DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 12/12/2023.
Claims 1-16, 18-21 are currently pending.
Claim 17 is canceled in a preliminary amendment.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-16, 18-19 are currently amended.
Claims 20-21 are newly added.
Claims 1-16, 18-21 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-10, 12-13, 15-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xiaotao Ren (US 20240334344 A1).
Claims 1-16, 18-21 of the instant application are directed to a power control method, comprising: transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) according to a transmission power of the SL-PRS, wherein the transmission power of the SL-PRS is a minimum among a plurality of powers, and the plurality of powers comprise a maximum transmission power of the first terminal device and a first transmission power, and the first transmission power is a transmission power determined based on path loss, the method shown in FIG. 2.
The Ren reference is concerned with a method for controlling signal transmission power includes following steps: S101, determining a transmission power control parameter; S102, determine transmission power of a sidelink positioning reference signal S-PRS according to the transmission power control parameter. The transmission power P S-PRS (i) is determined according to
. Ren’s method is shown in FIG. 3.
For Claim 1, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein the method is applied to a first terminal device (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0364, lines 1-3, at a sending terminal side, a method for controlling signal transmission power), and the method comprises:
transmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) according to a transmission power of the SL-PRS (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0348, lines 7-9, that The sending terminal sends the sidelink positioning reference signal (S-PRS) with the determined transmission power P.sub.S-PRS), wherein the transmission power of the SL-PRS is a minimum among a plurality of powers, and the plurality of powers comprise a maximum transmission power of the first terminal device and a first transmission power, and the first transmission power is a transmission power determined based on path loss (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0378, that The transmission power P S-PRS (i) is determined according to the equation:
)
.
Ren explains that PCMAX is maximum transmission power of a sending terminal; PL is any one path loss of a sidelink path loss, a downlink path loss and an uplink path loss (see ¶ 0378-0385).
For Claim 5, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein the first transmission power is determined according to a third transmission power and a fourth transmission power; or, the first transmission power is determined according to the third transmission power; wherein the third transmission power is a transmission power determined based on downlink path loss, and the fourth transmission power is a transmission power determined based on sidelink path loss (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0385, lines 1-4, that PL is any one path loss of a sidelink path loss, a downlink path loss and an uplink path loss, or is a function value with at least one path loss of the sidelink path loss, the downlink path loss or the uplink path loss as an independent variable.) .
For Claim 6, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein in a case that the first transmission power is determined according to the third transmission power and the fourth transmission power, the first transmission power is a minimum of the third transmission power and the fourth transmission power (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0378, that The transmission power P S-PRS (i) is determined according to the equation:
).
For Claim 7, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein in a case that the first transmission power is determined according to the third transmission power and the fourth transmission power, the first terminal device satisfies one or more of the following conditions: a transmission between the first terminal device and a second terminal device is an unicast transmission; the first terminal device is configured with a preset basic working point of power control based on path loss; and the first terminal device is configured with a reference signal for measuring the sidelink path loss during the communication with the second terminal device (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0006, that As shown in FIG. 1, the terminal 1 may send a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (S-PRS) to the terminals 2 to 4. After receiving the S-PRS, the terminals 2 to 4 measure the S-PRS and send measurement results to UE1, to assist UE1 to complete the positioning calculation).
For Claim 8, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein in a case that the first transmission power is determined according to the third transmission power, the first terminal device does not satisfy one or more of the following conditions: a transmission between the first terminal device and a second terminal device is an unicast transmission; the first terminal device is configured with a preset basic working point of power control based on path loss; and the first terminal device is configured with a reference signal for measuring the sidelink path loss during the communication with the second terminal device (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0006, that As shown in FIG. 1, the terminal 1 may send a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (S-PRS) to the terminals 2 to 4. After receiving the S-PRS, the terminals 2 to 4 measure the S-PRS and send measurement results to UE1, to assist UE1 to complete the positioning calculation).
