DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 7/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the inventions are related as combination and subcombination. This is found persuasive and the restriction requirement has been withdrawn. Claims 1-21 are examined in this Office action.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not). This application recites two claims dependent upon claim 1 which are both numbered as claim 4.
Misnumbered claims 4-20 are herein renumbered 4-21, beginning with the first claim 4 maintained as claim 4, and the second claim 4 renumbered as claim 5. Claims 9-21 are herein interpreted by the Examiner to have claim dependency as one added to the number of the claim recited; for example, newly numbered claim 11 depends upon claim 10 which depends upon independent claim 9.
Claims 2-8 and 10-15 and 17-21 each recite claims which are indirectly dependent upon claims 1, 9, and 16 respectively, since each preamble uses the language “An article according to claim…” instead of the directly dependent language “The article according to claim…” which would properly include all limitations of the recited claim.
Claims 18 and 19 further recite inter alia “° degrees” which is redundant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “supramolecular crystals” without a definition found in the disclosure. It would not be apparent to one skilled in the art where the bounds of a fullerene crystal that is considered supramolecular is, relative to a fullerene crystal that is not considered supramolecular. To proceed with examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation is applied wherein any aggregation of the fullerene structure, since fullerene is a molecular structure, can be considered a fullerene supramolecular crystal. Furthermore claim 1 recites “and/or” which renders unclear whether it is the “C60” which is interchangeable with the “amorphous agglomerations of fullerenes derived from C60” or if it is the “fullerene supramolecular crystals derived from C60” which is interchangeable with the “amorphous agglomerations of fullerenes derived from C60.” It is noted that claim 8 does not contain the latter issue since claim 8 recites “and/or derived from…” which is interpreted to apply to the “fullerene supramolecular crystals” and therefore is unambiguous. Claims 2-8 depend upon claim 1 and do not rectify the issues so are similarly rejected for indefiniteness.
Claims 5-8 and 18-19 recite “a maximum dimension.” This term is indefinite since it is unclear if the term “maximum” is used to mean the maximal possible value, or if it means the largest of the dimensions used to calculate an aspect ratio. While the term has not been defined in the specification, to proceed with further examination the latter interpretation will be applied; this is supported by the instant specification ([0044]).
Claim 9 recites “supramolecular crystals” without a definition found in the disclosure. It would not be apparent to one skilled in the art where the bounds of a fullerene crystal that is considered supramolecular is, relative to a fullerene crystal that is not considered supramolecular. To proceed with examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation is applied wherein any aggregation of the fullerene structure, since fullerene is a molecular structure, can be considered a fullerene supramolecular crystal. Claims 10-15 depend upon claim 9 and do not rectify the issue so are similarly rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim 16 recites “supramolecular crystals” without a definition found in the disclosure. It would not be apparent to one skilled in the art where the bounds of a fullerene crystal that is considered supramolecular is, relative to a fullerene crystal that is not considered supramolecular. To proceed with examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation is applied wherein any aggregation of the fullerene structure, since fullerene is a molecular structure, can be considered a fullerene supramolecular crystal. Claims 17-21 depend upon claim 16 and do not rectify the issue so are similarly rejected for indefiniteness.
Claim 18 recites “An article according to claim 16 [sic] wherein maximum outer dimension…” which is unclear and appears to be a typographic error that renders unclear the scope of the claim. Claim 18 further recites inter alia “being oriented” which is unclear since it renders the entirety of claim 18 to not read as a full sentence.
Claim 19 recites “An article according to claim 17 [sic] wherein maximum outer dimension…” which is unclear and appears to be a typographic error that renders unclear the scope of the claim. Claim 19 further recites inter alia “being oriented” which is unclear since it renders the entirety of claim 19 to not read as a full sentence.
Claims 18-19 recite a “maximum outer dimension” followed by a “maximum dimension,” which renders the scope of the claim unclear; a “maximum dimension” of “the amorphous agglomerations of fullerenes” lacks antecedent basis in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Gardner (US 20060063005 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Gardner teaches an article comprising aligned (0016) carbon nanotubes (0015) and fullerene (0037, claims 7-8 and 17) supramolecular crystals (Figs. 1-3) derived from C60 and/or amorphous agglomerations of fullerenes derived from C60 (0037). The figures disclosed are interpreted to meet the limitation of a supramolecular crystal since the structure must contain fullerene molecules and is therefore considered supramolecular in light of the broadest reasonable interpretation stated previously.
