Double Patenting
Claim 49-51,53,57-59 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No 11927741. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Claim 49-51 is obvious over Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No 11927741.
Claim 53 is obvious over Claim 2 of U.S. Patent No 11927741.
Claim 57-59 is obvious over Claim 3 of U.S. Patent No 11927741.
Claim 60 is obvious over Claim4 of U.S. Patent No 11927741.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 49-64,69-78 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102a as being anticipated by Tsuboi et al (US 20100194235)
Regarding Claim 49,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 16) a micromirror comprising: a mirror pivotally (11a) attached to a mount (20’) by a first pivoting structure (31) that permits pivotal movement of the mirror relative to the mount about a first axis (A1); a first comb drive having a first portion fixed relative to the mirror (12a, [0053] connected to land portion 11) and second portion fixed relative to the mount (Fig. 17, element 32a), the first comb drive being for actuating the mirror about the first axis [0067]; and a weight connected to the mirror (14a,14b), the weight and mirror being on opposite sides of a fulcrum of the first pivoting structure (Fig. 8 and Fig. 16), wherein the first axis is non-parallel to a longitudinal axis extending through the weight and the mirror (see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 50,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 16) further comprising: a first support structure (40) pivotally attached to the mount by a second pivoting structure (33,34) that permits pivotal movement of the first support structure mount relative to the first-support-structure mount about a second axis (A2), the second axis being non- parallel to the first axis (16); and a second comb drive having a first portion fixed relative to the mount (35) and a second portion fixed relative to the first support structure (36), and the second comb drive being for actuating the mount about the second axis [0115].
Regarding Claim 51,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 16) wherein the first comb drive is positioned between the fulcrum and the weight, and the mirror is positioned between the first and the second comb drives, the first comb drive being adjacent the fulcrum (as shown in Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 52,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 16) a third comb drive having a first portion fixed relative to the mirror ((12b)[0053] connected to land portion 11) and a second portion fixed relative to the mount (32b), the third comb drive being for actuating the mirror about the first axis together with the first comb drive [0067], wherein the mirror is positioned between the fulcrum and the third comb drive, the mirror being adjacent the fulcrum (see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 53,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 16) wherein the first comb drive is positioned between the second comb drive and the weight, the weight being adjacent the fulcrum (see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 54,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 16) a third comb drive having a first portion fixed relative to the mirror ((12b, [0053], connected to land portion 11) and a second portion fixed relative to the mount (32b), the third comb drive being for actuating the mirror about the first axis together with the first comb drive [0067], wherein the mirror is positioned between the fulcrum and the third comb drive, the mirror being adjacent the fulcrum (see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 55,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 16) wherein the first axis is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 56,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 16) wherein the weight and the mirror have an equivalent inertial torque on the fulcrum [0062].
Regarding Claim 57,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) a plurality of micromirrors, each of the micromirrors comprising: a mirror (Fig. 15, 11a) pivotally attached to a mount (20’) by a first pivoting structure (31) that permits pivotal movement of the mirror relative to the mount about a first axis (A1); a first comb drive having a first position portion fixed relative to the mirror ((12a)[0053] connected to land portion 11)) and a second portion fixed relative to the mount (32a), the first comb drive being for actuating the mirror about the first axis ([0067], and a weight connected to the mirror 14a,14b); and a weight connected to the mirror, the weight and the mirror being on opposite sides of a fulcrum of the first pivoting structure (Fig. 16 and Fig. 8), wherein the first axis is non- parallel to a longitudinal axis extending through the weight and the mirror (Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 58,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) each of the micromirrors further comprising: a first support structure (40) pivotally attached to the mount by a second pivoting structure (33,34) that permits pivotal movement of the first support structure relative to the mount relative to the mount about a second axis (A2), the second axis being non-parallel to the first axis (see Fig. 16); and a second comb drive having a first portion fixed relative to the mount (35) and a second portion fixed relative to the first support structure (36), and the second comb drive being for actuating the mount about the second axis [0115].
