Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 02/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-10, filed 02/19/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and new claims 19-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states "…It is respectfully submitted that full combinations of features in independent claim 1 are nowhere disclosed nor suggested by the cited references…1. Kim '840's tapered unit 183 and protruding portion 185 serve an entirely different purpose. … the tapered unit 183 in Kim'840 is designed to facilitate UV curing of adhesive, not to reflect light outwardly to prevent flare phenomenon. 2. In Kim '840, the protruding portion, which is integral with the base, protrudes to prevent the adhesive from entering into the insides of the actuator unit and the base. … the protruding portion 185 is merely an adhesive dam structure, not a light-reflecting slant portion for flare reduction. 3. Kim '840 does not teach or suggest that any portion of base 180 is configured to reflect light outwardly to reduce flare, and is merely concerned with adhesive management, UV curing, and structural engagement between components... Applicant respectfully disagrees because Kim '128's second support groove 39B is a recess for receiving/supporting a film, not a protruding slant surface for reflecting light. Applicant respectfully submits that the neither Kim '840 nor Kim '128 anticipates or suggests a camera module comprising a frame portion disposed on an outer portion of the sub-housing to surround the opening and comprising a slant portion disposed on an upper side of the frame portion, wherein the slant portion is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor ". Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, the claim limitation “the slant portion is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor" is a functional claim limitation. It is noted that apparatus claims must be structurally distinguishable from the prior art and that the manner of operating the device does not differentiate the apparatus claim from the prior art (see e.g. MPEP 2114). In other words, the prior art need not perform the function, but must merely be capable of doing so. In this case, as stated below, each of Kim (US 2015/0077840) and Kim (KR20230029128A) teaches all of the structure limitations cited in the claim 1. Since all materials, including no-gloss black materials or insulating materials, have an intrinsic reflectivity property, some/small amount of light incident on the slant potion taught by each of Kim (US 2015/0077840) and Kim (KR20230029128A) could be reflected outwardly. Therefore, the structure system of claim 1 taught by each of Kim (US 2015/0077840) and Kim (KR20230029128A) is capable that the slant portion is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor.
Second, per MPEP 2144 IV: the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See also, Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (“One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (US 2015/0077840).
Regarding claim 1, Kim (US 2015/0077840) teaches a camera module (Fig. 1-6, [0003-0082]) comprising:
a lens barrel (the lens barrel 120 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019, 0024]);
a housing (the cover can 110 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019]) accommodating the lens barrel (Fig. 1 and 3);
an image sensor (the image sensor 160 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019]) disposed, below the lens barrel (Fig. 1 and 3), on a substrate (the printed circuit board 170 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0022]) in an optical axis direction (the optic axis direction O in Fig. 1 and 3) of the lens barrel (Fig. 1 and 3); and
a sub-housing (the base 180 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019]) disposed between the lens barrel and the substrate (Fig. 1 and 3), the sub-housing comprising:
an opening (the opening 181a in Fig. 1-6);
a frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6) disposed on an outer portion (Fig. 1-6) of the sub-housing (the base 180 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019]) to surround the opening (the opening 181a in Fig. 1-6); and
a slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) disposed on an upper side (Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) of the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6),
wherein the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor (the claim limitation “the slant portion is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor " is a functional claim limitation. Kim (US 2015/0077840) teaches all of the structure limitations cited in the claim 1. Since all materials, including no-gloss black materials or insulating materials, have an intrinsic reflectivity property, some/small amount of light incident on the slant potion taught by Kim (US 2015/0077840) could be reflected outwardly. Therefore, the system of claim 1 taught by Kim (US 2015/0077840) is capable that the slant portion is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor, MPEP 2114), and
wherein a height of the slant portion (The portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) increases (Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) towards a direction of the opening (the opening 181a in Fig. 1-6) in the optical axis direction (the optic axis direction O in Fig. 1 and 3).
Picture 1, from Fig. 1 of Kim (US 2015/0077840)
Regarding claim 13, Kim (US 2015/0077840) teaches a camera module (Fig. 1-6, [0003-0082]) comprising:
a lens barrel (the lens barrel 120 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019, 0024]);
a housing (the cover can 110 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019]) accommodating the lens barrel (Fig. 1 and 3);
an image sensor (the image sensor 160 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019]) disposed, below the lens barrel (Fig. 1 and 3), on a substrate (the printed circuit board 170 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0022]) in an optical axis direction (the optic axis direction O in Fig. 1 and 3) of the lens barrel (Fig. 1 and 3); and
a sub-housing (the base 180 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019]) comprising a frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6) enclosing an opening (the opening 181a in Fig. 1-6) and a slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) disposed on a side (Picture 1, Fig. 1-4) of the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6),
wherein the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor (the claim limitation “the slant portion is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor " is a functional claim limitation. Kim (US 2015/0077840) teaches all of the structure limitations cited in the claim 1. Since all materials, including no-gloss black materials or insulating materials, have an intrinsic reflectivity property, some/small amount of light incident on the slant potion taught by Kim (US 2015/0077840) could be reflected outwardly. Therefore, the system of claim 1 taught by Kim (US 2015/0077840) is capable that the slant portion is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor, MPEP 2114), and
wherein the sub-housing (the base 180 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019]) is disposed between the lens barrel (Fig. 1 and 3) and the substrate (the printed circuit board 170 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0022]), a thickness of the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) increases (Picture 1, Fig. 1 and 3) towards a direction (the horizontal direction in Picture 1, Fig. 1 and 3) of the opening (the opening 181a in Fig. 1-6).
