DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andrew et al. (US 6,922,909). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed, in light of the accompanying specification, to be disclosed by Andrew as teaching:
an attachment for an air-moving appliance (see title and abstract) comprising:
a first end 23 configured to removably connect to the air-moving appliance, the first end including an attachment inlet for receiving airflow from an outlet of the air-moving appliance (figure 5, column 5 lines 14-25);
a second end 20, 21 spaced from the first end, the second end including an attachment outlet (figure 10);
a body 22 defining a passage for airflow between the first end and the second end (figure 1); and
a connector 23, 24, 25 configured to extend into a central passage of the air-moving appliance, wherein the connector includes a wall extending along an axis and forming a cylinder, wherein the attachment inlet of the first end is annular and extends around the connector (figures 1, 5, 10). Andrew also discloses the claim 3 feature wherein the attachment inlet of the first end is circumferentially disposed about the axis and the wall of the connector and is defined radially between the wall of the connector and the body of the attachment (column 4 lines 40-45), the claim 4 feature wherein the attachment outlet of the second end includes at least one elongate slot (column 4 lines 46-54).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 11,844,408). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed, in light of the accompanying specification, to be disclosed by Kim as teaching:
an air-moving appliance (see title and abstract) comprising:
a body 210 including an inner wall and an outer wall, the outer wall and the inner wall defining a cavity therebetween, the inner wall defining a central passage of the body (figures 5, 6);
an inlet 212, 224 for airflow to enter the cavity (figures 5, 6);
an outlet 300 for the airflow to exit the cavity; and
an attachment 200 comprising:
a wall 211, 217 configured to extend into the central passage of the body, wherein the wall defines an inner space that is closed off from the central passage; and
an attachment inlet 240, 260 in flow communication with the outlet, wherein the attachment inlet is annular and extends around the wall of the attachment (figures 6, 7). Kim also discloses the claim 10 feature wherein the attachment includes a connector including the wall, and wherein the central passage of the body is configured to receive the connector therein, the connector having a shape that corresponds to the shape of the central passage of the body (figures 5, 7), the claim 11 feature of a handle configured to be held by a user during operation of the air-moving appliance (figures 6, 7).
Claims 16-17 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Prehodka. (US 2011/0277335). The claims are reasonably and broadly construed, in light of the accompanying specification, to be disclosed by Prehodka as teaching:
an attachment for an air-moving appliance (see title and abstract), the attachment comprising:
a first end 230 configured to removably connect to a body of the air-moving appliance, the first end including an inlet for receiving airflow from an outlet of the air-moving appliance (figure 1);
a second end 220 spaced from the first end, the second end including an attachment outlet (figure 3);
prongs 340, 540, 640 extending from the second end and configured to engage hair; a body defining a passage for airflow between the first end and the second end (figures 6, 12, 15); and
a connector 330, 430 configured to extend into a central passage of the air-moving appliance, wherein the connector includes a wall extending along an axis, the wall defining an inner space that is closed off from the central passage (figures 6, 7, 8). Prehodka also discloses the claim 17 feature of a collar that extends about the wall, the collar and the wall defining the inlet; and braces extending between the wall and the collar (figures 6, 7, 8), the claim 20 feature wherein the attachment outlet includes at least one elongate slot (figures 10, 12, 15), the claim 21 feature wherein the wall of the connector extends along an axis and forms a cylinder, and wherein the inlet is annular and is circumferentially disposed about the axis and the wall (figures 6, 7, 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrew in view of Predhodka. Andrew discloses the claimed invention, as rejected above, except for the recited prongs. Predhodka, another air moving appliance, discloses that features, as discussed in the third anticipatory rejection above. Furthermore, Andrew discloses the claimed invention, except for the recited grip feature and elastic extension. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recite those features since the teachings of Andrew would perform the invention as claimed, regardless of those features and applicants have not claimed or specified the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim. Prehodka discloses the claimed invention, except for the recited elastic member or air shaped passage. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recite those features since the teachings of Prehodka would perform the invention as claimed, regardless of those features and applicants have not claimed or specified the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,156,578. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because that patent anticipates the claimed invention except the patent claimed sidewall. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recite the current claimed invention without the patent feature since the patent would perform the invention as claimed, regardless of those features and applicants have not claimed or specified the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,330,884. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because that patent anticipates the claimed invention except the current application claimed wall. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recite the current claimed invention with the patent feature since the patent would perform the invention as claimed, regardless of those features and applicants have not claimed or specified the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability.
Claim 16 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,156,578. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because that patent anticipates the claimed invention except the current application claimed prongs. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to recite the current claimed invention without the patent feature since the patent would perform the invention as claimed, regardless of those features and applicants have not claimed or specified the criticality of those features as being necessary for patentability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Other prior art references cited with this application, may teach one or more claim features but do not rise to a level of anticipation, obviousness, and/or double patenting. References A, B, C, N, cited with this application, at patent publications from the same inventive entity. References B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, O, P, teach hair attachments.
Thursday, June 4, 2026
/STEPHEN M GRAVINI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753