1. This communication is responsive to the Amendment filed 7/3/2026.
2. Claims 1-4 and 6-21 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 7 and 14 are independent claims. In the instant Amendment, claims 1, 7 and 8 were amended, claim 5 was canceled and claim 21 was added. This action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (“Huang” US 2022/0382374) in view of Yuan (CN 201880096029 A).
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
detecting a touch input on a touch sensitive display (see fig 10D, 1038; e.g., detect touch of fingers), the touch input representing home row finger positions defined for a virtual keyboard user interface (UI) (see fig 4B where three fingers are shown in a “row”);
configuring the virtual keyboard UI based on the touch input (see fig 10E, 1034; e.g., virtual keyboard generated based on touch of fingers); and
outputting the virtual keyboard UI to be displayed on the touch sensitive display, according to the user-adaptive layout (see fig 10E, 1034; e.g., virtual keyboard).
Huang does not expressly disclose the virtual keyboard UI comprising a plurality of virtual objects arranged in a user- adaptive layout based on the touch input.
However, Yuan discloses the virtual keyboard UI comprising a plurality of virtual objects arranged in a user- adaptive layout based on the touch input (see page 5, line 18 to page 7, line 4; e.g., user-adaptive layout). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Yuan’s teachings in Huang’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that reduces inconvenience by adapting to use habits of user.
Regarding claim 2, Yuan discloses wherein the plurality of virtual objects includes a plurality of adaptive virtual keys, each of the plurality of adaptive virtual keys having a respective one or more properties for dynamically configuring the user-adaptive layout, and wherein generating the virtual keyboard UI comprises: adjusting the respective one or more properties of each of the plurality of adaptive virtual keys, based on the touch input (see page 5, line 18 to page 7, line 4; e.g., user-adaptive layout).
Regarding claim 3, Yuan discloses wherein the one or more properties includes at least one of: key size; key pitch; key gap; or key aspect ratio (see page 5, line 18 to page 7, line 4; e.g., user-adaptive layout).
Regarding claim 4, Yuan discloses wherein the plurality of virtual objects also includes a first panel of virtual keys and a second panel of virtual keys, wherein each of the plurality of virtual adaptive keys are configured in the user-adaptive layout to be adjacent to one or both of the first panel of virtual keys and the second panel of virtual keys, and wherein outputting the virtual keyboard UI to be displayed comprises: outputting the first panel of virtual keys, the second panel of virtual keys and the plurality of adaptive keys to be displayed, according to the user-adaptive layout (see fig 3; also see page 5, line 18 to page 7, line 4; e.g., user-adaptive layout).
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses further comprising: prior to detecting the touch input: detecting a virtual keyboard launch gesture in proximity to the touch sensitive display; detecting a hand position in proximity to the touch sensitive display, based on the virtual keyboard launch gesture; and configuring a preview of the virtual keyboard UI to be displayed on the touch sensitive display, based on the hand position (see paragraphs [0028], [0036], [0045] and [0153]-[0154]; e.g., proximity of user hand to display).
Huang does not expressly disclose the virtual keyboard is arranged in a user-adaptive layout.
However, Yuan discloses the virtual keyboard arranged in a user- adaptive layout (see page 5, line 18 to page 7, line 4; e.g., user-adaptive layout). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Yuan’s teachings in Huang’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that reduces inconvenience by adapting to use habits of user.
Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
detecting a touch input on a touch sensitive display, the touch input representing home row finger positions defined for a virtual keyboard user interface (UI) (see fig 4B where three fingers are shown in a “row”);
outputting the virtual keyboard UI to be displayed on the touch sensitive display, (see fig 10E where virtual keyboard is shown);
in response to detecting touch input representing movement of the home row finger positions away from the edge of the touch sensitive display, move the virtual keyboard UI to increase a margin between the virtual keyboard UI and an edge of the touch sensitive display (see figs 10-13; also see paragraphs [0126], [0132], [0137] and [0140]; e.g., “Depending on the distance over which the user input is moved across the lower touchscreen 1032, lower touchscreen 1032 may move the virtual keyboard 1034 out of the lower touchscreen 1032 from the left-hand side thereof, and the lower touchscreen 1032 may only display the virtual trackpad 1036 (FIG. 13D).”);
wherein a virtual trackpad is displayable in the margin between the virtual keyboard UI and the edge of the touch sensitive display (see fig 11).
Huang does not expressly disclose the virtual keyboard UI being displayed at a location on the touch sensitive display corresponding to the touch input representing the home row finger positions.
However, Yuan discloses the virtual keyboard UI being displayed at a location on the touch sensitive display corresponding to the touch input representing the home row finger positions (see page 5, line 18 to page 7, line 4; e.g., user-adaptive layout). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Yuan’s teachings in Huang’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that reduces inconvenience by adapting to use habits of user.