For Claim 9, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein the reference signal for measuring the sidelink path loss is one or more of the following: a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) in a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH); a DM-RS in a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH); an independently configured DM-RS; the SL-PRS (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0006, that As shown in FIG. 1, the terminal 1 may send a Sidelink Positioning Reference Signal (S-PRS) to the terminals 2 to 4. After receiving the S-PRS, the terminals 2 to 4 measure the S-PRS and send measurement results to UE1, to assist UE1 to complete the positioning calculation).
For Claim 10, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein the third transmission power is determined according to one or more of the following parameters: a basic working point of power control based on downlink path loss; a sub carrier gap; the number of frequency domain resource units occupied by the SL-PRS or the number of frequency domain resource units occupied by sidelink control information (SCI); a compensation factor for downlink path loss; and a measurement for downlink path loss obtained by the first terminal device (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0013, that the transmission power control parameter includes one or a combination of following parameters: [0016] a partial path loss compensation factor of the sidelink positioning reference signal; [0017] a quantity of resource blocks occupied by the sidelink positioning reference signal).
For Claim 12, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein the third transmission power is the maximum transmission power (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0380, that PCMAX is maximum transmission power of a sending terminal).
For Claim 13, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein the fourth transmission power is determined according to one or more of the following parameters: a basic working point of power control based on downlink path loss; a sub carrier gap; the number of frequency domain resource units occupied by the SL-PRS or the number of frequency domain resource units occupied by the SCI; a compensation factor for sidelink path loss; and a sidelink path loss estimated by the first device (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0013, that the transmission power control parameter includes one or a combination of following parameters: [0016] a partial path loss compensation factor of the sidelink positioning reference signal; [0017] a quantity of resource blocks occupied by the sidelink positioning reference signal).
For Claim 15, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein the fourth transmission power is the maximum transmission power (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0380, that PCMAX is maximum transmission power of a sending terminal).
For Claims 16, 18, please refer to the rejection of Claim 1 above.
For Claim 19, Ren discloses a computer program product comprising a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, realizes the method according to claim1 (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0528, that the computer software products are stored in a storage medium, including several instructions for causing a computer device (which may be a personal computer, a server, or a network device, etc.) or a processor to execute all or part of the steps of the methods described in various embodiments of the present disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 11, 14 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiaotao Ren (US 20240334344 A1) in view of Cheolkyu Shin et al (US 20240007968 A1).
For Claim 2, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein the plurality of powers further comprise a second transmission power, wherein the second transmission power is a maximum available transmission power determined based on a current channel busy ratio LCBR) level in a case of congestion control (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0284, that the parameter CBR refers to a channel occupation ratio in a resource pool in a historical time window measured by the terminal, and is a characterization parameter of a congestion degree of a current resource pool).
Ren fails to expressly teach a priority value of transmitted data.
However, Shin in analogous art discloses a priority value of transmitted data (Shin teaches, in ¶ 0258, that The value P.sub.MAX,CBR is determined with the CBR measured based on the SL RSSI and the priority of the data transmitted in the PSSCH transmission region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless communication system taught in Ren with the priority taught in Shin. The motivation is so that the maximum power for the congestion control is identified based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) measured for the PSSCH and a priority level [Shin: ¶ 0013, lines 9-11].
For Claim 3, Ren disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the priority value of the transmitted data is: a minimum of a priority value of the SL-PRS and a priority value of sidelink data; or, a preset priority value.
However, Shin in analogous art discloses that the priority value of the transmitted data is: a minimum of a priority value of the SL-PRS and a priority value of sidelink data (Shin teaches, in ¶ 0186, that in assumption 4, a minimum (min) priority for the positioning signal SL-PRS for the data transmission is assumed); or, a preset priority value (Shin teaches, in ¶ 0200, lines 1-8, that a transmission parameter range 1350 corresponding to a CBR range 1340, a CBR level 1330, and/or a priority 1320 of a transmit signal may be (pre-)configured through resource pool configuration 1310 values (e.g., the transmission parameter range 1350 corresponding to the CBR range 1340, the CBR level 1330, and/or the priority 1320 of the transmit signal) may be (pre-)configured in the UE before the UE is connected to the base station, and may be configured from the base station through the SIB).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless communication system taught in Ren with the priority taught in Shin. The motivation is so that the maximum power for the congestion control is identified based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) measured for the PSSCH and a priority level [Shin: ¶ 0013, lines 9-11].