Regarding claim 9, Gardner teaches an article comprising aligned (0016) carbon nanotubes (0015) and fullerene (0037, claims 7-8 and 17) supramolecular crystals (Figs. 1-3) derived from C60 and/or amorphous agglomerations of fullerenes derived from C60 (0037). The figures disclosed are interpreted to meet the limitation of a supramolecular crystal since the structure must contain fullerene molecules and is therefore considered supramolecular in light of the broadest reasonable interpretation stated previously.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner.
Regarding claim 2, Gardner teaches the article according to claim 1. Gardner does not explicitly teach that the fullerene supramolecular crystals are aligned. However, Gardner teaches that the crystals are coupled to the aligned CNTs (claim 1). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to therefore implement the invention as taught by Gardner, wherein the fullerene supramolecular crystals are aligned with the carbon nanotubes, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention; one would be motivated to do so because Gardner teaches that the alignment of carbon allotropes allows the material to exhibit anisotropic properties (0014) and the control of the degree of alignment tunes resulting properties such as strength, stiffness, thermal conductivity, and electrical conductivity of the material (0016). Therefore one skilled in the art would arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 10, Gardner teaches the article according to claim 9. Gardner does not explicitly teach that the fullerene supramolecular crystals are aligned. However, Gardner teaches that the crystals are coupled to the aligned CNTs (claim 1). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to therefore implement the invention as taught by Gardner, wherein the fullerene supramolecular crystals are aligned with the carbon nanotubes, and thereby arrive at the claimed invention; one would be motivated to do so because Gardner teaches that the alignment of carbon allotropes allows the material to exhibit anisotropic properties (0014) and the control of the degree of alignment tunes resulting properties such as strength, stiffness, thermal conductivity, and electrical conductivity of the material (0016). Therefore one skilled in the art would arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner, as applied to claim 2 above, and in further view of Meshot et al. 2012, Photoconductive Hybrid Films via Directional Self-Assembly of C60 on Aligned Carbon Nanotubes. Adv. Funct. Mater., 22: 577-584.
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Gardner teaches the article as applied to claim 2. Gardner does not explicitly teach that the aligned fullerene supramolecular crystals and aligned carbon nanotubes have a difference in alignment of from about 20° to about 2°, with respect to claim 3, or from about 10° to about 3°, with respect to claim 4. However, Meshot teaches an analogous article comprising aligned CNT and aligned fullerene (C60 rods oriented parallel to the direction of the CNTs, abstract) wherein Meshot teaches alignment values of 0.88 and 0.93 of the C60 fullerene rods compared to the CNTs (Fig. 2b-2c, where <cos2θ> = 1 corresponds to perfect alignment, p. 579 col. 1 pp. 1). This is interpreted to overlap with the claimed range of orientations, since Meshot teaches that the values are indicative of high alignment of the fullerene with CNT (when greater than 0.8, p. 579 col. 1 pp. 1) and also not equal to exactly 1. Therefore the range taught by Meshot of difference in alignment, measured in degrees, would necessarily be a range of degrees that overlaps with the claimed range. It would be obvious to combine the teachings of Gardner and Meshot by using the fullerene C60 rods taught by Meshot to arrive at a difference in alignment of the crystals and the CNT taught by Meshot, which would arrive at the claimed invention; one would be motivated to do so because Meshot teaches that using the CNT as a template to align the C60 crystals results in rapid self-assembly of the crystals (p. 580 col. 2) and that the orientation of the C60 relative to the CNT is useful for the resulting energy conductivity of the resulting hybrid material (“The high photoconductivity of the hybrid film is the result of the interplay between the electronic structures of C60 and CNTs, as well as their hierarchical organization,” p. 582 col. 1), which Gardner teaches is a motivation for the disclosed invention (0016, translating of electrical, thermal, or optical energy). Regarding the claimed range of degrees of relative alignment, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art," a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to obtain the article of CNT and fullerene as suggested by Gardner and Meshot where the difference in alignment between the crystals and the CNTs is in any workable or optimum range overlapping with 0.88-0.93 as taught by Meshot, including the claimed range, in order to obtain an orientation suitable for the material and resulting energy transport properties.
