DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 are original. Therefore, claims 1-4 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites the limitation “the improvement comprising of” in line 11 of claim 1. However, it is suggested to amend to - the improvement comprising -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites the limitation “the nozzle and head assembly which is a self-guided, self-propelled, and fire detecting” in lines 3-4 of claim 2. However, it is suggested to amend to - the nozzle and head assembly which is self-guided, self-propelled, and fire detecting -. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Electronic control unit (Claim 1)
Plurality of ports (Claim 1)
Wireless communications unit (Claim 1)
Housing (Claim 2)
Means for communicating status of the system to other fire fighting assets (Claim 2)
Means for transportation and deployment (Claim 2)
Hose system (Claims 2 & 3)
Manual fire suppression system (Claim 3)
Means for directing the path of travel (Claim 3)
Hose storage device within a vehicle (Claim 4)
Means for initiating the launch of the device into a fire (Claim 4)
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
“Means for communicating status of the system to other fire fighting assets” in line 6 of claim 2. The limitation includes the term “means” coupled with functional language “for communicating status of the system to other fire fighting assets” and the term “means” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
“Means for transportation and deployment” in line 7 of claim 2. The limitation includes the term “means” coupled with functional language “for transportation and deployment” and the term “means” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
“Means for directing the path of travel” in lines 4-5 of claim 3. The limitation includes the term “means” coupled with functional language “for directing the path of travel” and the term “means” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
“Means for initiating the launch of the device into a fire“ in line 5 of claim 4. The limitation includes the term “means” coupled with functional language “for initiating the launch of the device into a fire” and the term “means” is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are as follows.
“Wireless communications unit” in lines 11-12 of claim 1. The limitation appears to include a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “for wireless communications” and the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
“Hose storage device” in line 5 of claim 2. The limitation appears to include a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “for wireless communications” and the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
“Hose system” in lines 4 of claim 2. The limitation appears to include a generic placeholder “system” coupled with functional language “to communicate said fluid” and the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
“Hose system” in lines 3-4 of claim 3. The limitation appears to include a generic placeholder “system” coupled with functional language “to communicate said fluid” and the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are as follows:
“An electronic control unit” in lines 11-12 of claim 1. The limitation appears to include a generic placeholder “unit” coupled with functional language “for electronic control” and the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
A review of the specification does not appear have corresponding structure described in the specification for 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitation regarding a “wireless communications unit” in lines 11-12 of claim 1.
A review of the specification does not appear have corresponding structure described in the specification for 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitation regarding a “means for communicating status of the system to other fire fighting assets” in line 6 of claim 2.
A review of the specification does not appear have corresponding structure described in the specification for 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitation regarding a “means for transportation and deployment” in line 7 of claim 2.
A review of the specification does not appear have corresponding structure described in the specification for 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitation regarding a “hose system” in lines 4 of claim 2.
A review of the specification appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitation regarding a “hose storage device” in line 5 of claim 2, because page 6 of the applicant’s specification describes that numeral 15 is the hose storage device and Fig. 3 shows item 15 as a conical shaped structure. The examiner will interpret this limitation as a conical shaped structure, or equivalent thereof.
A review of the specification does not appear have corresponding structure described in the specification for 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitation regarding a “means for directing the path of travel” in lines 4-5 of claim 3.
A review of the specification does not appear have corresponding structure described in the specification for 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitation regarding a “hose system” in lines 3-4 of claim 3.
