DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Clams 31 – 35 and 39 – 51 are pending.
Claims 31 – 35, 39 – 41 and 46 – 51 are allowed.
Claims 42 – 45 are rejected.
Response to Amendment
The amendment to claims 31 and 32, and new claims 41 - 51, submitted August 7, 2026 is acknowledged and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 26 – 30, 37 and 38 under 35 USC 112(d) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the cancellation of the claims 26 – 30, 37 and 38. The rejection of claims 26 – 30, 37 and 38 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 - 10, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 26, 27, 28 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Terrell (US 3,862,240) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the cancellation of claims 26, 27, 28, amendment to claim 31 and arguments presented. The rejection of claims 26, 27, 28 and 31 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 - 10, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coe have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the cancellation of claim 27. The rejection of claim 27 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 - 10, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the cancellation of claim 27. The rejection of claim 27 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 - 10, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 26, 27 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Chasbouni et al and Cheminform abs. have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the cancellation of claims 26, 27, amendment to claim 31 and arguments presented. The rejection of claims 26, 27 and 31 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 - 10, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 27 – 30 under 35 USC 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Arthur have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the cancellation of the claims 27 - 30. The rejection of claims 27 – 30 under 35 USC 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 - 10, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 32 under 35 USC 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Tapscott have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendment. The rejection of claim 32 under 35 USC 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 - 10, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 32 under 35 USC 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Hudlicky have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendment. The rejection of claim 32 under 35 USC 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 - 10, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 32, 33 and 35 under 35 USC 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Roberts have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendment. The rejection of claims 32, 33 and 35 under 35 USC 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 - 10, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 32 and 33 under 35 USC 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DiLoreto have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendment. The rejection of claims 32 and 33 under 35 USC 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 - 10, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 32, 33 and 34 under 35 USC 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bryantservt have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the claim amendment. The rejection of claims 32, 33 and 34 under 35 USC 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10 - 12, filed August 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 26, 37 – 38, 31, 39 and 40 under 35 USC 112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the cancellation of the claims 26, 37 – 38, amendment to claim 31, and arguments presented. The rejection of claims 26, 37 – 38, 31, 39 and 40 under 35 USC 112(a) has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 42, 43 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Sakata et al. (US 2014/0017560).
The rejected claims cover, inter alia, the compound of
Independent claim 43 teaches a composition comprising the compound with the above structure.
Independent claim 44 teaches a solvent composition comprising the compound with the above structure.
However, Sakata discloses a lithium ion secondary cell containing a nonaqueous solvent such as the one below:
. See paragraph [0011] the fluorine-containing ether represented by the formula (I). The teaching of the solvent is discussed in paragraph [0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 42, 43 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakata et al. (US 2014/0017560), in view of Arthur et al. (WO2015/051131).
Rejected clam 42 is disclosed in paragraph 20 above.
Independent claim 43 teaches a composition comprising the compound with the above structure.
Independent claim 44 teaches a coolant composition comprising a composition comprising the compound with the structure of paragraph 20.
However, However, Sakata discloses a lithium ion secondary cell containing a nonaqueous solvent such as the one below:
. See paragraph [0011] the fluorine-containing ether represented by the formula (I). The teaching of the solvent is discussed in paragraph [0008]). According to the teaching of Sakata, their fluorine-containing ether is excellent for high temperature storage for the lithium ion of the lithium ion secondary cell. (Abstract, [0006] & [0018]).
Sakata does not specifically state that their fluorine-containing ether is a coolant composition. However, Arthur states that fluorinated ethers have use as a heat transfer fluid, and as an electrolyte solvent in electrochemical cells, such as lithium ion batteries. (pp. 1, ln 14 – 15). As such, in this instance it would have been understood by one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teaching Arthur, that the capacity of the compound of Sakata to act as a coolant would be a natural feature of the compound. It is well settled that a patent cannot be properly granted for the discovery of a result which would flow naturally from the teaching of the prior art. In re Libby, 118, USPQ 94, 96; 255 F2d 412 (C.C.P.A. 1958)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31 – 35, 39 – 41 and 46 – 51 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the Examiner has considered the amendment filed by Applicant on August 7, 2026 and the arguments therein. Applicant’s arguments were found persuasive.
Art Made of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 5,536,885 (Hung) discloses production of perfluoro(alkyl vinyl ethers); and Fokin et al. ( Izvestiya Akademii Nauk SSSR, Seriya Khimicheskaya, 1977) discloses the reaction of polyfluorinated alcohols with fluoroolefins.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YATE' K CUTLIFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692