to ChN, which are contained in the reflected light LR output from the third port of the optical circulator 5, and outputs a signal indicating the measurement results to the control circuit 7, see paragraphs 47 and 51).
Regarding claim 15, Oikawa discloses the link diagnostic system of claim 13, wherein the link diagnostic system is configured to determine an amount of signal loss across the path based on a reflection signal;(the channel monitor 6 measures powers P(Ch1) to P(ChN) of the components corresponding to each of the wavelength channels Ch1 to ChN, which are contained in the reflected light LR output from the third port of the optical circulator 5, and outputs a signal indicating the measurement results to the control circuit 7 and feedback control of each of the MEMS mirrors 3(Ch1) to 3(ChN) is performed based on the monitored result, see paragraphs 47 and 51).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa et al; (US 2006/0198583) in view of Hu et al; (US 2020/0257106A1) and further in view of Zhang et al; (Review on Chaotic Lasers and Measurement Applications- June 2021 attached) and further in view of Koen et al; (WO 2016/107769A1)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Oikawa, Hu and Zhang does not explicitly disclose the link diagnostic system of claim 10, wherein the light source is configured to generate an optical time domain light signal.
In a related field of endeavor, Koen discloses the link diagnostic system of claim 10, wherein the light source is configured to generate an optical time domain light signal ;( optical time-domain reflectometry (OTDR), which involves transmitting a pulsed optical signal along the fiber and breaks, cracks or other issues with the fiber can result in a portion of the optical pulse being reflected to the source of optical pulses, see page 4, lines 2-4).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the optical time-domain reflectometry (OTDR) of Koen with Oikawa, Hu and Zhang to determine breaks, cracks or other issues with the fiber can result in a portion of the optical pulse being reflected to the source of optical pulses and the motivation is to provide correlation with the position in the fiber where the reflection occurred.
Claims 16,17,19 and 20 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa et al; (US 2006/0198583) in view of Koen et al; (WO 2016/107769A1) and further in view of Zhang et al; (Review on Chaotic Lasers and Measurement Applications- June 2021 attached).
Regarding claim 16, Oikawa discloses a method of detecting signal loss in an optical fiber system ;(wavelength selective switch coupled with the channel monitor 6 serving as a reflected light monitor section; and a control circuit 7 serving as a control unit, see page 39 and figure 1) the method comprising: generating, by a light source an optical signal; ( the lights transmitted through the end faces of each of the output fibers 11out (#1) to 11out (#M) are output lights Lout(#1) to Lout(#M), and the reflected lights, see paragraph 42 and figure 1) transmitting the optical signal through at least a portion of a path ;(reflective light signal LR transmitted to the channel monitor 6, see figure 1) receiving a portion of the optical signal at an optical circulator; receiving at a first photodetector a reflected portion of the optical signal; ;(optical circulator 5 (coupler) coupled with the optical channel monitor 6’ with plurality of photodetectors 6d through demultiplexer 6c; see figure 5), and
However, Oikawa does not explicitly disclose detecting signal loss based on the reflected portion of the optical signal, receiving at a control photodetector for the optical signal; a comparison of the optical signal received at the control photodetector.
In a related field of endeavor, Koen discloses detecting signal loss based on the reflected portion of the optical signal ;( optical time-domain reflectometry (OTDR), which involves transmitting a pulsed optical signal along the fiber and breaks, cracks or other issues with the fiber can result in a portion of the optical pulse being reflected to the source of optical pulses, see page 4, lines 2-4).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the optical time-domain reflectometry (OTDR) of Koen with Oikawa to determine breaks, cracks or other issues with the fiber can result in a portion of the optical pulse being reflected to the source of optical pulses and the motivation is to provide correlation with the position in the fiber where the reflection occurred.
However, the combination of Oikawa and Koen does not explicitly disclose receiving at a control photodetector for the optical signal; a comparison of the optical signal received at the control photodetector.