A review of the specification does not appear have corresponding structure described in the specification for 35 U.S.C. 112(f) limitation regarding a “means for initiating the launch of the device into a fire“ in line 5 of claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the applicant recites “a wireless communications unit” in lines 11-12 of claim 1, but does describe any structure in the specification nor show any structure in the drawings. Therefore, this limitation was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention and is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claims 2-4 depend on claim 1, therefore claims 2-4 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Regarding claim 2, the applicant recites “a means for communicating status of the system to other fire fighting assets” in line 6 of claim 2, “a means for transportation and deployment” in line 7 of claim 2, and a “hose system” in lines 4 of claim 2, but does describe any structure in the specification nor show any structure in the drawings. Therefore, this limitation was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention and is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Regarding claim 3, the applicant recites “a means for directing the path of travel” in lines 4-5 of claim 3 and a “hose system” in lines 3-4 of claim, but does describe any structure in the specification nor show any structure in the drawings. Therefore, this limitation was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention and is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Regarding claim 4, the applicant recites “a means for initiating the launch of the device into a fire“ in line 5 of claim 4, but does describe any structure in the specification nor show any structure in the drawings. Therefore, this limitation was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention and is therefore rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
The claim limitation “wireless communications unit” in lines 11-12 of claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No structure for “wireless communications unit” was found in the applicant’s specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-4 depend on claim 1, therefore claims 2-4 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
The claim limitation “means for communicating status of the system to other fire fighting assets” in line 6 of claim 2 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No structure for “means for communicating status of the system to other fire fighting asset” was found in the applicant’s specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
The claim limitation “means for transportation and deployment” in line 7 of claim 2. invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No structure for “means for transportation and deployment” was found in the applicant’s specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
The claim limitation “hose system” in lines 4 of claim 2. invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No structure for a “hose system” was found in the applicant’s specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
The claim limitation “means for directing the path of travel” in lines 4-5 of claim 3 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No structure for “means for directing the path of travel” was found in the applicant’s specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
The claim limitation “hose system” in lines 3-4 of claim 3 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No structure for a “hose system” was found in the applicant’s specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
The claim limitation “means for initiating the launch of the device into a fire“ in line 5 of claim 4 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. No structure for a “means for initiating the launch of the device into a fire” was found in the applicant’s specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the improvement being transported via reactive jet propulsion, while utilizing no external moving parts, by the principle of acceleration of a fluid through a jet nozzle, and utilizing the hydraulic force of fluid pressure to propel the device” in lines 4-7 of claim 1, and the improvement comprising of: (a) guidance computer with a wireless communications unit, in communication with (b) a 3-axis gyroscope and (c) a 3-axis accelerometer, powered by (d) a self-contained electrical power source, and (e) communicating to a sensor array, which is programmed by logic to avoid obstacles, navigate to the fire, and control fluid by a (f) plurality of valve actuators which cause (g) an internal valve spool, to divert the flow of fluid internal to the (h) valve body thus allowing (i) lifting jet nozzles to move the assembly by reactive jet propulsion to allow delivery of suppression fluid through (j) fire attack ports” in lines 11-17 of claim 1. Firstly, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the improvement.” Secondly, it is unclear as to what the improvement is. Is the improvement the autonomous fire suppression nozzle and head assembly, elements of the autonomous fire suppression nozzle and head assembly, the electronic control unit or something else? Thirdly, it is unclear if “the improvement” in line 4 of claim 1 is the same as “the improvement” in line 11 of claim 1.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the body cavity of the nozzle and head assembly" in lines 8-9 of claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “utilizing the hydraulic force of fluid pressure to propel the device” and “control the travel and delivery functions of the device for fire suppression fluids and gasses.” With regards to “the device,” it is unclear if the applicant is referring to the “autonomous fire suppression device” in line 1 of claim 1, the “hose delivery device” in line 4 of claim 1 or another device.