Regarding claims 2-6, 8-12, 14-17 and 19-20, Kim (US 2015/0077840) also teaches the following elements:
(Claims 2 and 8) the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) is disposed in an internal edge region (Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) of the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6).
(Claims 3 and 10) the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) extends along an internal edge (Fig. 2 and 4) of the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6).
(Claims 4 and 17) the sub-housing (the base 180 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019]) further includes a mounting portion (the portion corresponding to M1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) disposed between the opening (the opening 181a in Fig. 1-6) and the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6), and a filter portion (the IR filter 150 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0034]) is received in the mounting portion (Picture 1, Fig. 1-6).
(Claim 5) the height of the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) is higher than (Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) a height of the mounting portion (the portion corresponding to M1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) in the optical axis direction (the optic axis direction O in Fig. 1 and 3).
(Claim 6) each of the mounting portion (the portion corresponding to M1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6), the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6), and the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6) forms a step (Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) in the optical-axis direction (the optic axis direction O in Fig. 1 and 3) that are sequentially connected (Picture 1, Fig. 1-6)
(Claim 9) the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) includes a plurality of slant portions (Fig. 2 and 4), at least one of the slant portions (the portion corresponding to S1 and one edge of 185/184 in Picture 1, Fig. 2 and 4) is disposed in a first edge region (Fig. 2 and 4) of the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6), and another of the slant portions (the portion corresponding to S1 and another edge of 185/184 in Picture 1, Fig. 2 and 4) is disposed in a second edge region (Fig. 2 and 4) facing the first edge region (Fig. 2 and 4).
(Claim 11) a length of the slant portion (the length of S1 along the horizontal direction in Picture 1) is shorter than (Picture 1, Fig. 1 and 3) a length of the frame portion (the length of the frame portion including 181, 183 and 184 along the horizontal direction in Picture 1) in a direction (the horizontal direction in Picture 1, Fig. 1 and 3) that is perpendicular to the optical-axis direction (the optic axis direction O in Fig. 1 and 3) and parallel to one edge of the sub-housing (the bottom edge of 182 in Fig. 1 and 3).
(Claim 12) the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) is an indented portion (the top surface of 185 has a dent/recess on the left side to form the slant surface in Picture 1, Fig. 1 and 3) on an upper side (Picture 1, Fig. 1 and 3) of the frame portion (the length of the frame portion including 181, 183 and 184 along the horizontal direction in Picture 1).
(Claim 14) another slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 and another edge of 185/184 in Picture 1, Fig. 2 and 4) is disposed on another side (Picture 1, Fig. 2 and 4) of the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6).
(Claim 15) the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) is disposed on an inner edge (Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) of the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6).
(Claim 16) a length of the slant portion (the length of S1 along the horizontal direction in Picture 1, Fig. 1 and 3) is less than (Picture 1, Fig. 1 and 3) a length of the opening (the length of 181a along the horizontal direction in Picture 1, Fig. 1 and 3) enclosed by the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6).
(Claim 19) the sub-housing (the base 180 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019]) further includes a mounting portion (the portion corresponding to M1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) disposed between the opening (the opening 181a in Fig. 1-6) and the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6), and wherein the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) has a highest point (P1 in Picture 1) disposed near (Picture 1) an outer edge of the mounting portion (the outer edge of M1 in Picture 1) and a lowest point (P2 in Picture 1) at an internal edge (Picture 1) of the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 181, 183 and 184/184a in Fig. 1-6).
(Claim 20) the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) has a maximum thickness (the thickness of the portion corresponding to S1 at P1 in Picture 1) disposed nearest the opening (the opening 181a in Fig. 1-6) and gradually decreases in thickness (the thickness of the portion corresponding to S1 is gradually decreased from P1 to P2 in Picture 1) toward an outer edge of the sub-housing (the base 180 in Fig. 1 and 3, [0019]).
Claims 1, 7, 13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR20230029128A).
