DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-6, filed July 7, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Daly (US 2024/0287722).
Daly is direct towards a washing machine with cycle modification where figure 11 teaches at operation 1108, the controller 70 determines whether the determined type of cycle matches user input of the type of cycle. If the cycle does not match the user input, then control passes to operation 1112 for the controller 70 informs the user of the mismatch. In an example, the controller 70 may sound an alarm or show a message on the user interface 24 indicating the mismatch in cycle. In another example, if the controller 70 has wireless communication capability, the controller 70 may send the message to a mobile device of the user. Regardless of approach, the user may be able to adjust the cycle (or choose not to adjust the cycle) responsive to the notification of the mismatch. If the user chooses to change the cycle type, then the cycle proceeds with the changed cycle type. If not, then the cycle proceeds with the originally selected cycle type.[0068-69]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zattin (US 2018/0073177), and in further view of Chae (US 2020/0325620) and Daly (US 2024/0287722).
Regarding claim 1, Zattin figures 1-5 teach a laundry machine comprising:
a user interface (10 control panel) configured to receive a user input of a user selected preprogrammed laundry treatment cycle; [0155]
a processor (16 control unit) configured to receive user provided product identity data for multiple laundry treatment products (the user can select the type of detergent introduced).[0172]
Figure 2b teaches an automatic determination of the detergent's type by the machine 1 via suitable sensor(s) 20 in phase 24. In dependency of such determination, the method of the invention selects and adjusts the further rinsing cycle. It is checked in phase 25 whether the detergent is of a first type, e.g. it is a powder detergent thereby suggesting said processor operates a specific preprogrammed laundry treatment cycle when a predetermined set of said product identity data is received.[0199-200]
Figure 3a teaches in phase 24 the method of the invention includes a determination of the detergent's type by the user's input, e.g. the user selects the type of detergent introduced. Figure 3a further teaches depending on the type of detergent, the invention selects and adjusts the further rinsing cycle thereby reading on said processor operates said user selected preprogrammed laundry treatment cycle in absence of receiving said predetermined set of said product identity data.[0199-200]
Zattin is silent to the predetermined set of said product identity data is received the processor utilizes memory to determine if the product identity data matches a unique predetermined set of product identity data in the memory and the processor determines a specific preprogrammed laundry treatment cycle corresponding to the unique predetermined set of product identity data.
Chae is directed towards a washing machine having a detergent supply device which supplies a liquid additive to the tub. Chae teaches a control method of the washing machine according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes a step S10 of detecting the conductivity of the additive contained in the plurality of cartridges 200 from the electrode sensor 300, a step S40 of comparing the detected conductivity value with data on the type of the additive previously stored in the memory 4, a step S50 of determining the type of additive contained in each of the plurality of cartridges 200, a step S110 of receiving a washing course through the input unit 5, a step S130 of selecting a preset additive according to the input washing course by the controller 3 after the step of receiving a washing course (S110) and the step (S50) of determining the type of additive, and a step S150, S160, S170 of extracting the selected additive by the pump 500.[0233-256]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a product identity step as taught in Chae to automatically input appropriate additives according to a washing course.[0012]
Zattin in view of Chae is silent to the specific preprogrammed laundry treatment cycle differs from user selected preprogrammed laundry treatment cycles.
Daly is direct towards a washing machine with cycle modification where figure 11 teaches at operation 1108, the controller 70 determines whether the determined type of cycle matches user input of the type of cycle. If the cycle does not match the user input, then control passes to operation 1112 for the controller 70 informs the user of the mismatch. In an example, the controller 70 may sound an alarm or show a message on the user interface 24 indicating the mismatch in cycle. In another example, if the controller 70 has wireless communication capability, the controller 70 may send the message to a mobile device of the user. Regardless of approach, the user may be able to adjust the cycle (or choose not to adjust the cycle) responsive to the notification of the mismatch. If the user chooses to change the cycle type, then the cycle proceeds with the changed cycle type. If not, then the cycle proceeds with the originally selected cycle type.[0068-69]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide user cycle modification as taught in Daly so that the model 100 may allow for the use of customized cycles/settings for consumer-specific loads that aren't necessarily programmed into the HMI (e.g., low detergent, low temp water for linens).[0070]
Regarding claim 2, Zattin teaches a control panel 10 apt to be used by a user to set parameters of washing programs (e.g. temperature, number of rinsing cycles, speed of spinning, etc.) and/or to select a washing program from a given list, through suitable push buttons 11 or knobs 12 thereby reading on said user interface is selected from the group of a touch screen on board said laundry machine, a mobile device in wireless communication with said laundry machine, a mechanical switch on board said laundry machine, and an electronic switch on board said laundry machine.[0155]
Regarding claim 3, Zattin teaches a conductivity sensor is utilized to determine whether or not the detergent is a powder thereby suggesting said product identity data comprises shapes of said multiple laundry treatment products.[0172-175]
Regarding claim 4, figures 2a-4 teach varying washing operations depending on the detergent type thereby reading on said processor is configured to select amongst multiple specific preprogrammed laundry treatment cycles that differ from one another and are each uniquely associated with one unique predetermined set of said product identity data.
