DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ronde et al. (Foreign Patent Document No.: DE 102012011206 A1).
For claim 1, Ronde et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a housing (see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2) having a housing interior surface (i.e. radially inner surface of the housing, see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2) defining a first bore; a stator (see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2) disposed in the first bore, the stator having a radially outer perimetric stator surface (i.e. radially outer surface of the stator, see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2) and a radially inner perimetric stator surface (i.e. radially inner surface of the stator, see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2), the radially inner perimetric stator surface (i.e. radially inner surface of the stator, see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2) defining a second bore; an annular stator sleeve (see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2) disposed between the stator and the housing interior surface, the stator sleeve having a radially inner perimetric stator sleeve surface (i.e. radially inner surface of the stator sleeve, see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2) defining a third bore, the stator sleeve including a first diametric end portion (see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2) having a radially outer first perimetric stator sleeve surface (i.e. radially outer surface of the first diametric end portion contacting the inner surface of the housing, see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2), an opposing second diametric end portion (see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2) axially spaced from the first diametric end portion having a radially outer second perimetric stator sleeve surface (i.e. radially outer surface of the second diametric end portion contacting the inner surface of the housing, see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2), and an intermediate wall portion (see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2) extending axially between the first and second diametric end portions (see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2), and having a radially outer third perimetric stator sleeve surface (i.e. radially outer surface of the intermediate wall portion, see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2); and a thermal barrier (see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2) disposed between the radially outer third perimetric stator sleeve surface and the housing interior surface (i.e. thermal barrier disposed between the intermediate wall portion and the housing, see annotated figure below of Ronde et al.'s figure 2).
For claim 2, Ronde et al. disclose a rotor (see annotated figure of Ronde et al.'s figure 2, shown above for claim 1) disposed within the second bore, the rotor including a rotatable shaft (i.e. shaft constituted by the rotor, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) being rotatable relative to the stator (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) and defining rotational axis (i.e. axis of rotor, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 3, Ronde et al. disclose the radially outer first perimetric stator sleeve surface (i.e. radially outer surface of the first diametric end portion contacting the inner surface of the housing, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) and the radially outer second perimetric stator sleeve surface (i.e. radially outer surface of the second diametric end portion contacting the inner surface of the housing, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) being coupled to the housing interior surface (i.e. inner surface of the housing, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 5, Ronde et al. disclose the radially inner perimetric stator sleeve surface (i.e. radially inner surface of the stator sleeve, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) being coupled to the radially outer perimetric stator surface (i.e. radially outer surface of the stator, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 7, Ronde et al. disclose the radially outer first, second, and third perimetric stator sleeve surfaces (i.e. radially outer surfaces of the first diametric end portion, second diametric end portion, and stator sleeve, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) respectively defining a first, a second, and a third diameter (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 8, Ronde et al. disclose the third diameter being less than the first and second diameters (i.e. the diameter formed by the radially outer surface of the intermediate wall portion being less than the diameters formed by the radially outer surfaces of the first diametric end portion and the second diametric end portion, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 9, Ronde et al. disclose the radially outer third perimetric stator sleeve surface and the housing interior surface cooperatively defining a cavity therebetween (i.e. the radially outer surface of the intermediate wall portion and the radially inner surface of the housing defining a cavity, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 10, Ronde et al. disclose the thermal barrier being disposed in the cavity (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 11, Ronde et al. disclose the cavity circumscribing the stator sleeve (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 12, Ronde et al. disclose the cavity extending axially between the first and second diametric end portions of the stator sleeve (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 13, Ronde et al. disclose the stator sleeve being formed of a first material, and the thermal barrier comprising a second material (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 14, Ronde et al. disclose the first material having a first thermal conductivity (i.e. material of the stator sleeve, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1), and the second material having a second thermal conductivity (i.e. material of thermal barrier, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1), and wherein the second thermal conductivity is less than the first thermal conductivity (Ronde et al. already disclose the thermal barrier being a thermal insulating layer, see English translation of Ronde et al., Description, paragraph [0042], which would constitute a material having lower thermal conductivity than the adjacent stator sleeve component, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 18, Ronde et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: disposing a stator (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) in a first bore defined by a housing interior surface (i.e. radially inner surface of the housing, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1), the stator having a radially outer perimetric stator surface (i.e. radially outer surface of the stator, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) and a radially inner perimetric stator surface (i.e. radially inner surface of the stator, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1), the radially inner perimetric