Regarding claim 1, Kim (KR20230029128A) teaches a camera module (Fig. 1-10, Abs, Pages 2-8 of the English translation of KR20230029128A) comprising:
a lens barrel (the lens barrel of the lens module 20 in Fig. 1);
a housing (Fig. 1 and Fig. 10) accommodating the lens barrel (the lens barrel of the lens module 20 in Fig. 1);
an image sensor (the image sensor 50 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) disposed, below the lens barrel (Fig. 1 and Fig. 8), on a substrate (the printed circuit board 60 in Fig. 1 and 8) in an optical axis direction (the Y direction in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) of the lens barrel (the lens barrel of the lens module 20 in Fig. 1); and
a sub-housing (the sensor base 30 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) disposed between the lens barrel and the substrate (Fig. 1 and Fig. 8), the sub-housing comprising:
an opening (the opening of 30 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8);
a frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 31 and the left portion of 32 adjacent to 31 in Fig. 8) disposed on an outer portion (Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) of the sub-housing (the sensor base 30 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) to surround the opening (the opening of 30 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8); and
a slant portion (the portion corresponding to 39B in Fig. 8) disposed on an upper side (Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) of the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 31 and the left portion of 32 adjacent to 31 in Fig. 8),
wherein the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor (the claim limitation “the slant portion is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor " is a functional claim limitation. Kim (KR20230029128A) teaches all of the structure limitations cited in the claim 1. Since all materials, including no-gloss black materials or insulating materials, have an intrinsic reflectivity property, some/small amount of light incident on the slant potion taught by Kim (KR20230029128A) could be reflected outwardly. Therefore, the system of claim 1 taught by Kim (KR20230029128A) is capable that the slant portion is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor, MPEP 2114), and
wherein a height of the slant portion (the portion corresponding to 39B in Fig. 8) increases (Fig. 8) towards a direction of the opening (the opening of 30 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) in the optical axis direction (the Y direction in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Kim (KR20230029128A) teaches a camera module (Fig. 1-10, Abs, Pages 2-8 of the English translation of KR20230029128A) comprising:
a lens barrel (the lens barrel of the lens module 20 in Fig. 1);
a housing (Fig. 1 and Fig. 10) accommodating the lens barrel (the lens barrel of the lens module 20 in Fig. 1);
an image sensor (the image sensor 50 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) disposed, below the lens barrel (Fig. 1 and Fig. 8), on a substrate (the printed circuit board 60 in Fig. 1 and 8) in an optical axis direction (the Y direction in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) of the lens barrel (the lens barrel of the lens module 20 in Fig. 1); and
a sub-housing (the sensor base 30 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) comprising a frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 31 and the left portion of 32 adjacent to 31 in Fig. 8) enclosing an opening (the opening of 30 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) and a slant portion (the portion corresponding to 39B in Fig. 8) disposed on a side (Fig. 8, Fig. 1-2) of the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 31 and the left portion of 32 adjacent to 31 in Fig. 8),
wherein the slant portion (the portion corresponding to S1 in Picture 1, Fig. 1-6) is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor (the claim limitation “the slant portion is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor " is a functional claim limitation. Kim (KR20230029128A) teaches all of the structure limitations cited in the claim 1. Since all materials, including no-gloss black materials or insulating materials, have an intrinsic reflectivity property, some/small amount of light incident on the slant potion taught by Kim (KR20230029128A) could be reflected outwardly. Therefore, the system of claim 1 taught by Kim (KR20230029128A) is capable that the slant portion is configured to reflect light input to the sub-housing outwardly to reduce flare reaching the image sensor, MPEP 2114), and
wherein the sub-housing (the sensor base 30 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) is disposed between the lens barrel (the lens barrel of the lens module 20 in Fig. 1) and the substrate (the printed circuit board 60 in Fig. 1 and 8), and a thickness of the slant portion (the portion corresponding to 39B in Fig. 8) increases (Fig. 8) towards a direction (the horizontal direction in Fig. 8) of the opening (the opening of 30 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8).
Regarding claims 7, 17 and 18, Kim (KR20230029128A) also teaches the following elements:
(Claim 7) the height of the slant portion (the portion corresponding to 39B in Fig. 8) is lower than (Fig. 8) a height of the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 31 and the left portion of 32 adjacent to 31 in Fig. 8) in the optical axis direction (the Y direction in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8).
(Claim 17) the sub-housing (the sensor base 30 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) further includes a mounting portion (the portion corresponding to 38 in Fig. 8) disposed between the opening (the opening of 30 in Fig. 1 and Fig. 8) and the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 31 and the left portion of 32 adjacent to 31 in Fig. 8), and a filter portion (the optical filter 40 in Fig. 1 and 8) is received in the mounting portion (the portion corresponding to 38 in Fig. 8).
(Claim 18) each of the mounting portion (the portion corresponding to 38 in Fig. 8), the slant portion (the portion corresponding to 39B in Fig. 8), and the frame portion (the frame portion corresponding to 31 and the left portion of 32 adjacent to 31 in Fig. 8) forms a step descending towards the opening enclosed by the frame portion (Fig. 8 shows that each of the mounting portion 38, the slant portion 39B, and the frame portion forms a step descending towards the opening, even each of the mounting portion, the slant portion, and the frame portion does not form a step sequentially descending towards the opening).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871