Regarding claim 5, figures 2a-4 teach said multiple specific preprogrammed laundry treatment cycles each comprise a wash sub-cycle (26, 26a) and a rinse sub-cycle (28,28a, 35, 35a). Zattin teaches the wash cycle in case of a liquid or gel detergent and the wash cycle in case of a powder detergent for the same selected program by the user can be different one from the other thereby reading on said wash sub-cycles differ from one another.[0201] Zattin also teaches more than one detergent can be introduced inside either the detergent drawer or the detergent storage. For example, a detergent for the pre-wash phase can be supplied, a second detergent for the main wash and a softener can be added as well.[0048]
Regarding claim 6, Zattin teaches key parameters involved in main wash are: temperature, amount of water, mechanical action, detergent type/amount and duration. In order to provide best results in washing performances vs. water amount and energy consumption, one or more of these parameters are generally optimized thereby suggesting said wash sub-cycles differ from one another in a manner selected from the group of wash water temperature, wash water volume, wash liquor concentration, timing of application of said laundry treatment products, applied mechanical energy, cycle duration, and combinations thereof.[0006]
Regarding claim 7, figures 2a- 4 teaches said multiple specific preprogrammed laundry treatment cycles each comprise a wash sub-cycle (26, 26a) and a rinse sub-cycle (29, 29a, 35, 35a), wherein said rinse sub-cycles differ from one another. Zattin further teaches the rinsing cycle is modified according to the type of detergent used.[0201]
Regarding claim 8, Zattin teaches the type of detergent may influence the proper length to be set of the rinsing cycle, but also other characteristics of the laundry, for example whether a heavy load has been introduced, so that more water and more rinsing time have also to be used, or the type of washing program which has been selected by the user. Indeed, washing programs like cotton at high temperature are used for particularly dirty clothes which may need extra rinsing. On the contrary, a delicate program may require less water thereby suggesting said rinse sub-cycles differ from one another in a manner selected from the group of wash water temperature, wash water volume, wash liquor concentration, timing of application of said laundry treatment products, applied mechanical energy, cycle duration, and combinations thereof.[0136]
Regarding claim 9, Zattin teaches using conductivity for determining detergent type. Zattin further teaches differences on conductivity and turbidity signals between liquid and powder detergents are due to their composition. At first, powder detergents contain great amounts of fillers, builders and alkali: zeolites are one of main components which do increase turbidity; on the other hand, zeolites aren't part of liquid detergents' composition. Carbonates, sulphates and silicates are responsible for high conductivity in powder thereby suggesting said product identity data is associated with presence of a laundry active ingredient selected from the group of surfactant, softening active, bleach, acid, perfume, a tracer, and combinations thereof.[0194-195]
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zattin (US 2018/0073177) ,Chae (US 2020/0325620, and Daly (US 2024/0287722) as applied to claim 1, and in further view of Ko (US 2020/0240066).
Regarding claim 10, Zattin in view of Chae and Daly is silent to said processor is configured to disseminate a user stimulus when a predetermined set of said product identity data is received.
Ko is directed towards a washing machine with a touch screen for outputting a graphical object corresponding to a washing-related function which can be performed by the washing tub.[Abstract] Ko teaches in figure 7A notification information 702 indicating a shortage of a remaining laundry detergent accommodated in the storage container of the detergent supplying unit 210. The notification information 702 disappears when a touch is applied to an icon ‘OK’ requesting confirmation of the user or when a feedback voice (e.g., ‘OK’) is recognized if a voice recognition function is in an activated state.[0163-164]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide the feature of user confirming a detergent shortage as taught in Ko to ensure the articles to be washed are properly cleaned.