stator surface (i.e. radially inner surface of the stator, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) defining a second bore; disposing an annular stator sleeve (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) between the stator and the housing interior surface (i.e. between the stator and the housing, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1), the stator sleeve having a radially inner perimetric stator sleeve surface (i.e. radially inner surface of the stator sleeve, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) defining a third bore, the stator sleeve including a first diametric end portion (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) having a radially outer first perimetric stator sleeve surface (i.e. radially outer surface of the first diametric end portion contacting the radially inner surface of the housing, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1), an opposing second diametric end portion (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) axially spaced from the first diametric end portion having a radially outer second perimetric stator sleeve surface (i.e. radially outer surface of the second diametric end portion contacting the radially inner surface of the housing, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1), and an intermediate wall portion (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) extending axially therebetween having a radially outer third perimetric stator sleeve surface (i.e. radially outer surface of the intermediate wall portion, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1); and disposing a thermal barrier (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) between the radially outer third perimetric stator sleeve surface and the housing interior surface (i.e. between the intermediate wall portion and the housing, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 19, Ronde et al. disclose disposing the thermal barrier (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1) between the radially outer third perimetric stator sleeve surface and the housing interior surface including: forming a cavity between the radially outer third perimetric stator sleeve surface and the housing interior surface (i.e. the radially outer surface of the intermediate wall portion and the radially inner surface of the housing defining a cavity, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1); and disposing the thermal barrier in the cavity (see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
For claim 20, Ronde et al. disclose the stator sleeve being formed of a first material having a first thermal conductivity (i.e. material of the stator sleeve, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1), and the thermal barrier comprising a second material having a second thermal conductivity (i.e. material of the thermal barrier, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1), and wherein the second thermal conductivity is less than the first thermal conductivity (Ronde et al. already disclose the thermal barrier being a thermal insulating layer, see English translation of Ronde et al., Description, paragraph [0042], which would constitute a material having lower thermal conductivity than the adjacent stator sleeve component, see annotated figure of Ronde et al. shown above for claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronde et al. as applied to claims 3 and 5 above, and further in view of Rittmeyer et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2019/0165636 A1).
For claim 4, Ronde et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the radially outer first perimetric stator sleeve surface and the radially outer second perimetric stator sleeve surface being coupled to the housing interior surface via an interference fit. Having an interference fit for the stator components is a known skill as exhibited by Rittmeyer et al. (see paragraph [0038]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the interference fit as disclosed by Rittmeyer et al. for the stator sleeve and housing of Ronde et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the assembly of the components within the device.
For claim 6, Ronde et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the radially inner perimetric stator sleeve surface being coupled to the radially outer perimetric stator surface via an interference fit. Having an interference fit for the stator components is a known skill as exhibited by Rittmeyer et al. (see paragraph [0038]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the interference fit as disclosed by Rittmeyer et al. for the stator sleeve and stator of Ronde et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the assembly of the components within the device.
Claim(s) 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronde et al. as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Garrard et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2014/0056721 A1).
For claim 15, Ronde et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the second material partially filling the cavity. Having the second material partially filling a cavity would merely involve having a thermally insulating coating as exhibited by Garrard et al. (see paragraph [0036]), where the coating can be the second material that partially fills the cavity of Ronde et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the coating as disclosed by Garrard et al. for partially filling the cavity of Ronde et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the insulating function within the device.
For claim 16, Ronde et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the second material defining a coating disposed on the radially outer third perimetric stator sleeve surface. Having a coating for thermal insulation is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Garrard et al. (see paragraph [0036]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the coating as disclosed by Garrard et al. for the radially outer surface of the intermediate wall portion of Ronde et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the insulating function within the device.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ronde et al. as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Cametti et al. (US Patent No.: 2887062).
For claim 17, Ronde et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the second material being air. Using air for blocking the transfer of heat is a known skill in the art as exhibited by Cametti et al. (see column 14, lines 20-23), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the air as disclosed by Cametti et al. for the thermal barrier of Ronde et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the insulating function within the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references disclose embodiments of stator cooling arrangements: US 10826345 B2 (Huang; Hao et al.), US 10811926 B2 (Rittmeyer; Gregory Alan et al.), US 10621541 B2 (Andres; Michael J. et al.), US 10598084 B2 (Hoke; Austin L. et al.), US 9621011 B2 (Wirsch, Jr.; Paul James et al.), US 9525325 B2 (Chamberlin; Bradley D.), US 9054565 B2 (Fulton; David A.), US 8482168 B2 (Garriga; Rudolph et al.), US 8395288 B2 (Huynh; Andrew Co Si).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834