Claims 2-4 depend on claim 1, therefore claims 2-4 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “A fire suppression system with an autonomous fire suppression device according to claim 1, comprising: A collection of components, the improvement comprising: (a) the nozzle and head assembly which is a self-guided, self-propelled, and fire detecting” in lines 1-4 of claim 2. It is unclear if the fire suppression system comprises the autonomous fire suppression system of claim 1, and further unclear if it comprises an additional nozzle and head assembly which is a self-guided, self-propelled, and fire detecting or if the applicant is referring to the nozzle and head assembly recited in claim 1. Additionally claim 1, from which claim 2 is believed to dependent on recites “the improvement” twice in lines 4 and 11, and therefore it is unclear if these are the same improvement or different improvements from the improvement recited in line 3 of claim 2.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a manual fire suppression system with an autonomous fire suppression device according to claim 1, comprising a collection of components, the improvement comprising: (a) the nozzle and head assembly which is self-stabilized and self-propelled,” in lines 1-3 of claim 3. It is unclear if the manual system comprises the autonomous fire suppression system of claim 1, and further unclear if it comprises an additional nozzle and head assembly which is a self-guided and self-propelled or if the applicant is refereeing to the nozzle and head assembly recited in claim 1. Additionally claim 1, from which claim 3 is believed to dependent on recites “the improvement” twice in lines 4 and 11, and therefore it is unclear if these are the same improvement or different improvements from the improvement recited in line 2 of claim 3.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “a means for directing the path of travel of said device by a firefighter” in lines 4-5 of claim 3. With regards to “the device,” it is unclear if the applicant is referring to “the autonomous fire suppression device according to claim 1” recited in line 1 of claim 3, “the hose storage device” recited in lines 3-4 of claim 3, or a different device.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a vehicle mounted automatic fire suppression system with an autonomous fire suppression device according to claim 1, comprising a collection of components, the improvement comprising: (a) the nozzle and head assembly which is self-stabilized, self-guided, self-propelled, and fire detecting” in lines 1-3 of claim 3. It is unclear if vehicle mounted automatic fire suppression system comprises the autonomous fire suppression system of claim 1, and further unclear if it comprises an additional nozzle and head assembly which is self-stabilized, self-guided, self-propelled, and fire detecting or if the applicant is refereeing to the nozzle and head assembly recited in claim 1. Additionally claim 1, from which claim 4 is believed to dependent on recites “the improvement” twice in lines 4 and 11, and therefore it is unclear if these are the same improvement or different improvements from the improvement recited in line 2 of claim 4.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a means for initiating the launch of the device into a fire” in line 5 of claim 4. With regards to “the device,” it is unclear if the applicant is referring to “the autonomous fire suppression device according to claim 1” recited in line 1 of claim 4, “the hose storage device” recited in line 5 of claim 4, or a different device.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the source of pressurized fire suppression fluid" in line 4 of claim 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the hose system" in line 4 of claim 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The above are just examples of inconsistencies and problematic issues noted by the Examiner. Applicant is advised to carefully review and amend the application to correct other deficiencies. For the purpose of examination, the claims will be examined as best understood by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McDaniel (US 2016/0243388).
Regarding claim 1, McDaniel discloses an autonomous fire suppression device, in which the mass transferred by fluid flow is utilized to generate reactive motive force (Clm. 1), comprising:
an autonomous fire suppression nozzle and head assembly which is a self-guided, self-propelled, fire- detecting, hose delivery device for the application of fire suppression fluids or gasses, the improvement being transported via reactive jet propulsion, while utilizing no external moving parts, by the principle of acceleration of a fluid through a jet nozzle, and utilizing the hydraulic force of fluid pressure to propel the device (Clm. 1);
a single internal electromagnetic-fluidic hydraulic valve core enclosed within the body cavity of the nozzle and head assembly surrounded by a plurality of ports that control the travel and delivery functions of the device for fire suppression fluids and gasses (Clm. 1);
an electronic control unit, the improvement comprising of: (a) guidance computer with a wireless communications unit, in communication with (b) a 3-axis gyroscope and (c) a 3-axis accelerometer, powered by (d) a self-contained electrical power source, and (e) communicating to a sensor array, which is programmed by logic to avoid obstacles, navigate to the fire, and control fluid by a (f) plurality of valve actuators which cause (g) an internal valve spool, to divert the flow of fluid internal to the (h) valve body thus allowing (i) lifting jet nozzles to move the assembly by reactive jet propulsion to allow delivery of suppression fluid through (j) fire attack ports (Clm. 1).
Regarding claim 2, McDaniel discloses a fire suppression system with an autonomous fire suppression device according to claim 1 (Clm. 2), comprising:
A collection of components, the improvement comprising: (a) the nozzle and head assembly which is a self-guided, self-propelled, and fire detecting, (b) a source of pressurized fluid, (c) a hose system to communicate said fluid, (d) a hose storage device (Fig. 3, 15), and (d) a housing for the components (Clm. 2);
a means for communicating status of the system to other fire fighting assets (Clm. 2);
a means for transportation and deployment (Clm. 2).
Regarding claim 3, McDaniel discloses a manual fire suppression system with an autonomous fire suppression device according to claim 1 (Clm. 3), comprising a collection of components, the improvement comprising: (a) the nozzle and head assembly which is self-stabilized and self-propelled, (b) a source of pressurized fire suppression fluid, (c) a hose system to communicate said fluid, (d) a hose storage device (Fig. 3, 15), and (e) a means for directing the path of travel of said device by a firefighter (Clm. 3).
Regarding claim 4, McDaniel discloses a vehicle mounted automatic fire suppression system with an autonomous fire suppression device according to claim 1 (Clm. 4; Fig shown on sheet 4.), comprising a collection of components, the improvement comprising: (a) the nozzle and head assembly which is self-stabilized, self-guided, self-propelled, and fire detecting, (b) the source of pressurized fire suppression fluid, (c) the hose system to communicate said fluid, (d) a hose storage device within a vehicle, and (f) a means for initiating the launch of the device into a fire (Clm. 4).
Conclusion
/ANDREW DOMENIC ONDREJCAK/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/TUONGMINH N PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752