Claim(s) 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zattin (US 2018/0073177), in further view of Ko (US 2020/0240066), Chae (US 2020/0325620, and Daly (US 2024/0287722).
Regarding claim 11, Zattin figures 1-5 teach a process for laundering articles.
Zattin teaches in figure 3a phase 24 the user inputs the type of detergent thereby reading on inputting user provided product identity data.
Zattin is silent to forming a user set of multiple laundry treatment products into a processor.
Ko is directed towards a washing machine wherein memory 195 may further store setting information (e.g., detergent type, input quantity, a number of inputs, etc.) related to automatic input (introduction) of laundry detergent, and the setting information may be updated when the setting information is changed based on a user input.[0121]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a memory storing detergent types to accurately supply detergent to the washing machine.[0122]
Zattin teaches the use of powder detergent requires further rinsing steps compared to the number of rinsing steps performed when a liquid or gel detergent is detected therefore one having ordinary skill in the art would find comparing said user set to a predetermined set of multiple laundry treatment products to determine if said user set matches a predetermined set to be an obvious choice in the event the user selected the wrong detergent type.[0098]
Modified Zattin in view of Ko suggests upon detecting that said user set matches said predetermined set, laundering said articles according to a specific preprogrammed laundry treatment cycle associated with said predetermined set shown in figures Zattin 2a-4.
Zattin figures 2a and 3a teach in absence of detecting that said user set matches said predetermined set, laundering said articles according to a user selected preprogrammed laundry treatment cycle.
The combination of Zattin and Ko is silent to the predetermined set of said product identity data is received the processor utilizes memory to determine if the product identity data matches a unique predetermined set of product identity data in the memory and the processor determines a specific preprogrammed laundry treatment cycle corresponding to the unique predetermined set of product identity data.
Chae is directed towards a washing machine having a detergent supply device which supplies a liquid additive to the tub. Chae teaches a control method of the washing machine according to an embodiment of the present disclosure includes a step S10 of detecting the conductivity of the additive contained in the plurality of cartridges 200 from the electrode sensor 300, a step S40 of comparing the detected conductivity value with data on the type of the additive previously stored in the memory 4, a step S50 of determining the type of additive contained in each of the plurality of cartridges 200, a step S110 of receiving a washing course through the input unit 5, a step S130 of selecting a preset additive according to the input washing course by the controller 3 after the step of receiving a washing course (S110) and the step (S50) of determining the type of additive, and a step S150, S160, S170 of extracting the selected additive by the pump 500.[0233-256]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide a product identity step as taught in Chae to automatically input appropriate additives according to a washing course.[0012]
Zattin in view of Ko and Chae is silent to the specific preprogrammed laundry treatment cycle differs from user selected preprogrammed laundry treatment cycles.
Daly is direct towards a washing machine with cycle modification where figure 11 teaches at operation 1108, the controller 70 determines whether the determined type of cycle matches user input of the type of cycle. If the cycle does not match the user input, then control passes to operation 1112 for the controller 70 informs the user of the mismatch. In an example, the controller 70 may sound an alarm or show a message on the user interface 24 indicating the mismatch in cycle. In another example, if the controller 70 has wireless communication capability, the controller 70 may send the message to a mobile device of the user. Regardless of approach, the user may be able to adjust the cycle (or choose not to adjust the cycle) responsive to the notification of the mismatch. If the user chooses to change the cycle type, then the cycle proceeds with the changed cycle type. If not, then the cycle proceeds with the originally selected cycle type.[0068-69]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to provide user cycle modification as taught in Daly so that the model 100 may allow for the use of customized cycles/settings for consumer-specific loads that aren't necessarily programmed into the HMI (e.g., low detergent, low temp water for linens).[0070]
Regarding claim 12, Zattin teaches a control panel 10 apt to be used by a user to set parameters of washing programs (e.g. temperature, number of rinsing cycles, speed of spinning, etc.) and/or to select a washing program from a given list, through suitable push buttons 11 or knobs 12 thereby reading on said user provided product identity data is input using a user interface selected from the group of a touch screen on board said laundry machine, a mobile device in wireless communication with said laundry machine, a mechanical switch on board said laundry machine, and an electronic switch on board said laundry machine.[0155]
Regarding claim 13, Zattin teaches a conductivity sensor is utilized to determine whether or not the detergent is a powder thereby suggesting said product identity data comprises shapes of said multiple laundry treatment products.[0172-175]
Regarding claim 14, figures 2a-4 teach varying washing operations depending on the detergent type thereby reading on said processor is configured to select amongst multiple specific preprogrammed laundry treatment cycles that differ from one another and are each uniquely associated with one unique predetermined set of said multiple laundry treatment products.