For Claim 4, Ren disclose all of the claimed subject matter with the exception that the priority value of the transmitted data is at least one of the following: the preset priority value in a case that the SL-PRS is not multiplexed with the sidelink data in one time unit; the minimum of the priority value of the SL-PRS and the priority of the sidelink data, or the preset priority vale in a case that the SL-PRS is multiplexed with the sidelink data in one time unit.
However, Shin in analogous art discloses that that the priority value of the transmitted data is at least one of the following: the preset priority value in a case that the SL-PRS is not multiplexed with the sidelink data in one time unit; the minimum of the priority value of the SL-PRS and the priority of the sidelink data (Shin teaches, in ¶ 0186, that in assumption 4, a minimum (min) priority for the positioning signal SL-PRS for the data transmission is assumed), or the preset priority vale in a case that the SL-PRS is multiplexed with the sidelink data in one time unit (Shin teaches, in ¶ 0265, that In Condition 3-4, the value P.sub.MAX,CBR is determined using the SL-PRS priority if the SL-PRS is TDMed with the data and transmitted and received in the PSSCH resource region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless communication system taught in Ren with the priority taught in Shin. The motivation is so that the maximum power for the congestion control is identified based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) measured for the PSSCH and a priority level [Shin: ¶ 0013, lines 9-11].
For Claim 11, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein the third transmission power is a minimum of the maximum transmission power and a second transmission power; wherein the second transmission power is a maximum available transmission power determined based on a current CBR level in a case of congestion control (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0284, that the parameter CBR refers to a channel occupation ratio in a resource pool in a historical time window measured by the terminal, and is a characterization parameter of a congestion degree of a current resource pool).
Ren fails to expressly teach a priority value of transmitted data.
However, Shin in analogous art discloses a priority value of transmitted data (Shin teaches, in ¶ 0258, that The value P.sub.MAX,CBR is determined with the CBR measured based on the SL RSSI and the priority of the data transmitted in the PSSCH transmission region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless communication system taught in Ren with the priority taught in Shin. The motivation is so that the maximum power for the congestion control is identified based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) measured for the PSSCH and a priority level [Shin: ¶ 0013, lines 9-11].
For Claim 14, Ren discloses a power control method, wherein the fourth transmission power is a minimum of the maximum transmission power and a second transmission power; wherein the second transmission power is a maximum available transmission power determined based on a current CBR level in a case of congestion control (Ren teaches, in ¶ 0284, that the parameter CBR refers to a channel occupation ratio in a resource pool in a historical time window measured by the terminal, and is a characterization parameter of a congestion degree of a current resource pool).
Ren fails to expressly teach a priority value of transmitted data.
However, Shin in analogous art discloses a priority value of transmitted data (Shin teaches, in ¶ 0258, that The value P.sub.MAX,CBR is determined with the CBR measured based on the SL RSSI and the priority of the data transmitted in the PSSCH transmission region).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wireless communication system taught in Ren with the priority taught in Shin. The motivation is so that the maximum power for the congestion control is identified based on a channel busy ratio (CBR) measured for the PSSCH and a priority level [Shin: ¶ 0013, lines 9-11].
For Claim 20, please refer to the rejection of Claim 2 above.
For Claim 21, please refer to the rejection of Claim 3 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: ZHANG (US 20230403660 A1) is pertinent to a Positioning Reference Signal (PRS)-supporting sidelink power allocation method and apparatus, a storage medium, and a terminal.
/MOHAMED A KAMARA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412