Regarding Claim 59,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the first comb drive is positioned between the fulcrum and the weight, and the mirror is positioned between the first and thesecond comb drives, the first comb drive being adjacent the fulcrum (see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 60,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) each of the micromirrors further comprising: a third comb drive having a first portion fixed relative to the mirror (12b) and a second portion fixed relative to the mount (32b), the third comb drive being for actuating the mirror about the first axis together with the first comb drive [0067], wherein the mirror is positioned between the fulcrum and the third comb drive, the mirror being adjacent the fulcrum (see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 61,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the first comb drive is positioned between the second comb drive and the weight, the weight being adjacent the fulcrum (see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 62,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) each of the micromirrors further comprising: a third comb drive having a first portion fixed relative to the mirror ((12b)[0053, connected to land portion 11) and a second portion fixed relative to the mount (32b), the third comb drive being for actuating the mirror about the first axis together with the first comb drive [0067], wherein the mirror is positioned between the fulcrum and the third comb drive, the mirror being adjacent the fulcrum (see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 63,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the first axis is perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 64,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the weight and the mirror have an equivalent inertial torque on the fulcrum [0062].
Regarding Claim 69,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the first comb drive is positioned along the longitudinal axis between the weight and the mirror (see Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 70,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the first comb drive is positioned along the longitudinal axis on a side of the fulcrum opposite the mirror and between the fulcrum and the weight (14a,14b).
Regarding Claim 71,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the weight is positioned along the longitudinal axis between the first comb drive and the mirror (11a).
Regarding Claim 72,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the longitudinal axis and the second axis are collinear, and the weight and the first comb drive [0067] are positioned along the second axis between the second comb drive and the fulcrum of the first pivoting structure (31).
Regarding Claim 73,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the weight is positioned between to the second comb drive and the first comb drive, and the first comb drive is positioned between the weight and the fulcrum [0062].
Regarding Claim 74,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the first comb drive is positioned between the second comb drive and the weight, and the weight is positioned between the first comb drive and the fulcrum [0062].
Regarding Claim 75,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) a third comb drive having a first portion fixed relative to the mirror ((12b),[0053]) and second portion fixed relative to the mount (32b), the third comb drive actuating the mirror about the first axis together with the first comb drive [0067], wherein the mirror and the third comb drive are positioned along the second axis on a side of the fulcrum opposite the first comb drive and the weight.
Regarding Claim 76,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the first [0067], the second, and the third comb drives and the weight, the fulcrum and the mirror are arranged along the second axis in an order of: the second comb drive, the weight, the first comb drive, the fulcrum, the third comb drive and the mirror (Fig. 16).
Regarding Claim 77,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the first, the second, and the third comb drives and the weight, the fulcrum and the mirror are arranged along the second axis in an order of: the second comb drive, the weight, the first comb drive, the fulcrum, the mirror and the third comb drive [0067].
Regarding Claim 78,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) wherein the first, the second, and the third comb drives and the weight, the fulcrum and the mirror are arranged along the second axis in an order of: the second comb drive, the first comb drive, the weight, the fulcrum, the mirror and the third comb drive [0067].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 65-68 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 65,
Tsuboi et al discloses (Fig. 15 and Fig. 16) a plurality of micromirrors attached to a mount, each micromirror comprising: a first end and a second end, the second end being connected to the mount; a mirror (11a) at the first end; a hinge attached to the mount, the hinge being for permitting rotation of the mirror about a first axis (A1); and a first comb drive for actuating the mirror ((12a)[0053], connected to land portion 11) about the first axis [0067];
The prior art does not disclose nor would it be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include another reference to disclose a first and second rows of the micromirrors, the micromirrors being positioned such that the first ends of the mirrors in the first and the second rows are opposite one another.
Claims 66-68 depends on Claim 65, therefore are objected.
Conclusion
/LUCY P CHIEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871