Regarding claim 15, figures 2a-4 teach said multiple specific preprogrammed laundry treatment cycles each comprise a wash sub-cycle (26, 26a) and a rinse sub-cycle (28,28a, 35, 35a). Zattin teaches the wash cycle in case of a liquid or gel detergent and the wash cycle in case of a powder detergent for the same selected program by the user can be different one from the other thereby reading on said wash sub-cycles differ from one another.[0201] Zattin also teaches more than one detergent can be introduced inside either the detergent drawer or the detergent storage. For example, a detergent for the pre-wash phase can be supplied, a second detergent for the main wash and a softener can be added as well.[0048]
Regarding claim 16, Zattin teaches key parameters involved in main wash are: temperature, amount of water, mechanical action, detergent type/amount and duration. In order to provide best results in washing performances vs. water amount and energy consumption, one or more of these parameters are generally optimized thereby suggesting said wash sub-cycles differ from one another in a manner selected from the group of wash water temperature, wash water volume, wash liquor concentration, timing of application of said laundry treatment products, applied mechanical energy, cycle duration, and combinations thereof.[0006]
Regarding claim 17, figures 2a- 4 teaches said multiple specific preprogrammed laundry treatment cycles each comprise a wash sub-cycle (26, 26a) and a rinse sub-cycle (29, 29a, 35, 35a), wherein said rinse sub-cycles differ from one another. Zattin further teaches the rinsing cycle is modified according to the type of detergent used.[0201]
Regarding claim 18, Zattin teaches the type of detergent may influence the proper length to be set of the rinsing cycle, but also other characteristics of the laundry, for example whether a heavy load has been introduced, so that more water and more rinsing time have also to be used, or the type of washing program which has been selected by the user. Indeed, washing programs like cotton at high temperature are used for particularly dirty clothes which may need extra rinsing. On the contrary, a delicate program may require less water thereby suggesting said rinse sub-cycles differ from one another in a manner selected from the group of wash water temperature, wash water volume, wash liquor concentration, timing of application of said laundry treatment products, applied mechanical energy, cycle duration, and combinations thereof.[0136]
Regarding claim 19, Zattin teaches using conductivity for determining detergent type. Zattin further teaches differences on conductivity and turbidity signals between liquid and powder detergents are due to their composition. At first, powder detergents contain great amounts of fillers, builders and alkali: zeolites are one of main components which do increase turbidity; on the other hand, zeolites aren't part of liquid detergents' composition. Carbonates, sulphates and silicates are responsible for high conductivity in powder thereby suggesting said product identity data is associated with presence of a laundry active ingredient selected from the group of surfactant, softening active, bleach, acid, perfume, a tracer, and combinations thereof.[0194-195]
Regarding claim 20, Ko teaches in figure 7A notification information 702 indicating a shortage of a remaining laundry detergent accommodated in the storage container of the detergent supplying unit 210. The notification information 702 disappears when a touch is applied to an icon ‘OK’ requesting confirmation of the user or when a feedback voice (e.g., ‘OK’) is recognized if a voice recognition function is in an activated state thereby suggesting upon detecting that said user set matches said predetermined set, disseminating a user stimulus.[0163-164]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Motamedi (US 2011/0153085) directed towards a washing machine where the user is able to modify preprogrammed cycles.
Jiang (CN 114753107 A machine translation) directed towards an additive feeding device where the invention matches the type of the washing and protecting additive with the washing and protecting program correspondingly, avoids the user selecting the washing and protecting program which is not matched with the washing and protecting additive to operate the nursing clothes, so as to reduce the problem of the clothes care effect.
CRISTI J. TATE-SIMS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/CRISTI J TATE-SIMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711