Gardner teaches that the degree of alignment is a parameter that one of ordinary skill in the art can tune to control the strength, stiffness, thermal conductivity, and electrical conductivity of the material (0016); therefore Gardner discloses the alignment of the carbon allotropes as a result effective variable. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed range of degree of alignment cannot be considered critical, since one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the degree of alignment in Gardner to obtain the desired balance between the properties of the material taught by Gardner (0016) (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner and Meshot, as applied to claims 3 and 4 above, and in further view of Chong et al. 2008, Controlled growth of true nanoscale single crystal fullerites for device applications, J. Mater. Chem. 2008; 18 (28): 3319–3324.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Gardner and Meshot teach the invention as applied to claim 3. Gardner and Meshot do not explicitly teach that said fullerene supramolecular crystals have a maximum dimension of from about 50 nm to about 1 micron, with respect to claim 5, or from about 20 nm to about 10 microns, with respect to claim 6. However, Chong teaches an analogous material comprising fullerene nanocrystals (title) wherein fullerene rods are obtained having a maximum dimension (length) of 500 nm (“~80 x 500 nm in size,” p. 3321 col. 1 pp. 4). It would be obvious to combine the teachings of Gardner, Meshot, and Chong, to use the nanorods of fullerene crystals having the dimensions taught by Chong; one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Chong teaches that the typical size of fullerites is typically greater than 500 nm (p. 3319 col. 2 pp. 2) but it is of interest to develop smaller fullerene crystals because the electronic structure of fullerene in a solid is minimally different from the single molecule C60 derivative (p. 3319 col. 2 pp. 3) and that the electronic structure of C60 enables a relatively high electron mobility (p. 3319 col. 2 pp 2). Since the electron transport properties of the ACA material of Gardner are of interest to one skilled in the art to be optimized, as Gardner teaches (0016), one of ordinary skill in the art would have motivation to arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Gardner, Meshot, and Chong teach the invention as applied to claims 4 or 5. Meshot further teaches that said fullerene supramolecular crystals’ maximum dimension is oriented in the direction of the CNT alignment (Fig 2b-2c), and that the distribution of difference in orientation for the fullerene crystals aligned with CNT (Fig. 2b) wherein the number of rods relative to the total number of 330 rods appearing to fall within the claimed ranges (of 1°-30°, with respect to claim 7, or 2° to 25°, with respect to claim 8) appears to be greater than 50%, since the bars between 4° and 24° appear to contain approximately 200 out of 330 members, or 61%. Therefore Meshot appears to anticipate this limitation. Alternatively, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to optimize the difference in orientation angles by routine experimentation from the teachings of Meshot Fig. 2b, since the courts have held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Therefore one skilled in the art would arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner, as applied to claim 10 above, and in further view of Vizuete et al. 2012, Endohedral and exohedral hybrids involving fullerenes and carbon nanotubes, Nanoscale, 2012, 4, 4370.
Regarding claim 11, Gardner teaches the article according to claim 10. Gardner further teaches that the ACA material may contain contaminants (0042); this is interpreted to meet the claimed limitation of the wholly or partially functionalized with one or more types of chemical species (“contaminants may increase the chemical functionalities,” 0042). While Gardner does not explicitly teach that it is the said fullerene supramolecular crystals that are functionalized, Gardner teaches that the ACA material as a whole may be functionalized (0042). Furthermore, Vizuete teaches the combination of fullerenes and CNTs wherein one or both are chemically functionalized (abstract), and specifically teaches that functionalized fullerene incorporated in a fullerene-CNT structure is advantageous for the resulting modification of the composite material’s electronic structure and resulting electron transfer properties (p. 4374 col. 2-p. 4375 col. 1). It would therefore be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Gardner with the functionalization of fullerene, as taught by Vizuete, and arrive at the claimed invention, motivated to modify the electronic properties of the resulting material as taught by Vizuete, since Gardner teaches that one skilled in the art would have reason to control and vary such properties, including the electrical conductivity, electrical permittivity, etc. (0038). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner and Vizuete, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Nair et al. 2016, A π-gel scaffold for assembling fullerene to photoconducting supramolecular rods. Sci Adv. 2016 Sep 23;2(9):e1600142.
Regarding claims 12 and 13, Gardner and Vizuete teach the invention as applied to claim 11. Gardner and Vizuete do not teach that the fullerene supramolecular crystal has an outer shape with an aspect ratio from about 2 and to about 100,000, with respect to claim 12, and from about 2.5 to about 1000, with respect to claim 13. However, Nair teaches the synthesis of C60 fullerene supramolecular crystals (abstract) wherein the fullerene crystals have aspect ratios lying within the claimed range (Fig. S4, provided below).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Gardner, Vizuete, and Nair by using the aspect ratio taught by Nair; one would be motivated to do so because Nair teaches that the aspect ratio allows the crystals to self-assemble into a 3D network (“The nucleation process leads to the formation of one-dimensional (1D) structures with high aspect ratio, which further assemble into a 3D network,” p. 1 col. 1) and Nair further teaches that the rod-like structure has advantageous electronic properties (charge transport properties of the rods, p. 6). Since Gardner discloses that the electrical conductivity is pertinent to one skilled in the art to tune (0038), it would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Gardner, Vizuete, and Nair and arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner, Vizuete, and Nair, as applied to claim 12 above, and in further view of Tsentalovich et al. 2017, Influence of Carbon Nanotube Characteristics on Macroscopic Fiber Properties, ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces (2017) 9 (41): 36189–36198.