Regarding claim 15, Huang discloses wherein a size of the virtual trackpad increases as the margin between the virtual keyboard UI and the edge of the touch sensitive display increases, and the size of the virtual trackpad decreases as the margin between the virtual keyboard UI and the edge of the touch sensitive display decreases (see figs 10-13; also see paragraphs [0126], [0132], [0137] and [0140]; e.g., “Depending on the distance over which the user input is moved across the lower touchscreen 1032, lower touchscreen 1032 may move the virtual keyboard 1034 out of the lower touchscreen 1032 from the left-hand side thereof, and the lower touchscreen 1032 may only display the virtual trackpad 1036 (FIG. 13D).”).
Regarding claim 16, Huang discloses wherein the virtual trackpad is displayed in the margin between the virtual keyboard UI and the edge of the touch sensitive display in response to the virtual keyboard UI being moved a first threshold distance from the edge of the touch sensitive display (see figs 10-13; also see paragraphs [0126], [0132], [0137] and [0140]; e.g., “Depending on the distance over which the user input is moved across the lower touchscreen 1032, lower touchscreen 1032 may move the virtual keyboard 1034 out of the lower touchscreen 1032 from the left-hand side thereof, and the lower touchscreen 1032 may only display the virtual trackpad 1036 (FIG. 13D).”).
Regarding claim 17, Huang discloses wherein the virtual trackpad is displayed in the margin between the virtual keyboard UI and the edge of the touch sensitive display at a maximum trackpad size in response to the virtual keyboard UI being moved a second threshold distance, greater than the first threshold distance, from the edge of the touch sensitive display (see figs 13C and 13D; also see paragraphs [0126], [0132], [0137] and [0140]; e.g., “Depending on the distance over which the user input is moved across the lower touchscreen 1032, lower touchscreen 1032 may move the virtual keyboard 1034 out of the lower touchscreen 1032 from the left-hand side thereof, and the lower touchscreen 1032 may only display the virtual trackpad 1036 (FIG. 13D).”).
5. Claim(s) 7-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Kazunori (JP 2016177658).
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
performing a virtual keyboard calibration by (see paragraph [0101]-[0105]): detecting touch input on a touch sensitive display (see fig 5, 542 and 544), the touch input being detected as sensor data representative of a placement of a hand on the touch sensitive display (see paragraphs [0025], [0103] and [0153]-[0154]; e.g., fingers and hand; also see fig 11A; e.g., part of palm touches screen);
generating a virtual keyboard user interface (UI) comprising a plurality of virtual objects based on the multiple measurements of the hand obtained during the virtual keyboard calibration (see fig 11E, 1034; e.g., virtual keyboard generated based on touch); and
outputting the virtual keyboard UI to be displayed on the touch sensitive display, according to the user-adaptive layout (see fig 11E).
Huang does not expressly disclose obtaining multiple measurements of the hand for determining a size of the hand, based on the sensor data.
However, Kazunori discloses wherein a user hand profile is generated based on multiple measurements of the hand, based on the sensor data (see fig 4; e.g., “In step S21, the virtual keyboard setting processing unit 55 analyzes the finger image and measures the palm position / width and the fingertip position / pitch. The virtual keyboard setting processing unit 55 sets the keyboard size and key top pitch based on the measurement result. In step S22, the output control unit 56 sets the virtual keyboard set by the virtual keyboard setting processing unit 55 to the position corresponding to the palm and the position of the fingertip, and displays the virtual keyboard of the size corresponding to the width and pitch of the fingertip on the outside visual field image”). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Kazunori’s teachings in Huang’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that reduces inconvenience by adapting to user habits of use.
Regarding claim 8, Huang does not expressly disclose wherein a user hand profile is generated based on multiple measurements of the hand, the measurements comprising multiple of: a palm width; a finger length; a finger span; or a distance between fingers.
However, Kazunori discloses wherein a user hand profile is generated based on multiple measurements of the hand, the measurements comprising multiple of: a palm width; a finger length; a finger span (see fig 4; e.g., “In step S21, the virtual keyboard setting processing unit 55 analyzes the finger image and measures the palm position / width and the fingertip position / pitch. The virtual keyboard setting processing unit 55 sets the keyboard size and key top pitch based on the measurement result. In step S22, the output control unit 56 sets the virtual keyboard set by the virtual keyboard setting processing unit 55 to the position corresponding to the palm and the position of the fingertip, and displays the virtual keyboard of the size corresponding to the width and pitch of the fingertip on the outside visual field image”).
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses wherein the user hand profile is stored and wherein the user-adaptive layout of the virtual keyboard UI is stored in association with the user hand profile (see paragraphs [0010] and [0093]; e.g., measure size of contact).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses wherein generating the virtual keyboard UI comprises determining that the user hand profile matches an existing stored user hand profile, and retrieving the stored user-adaptive layout associated with the stored user hand profile to use for the generating the virtual keyboard UI (see paragraphs [0010], [0034], [0090]-[0091] and [0093]; e.g., measure size of contact; e.g., compare stored inputs).
