DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention II, claims 6-17, in the reply filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an output device” in claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “wherein said output device is communicatively coupled to a display” which is not understood because the output device is disclosed as being a display 120 or a display 104. It is unclear what it means for the output device, which is the display, to be commutatively coupled to a display.
Claim 8 recites “wherein said output device is communicatively coupled to a wireless device having a display” which is not understood because the output device is disclosed as being a display 120 or a display 104. It is unclear what it means for the output device, which is the display, to be commutatively coupled to a wireless device having a display.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9, and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0136431) in view of Matsumi et al. (US 5,048,139).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses a process for displaying the effectiveness of a laundry machines wherein the laundry machine comprises: a cabinet having an interior (10); a tub positioned within said interior, wherein said tub has an interior volume (40); a drum within said tub (30); and a motor engaged with said drum (55); a sensor in operative engagement with said interior volume and sensing a scalar property of a liquid within said tub (130); an output device communicatively coupled to said sensor that reports said scalar property or an indexed value thereof to an environment that is outside of said cabinet (Figure 4: 100, 190, 80, 90, 280, 290); and the process for displaying the effectiveness of the laundry machine comprises the steps of: initiating a laundry treatment cycle of said laundry washing machine (paragraphs 18-23); sensing said scalar property of said liquid within said tub during said laundry treatment cycle (paragraphs 18-23, 56, 65, 71, 74); and displaying said scalar property or indexed value thereof to said environment that is outside of said cabinet (Figure 5: 283; paragraphs 135-136).
Lee does not expressly disclose that the output device reports said scalar property or an indexed value thereof as a function of time; and the scalar property is sensed multiple times during said laundry treatment cycle. Rather, Lee discloses that graph information on the turbidity of the rinsing water may be displayed on the display unit in form of a bar graph (paragraph 136; 283).
Matsumi discloses a washing machine with a turbidimeter (16) and a computing means for computing temporal rate of change in the detected values for determining the end of an operation cycle (col. 3, lines 31-40). Figure 7 shows a graph of turbidity versus time for a typical cycle, and an end point can be determined by the rate of change in turbidity decreased to below a predetermined value (Figure 7; col. 7, lines 9-18).
Because it is known in the art to depict a graph of turbidity and it is known to use a graph of turbidity versus time, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, tracking/displaying turbidity versus time to determine/convey useful information, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the output device reports said scalar property or an indexed value thereof as a function of time; and the scalar property is sensed multiple times during said laundry treatment cycle.
Claims 7-9, 11, and 12 are considered to be met by Lee, in view of Matsumi, as applied above and which result in: wherein said cabinet has an exterior surface opposite said interior, wherein said output device is communicatively coupled to a display engaged with said exterior surface (Lee: Figure 4: 100, 80, 90); wherein said output device is communicatively coupled to a wireless device having a display (Lee: Figure 4: 100, 280, 290; paragraph 94); wherein said sensor is a turbidity sensor (Lee: 130); wherein said scalar property or indexed value thereof is displayed as an instantaneous value at a particular time (Masumi: Figure 7); wherein said scalar property or indexed value thereof is displayed as a graph of said scalar property as a function of time (Masumi: Figure 7).
Claims 13-16 are considered to be met by Lee, in view of Matsumi, as applied above and which result in: wherein when said scalar property at the end of said laundry treatment cycle is in nonconformance with a threshold value or acceptable range of values, displaying an indicia to a user of a supplemental action to be taken by said user (Lee: Figure 5: 282, 286, 287; paragraphs 135-137); wherein said laundry treatment cycle is a function of said scalar property (Lee: Figure 5: 281, 282, 286, 287; Figure 6: 288; paragraphs 135-143; also see Matsumi: Figure 7, end point); wherein said laundry machine is configured to disseminate a user stimulus when said scalar property operably determines a next process step in said laundry treatment cycle (Lee: 281; Matsumi: Figure 7, end point; also note this is not a process step, but a configuration of the laundry machine considered to be met by having the displays); wherein said laundry treatment machine is configured to disseminate a user stimulus when said scalar property or indexed value thereof reaches a predetermined acceptable value (Lee: 281, 282, 286, 287; also note this is not a process step, but a configuration of the laundry machine considered to be met by having the displays).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0136431), in view of Matsumi et al. (US 5,048,139), and further in view of Hombroek et al. (US 2018/0002859).
Regarding claim 10, Lee, in view of Matsumi, is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose wherein said sensor is a conductivity sensor.
Hombroek discloses a laundry washing machine having a fluid property sensor (68), e.g., a turbidity sensor to measure the turbidity or clarity of the fluid in a wash tub (16), wherein the turbidity sensor may also measure other properties of the fluid in the wash tub, e.g., conductivity and/or temperature (paragraph 39).
Because it is known in the art to have a single sensor to measure turbidity, conductivity, and temperature, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, measuring multiple properties using a single sensor, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein said sensor is a conductivity sensor.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2019/0136431; hereafter, “Lee ‘431”), in view of Matsumi et al. (US 5,048,139), and further in view of Lee (US 2021/0095408; hereafter, “Lee ‘408”).
Lee ‘431, in view of Matsumi, is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose wherein said laundry treatment cycle is a function of said scalar property, wherein said laundry treatment machine is configured to compute and disseminate an estimated or computed time remaining in said laundry treatment cycle based at least partially on said scalar property.
Lee ‘408 discloses a laundry treating apparatus and control method including a conductivity sensor (140) to detect a contamination level of the washing water (paragraph 36) and a turbidity sensor (150) to determine the contamination level of the washing water (paragraph 37). In an embodiment, a first contamination data is collected and an expected washing time is calculated (Figure 5: S30, S40; paragraph 50). The display (42) may display the expected washing time (Figure 4; Figure 9; paragraph 59).
Because it is known in the art to determine and display an expected washing time based on the sensed contamination level, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, indicating expected washing time to a user, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein said laundry treatment cycle is a function of said scalar property, wherein said laundry treatment machine is configured to compute and disseminate an estimated or computed time remaining in said laundry treatment cycle based at least partially on said scalar property.
Conclusion
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711