DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-5) in the reply filed on 7/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Groups II-IV (claims 6-10) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 20200339782 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches a sheet-like material comprising an epoxy resin composition disposed on a release film [0156]. The epoxy resin composition is an adhesive [0028].
Compared to Fig. 1 of the current invention comprising the claimed film adhesive and a release film, Sato’s sheet-like material comprising an epoxy resin composition is equivalent to the claimed film adhesive.
The epoxy resin composition comprises coated particles of an epoxy resin curing agent (A), an epoxy resin, and a thermoplastic resin including phenoxy resin [0082, 0099 and 0118].
The epoxy resin curing agent (A) includes a dicyandiamide including DICY7 [0056, 0103], which is the same as the claimed epoxy resin curing agent (B) as specified in the specification [0123 and 0125 pgpub, Table 1].
The epoxy resin includes a bisphenol A type epoxy resin JER828EL manufactured by Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation [0085, 0187], which is the same as the claimed epoxy resin (A) as specified in the specification [0123 pgpub and Table 1].
The phenoxy resin includes Mitsubishi 1256 [0120], which is the same as the claimed phenoxy resin (C) as specified in the specification [0086 and 0123 pgpub, Table 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select bisphenol A type epoxy resin JER828EL as the epoxy resin, select DICY7 as the epoxy resin curing agent, and select Mitsubishi 1256 as the phenoxy resin in Sato’s epoxy resin composition, as these are expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
The epoxy resin composition includes the coated particles in an amount of preferably 0.5 to 30 mass % [0098]. The coated particles comprises 0.4 to 25 mass % of Group 4 or Group 13 element-containing compound (B) with respect to 100 mass % of the epoxy resin curing agent particle (A) [0074]. Examples of the coated particles are shown with 10 parts of (B) with respect to 100 parts of (A) [Table 1], which corresponds to 90% of (A) in the coated particles, as calculated by the examiner. Therefore, the epoxy resin composition includes the epoxy resin curing agent in an amount of 0.45 to 27 mass %, as calculated by the examiner, overlapping the claimed 0.30 to 12.0 mass %. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
The recited “wherein a light transmittance T1 of the film adhesive at a wavelength of 400 nm is 90% or less, a light transmittance T2 of a cured product obtained by thermally curing the film adhesive at a wavelength of 400 nm is 85% or more, and T1<T2 is satisfied” is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present.
Regarding claim 2, Sato teaches that the average particle size of the epoxy resin curing agent particle (A) is not limited but preferably 2.5 to 25 μm [0053], overlapping the claimed D90 of 20.0 μm or less.
Sato teaches adding the epoxy resin curing agent particle (A) into the epoxy resin [0187]. Therefore, it is expected that the epoxy resin curing agent is dispersed in the film adhesive.
Regarding claims 4-5, coloring agent and filler are only optional in Sato’s epoxy resin composition [0099].
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 20200339782 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Tetsuya et al (JP 2005015506 A, machine translation is referenced herein).
Regarding claim 3, Sato teaches the film adhesive in claim 1. Sato does not teach the thickness of the film adhesive. Sato’s adhesive is used in semiconductors [0140].
In the same field of endeavor, Tetsuya teaches an adhesive composition for semiconductors comprising an epoxy resin, a phenoxy resin, and a curing agent [abstract]. The thickness of the adhesive is about 10 μm [0036].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form a film adhesive according to Sato having thickness of 10 μm, as Tetsuya demonstrates this thickness to be suitable for similar adhesives. This represents the use of a suitable thickness for film adhesives which are compositionally similar and used in similar application. "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416-21 (2007). See MPEP 2141.
The thickness of 10 μm falls within the claimed range of 1 to 20 μm.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762