Regarding claim 14, Gardner, Vizuete, and Nair teach the invention as applied to claim 12. They do not teach the aspect ratio of the carbon nanotubes being 1000 to about 50,000. However, Tsentalovich teaches carbon nanotube characteristics and properties (abstract) wherein Tsentalovich teaches that the highest-performing CNT has an aspect ratio of 4400 (p. 36192 col. 2 pp. 1), which is highest performing in its tensile strength as well as electrical conductivity (2.4 GPa strength, pp. 1; “electrical conductivity also scales,” pp. 2). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Gardner, Vizuete, Nair, and Tsentalovich by using CNTs with the aspect ratio taught by Tsentalovich; one would be motivated to do so for the increased tensile and electronic properties, as Tsentalovich teaches, since Gardner teaches that these properties are of interest to be optimized for one of ordinary skill in the art (0016, 0038).
Regarding claim 15, Gardner, Vizuete, and Nair teach the invention as applied to claim 12. They do not teach the aspect ratio of the carbon nanotubes being 1500 to about 14,000. However, Tsentalovich teaches carbon nanotube characteristics and properties (abstract) wherein Tsentalovich teaches that the highest-performing CNT has an aspect ratio of 4400 (p. 36192 col. 2 pp. 1), which is highest performing in its tensile strength as well as electrical conductivity (2.4 GPa strength, pp. 1; “electrical conductivity also scales,” pp. 2). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Gardner, Vizuete, Nair, and Tsentalovich by using CNTs with the aspect ratio taught by Tsentalovich; one would be motivated to do so for the increased tensile and electronic properties, as Tsentalovich teaches, since Gardner teaches that these properties are of interest to be optimized for one of ordinary skill in the art (0016, 0038).
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner in view of Yekymov.
Regarding claim 16, Gardner teaches an article comprising aligned (0016) carbon nanotubes (0015) and fullerene (0037, claims 7-8 and 17) supramolecular crystals (Figs. 1-3) derived from C60 and/or amorphous agglomerations of fullerenes derived from C60 (0037). The figures disclosed are interpreted to meet the limitation of a supramolecular crystal since the structure must contain fullerene molecules and is therefore considered supramolecular in light of the broadest reasonable interpretation stated previously.
Gardner does not explicitly teach that the fullerene structures are derived from amorphous agglomerations of fullerenes derived from C20, C60, C70, C72, C76, C84, and/or C100 and mixtures thereof. However, Yekymov teaches an analogous material comprised of CNT and fullerene crystals (abstract) wherein Yekymov teaches fullerene supramolecular crystals which are derived from amorphous agglomerations of fullerenes of C60 (Figs. 1-2, particularly 1b and 2c). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Gardner and Yekymov by using the agglomerate derivatives taught by Yekymov to obtain the fullerene supramolecular crystals for Gardner; one would be motivated to do so because Yekymov teaches that non-covalent hybrids of fullerenes and CNTs have superior electron transport properties from the CNTs and high electron accepting behavior of the fullerenes (so-called exohedral hybrids, p. 957 col. 2 pp. 1), which one skilled in the art would be motivated to obtain from the teaching of Gardner which teaches that the electrical conductivity of the material and transport of electrical, thermal, or optical energy are important properties of the material of the invention (0016), and Yekymov teaches that the disclosed non-covalent hybrids exhibit features of the unmodified CNTs and fullerenes individually (p. 960 col. 1 pp. 2) and therefore has the advantage that it does not change the structure of each component; in particular the C60-derived areas of the sample show electron diffraction patterns characteristic of high-quality C60 crystals at room temperature (p. 960 col. 1 pp. 1). Therefore one skilled in the art would arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 17, Gardner and Yekymov teach the invention as applied to claim 16. Yekymov further teaches that the amorphous agglomerations of fullerenes have a typical dimension of 10-50 nm (p. 958 col. 2 pp. 2), which overlaps with the claimed range of a maximum dimension being 20 nm to 10 microns. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art," a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. 1990).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner in view of Yekymov, as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Meshot.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Gardner and Yekymov teach the invention as applied to claim 17. Gardner and Yekymov do not teach that maximum outer dimension of the amorphous agglomerations of fullerenes being oriented in the direction of the carbon nanotube alignment where the angle difference for at least 50% of the amorphous agglomerations of fullerenes maximum dimension to the carbon nanotube alignment is from about 25 degrees to about 2 degrees, with respect to claim 18, or from about 20 degrees to about 3 degrees, with respect to claim 19. However, Gardner teaches that the degree of alignment is a parameter that one of ordinary skill in the art can tune to control anisotropic behavior of the strength, stiffness, thermal conductivity, and electrical conductivity of the material (0016).