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses further comprising: prior to performing the virtual keyboard calibration, detecting a virtual keyboard launch gesture in proximity to the touch sensitive display; and performing the virtual keyboard calibration responsive to detecting the virtual keyboard launch gesture (see paragraphs [0028], [0036], [0045] and [0153]-[0154]; e.g., proximity of user hand to display).
Regarding claim 12, Yuan discloses wherein the plurality of virtual objects includes a plurality of adaptive virtual keys, each of the plurality of adaptive virtual keys having a respective one or more properties for dynamically configuring the user- adaptive layout, and wherein generating the virtual keyboard UI comprises: adjusting the respective one or more properties of each of the plurality of adaptive virtual keys, based on the one or more hand measurements (see page 5, line 18 to page 7, line 4; e.g., user-adaptive layout).
Regarding claim 13, Yuan discloses wherein at least one property of each of the plurality of adaptive virtual keys is at least one of: key size; key pitch; key gap; or key aspect ratio (see page 5, line 18 to page 7, line 4; e.g., user-adaptive layout).
6. Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Yuan in view of Louch (US 2010/0245260).
Regarding claim 18, Huang does not expressly disclose further comprising: detecting a touch input representing selection of a trackpad toggle button displayed on the touch sensitive display; responsive to selection of the trackpad toggle button, moving the virtual keyboard UI to increase the margin between the virtual keyboard UI and the edge of the touch sensitive display to accommodate display of the virtual trackpad; and displaying the virtual trackpad in the margin between the virtual keyboard UI and the edge of the touch sensitive display.
However, Louch discloses further comprising: detecting a touch input representing selection of a trackpad toggle button displayed on the touch sensitive display; responsive to selection of the trackpad toggle button, moving the virtual keyboard UI to increase the margin between the virtual keyboard UI and the edge of the touch sensitive display to accommodate display of the virtual trackpad; and displaying the virtual trackpad in the margin between the virtual keyboard UI and the edge of the touch sensitive display (see figs and paragraphs [0044]-[0046]; e.g., “the control object 318 can be used to deactivate (e.g., hide, remove from display, or exit) the virtual input device 310”). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Louch’s teachings in Huang’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that reduces inconvenience by adapting to use habits of user.
Regarding claim 19, Louch discloses wherein, responsive to selection of the trackpad toggle button, the virtual keyboard UI is moved to increase the margin between the virtual keyboard UI and the edge of the touch sensitive display to accommodate display of the virtual trackpad at a maximum trackpad size (see figs and paragraphs [0044]-[0046]; e.g., “the control object 318 can be used to deactivate (e.g., hide, remove from display, or exit) the virtual input device 310”).
Regarding claim 20, Louch discloses further comprising: while the virtual trackpad is displayed, detecting a touch input representing another selection of the trackpad toggle button; responsive to selection of the trackpad toggle button, moving the virtual keyboard UI to decrease the margin between the virtual keyboard UI and the edge of the touch sensitive display; and hiding the virtual trackpad from being displayed (see figs and paragraphs [0044]-[0046]; e.g., “the control object 318 can be used to deactivate (e.g., hide, remove from display, or exit) the virtual input device 310”).
7. Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang and Yuan in view of Isaac (US 2010/0245260).
Regarding claim 21, Huang does not expressly disclose wherein the home row finger positions defined for the virtual keyboard UI include finger positions for at least two fingers corresponding to anchor keys of the virtual keyboard.
However, Isaac discloses wherein the home row finger positions defined for the virtual keyboard UI include finger positions for at least two fingers corresponding to anchor keys of the virtual keyboard (see col. 15, line 53 to col. 16, line 49; e.g., “Home row rest keys can be easily distinguished from other keys by feel”). It would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the present invention to include Isaac’s teachings in Huang’s user interface in an effort to provide a more user-friendly interface that reduces inconvenience by adapting to use habits of user.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant's arguments filed 7/3/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments concerning Huang failing to disclose “the touch input representing home row finger positions defined for a virtual keyboard user interface (UI)”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Huang clearly discloses detection of an input on a virtual keyboard (see paragraph [0096]; e.g., “FIG. 4B shows a virtual keyboard 505 (with the majority of the keys removed for clarity) displayed by touchscreen 104. A user's four fingers and thumb on a single hand 510 are seen to simultaneously contact and apply pressures or forces to virtual keyboard 505.”). Examiner’s interpreting the user’s “four fingers” as the claimed “home row finger positions.”
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments concerning Huang failing to disclose “configuring the virtual keyboard UI based on the touch input”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Huang clearly discloses configuring the virtual keyboard based on the touch input (see paragraph [0101]).
Yuan clearly discloses configuring the virtual keyboard based on the touch input (see page 5, line 18 to page 7, line 4; e.g., user-adaptive layout).
Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
9. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 7-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Andersen (US 2014/0267044).
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHAWN N TILLERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174