In a related field do endeavor, Zhang discloses receiving at a control photodetector for the optical signal; a comparison of the optical signal received at the control photodetector (the probe light is launched into the FUT through an Optical coupler. The echo light,(reflection light) induced by Rayleigh scattering and Fresnel reflections,(signal loss) and the reference light (control light) are detected by two 50-GHz bandwidth photodetectors (PDs) respectively, sampled by a real-time Oscilloscope (OCS) with 6-GHzbandwidth and 20Gs/s sampling rate, and processed by a computer, see page 10,section B, column 2, paragraph 2 and figure 30).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine the first and second photo detector of Zhang with Oikawa and Koen to provide OTDR for fault measurement in optical network and the motivation is low cost, stable performance, high practicality.
Regarding claim 17, Oikawa discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising forming the path, the path comprising a fiber input to a first collimator ;(reflective light signal LR transmitted to the channel monitor 6 through the optical circulator 5, see figure 1).
Regarding claim 18, Oikawa discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the first photodetector is optically coupled to the optical circulator optical circulator 5 (coupler) coupled with the optical channel monitor 6’ with plurality of photodetectors 6d through demultiplexer 6c; see figure 5).
Regarding claim 20, Oikawa does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 16, further comprising: determining, based on the reflected portion of the optical signal, a location of a source of the detected signal loss in the optical fiber system; or determining, based on the reflected portion of the optical signal, an amount of signal loss across the optical fiber system.
In a related field of endeavor, Keon discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: determining, based on the reflected portion of the optical signal, a location of a source of the detected signal loss in the optical fiber system (Only one of the claim limitation is required ot be considered by the Examiner); or determining, based on the reflected portion of the optical signal, an amount of signal loss across the optical fiber system ;( optical time-domain reflectometry (OTDR), which involves transmitting a pulsed optical signal along the fiber and breaks, cracks or other issues with the fiber can result in a portion of the optical pulse being reflected to the source of optical pulses, see page 4, lines 2-4). Motivation same as claim 16.
Claim 18 rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Oikawa et al; (US 2006/0198583) in view of Koen et al; (WO 2016/107769A1), in view of Zhang et al; (Review on Chaotic Lasers and Measurement Applications- June 2021 attached) and further in view of Hu et al; (US 2020/0257106A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Oikawa, Koen and Zhang does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 17, wherein the path further comprises an optical circuit switch (OCS) optical path, a port of a second fiber collimator, and the optical circulator.
In a related field of endeavor, Hu discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the path further comprises an optical circuit switch (OCS) optical path, a port of a second fiber collimator, and the optical circulator;(an input optical signal may enter the input collimators 110 through the optical fibers for transmission through the device 100 and reaching the output collimators 150 from collimators 110 via paths 113A, 113B, . . . , 113n, see paragraph 14 figure 1a).
Thus, it would be obvious for one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to combine optical circuit switch and collimator of Hu with Oikawa, Koen and Zhang to provide optical switching device with collimator arrays for input and output signals and the motivation is decreased the beam divergence and increased focus in switching optical input and/or output optical signals.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is reproduced below.
a. Urata et al; (US 8676004) discloses a method for optimizing port usage in an optical circuit switch, see figure 3.
b. Uyeno et al; (US 2021/0088776) discloses an optical switch (112) is provided with a micro-electronic mechanical system (MEMS) micro-mirror array (118) to reflect the optical signals to a router (130) for relay to different destinations. The optical switch switches between reflection locations for reflection of the optical signals over different optical connections for the destinations, see figure 1.
c. ALTSTAETTER et al (US 2019/0235929A1) discloses a reconfigurable computing cluster includes an optical circuit switch, and a plurality of computing assets, each of the plurality of computing assets connected to the optical circuit switch by two or more bidirectional fiber optic communications paths, see figure 3
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
.
/AMRITBIR K SANDHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634