Furthermore, Meshot teaches an analogous material comprising fullerene crystals with CNT (abstract) which is pertinent to the field of endeavor of Gardner and Yekymov because Meshot teaches applicability of the material in energy devices (p. 577 col. 2 pp. 2) as does Yekymov (bulk-heterojunction polymer-fullerene devices, p. 957 col. 2 pp. 2). Meshot teaches more than 50% of the crystals being oriented within the claimed ranges of angle difference from the CNT (Fig. 2b), and teaches that the orientation of the C60 relative to the CNT is useful for the resulting energy conductivity of the resulting hybrid material (“The high photoconductivity of the hybrid film is the result of the interplay between the electronic structures of C60 and CNTs, as well as their hierarchical organization,” p. 582 col. 1). Lastly, since Yekymov teaches roughly spherical crystals, having just one dimension (Fig 1, p. 958 col. 2), Yekymov teaches an angle difference between the fullerene crystals and CNT falling anywhere between 0° and 360°, selected arbitrarily by one skilled in the art.
It would therefore be obvious to combine the teachings of Gardner, Yekymov, and Meshot to arrive at the claimed ranges of angle difference, since Gardner teaches the alignment of the CNT as a result effective variable, Meshot teaches the alignment of fullerene crystals relative to CNT as a result effective variable, and Yekymov teaches a broad range of values for the difference that encompasses the claimed range, which one skilled in the art would have reason to modify or optimize given the teachings of Gardner and Meshot. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the angle difference for at least 50% of the amorphous agglomerations of fullerenes in the teachings of Gardner and Yekymov to obtain the desired balance of electronic properties as taught by Gardner and Meshot, since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223). “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner in view of Yekymov as applied to claim 16 above, and in further view of Madrona et al. 2022, Continuous intercalation compound fibers of bromine wires and aligned CNTs for high-performance conductors, Carbon, February 2023, 204, 211-218, which was available as a preprint at SSRN: https://ssrn.com/abstract=4250834 or http://dx.doi.org/10.2139/ssrn.4250834 in 2022; the preprint is provided with this Office action and cited herein.
Regarding claim 20, Gardner and Yekymov teach the invention as applied to claim 19. Gardner and Yekymov do not teach the article having carbon atoms and further comprising a dopant having a molar ratio, and wherein the molar ratio of dopant and carbon atoms is about 1:5 to about 1:50. However, Madrona teaches an article comprising macroscopic fibers of aligned carbon nanotubes (abstract) which is pertinent to the field of endeavor of Gardner and Yekymov because Madrona teaches that CNTs, particularly aligned CNTs, have improved properties such as tensile mechanical properties (paragraph 1) and charge transfer and therefore electrical conductivity (p. 1 paragraphs 2-3). Madrona teaches an aligned CNT having bromine intercalation at a molar ratio of carbon to bromine at about 1:25 (abstract). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Gardner, Yekymov, and Madrona by using the Br-intercalated CNTs taught by Madrona in the invention as suggested by Gardner and Yekymov; one would be motivated to do so because Madrona teaches that the addition of bromine have improved strength and electrical conductivity (p. 2 pp. 3). One skilled in the art would therefore arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Regarding claim 21, Gardner and Yekymov teach the invention as applied to claim 19. Gardner and Yekymov do not teach the article having carbon atoms and further comprising a dopant having a molar ratio, and wherein the molar ratio of dopant and carbon atoms is about 1:10 to about 1:25. However, Madrona teaches an article comprising macroscopic fibers of aligned carbon nanotubes (abstract) which is pertinent to the field of endeavor of Gardner and Yekymov because Madrona teaches that CNTs, particularly aligned CNTs, have improved properties such as tensile mechanical properties (paragraph 1) and charge transfer and therefore electrical conductivity (p. 1 paragraphs 2-3). Madrona teaches an aligned CNT having bromine intercalation at a molar ratio of carbon to bromine at about 1:25 (abstract). It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to combine the teachings of Gardner, Yekymov, and Madrona by using the Br-intercalated CNTs taught by Madrona in the invention as suggested by Gardner and Yekymov; one would be motivated to do so because Madrona teaches that the addition of bromine have improved strength and electrical conductivity (p. 2 pp. 3). One skilled in the art would therefore arrive at the claimed invention prior to the effective filing date.
Conclusion
/Eileen Moudou/ Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/MICHAEL FORREST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738